??!
2 photos
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro

MPN: 36262390
3.6 from 151 reviews

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

3.6

151 reviews
5
(59)
4
(32)
3
(18)
2
(20)
1
(22)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (13)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.3 (14)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.6 (14)
  • Pet OwnerYes (10) · No (4)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (5) · No (9)
Previous
Next
sstip

sstipHobart, TAS

It has issues

published

I have had numerous dysons over the last 25 years. This is by far the least well designed. While suction is excellent. Yes, you have to clean the brushes on the turbo head every now and then but I have to do that on all of them. The main design fault with this dyson is that the barrel, when you want to remove it to empty it, opens up and the contents get emptied all over the vacuum cleaner and your floor. So you have to clean the machine re-assemble it and then vacuum the floor, albeit small portion of it, again. The design of this one is very much bellow par in comparison to other dysons.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Completely Useless

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Noel Leeming for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
mib0004

mib0004Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very disappointed, not worth the money.

published

We bought this Dyson after having 15 years faithful service from our previous Dyson.
We are extremely disappointed with the Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro.
The problem with this one is mostly the emptying motion. It is like some fancy designer who has never used one got the contract. The bottom flops open and the barrel moves down just enough to cover the fine mesh filter making it difficult to clean out. Then it doesn't always clip back together properly. I am also wondering for the price why did they become so stingy with the cord length. It is about 2m shorter than the old unit and never seems to be just long enough.
The current Dyson cleaners are nowhere near the quality of earlier models. I would never buy one again.

Purchased in January 2019 at Betta Home Living for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Judith S.

Judith S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Do Not Buy Dyson, Never again Dyson

published

Purchased in May 2018 at The Good Guys for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
wintop

wintopCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Another bitterly disappointed Dyson customer...

published

Purchased at Dyson.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
5 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

We are sorry to hear you are disappointed with your new Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro.

We are keen to assist and discuss your concerns further. If you could please forward your details and review to auaskdyson@dyson.com we will be in touch shortly.

wintop
wintop
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
DeniseC

DeniseCSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Bitterly disappointed

published

I paid $700 (on special) for this cleaner which was delivered in January 2018, I had an early model Dyson which was very loud but a great cleaner. A part broke but because of age of cleaner, replacement part not available. When we release the barrel on the new cleaner to empty it, it spits the contents on the floor. When the barrel is less than half full, the suction dies alarmingly and the cleaner has to be emptied. The cleaner is still under warranty but frankly I would prefer my money back. So disappointed! The cleaner is used on carpet and tiles. I bought this one as we have a cat. It does pick up the cat fur extremely well. But when you have to keep emptying it when it is not even half full, it is not worth it.

Purchased in January 2018 at David Jones Online Store for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
jodiev1980

jodiev1980South West, WA

  • 6 reviews

So Disappointed! Wish I'd read the Reviews!

published

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
black-c

black-cSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Motor burnout after 3 years.

published

This is our second Dyson barrel vac. First one burnt the motor out after 7 years.
Purchased this supposedly bigger and better and more expensive machine 3 years ago. Motor has burnt out once again.
We have a Dyson handheld that gets more use than this and has had no issues.
I guess you don’t get what you pay for.

Purchased in June 2016 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
3 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
black-c
black-c

Too late. Purchased a new meile

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Should you change your mind, feel free to reach out. We are only happy to help.

Dayanari J.

Dayanari J.Perth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Suction is amazing

published

I have 2 hairy pets and this product is a life saver. I have used 2 different brands before buying this in 2017 when my fist bub came along and I needed something that does the job properly since the animal fur was in the air!! and 3 years later still in good working condition and the only downside is that the smooth rotation stops when my hair gets stuck in the thing. overall, pretty good.

Purchased in May 2017 for A$800.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John Duve

John DuveAustralian Capital Territory

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor design

published

This vacuum cleaner is horrible. it has ruined my wife’s birthday because the unloading mechanism is so sensitive that it dumps the contents on the floor. The bin is so small that we have to reach in to clear hair that is not dislodged by the opening mechanism. Dyson are trading on their goid name and we paid a premium for it. It is definitely not fit for purpose and we will be seeking a refund

Purchased in April 2019 at David Jones for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
John Duve
John Duve

We have now been in direct contact with Dyson. Dyson should also address the design fault that ensures that the hairs and dust remain stuck until extracted by hand, making dust go all over the place and on the user.

Lauren

Lauren

  • 5 reviews

Great product

published

Use it almost every day. Great suction. Very rarely gets blocked. Easy to empty waste with push button release. Easy to pull around house and get into tight nooky and crannies

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
j.tidyman

j.tidyman

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I want my old Dyson upright back!!!

published

Previously had a Dyson upright, decided to upgrade as a xmas gift for the house 2 years ago. From the moment i used for the first time I disliked the new dyson ball. The pipe/wand and attachments are flimsy, and feel very cheap. Im always weary not to put to much pressure on them in case they break. I feel the older model upright Dyson did 100% better job and would revert back to an upright if they still made them.

Purchased in December 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for A$999.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Gabe

GabeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Id rather invest in a kirby

published

Bought this product nothing compared to the kirby I bought in 2005 and guess what the kirby still works and sucks everything in its path.. too bad kirby on sells door to door....

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$999.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Anna

AnnaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Dyson Cinetic big ball animal pro.

published

Seriously disappointed in this vacuum considering how much it costs.
The suction is not very effective (despite emptying the barrel before needing to).
I feel like it just moves the crumbs around the carpet as opposed to vacuuming them up.
My old Hoover did a significantly better job and it was literally half the price.
A few positives about this machine..
1) The vacuum always remains upright (due to its ball shape).
2) Comes with lots of attachments for different uses.
3) The vacuum hose never kinks.

1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Zdraco

ZdracoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Worst ever vacuum I've ever brought

published

Firstly, the cleaning shut lid. Its so easily come undone the moment you pick the barrel up to go empty the dirt content.
the power suction is weak, the noise it makes is too loud, it doesn't pick up fluff or animal hair first go but 3 to 5 times over the same area before you can't see any fluff or hair, the connectors holder doesn't stay where it is but slides down the extension handle or pipe and it so easily get clogged up which is disappointing since you have to constantly stop and clean it before you can continue your cleaning.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bella

BellaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolutely dusgusted

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Jane

JaneWellington New Zealand

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

DO NOT recommend!!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
BusyMum 6798

BusyMum 6798Sydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very disappointed

published

Two main weaknesses - the clip that stops the dirty contents falling out the bottom of the barrel (as used to empty the cleaner) comes loose very easily as it's so flimsy - many times this has happened when carrying the barrel to the outside bin and contents of barrel end up all over the floor. Secondly, when vacuuming carpet, carpet fluff builds up around nozzle head and inside the connection cylinders which has to be removed manually quite frequently and is not easy to do.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Thomas

Thomas

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great vacuum

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Mish

MishMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my Dyson!

published

Love the Dyson Big Ball vac! It’s easy and light weight to maneuver and just as easy to empty! The suction power is like no other I have ever used and cleaning is thorough. I find all the connections that come with the vacuum useful for different areas of cleaning. The adjustable stick is also great for getting into hard to reach places and also convenient to suit the user’s height!
I also love that it takes a few sessions before the barrel needs to be emptied!! The floor head works a treat on tiles too!

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Page 1 of 8
See all Dyson Cinetic Big Ball reviews

Questions & Answers

Shelley

Shelleyasked

Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro

Hi , I have a dyson cinetic big ball which has started blowing lots of dust out the back of the ball. The filters appear to be clean. What do you think is wrong with it and how do I get it working properly again. It is less than a year old.

2 answers
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

We certainly wouldn't anticipate your Cinetic Big Ball machine to expel dust from the exhaust of the machine.

Please give our Dyson Experts a call on 1800 239 766 with your machine handy. Our helpline is open Monday - Friday 8am - 7pm and Saturday - Sunday 8:30am - 4pm AEST.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting with a resolution.

SusieD
SusieD

Ours has started doing this too, lots of dust blowing out the back. I will also try calling Dyson for advice.

Camdarr

Camdarrasked

Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro

We’ve had our Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro for about 2 years now and have just moved from a place that had wall to wall carpet, to a place that has no carpet and newly-installed hardwood floors. Three questions: 1 & 2. What are the wheels on the unit itself made from and are they ok to pull along the hardwood floor without scratching at all? 3. What are the best tools to use as not to scratch the floor? Thanks!

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

The wheels on your Dyson Cinetic Big Ball machine are made of plastic, with a softer plastic tip on the sides.

While we don't anticipate any difficulties, we would encourage ensuring the wheels are clean prior to use.

For the most delicate cleaning of hard floors, we would encourage using the Swivel Hard Floor Tool, included with your Big Ball Animal Pro.

If we can assist further, please don't hesitate to get in touch with our Dyson Experts via auaskdyson@dyson.com. Alternatively, if you are not in Australia, please visit www.dyson.com and press "Contact Us" for the local contact information of the Dyson helpline in your area.

Amanda W

Amanda Wasked

Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro

Our power head was accidentally taken over a smelly liquid on the floor and now the brush head smells, can we wash it?

3 answers
Dodokebab
Dodokebab

I’m no expert just someone who purchased one recently. Pretty sure the Dyson rep said not to submerge it in water when washing it. I hunk get said he usual damp cloth wipe over. You probably should actually call Dyson and ask them in case there’s electrical stuff in the head that’ll get damaged if wet. Such a pain that this has happened to you. I hope you manage to get it sorted out ok! Goodluck!

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi Amanda,

The Turbine head for your machine does not have any electrics as it is driven by the air of the machine, that being said we do not recommend completely submerging the head in water as if not completely dry when used again it will damage the machine.

Try using a damp cloth and if the smell remains please call our helpline on 1800 239 766 with your machine handy.

Our helpline is open Mon-Fri 8am-8pm and on the weekend 8.30am-4pm.

Best wishes,

Sam
Dyson Customer Care

Michael W.
Michael W.

Hi honestly send aucustomercare@dyson.com say that the motor head stopped working send them pictures as proof and they will send a new one out to you. Otherwise you will be up for $135

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.