??!
2 photos
Dyson Ball Animal DC65

Dyson Ball Animal DC65 (page 2 of 7)

MPNs: 206273-01 and 20627301
3.0 from 124 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(31)
(21)
(21)
(16)
(35)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    3.2 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (14)
  • Product is used
    • Several times a week (9)
    • Weekly (4)
    • Daily (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (14)
  • Pet OwnerYes (11) · No (4)
Alppssc

AlppsscDublin

  • Verified purchase

great machine spoilt by short brush life

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Rachael

Rachael

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

My perfect vacuum cleaner

published

I use my Dyson ball vacuum on my loungeroom an hall way which are wooden floors, as well as in my kitchen which is vinyl, i also have tiled floors in my bathroom an laundry. An carpet in all 3 bedrooms.. this vacuum is my best friend, it is light easy to move an picks up everything. I would HIGHLY recommend this product... VERY VERY SATISFIED CUSTOMER....

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Hards15

Hards15

  • 2 reviews

Heavy , hose attachment difficult to use and my wrist swells because it’s heavy

published

I bought this for pet hair on carpet and tiles and the machine is heavy to manoeuvre and my wrist swell with arthritis every time I use. The machine won’t fit under beds and the hose attachment is hard to use and the machine topples over. Horrible vac expensive also

Date PurchasedJun 2018
7 comments
Hards15
Hards15

This was actually purchased from Hervey Norman not the good guys. Dyson you should refund my money do I can get a proper vacuum cleaner . Very angry very frustrated

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Hards15
Hards15
Upright Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Ball Animal DC65 compares to other Upright Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lesley

LesleyHamlyn Terrace

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Big bulky but does the job

published

This is a good vacuum cleaner and when we first got it we were really impressed. Since living with it for 5 years though it has become slightly annoying. The chord at the back that the accessories plug into is not the most functional. And the weight of the machine are it’s only down falls

Date PurchasedJun 2013
Katrina

KatrinaMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Expensive but works well

published

It is eye-catching to look at based on the design. Not as loud as other vacuum cleaners. However, very hard to use if you're used to the standard vacuum cleaners. Took us a bit of time to efficiently use it. A little heavy but it's not a major issue. Been using this for almost a year. I'm not extremely impressed. It's too expensive for the function it offers.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Gym guy

Gym guySydney

  • 5 reviews

6 / 10

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Seb

SebSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Flexible, but some durability concerns.

published

This vacuum cleaner is flexible, powerful and relatively easy to disassemble and clean. However, the handle is prone to bending with ordinary use and we have already had to get it fixed once under warranty. It just doesn't feel as sturdy as the last Dyson we had, which is a shame.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Nice vacuum cleaner after correction of rubber skirt

published

I found my Dyson Animal sucked too hard. After checking out the carriage on the bottom of the appliance I found the rubber skirt at the front had tucked under a couple of tabs that are part of the plastic moulding on the either end of the base. This had been causing the carriage to press on the carpet, thus sucking too hard. On releasing the rubber I found the suction to be perfectly okay,

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Maureen

MaureenMoonah

Wish to God i'd read the reviews first

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Upright Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Ball Animal DC65 compares to other Upright Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony S

Anthony S

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great on carpet but

published

Just changed from the big ball floor model over to an upright, still has that amazing dyson quality build and cleaning power, when using the upright on carpet you will be amazed by the amount of dirt pulled up from what appears to be already clean carpet but the hard floor is not as great, would have to say the floor model works better on tiled floor.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Hoppy

HoppySale

  • 5 reviews

Perfect

published

The vacuum is easy for me to use as i have one leg andnstruggle dragging something. Its small enough to locknaway and not be to bulky to store.

The power is good enough to pull all dirt out
I have hard floors and carpet so works awsowme

Its not to loud either

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Megan

MeganPerth

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worst money I’ve ever spent!

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Little wheels on bottom of head block up after 1 usethis causes the head to leave drag marks on inal

published

Wheels on head block up with dog hair after 1 use and won’t turn dc65 animal vac
Customer service stated that I haven’t maintained the vac correctly and that I must pick out the hair with tweezers after each thus takes 1/2 hour
Terrible design rude customer service staff terrible design a waste of $800 great suction though but useless on pet hair

Date PurchasedMar 2016
8 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Sueb
Sueb
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Shaz

ShazSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

We had high expectations with Dyson but not after purchasing this vacuum cleaner!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016

NEVER AGAIN

published
Date PurchasedJun 2015
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Upright Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Ball Animal DC65 compares to other Upright Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ann

AnnTasmania

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't buy a Dyson.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Ann
Ann

I have already contacted you several times and you have been no help, I am not wasting more time with your company, you don't care about your costumers at all.

This broken piece of plastic is gathering dust

published

It looks great, good amount of suction, but the flimsy handle area can't accommodate the constant shifting of direction. It forces the nozzle that's attached behind it, at the end of the hose assembly, to constantly disengage.
So I bought a bullet proof Kirby off gumtree and you can see it lifting the carpet and underlay. Every time I wheel the steel monster past the Dyson, I can almost hear it snickering at it.
Whilst the Dyson cowers , in dust covered plastic shame

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Cam Smith

Cam SmithMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Exceptionally Powerful

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Val R

Val RMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

This is amazing! I can't live without it!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Chris S

Chris SMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Does the job, but takes up so much room

published

I'm torn with this product - while it does a great job in terms of suction and cleaning, it's just so cumbersome! We have two cats and a very fluffy dog, so spend a lot of time vacuuming. We also live in an inner city apartment. This is probably stupid on our part, as this vacuum is just not easily storable or movable. It makes vacuuming fairly tiring, and the vacuum sits in the laundry in plain sight. I do think it's power and performance is great, but it's probably more suited for people with multiple, generous storage space.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Page 2 of 7
See all Dyson Ball Animal DC65 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sharon D

Sharon Dasked

why does the DC 65 leave brush marks on carpet

3 answers
Jayden
Jayden

Inevitably due to the rotating brush doing its job. Also remember there is the drive section on the brush bar so therefore a gap/section on the carpet will be missed on each pass.
Remember to clean the hair/fur from the brush bar periodically!

Sharon D
Sharon D

There isn't a drive setting on my brush head, I noticed that slide switch on u tube. My machine is brand new

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi Sharon,

Thank you for your question.

As Jayden mentioned above due to the rotating brush and the drive motor on the head there will be a line left.

Please avoid keeping the machine in the same place with the brush running for periods of time as this will leave marks on the carpet due to the spinning brush.

If you'd like to further discuss please feel free to reach out to our helpline on 1800 239 766.

Best wishes,

Sam
Dyson Customer Care

PM

PMasked

Dyson Ball Animal DC65 MPN: 20627301 . or the Dyson Light Ball Multi Floor+
MPN: 281282-01?
Hi, i'm not sure which one to purchase and advice. We have wood and short pile carpets and two domestic short hair cats. We already have a cylinder Dyson and a Dyson cordless stick but would like to purchase an upright as less stress on the back. Both retailing at $599 at the moment. Thanks in advance.

4 answers
IBE
IBE

DC65 Animal Upright ideal. I have same except a dog. Works perfect

PM
PM

Thank you :)

Shane
Shane

Just keep in mind that if you need to use the hose, it will definitely be a task. As the hose will be stiff and the upright will fall over as you use it and pull the hose around. So if your OK with that then by all means. It does pick up animal hair well because of the brush bar.

sugunakar k.

sugunakar k.asked

Just bought dyson dc65, while doing on carpet, handle is coming off while pulling back. Is there any lock on it to prevent it.

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Once firmly pushed into position, the handle shouldn't come off during use.

We would kindly encourage emailing auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be happy to help.

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.