??!
8 photos
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball (page 2 of 3)

Multi Floor, Animal Pro, Animal, etc...
3.6 from 744 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.0

55 reviews
5
(13)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(12)
1
(14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Popples

PopplesCurtin 2605, ACT

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not Great.

published

Was initially happy with this cleaner. Had issues with the multi floor head after about 12 months of use, it kept lifting off the floor and losing suction. Dyson kindly replaced the head, but with a different one, not the same as came with the purchase. Whether its the new head or not,bit seems to have loss suction, skims over the floor without picking up dirt/dust. Have previously been a Vax user but went with a Dyson on friend and family recommendations. Should have stuck with a Vax.

Purchased in August 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

We can confirm auaskdyson@dyson.com is our email address, however this may need to be written into a new email as opposed to copying and pasting. Apologies for any confusion.

JB Melbourne

JB MelbourneGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not as good as my original Dyson

published

My first Dyson nearly 10 years ago was amazing, this one is still good on hard floors (where I could use a broom) but a real struggle to get carpet clean. I have to scrub the carpet then often pick up a ball of fluff or kids hair my hand & feed it into the suction. Its mildly better than my $70 Aldi special but nearly 10x the price. No its not blocked just ineffective on carpet. Surely I dont have to spend 100s extra on an animal head to actually pick anything up from the carpet? I persisted for 3 months as I was so excited to have a Dyson again but now I just want my money back and a vacuum that works on carpet! Oh, and emptying it is a nightmare, dust everywhere from the cheap plastic release button that often gets stuck!

Purchased in September 2019 at The Good Guys for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
Clogging Issues No
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Jac

JacSouth Australia

Worst model

published

This unit is terrible , Ive had it for 2years and now the rotating head wont rotate, suction is awful even after emptying barrel.
Head is forever flicking up more dirt than it sucks in .

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Jac
Jac

Thank you , Ive done the above a couple of times and unfortunately its still not rotating . I will send my details as instructed above .

Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
webmate

webmate

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don't buy into the Dyson hype

published

The suction levels on the vacuum are poor - refer video. On timber floors it won't pick up anything larger than a grain of rice on first sweep. I have to pick up multiple items by hand as it's faster than moving the vacuum head back and forth again and again. The on/off and cord retractor buttons seem to be fagile, however in fairness I could be wrong. But their size and placement make it difficult to use anything but hands. When emptying the vacuum it has opened unexpectedly on multiple occasions, dumping dust on clean floors. And its quite difficult to get the bottom door of the dust receptacle to stay closed. It's truly awful!

Purchased in September 2019 for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
glidagida

glidagidaHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very brittle plastic.

published

Functionally it is a vacuum with strong suction, too strong for carpet without reducing the suction. That said, I am not happy with the construction, after 12 months 3 plastic parts have broken in normal use. Another is failing, the barrel has star cracks on the underside where it is buried in the machine. All told poor construction, the plastic is too brittle.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
6 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
glidagida
glidagida
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Cairoloves

CairolovesGold Coast

  • 33 reviews
  • 10 likes

Sturdy and reliable vacuum with good suction

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
ChrisOz

ChrisOzSydney, NSW

  • 30 reviews
  • 47 likes

A solid performer that apartment owners would love

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
Nad H

Nad HGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Most disappointing product I’ve ever bought

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Nad H
Nad H

Thanks Sam I’ll give that a try

Cat

CatAdelaide

  • 23 reviews
  • 12 likes

Mostly good but some area for improvement

published
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jeff C - Australia

Jeff C - AustraliaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 23 likes

I like using this vac a lot, well designed, great manoeuvrability

published
  • +2

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
Bonito

BonitoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Corded Big Ball vs Cordless V10? Why is better and why?

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
RegentsRobbo

RegentsRobboKambah 2902, ACT

  • 25 reviews
  • 25 likes

Dyson CY22 Cinetic Big Ball Animal + Barrel Vacuum Cleaner

published
  • +10

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
Mefistofele

MefistofeleVictoria

  • 24 reviews
  • 31 likes

Having a ball with Dyson...

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Wood
Clogging Issues No
Chris Broome

Chris BroomePerth, Western Australia

  • 23 reviews
  • 19 likes

There is nothing like a Dyson to leave an impression!

published
  • +1

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues No
Saltcastle

SaltcastleSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Just about close to perfect

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew

AndrewSydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes

Much better than expected - Love it

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
Pierre

PierreGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Designed for what it's meant to do!

published
  • +2

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Wood
Clogging Issues No
DeniseC

DeniseCSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Bitterly disappointed

published

I paid $700 (on special) for this cleaner which was delivered in January 2018, I had an early model Dyson which was very loud but a great cleaner. A part broke but because of age of cleaner, replacement part not available. When we release the barrel on the new cleaner to empty it, it spits the contents on the floor. When the barrel is less than half full, the suction dies alarmingly and the cleaner has to be emptied. The cleaner is still under warranty but frankly I would prefer my money back. So disappointed! The cleaner is used on carpet and tiles. I bought this one as we have a cat. It does pick up the cat fur extremely well. But when you have to keep emptying it when it is not even half full, it is not worth it.

Purchased in January 2018 at David Jones Online Store for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
GJR

GJRSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

In a word ‘WOW’ -- [I am impressed]

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
lmstork79

lmstork79Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish I had of read reviews, waste of money

published

I bought this vacuum in June and have had nothing but trouble with it. The multi head doesn't even make contact with the carpet so nothing gets picked up. Dyson used to be the go to manufacturer and this is our 4th dyson, I have 2 cordless dysons and older bagless that I now use for the cars. I was looking for a good vacuum for the bigger jobs but I won't be buying Dyson again.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Page 2 of 3
See all Dyson Cinetic Big Ball reviews

Questions & Answers

Roslyn

Roslynasked

Cinetic Big Ball

Why is my Cinetic Big Ball Animal Dyson making a loud sort of screaming noise? How do I fix this? Still under warranty.

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

This isn't a sound we would expect from your Cinetic Big Ball and are keen to assist.

Please give our Dyson Experts a call on 1800 239 766 at your convenience (with your machine handy).

Our helpline is open Monday - Friday 8am - 7pm and Saturday - Sunday 8:30am - 4pm AEST.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting.

Sue

Sueasked

Cinetic Big Ball

My brand new Dyson won’t clean a short pile rug! I have used every head and nothing helps, have I just wasted $500

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

We are sorry to hear about this and are only happy to assist.

Please forward your query, the serial number of your machine and your details to auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be in touch shortly to help.

Meg F.

Meg F.asked

Cinetic Big Ball

Can I use my dyson big ball to vacuum wet carpet? I've rubbed i with nappy san and warm water and also used vanish carpet clean and am wondering if I can vamuum that up.

Thanks

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Dyson vacuum cleaners are designed for use on dry household dust and dirt. Any use on liquids or moisture can cause damage to your machine and is not recommended.

If we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com. If you are not in Australia, please visit www.dyson.com and press "Contact Us" for the local contact information of the Dyson helpline in your area.

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.