??!
8 photos
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball (page 2 of 3)

Multi Floor, Animal Pro, Animal, etc...
3.6 from 748 reviews

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

2.8

47 reviews
5
(11)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(11)
1
(14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Dianne

DianneMurray Region, NSW

Not worth the money

published

Very disappointed with the overall quality and performance. Not enough variation in suction. Emptying the canister is not easy and has often clicked open as it is taken out of it's holder. The on/off switch is too small as is the cord rewind. Vacuum rod is too large and difficult to use. Attachments are poorly designed for the purpose intended.

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
JB Melbourne

JB MelbourneGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not as good as my original Dyson

published

My first Dyson nearly 10 years ago was amazing, this one is still good on hard floors (where I could use a broom) but a real struggle to get carpet clean. I have to scrub the carpet then often pick up a ball of fluff or kids hair my hand & feed it into the suction. Its mildly better than my $70 Aldi special but nearly 10x the price. No its not blocked just ineffective on carpet. Surely I dont have to spend 100s extra on an animal head to actually pick anything up from the carpet? I persisted for 3 months as I was so excited to have a Dyson again but now I just want my money back and a vacuum that works on carpet! Oh, and emptying it is a nightmare, dust everywhere from the cheap plastic release button that often gets stuck!

Purchased in September 2019 at The Good Guys for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
Clogging Issues No
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Cushla J

Cushla JRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is a great vacuum

published

Purchased in August 2018 for A$360.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
Clogging Issues No
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
glidagida

glidagidaHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very brittle plastic.

published

Functionally it is a vacuum with strong suction, too strong for carpet without reducing the suction. That said, I am not happy with the construction, after 12 months 3 plastic parts have broken in normal use. Another is failing, the barrel has star cracks on the underside where it is buried in the machine. All told poor construction, the plastic is too brittle.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
6 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
glidagida
glidagida
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Brian F

Brian FNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disappointed as there is a filter in the apparently filterless vacuum!

published

Purchased in April 2017 for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Wood
Clogging Issues No
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Brian F
Brian F
Cairoloves

CairolovesGold Coast

  • 33 reviews
  • 10 likes

Sturdy and reliable vacuum with good suction

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
ChrisOz

ChrisOzSydney, NSW

  • 30 reviews
  • 47 likes

A solid performer that apartment owners would love

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
Cat

CatAdelaide

  • 23 reviews
  • 12 likes

Mostly good but some area for improvement

published
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
Pumpy

PumpyCentral West, NSW

  • 24 reviews
  • 32 likes

It Sure Sucks!

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bonito

BonitoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Corded Big Ball vs Cordless V10? Why is better and why?

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
Chris Broome

Chris BroomePerth, Western Australia

  • 23 reviews
  • 19 likes

There is nothing like a Dyson to leave an impression!

published
  • +1

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues No
James

JamesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

First impressions WOW!!! Really Impressed

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
James
James
Daniel S.

Daniel S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Just blows dirt around.

published

We bought the vacuum and have used it once and on all surfaces, especially wooden floors, it just blows the dirt and crumbs around the floor and the intake filter at the top of the head gets covered, from the outside. It is also quite heavy and cumbersome to use on stairs. I even picked up a dust bunny to put it into the vacuum but it still just blew it into my face. I ended up vacuuming my home with the small upholstery attachment, it worked much better than the proper head

Purchased in September 2019 for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
GJR

GJRSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

In a word ‘WOW’ -- [I am impressed]

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
Sue

SueMurray Region, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 21 likes

The best vacuum I have ever used.

published
  • +3

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
3 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Sue
Sue
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nathan V.

Nathan V.Sydney, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 2 likes

The ultimate vacuum of the future

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
Nhora H.

Nhora H.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Overhyped

published

Durable and functions well. But over priced. You are paying for quality with strong suction. Don't use this on floor boards or polished tiles or you'll see scratches after. It works best for carpets. Put a Dyson label on the vacuum and expect to pay a 50 - 70% premium.

Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
Not Happy

Not HappySouth East Queensland, QLD

Forget doing the carpet!

published

I've found this vacuum ok on hard (tiled) floors but it has the same problem as every other vacuum I've ever used - it doesn't get right into where the floor meets the wall so I have to sweep these areas before I even get the vacuum out.

As for cleaning carpet - forget it! I have tried my vacuum on every possible setting (i.e. the red slide setting mechanism on the cleaning head) and cannot get all the dirt up no matter how many times I go over it.

Sorry, big waste of money!

Would not recommend this vacuum to anyone with carpet of any type.

Purchased in July 2018 at The Good Guys for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
6 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Feel free to email us at auaskdyson@dyson.com your details, a detailed description or videos of what's been happening, and we'll then be happy to help.

Not Happy
Not Happy

I sent my email to the above email address as directed a week ago and haven't heard a word. No acknowledgement of receipt of my email and, indeed, no suggested solution to my problems with this cleaner :-(

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
tjr

tjrSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Follow up on previous review

published

Dyson contacted me with regards to my negative review, after a lot of ‘backwards and forwards’ I was contacted by Taryn who went above and beyond to get my machine fixed and returned to me with a warranty on new parts. This is a much better result than I expected or even considered. Clearly Dyson believe and stand by their product. I hope it lives up to the hype this time. Thank you Dyson, your assistance is very much appreciated

Purchased in September 2017 at Masters Home Improvement for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
skMaze

skMazeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent vacuum

published

Very strong suction. I got this one after my old Hoover died and this Dyson hasn't disappointed. After vacuuming, the place feels very clean, including the air. I don't even see little dust particles floating in the air after finishing vacuuming. Emptying the cannister, however, isn't a breeze as it is advertised. I have to empty the cannister and tap gently on the top a few times to remove all the dust. Overall, very satisfied.

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
Page 2 of 3
See all Dyson Cinetic Big Ball reviews

Questions & Answers

kraayclan

kraayclanasked

Cinetic Big Ball

my new dyson big ball origin head doesn't seem to pick up dirt rather it just pushes it around causing me to have to lift the head up and place it down on top of dust to get it clean

2 answers
Mindab1980
Mindab1980

I had the same problem.
l had to purchase a carbon fibre turbine head of the Dyson website. Not ideal to fork out an extra $120 but now I get a really good clean.

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Any debris too large to fit under the floor tool may be pushed along the floor. For larger debris such as this, we would encourage either placing the floor tool directly on top of the debris, or removing the floor tool and using the included combination tool to clean these up.

If we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com and happy to help.

Shelley

Shelleyasked

Cinetic Big Ball Animal Pro

Hi , I have a dyson cinetic big ball which has started blowing lots of dust out the back of the ball. The filters appear to be clean. What do you think is wrong with it and how do I get it working properly again. It is less than a year old.

2 answers
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

We certainly wouldn't anticipate your Cinetic Big Ball machine to expel dust from the exhaust of the machine.

Please give our Dyson Experts a call on 1800 239 766 with your machine handy. Our helpline is open Monday - Friday 8am - 7pm and Saturday - Sunday 8:30am - 4pm AEST.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting with a resolution.

SusieD
SusieD

Ours has started doing this too, lots of dust blowing out the back. I will also try calling Dyson for advice.

Roslyn

Roslynasked

Cinetic Big Ball

Why is my Cinetic Big Ball Animal Dyson making a loud sort of screaming noise? How do I fix this? Still under warranty.

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

This isn't a sound we would expect from your Cinetic Big Ball and are keen to assist.

Please give our Dyson Experts a call on 1800 239 766 at your convenience (with your machine handy).

Our helpline is open Monday - Friday 8am - 7pm and Saturday - Sunday 8:30am - 4pm AEST.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting.

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.