2 photos
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

MPNs: 214891-01 and 36262391
3.2 from 127 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Dyson

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.9 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.1 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    1.6 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.7 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (8)
  • Pet OwnerYes (5) · No (3)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (3) · No (5)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
saphire
saphireAdelaide
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not worth the money, unlike older Dysons. Design flaws plague this model.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2016 at Dyson for $599.25.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
VG1
VG1South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

What a piece of rubbish

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDyson
Snoozer
SnoozerCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

I miss my old Dyson

published

After owning a Dyson for 12 years why would I buy anything else... I was excited to see the benefits of 12 years of R&D how sad it was to go so far backwards and wish I never upgraded. The dust lid doesn't always lock properly and spills dust when you remove it, it is hard to move around especially doors, the attachments are always clogged and had to buy special tooling to disassemble clean the dust and hair from the belt and cogs in the head myself instead of always sending it back for repair. My Wife prefers using my $90 Bunnings shop vacuum as it does a better job.

Purchased in July 2017 at The Good Guys for $597.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDyson
Jac
JacSouth Australia

Worst model

published

This unit is terrible , Ive had it for 2years and now the rotating head wont rotate, suction is awful even after emptying barrel.
Head is forever flicking up more dirt than it sucks in .

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDyson
Jac
Jac

Thank you , Ive done the above a couple of times and unfortunately its still not rotating . I will send my details as instructed above .

Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mitch B.
Mitch B.Perth, WA

Waste of money

published

Had an old school Dyson years ago and have fumbled our way through a myriad of cheaper alternatives for about 10 years.
Latest purchase was a Big ball allergy - quietly Hoping for quality once again.
Alas, it’s rubbish- outer wheel cover snapped off within 4 weeks. Persevered without it as needed a vacuum cleaner and now the head just flicks crap everywhere and it doesn’t pick anything up. $5 dustpan from BUNNINGS would out perform it.
Now the warranty cycle begins. More cheap plastic crap on the market, trust eroded.

Purchased in April 2019 at RetraVision for $499.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDyson
lynpettitt79
lynpettitt79
  • 2 reviews

I wish I could like it, but it's really poor!

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Frank
FrankRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Dyson Review for barrel vacuum cleaner

published

WARNING – WARNING – the ball wheel will BREAK OFF if pulled around wall corners and catches or catches on furniture. If left un-repaired, it will scratch hard surfaces.
This has happened twice over 2 years [once by myself and the other time by a helper] and for a $700+ machine there is a design flaw in that the half spheres on either side of the units are held on by a flimsy plastic fitting.

Their selling ploy is “”Steers easily around obstacles and follows without the awkward moves””” I suggest this is false advertising
Frank
7 May 2019

Incentivised Review No
Dyson
DysonDyson

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Karen k
Karen kSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Don’t buy one!!!!!

published

Bought the Dyson last week, so disappointed. The head is hard to use on tiles, it’s stiff to push. Not like my old Dyson. Also the attachment does not have as strong suction, as old model. Contacted Dyson they told me to buy a a hand stick, I was hoping for a replacement, The person I spoke to had no idea what she was talking about. What a waste of $699. So frustrated.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for $699.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDyson
Lalistar
Lalistar
  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Won't be buying Dyson again

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Dyson
DysonDyson
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
debcoopz6
debcoopz6sydney

I'm very frustrated with my Dyson Ball

published

My Dyson ball vacuum does not vacuum forwards, ie I can only vacuum is by pulling the vacuum back (not forward). I am very frustrated with it. I have cleaned out everything and know there are no blockages. Would appreciate the answer to why my vacuum can't vacuum forwards on my carpet.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Dyson
DysonDyson
Brad
BradNowra NSW
  • 25 reviews
  • 9 likes

Dismal, disappointing and to many flaws! :(

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Dyson
DysonDyson

Two years And That Is The End Of This Disaster.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris
ChrisPerth

False advertising

published

I am taking these guys to consumer affairs.
The ad says “engineered for allergies” we literally left the doctors after receiving results oh being highly allergic to dustmites to purchase this machine. We searched for the best money could by and forked our $799 of our hard earned on this new machine. The ad claims to “hygienically eject the dirt” however all we have found is to be covered by dust every time we open it. Have had it serviced, have had it checked, have had a replacement dust bin sent out yet this continues to spit dust. Looking forward to a full refund being awarded by consumer affairs after they enticed the purchase with false claims.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Dyson
DysonDyson
Chris
Chris

Hi Mira, we are well beyond pleasantries, the ACCC will be in touch.
Just ensuring future customers are well informed.
Kind Regards,

Sami
SamiSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Terrible save your money

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Dyson
DysonDyson
Sami
Sami

Your customer service is as good as the machine ! What a waste of time contacting you, you were no help whatsoever.

Dyson
DysonDyson
Helen
HelenCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Disappointing...

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Dyson
DysonDyson
Page 1 of 2
See all Dyson Cinetic Big Ball reviews

Questions & Answers

Sherryl R.
Sherryl R.asked
Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

Hi I am wondering where is the filter located for Dyson Cinetic Big Ball allergy

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

The Dyson Cinetic Big Ball features Dyson Cinetic Science. Dyson Cinetic Science is so efficient, the dust and dirt is separated from the air into the bin, without the need for a washable filter. The machine has a post motor filter which is there to capture carbon dust from the motor however is designed to last the lifetime of the machine without the need to wash/replace it.

Dyson Cinetic Science features ultra-efficient cyclones with Cinetic tips. These tips allow our cyclones to be small, and they vibrate to ensure the ultra-fine dust doesn't clog them, rather, ends up in the bin for you to empty when you have finished your cleaning session.

If we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are available and happy to help.You can find ways to get in touch here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

Robert
Robertasked
Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

We have a dyson cinetic big ball allergy ... the power head has just stopped working. We have dismantled and reassembled the head and there are no blockages and there are no blockages in the machine. It still has good suction, just the power brush is not working. Any ideas?

3 answers
Mumof4boys
Mumof4boys

Hey,
Make sure it's not tangled with hair or anything like that (cotton etc)

Robert
Robert

Hi Mumof4boys.
Thanks, we have done that too with no success.

Dyson
DysonDyson

Hi Robert,

I am sorry to hear about this.

We would kindly ask you to email auaskdyson@dyson.com with your details and our Dyson Experts will be more than happy to help in getting this resolved.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting you.

Best wishes,

Shan

Rain
Rainasked
Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

I have a Dyson 214891-01 Cinetic Big Ball Allergy Barrel Vacuum and recently bought a Dyson 920018 Swivel Hard Floor Attachment, but it does not fit my vacuum! This is despite it being advertised as "fits all models except DC01, DC21 Motorhead, DC23 Motorhead and cordless models". Is there an adapter to make it fit?

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

Hi Rain,

Thank you for your query.

In the box included with your Cinetic Big Ball machine at time of purchase, there is an adaptor included to allow use of accessories purchased at store. You can see it in use here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGAgc2Cw6wg

If we can assist further, please just reach out via auaskdyson@dyson.com and we will be more than happy to help.

Best wishes,

Shan
Facebook.com/Dyson

See all Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy questions

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

Details

Compare all 8 Dyson Cinetic Big Ball
CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $799.00
HEPA FilterNo
Weight10.67 kg
TypeBagless
Cord Length6.6 m
Suction (Air Watts)250 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Compare all 8 Dyson Cinetic Big Ball
  • MPN: 214891-01 and 36262391
  • GTIN13: 5025155024010

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.