1 photo
Dux Prodigy 4 135ZL

Dux Prodigy 4 135ZL

3.2 from 16 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Gas Hot Water Storage Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Dux

Reviews

3.2
16 reviews
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    1.0 (2)
  • Smells of GasYes (0) · No (1)
  • Temperature Consistency
    1.0 (1)
  • Heating Speed
    1.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Dux hot water broken after 6 month. Dux refuse to fix!!! do not BUY DUX.

published

I bought a DUX gas storage hot water system. It stopped working and started making a terrible whistling sound. My neighbour was disappointed due to noise and almost called the police. When I called DUX they refuse to fix it. DUX say over the phone without visiting the site that the problem water pressure and there is nothing they can do about it. A hot water system is supposed to last 8 years my one broken after 6 months. DUX refuse to fix it. Do not buy DUX. DUX look good value at bunnings but do not let DUX fool you like me.

Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Dux
Dux C.Dux
James M.
James M.
Chris D.
Chris D.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Fails 1 month after warranty finishes and Dux could not care less

published

Hot water service decided to explode from the top 27 days past the "warranty" period. Contacted Dux thinking they might have some half decent customer service however found the lady on the phone basically telling me bad luck out of warranty nothing we can do. Quality service that your units aren't exactly cheap and yet just after warranty it fails!!!!

Purchased in October 2013.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Chris D.
Chris D.

Sent you the info but still haven’t heard anything back in more then 10 days now

Dux
Dux C.Dux

Crap heater

published

I would not buy A dux ever again and have advised everyone I know how poor these are and when it comes to after sale service don't bother cause they are not interested. Stay away from DUX it lasted 1 year and it has had problems ever since pay a bit extra and get a Rinnai.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Dux
Dux H.Dux
shane
shane
Dux
Dux H.Dux

Luke warm water

published

units was installed 2 years 4 months ago, so it is out of warranty.Gas keeps going out having to relight approx 2-3 times per day. It replaced an 18yo dux system that never gave any issues but packed it in finally. Replaced with the 135l prodigy system. Gas goes out all the time and their service agent tells me these systems are very poor quality. Another agent tells me he can modify to give no issues so I'm going with that option to save $2460 (modify is $90 + call out)

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Dux
Dux H.Dux
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 4 135ZL compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vin
VinGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

Crack in the tank within 4 years

published

We had the Dux Prodigy 4 for 4 years before the tank started to leak. Contacted Dux who organised a plumber from Cavana Hot Water systems to inspect.
The plumber who attended said the tanks split at the bottom joint and it is a common manufacturing issue.
Dux organised a warranty replacement but I had to pay for the install which was around $800 which I felt was very expensive.
Retrospectively, I could have spent an extra $200 and purchased a brand new unit from another manufacturer with a full warranty. Lesson learnt I guess!

My experience, with customer service teams of Dux and Cavana, was terrible.

Keep away from them, if you can. Poor product quality + Poor customer service

Date PurchasedApr 2014

Poor lifespan

published

Sorry to say a very poor product - tank lining issue (water exits discoloured brown) a month after Dux's 5 year warranty ran out.

DUX not interested. Will pursue them in consumer affairs under statutory warranty. One would think that a HWS in excess of $1,000 should last longer than 5 years and one month

Date PurchasedJune 2012
ray.brown
ray.brownAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

For the 135z n. 11months post install and leaking over night

published

11months post install and it has started losing around 60 ml a night from the relief valve. Rang Dux and asked if this was normal, the answer person could not tell us if this was normal or not and refused to pass us through to anyone more technical who could help. They did say they could send plumber out to check the unit but if no fault found we would be libel for the callout fee >$130. And wanted credit card details before anyone was sent out. When we insisted on talking with a more technical person to see if the leakage was acceptable the phone call was disconnected.

Dux
Dux H.Dux

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
See all Dux Prodigy 4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Dux Prodigy 4 135ZL but you can read 10 questions about Dux Prodigy 4.

Get an answer from our members and Dux representatives

Dux Prodigy 4 135ZL

Details

Compare all 5 Dux Prodigy 4
CategoryGas Hot Water Storage Systems
Replaced byDux Prodigy 4 135ZB4N/135ZB4P (135L)
Compare all 5 Dux Prodigy 4

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.