1 photo
Dux Prodigy 4
4.4 from 128 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Gas Hot Water Storage Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Dux

Reviews

4.4
128 reviews
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (85)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (90)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (70)
  • Noise Level
    4.9 (78)
  • Smells of GasYes (0) · No (85)
  • Temperature Consistency
    5.0 (80)
  • Heating Speed
    4.9 (79)
Previous
Next
Marilyn
MarilynSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

So good to have hot water

published

We have had only Dux water heaters in our home. When it had to be updated it was quick and professional. Bunnings installed it quickly and safely. Also installed with covid safe installer.

Purchased in July 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

New for Old

published

I recently needed to replace the old Dux gas hot water storage unit as the pilot light would not stay lit. It has functioned quite well for 21+ years :). I have replaced it with the same capacity unit (135 litre) which is the same size and therefore was able to use the existing connections. I am using a lower setting on the new unit to achieve the same hot water temperature as before, wonderful thus far.

Purchased in September 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $1,404.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Maggie
MaggieSydney, NSW

Good brand

published

Our old Dux was there 19 years ago before we moved in. Finally gives us problems now. We replaced with Dux prodigy 4. Hope will last for another 20 years ;-)

Purchased in September 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,710.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Excellent

published

Our last Dux system lasted for 18+ years. For that reason we choose to replace with DUX PRODIGY 4 135Lts.

Staff and the Installer are very helpful and professional.

Thankyou DUX

Hope I have the same positive feeling towards DUX through out the life of the system

Purchased in September 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,891.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 4 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew W.
Andrew W.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very Happy customer - 18 months old installation repair under warranty.

published

Purchased in March 2010 for $990.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Continious flow and the best value

published

Very happy with the unit was excellent and endless hot water supply. Service and installation was through bunnings was excellent no fuss and clean they can supply and install the similar one with other brand. Very recomended and value

Purchased in June 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Mick
MickGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Dux is the dux of Hot Water systems

published

This Dux Prodigy 4 is one of 4 other Dux hot water system I have had installed over three separate properties over 22 years. All provide excellent Hot water when required.

Purchased in August 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $994.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Happy customer

published

I bought this Dux hot water unit as replacement for my old one installed 2004. I had no problems with the previous unit so it was an easy decision to replace with the same DUX product. Great customer service from Bunnings staff, great service from installers and hot water running in no time! Happy customer!

Purchased in July 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Anthony B.
Anthony B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Love my dux !!

published

Bought a new dux hot water system through bunnings to replace my 17yo system. They came to replace it in a timely manner considering i booked it on the weekend. Really happy with Dux service repair and great communication too throughout the period. Highly recommend their product line ! Loving my warm showers now :)

Purchased in June 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 4 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MoTown
MoTownMelbourne
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

First one lasted 17 years, replaced with same but more efficient version

published

Our house was built in 2003 and came with a Dux 135L 3 star hot water system. After 17 years it started leaking so replaced it with an identical but more efficient 4 star system last year in 2020. Was happy to go with a Dux again due to many years of uninterrupted service from the original system. Fast forward a year into 2021 and no issues with the new 4 star system. As a bonus, our gas usage has actually gone down over the last year.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Arvind
ArvindGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Dux hot water system

published

This hot water system is amazing. Ever since we have installed it at our property we have never run out of hot water. I love it. I highly recommend it.

Purchased in June 2021 for $1,443.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Lou
LouGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Very happy customer

published

Dux and Bunnings were Extremely helpful and arranged a Saturday installation. I replaced the old Dux with a bigger one, Happy knowing it will last for many years to come.

Purchased in May 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 4 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Unlimited hot water

published

Bought the Dux Prodigy from Bunnings.The installer from Dux was very efficient cleaned up afterwards and I now have unlimited hot water .So nice bit bigger than my last system took away the old one also.Bunnings and Dux very easy to deal with and very knowledgeable. No problems at all with flowing hot water

Purchased in April 2021 for $900.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Lou
LouGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Great service

published

This unit replaces previous Long lasting DUX. Larger unit to avoid Hot water Squabbles and I like continuous renewal so no waiting time. Cold to hot water change seems faster.

Purchased in May 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $1,477.00.

Noise Level
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Sam
Sam
  • 3 reviews

Great & reliable hot water unit

published

I bought this Dux hot water unit as replacement for my old one that kept going for years and years with no issues. My excellent experience with my previous Dux hot water unit was a major factor to buy this new unit. Not to forgot the affordability, friendly and fast customer service. 5 stars in every aspect.

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Andrew W.
Andrew W.asked
Prodigy 4

My Prodigy 4 gas water heater is about 15 months old. Few weeks ago I noticed each time I open or close water tap a loud bang coming out from the heater. Definitely it is coming out from the heater and not from water pipe. Is the banging indicate any fault within the heater? Will hammer silencer installed outside the heater solve the problem or the heater should be inspect by a technician?
The model number is 135ZB4N.
I will appreciate your advise.
Kind regards Andrew

2 answers
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Andrew,

We would like to resolve this issue as soon as we can.

So we can understand the specific details can you please email through your full name, productreview username, best contact number, address where the unit is installed and serial number to help@dux.com.au so we can call you back, talk through the issue and try and resolve it for you?

Regards,

The Dux Team

Andrew W.
Andrew W.

Hi Did Team. Thank you for your prompt response.
My name is Andrew Wilczynski
Products review name Andrew W.
Contact number 0492888499
installation address 31 pridham street, maribyrnong, victoria.
Serial number 2002274500H
Kind regards
Andrew

Daniel G.
Daniel G.asked
Prodigy 4

Hay my prodigy 4 is about 4 years old and has a couple of faults, in fact when I went to light it to night, something went wrong and a huge burst of flames got my face and burnt off some of my hair and half my beard. Has this ever happened before???? And should I replace or try repair it thanks. Dan. !!!!!

1 answer
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Daniel,

We'd be happy to assist you with your question.

If you can email through your name, phone number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au it will be great.

Best Regards,

The Dux Team

Irena M.
Irena M.asked
Prodigy 4

My Dux 135 l works fine until you turn it to 5 or 6 then it turns itself off? Why?

3 answers
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Irena,

We are genuinely sorry this happened.

We have received your email about this issue together with the product details and your details as well.

I believed one of our staff already contacted you and warranty job has been raised. Please do let us know via email to help@dux.com.au after the agent attended the site and when the job is complete.

Regards,

The Dux Team

Irena M.
Irena M.

Yes, it's been sorted now, thank you, great customer service :)

Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Irena,

Thanks for being patient to us and we're glad we were able to resolve the issue for you.

Best Regards,

The Dux Team

See all Dux Prodigy 4 questions

Get an answer from our members and Dux representatives

Dux Prodigy 4

Details

Compare all 5 Dux Prodigy 4
Dux Prodigy 4 170ZN
  • Discontinued

Dux Prodigy 4 170ZN

2.5
(2)
Dux Prodigy 4 135ZL
  • Discontinued

Dux Prodigy 4 135ZL

3.2
(16)
CategoryGas Hot Water Storage SystemsGas Hot Water Storage SystemsGas Hot Water Storage SystemsGas Hot Water Storage Systems
Release dateApr 2008Apr 2008
Replaced byDux Prodigy 4 135ZB4N/135ZB4P (135L)
Compare all 5 Dux Prodigy 4
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.