??!
8 photos
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Multi Floor, Animal Pro, Animal, etc...
3.6 from 753 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
unsatisfied customer

unsatisfied customerSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

2nd review after owning for 6 months

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesYes
jak2015

jak2015Perth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

Very little power. No comparison to older Dyson models.

published

Have only had this vacuum for 8 days and I hate it.

I'm so disappointed. It has very poor suction compared to the DC25 that I have had for 10 years (that was still working up until a fortnight ago).

The vacuum head skips on the carpet every time you pull it back, unless at exactly right angle.

The switch for hard floor or carpet changes on its own while vaccuuming.

When I spoke to Dyson they suggested I buy a different head for it. The part is $135.

If the retailer had a money back guarantee, I would be returning it.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
Irene

IreneSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great vacuum

published

I used this vacuum for carpet dan floor wood also tile.
Works good and suction.
Its still good until today after 3 years.
Most product dying after 2 years of using.
Worth the money.

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nat

NatHobart, TAS

Not worth It

published

Purchased 3 years ago & only tried to use it twice before putting it in garage as after going over an over fluff on the carpet I had to bend down and pick it up. ( So just use my v6 slim cordless) Thought it was my carpet 3 yrs later it’s still new so just tried on my mums carpet as it’s been just sitting in the box unused and the same thing happens it sucks on your hand but picks hardly anything up after 10mins use the V6 slim again is full in minutes!!

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedRarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Phoebe S.

Phoebe S.

  • 2 reviews

Nothing to fault! Amazing!

published

i use this vacuum daily on a number of floor types, wood and tile being the main two. It has never let me down. My family have been customers of Dyson our entire lives and refuse to use anything else. There quality is amazing and dealing with complaint, purchases or anything else is always smooth and a positive experience.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
dragana0282

dragana0282Southwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

I believe in dyson and this is dissapointing.

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Cushla J

Cushla JRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is a great vacuum

published

Purchased in August 2018 for A$360.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeTiles
Clogging IssuesNo
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Shay

ShayWestern Australia

  • 16 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this vaccuum

published

Ive had my dyson vacuum for 3 years now. Perfect for all floors, including carpets. I have 2 dogs, and small childern. No issues picking up mess. Does need cleaned put regularly though!

Purchased in February 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$360.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesYes
corinnelise

corinneliseQLD, 4122

  • 17 reviews
  • 19 likes

Perfect for those with carpet and shedding pets

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Style_Meets_Emotion

Style_Meets_EmotionSydney, NSW

  • 34 reviews
  • 57 likes

Excellent vacuum, really sucks!

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
LittleJimmy

LittleJimmyBunbury

  • 20 reviews
  • 16 likes

This is one powerful vacuum cleaner!

published
  • +8

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
karen55

karen55Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 35 reviews
  • 24 likes

Cant live without it

published

This can be used on any floor type. Short pile to long pile to tiles and wooden floors. Easy to move around, love that if it falls over, it picks itself up. Love that it has no filters to worry about washing or replacing EVER! The service centre help is second to none and answered all my enquiries as To differences between machines before I purchased.

Purchased in September 2019 at The Good Guys for A$484.03.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
bronstar1

bronstar1Gippsland, VIC

  • 39 reviews
  • 26 likes

Lives up to the Dyson name

published
  • +2

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
Shezzie

ShezzieMid North Coast, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great Powerful Vacuum

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is usedDaily
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Peter

PeterGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

The Only Vacuum Cleaner You'll Ever Need

published
  • +3
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bzerk86

bzerk86Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 39 reviews
  • 27 likes

A Solid Vacuum for Homes with Animals

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
Greg N.

Greg N.Murray Region, NSW

  • 25 reviews
  • 17 likes

This is the epitome of vacuuming

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
Dani

DaniGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 48 reviews
  • 22 likes

best in its class

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
1 comment
Dani
Dani
tjr

tjrSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Follow up on previous review

published

Dyson contacted me with regards to my negative review, after a lot of ‘backwards and forwards’ I was contacted by Taryn who went above and beyond to get my machine fixed and returned to me with a warranty on new parts. This is a much better result than I expected or even considered. Clearly Dyson believe and stand by their product. I hope it lives up to the hype this time. Thank you Dyson, your assistance is very much appreciated

Purchased in September 2017 at Masters Home Improvement for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
Renee

ReneeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst Vacuum Cleaner I have ever owned - don't waste your money

published

Purchased in April 2018 for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesYes
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Page 1 of 2
See all Dyson Cinetic Big Ball reviews

Questions & Answers

LJP48

LJP48asked

Cinetic Big Ball Animal

Dyson - I am very excited about my new vacuum and think I may just have to figure out how to work some aspects. I have used it four or five times. I have had a few trial and error mistakes with the bin not being properly closed and vacuuming dirt all over. Hopefully I've solved that. My turbine head seems very noisy and I'm thinking I probably should be wearing ear protectors. I thought maybe something is clogging it - I have cleaned the brushes on the turbine head a few times as my long hair is wrapping around the roller. I have removed it all but still very noisy and I'm feeling the suction isn't as good as it was the first day. My husband tried it and it was too loud for him and he operates our leaf blower with enthusiasm. The wand seems to be fastened properly. I do feel like it is a simple fix but I just can't find what it is.

No answers
Matt

Mattasked

Cinetic Big Ball

Hi
When I vacuum carpet with my Dyson Big Ball it doesn't seem to pick up what is on the floor but instead seems to collect it then sucks it back out onto the floor. Any recommendations on how to stop this?

4 answers
Leonard
Leonard

What age is the machine ?

Matt
Matt

I purchased it in 2020. Has been doing this since I purchased it.

Dyson
DysonDyson

This is not to be expected and we are keen to assist.

Please forward your query and the serial number of your machine tor Dyson Experts via Live Chat, Facebook Messenger or phone and we will be happy to help.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting.

Jodietodman

Jodietodmanasked

Cinetic Big Ball

My cinetic big ball cannister wont stay closed at the bottom - every tume i remove it all the dirt empties all over floor. It doesnt clip closed at all

3 answers
Leonard
Leonard

Oh yes!
This is a feature of the obstinate Big Ball !
Didn't they tell you !

The suction inlet gets blocked with anything bigger than a gnats testicle.
So you have to open it to clear the obstruction.

Good idea never to open your machine inside the house.

Jodietodman
Jodietodman

Oh I don't have a problem with suction. But I do have a problem with the clip at bottom of cylinder. Wont stay closed. Dirt everywhere

Dyson
DysonDyson

We are sorry to hear the bin is opening on your machine when not expected. Sometimes, this can happen if the bin is pushed back up into position without closing the trap door first. We encourage closing the trap door, then pushing the bin back up into position.

If this is how you already close the bin or this continues, please just get in touch with our Dyson Experts and we will be happy to help get this sorted. You can find our contact details here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Details

Compare all 8 Dyson Cinetic Big Ball
CategoryBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) A$999.00A$899.00A$799.00A$699.00
HEPA FilterNoNoNoNo
Weight11.34 kg11.04 kg10.67 kg10.55 kg
TypeBaglessBaglessBaglessBagless
Cord Length6.6 m6.6 m6.6 m6.6 m
Suction (Air Watts)250 AW250 AW250 AW250 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateApr 2016Apr 2016Apr 2016Apr 2016
Compare all 8 Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.