??!
2 photos
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy (page 4 of 7)

MPNs: 214891-01 and 36262391
3.2 from 127 reviews · View Details

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

3.2

127 reviews
5
(39)
4
(27)
3
(11)
2
(22)
1
(28)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (10)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    2.3 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (10)
  • Pet OwnerYes (6) · No (4)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (3) · No (7)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

change of mind

published

after having our vacuum for a year i've decided that if I needed a new vacuum i wouldn't buy another dyson as it doesn't seem to clean our carpet as well as it used to.The hard floor tool works well on the lino but the power head doesn't seem to work so well now.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Natasha Kikerkovski

Natasha KikerkovskiPrestons

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Fantastic suction, but is it too Fantastic?

published

This vacuum is great, the suction is great but on certain surfaces the suction is so strong it gets stuck and doesn't move. It does turn upright if it's knocked over but this isn't really an important feature, if it didn't have this feature it wouldnt matter to me. It does pick up so much dust that you don't see and is great on our hard floors. The only issue is the suction which is also the best part. Very torn.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Kelli R.

Kelli R.Brisbane

  • 2 reviews

Good suction easy to use

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bebster

BebsterPerth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great vacuum cleaner

published

We purchase the blue one due to my partner having severe asthma. From the first time I used it my house never felt more clean! My partner went from using his asthma meds once a day to once a week and now it's once a month!! We have both carpet & tiles and it works amazing on both.
We love our Dyson!
The only downside is the noise (I've had Miele previously) and the short power cord.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Lora

LoraFremantle

Frustrated customer

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Mel

MelSydney

Disappointed

published

I recently purchased a Dyson Big Ball Allergy vacuum, after my previous Dyson, DC 08, purchased in 2002, died. Having loved my Dyson, with it's amazing powerhead, the decision to select another Dyson was an easy one. How wrong was I. This model with its turbo jet sounding motor, is totally useless in being able to suck up dog hair from wooden floorboards. The powerful head, actually blows the dog hair around the room and leaves me totally frustrated at how I am going to get the floors clean. I have reverted to using a broom and dust pan. If you have developed a top notch product, why not just stick with it?

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Bella

BellaRockhampton

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Love this vacuum cleaner

published

The suction is unbelievable. We live in an area where our doors and windows are open through most of the year. This creates a lot of dust in the house. The Dyson gets it all and the floors feel wonderful. Its not heavy and is easy to get around in tight spaces. We have a combination of wooden, tiled, lino and carpet in a 2 story building.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Kirsty

KirstySalamander Bay

  • 2 reviews

Cheap material with no suction

published

I recently bought a new allergy ball vacuum and I wish I hadn't spent all this money on something that has no suction. I need to go over the same spot numerous times to pick up a piece of fluff. The vacuum has not place to put the accessories like my old one and is made from cheap plastic.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Transvision Starr

Transvision StarrSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

A little too expensive for what you get

published

It has great suction but within the first 3 months the head broke. Dyson happily helped my through it and sent me a replacement, but was very inconvenient as I had no vacuum for a few weeks.
For the price that it sells for, one would think that the hard floor attachment would be includuded, but it is not!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MrNock

MrNockNSW, 2325

  • 5 reviews

After 12 months it has Helped allergies by picking up dust and pet hair

published

After research saw this has the best buy as I could get other pet accessories. i suffered last year badly from allergies as we have cats. The suction is great, its helped reduce dust and must be sucking up dust mites and cat hair as my allergies have been so much better now. The ball makes it easy to move around on the carpet and lino.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Keryn

Keryn

  • 4 reviews

right choice with dyson DC37C

published

flexible, great suction, reduce the dust, not too noisy, efficient. Compare to others, you dnt need to put too much hard work in using this great Dyson. We have another brand of vacuum cleaner, which entirely can not compare to this Dyson brand. We just need to run it once through and save a lot of time.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Pippy

PippyGold Coast, Qld

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Liked the previous model

published

Our previous DC23 was pretty awesome and had lasted us for many many years so when it blew up we automatically went out and purchased the new model in the allergy range thinking it would be the best. However, I was quite disappointed in this new model. The suction just doesn't compare to our older model and it feels like a light weight cheap version. Yes, it is so much easier to pull around the house while vacuuming but it lacks the powerful suction of our previous one. Our accessory tools still fit this new superseded model which is a bonus but if i had my choice over, I would continuing researching.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Marten

MartenSydney

  • 4 reviews

Excellent product

published

Everyone knows Dyson is an innovative company and their vacuum cleaners are constantly being updated with latest technology and designs. Ever piece of Dyson vacuum cleaner have been carefully thought through to give the best experience when using the product. There's quality workmanship throughout the whole product, inside and out.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Danzel

DanzelMelbourne

Most Expensive And Most Worst Vacuum Cleaner I Ever Owned.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Kerri Baillie

Kerri BaillieBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Disappointed in Dyson

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
3 comments
Dyson
DysonDyson
Kerri Baillie
Kerri Baillie
Dyson
DysonDyson
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Smags

SmagsMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Useless over designed piece of rubbish

published

It is a complete waste of time and energy, over engineered and doesn't do the job it is designed for, fiddly, hard to empty, too many places for things to get stuck.
I'm a designer, I know when something has been designed by committee with last minute dodgy fixes that don't work

Date PurchasedMar 2017

WORST VACUUM I HAVE EVER USED!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson

Issues with emptying.

published

Have the Dyson cinetic big ball allergy for 12 months.
Since the day I got it I've had no end of trouble emptying the barrel.
It either opens itself up as I try and first remove it from its base and it spills all its contents all over the place.
If I can lift it off successfully then yeh ha !!!!!
Sadly once I empty it into the trash bin the bloody thing won't close properly.
The clip that attaches the barrel back together is so small and a bit out of line so closing it becomes an issue.
Don't think the Dyson is all its cracked up to be.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Trent

TrentNsw

  • 2 reviews

Once loved dyson but disappointed

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
N.O Dyson

N.O DysonMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst vacuum ever owned

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Page 4 of 7
See all Dyson Cinetic Big Ball reviews

Questions & Answers

Robert

Robertasked

Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

We have a dyson cinetic big ball allergy ... the power head has just stopped working. We have dismantled and reassembled the head and there are no blockages and there are no blockages in the machine. It still has good suction, just the power brush is not working. Any ideas?

3 answers
Mumof4boys
Mumof4boys

Hey,
Make sure it's not tangled with hair or anything like that (cotton etc)

Robert
Robert

Hi Mumof4boys.
Thanks, we have done that too with no success.

Dyson
DysonDyson

Hi Robert,

I am sorry to hear about this.

We would kindly ask you to email auaskdyson@dyson.com with your details and our Dyson Experts will be more than happy to help in getting this resolved.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting you.

Best wishes,

Shan

Rain

Rainasked

Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

I have a Dyson 214891-01 Cinetic Big Ball Allergy Barrel Vacuum and recently bought a Dyson 920018 Swivel Hard Floor Attachment, but it does not fit my vacuum! This is despite it being advertised as "fits all models except DC01, DC21 Motorhead, DC23 Motorhead and cordless models". Is there an adapter to make it fit?

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

Hi Rain,

Thank you for your query.

In the box included with your Cinetic Big Ball machine at time of purchase, there is an adaptor included to allow use of accessories purchased at store. You can see it in use here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGAgc2Cw6wg

If we can assist further, please just reach out via auaskdyson@dyson.com and we will be more than happy to help.

Best wishes,

Shan
Facebook.com/Dyson

Catherine C

Catherine Casked

Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

I have just brought this today, great suction lasted about 10 minutes, it already doesnt suck very well! Emptied it and checked for blockages (definatly not, because i only vacuumed a small area). This is so disappointing! Does anyone have advice?

2 answers
Dennis
Dennis

I would take straight back to your retailer for an exchange.

Dyson
DysonDyson

Hi Catherine,

Thank you for reaching out.

I am sorry to hear about this, understanding you have checked for blockages, we would encourage you to double check just in case. You can find our blockage checkpoints here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/cy23_new/dyson-cinetic-big-ball-allergy/my-machine-is-not-working/checking-for-blockages-step-by-step-guide-dmft/removing-blockages-from-the-turbine-head

If this doesn't solve the problem, please give our Dyson Experts a call on 1800 239 766 with your machine handy and we will be happy to help. Our team are available Monday - Friday 8 am - 8 pm and Saturday - Sunday 8:30 am - 4 pm AEDST.

Best wishes,

Shan
Facebook.com/Dyson

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.