??!
2 photos
Dyson Ball Animal DC65

Dyson Ball Animal DC65 (page 3 of 7)

MPNs: 206273-01 and 20627301
3.0 from 124 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(31)
(21)
(21)
(16)
(35)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    3.2 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (14)
  • Product is used:
    • Several times a week (9)
    • Weekly (4)
    • Daily (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (14)
  • Pet OwnerYes (11) · No (4)


Victor

VictorVIC, 3030

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good suction but poor design

published

Had this vacuum for a few years now. Still works great and hasn't had noticeable loss in suction or performance. It is incredibly good on carpets but can be hard to maneuver and I'd recommend some ear plugs to protect your hearing. For vacuuming in hard to reach places or high up it's decent with the long extension tube but the whole vacuum is likely to follow with you (poor design). We vacuum mostly just 2 carpeted bedrooms and that is enough to need to need to empty it out.

Date PurchasedNov 2014

Alexis K

Alexis KPerth

  • 4 reviews

Good product

published

Good product except for emptying mechanism on the canister. Expensive but managed to purchase it when on promotion from the Good guys. A relatively heavy vacuum but the round body is easy to manoeuvre around the house. We have used on a variety of floors, unfortunately it is quite noisy.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Sharon

Sharon

  • 4 reviews

Reliable and perfect for kids

published

Our baby started crawling and we were very anxious about the cleanliness of our carpet. The dyson suction kept our carpet spotless with performance reliable each and every time. The only downfall was the bulkiness of the item which made it hard to store. I would check if you have the floor space to store it. Worth every cent!

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Harpreet

HarpreetBrisbane

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good overall vacuum

published

Happy with the product , has excellent suction power. the only downside is that its is heavy and bit hard to maneuver. so i wont recommend it for old people. And the dust tank is also not that big, it requires to be emptied out after couple of use for a full 4 bedroom home. 200msq home. Overall good vacuum with great suction.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

To The Consumer

To The ConsumerSouth Australia

  • 15 reviews
  • 17 likes
  • Verified purchase

Noisy Awful Disappointment. Good for injuring neck and back.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Rick

RickSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews

Poor accessories

published

Great vacuum cleaner for carpets. Little heavier than it should be hopeless for cleaning carpet under beds as the attachments supplied are useless. Had to use old power head off our old worn out DC23 which would work well if it was not worn out. The fittings are the same and Dyson should supply something like this instead. Also the attachment hose is a nightmare to us as it sucks back in.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Engineering Disaster

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Jonathan

JonathanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Its good but troublesome

published

Have always used a bagged vacuum and heard that the Dyson is very powerful with good suction. Decided to get one while there was a sale on and have been using it for some months now. It is a very powerful vacuum with good suction with many different heads for different purposes. The only negative is the clearing of the vacuum as its not an convenient as a bagged machine.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Craig

Craigmelbourn

  • 4 reviews

Good and very useful thing

published

Dyson Ball Animal DC65.
Good and very useful thing. We are using it for a 3 months - great quality.
Lightweight and easy to use. Very powerful, seems to do an excellent job with getting all dirt and finer particles. Does a good job at picking up bigger things like my candy. Very easy to empty. Overall I would say it is a great vacuum and that's why 4 stars. I would say good, but not great value.
As I heard Dyson service center very good and their customer service department is very helpful.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Karen

KarenGold Coast, Queensland

  • 7 reviews

So disappointed

published

I bought my Dyson exactly 6 years ago, over the 6 years everything that could be replaced has already been replaced!
Today it finally fell to pieces, literally, it is lying on my garage floor in bits! I am so disappointed, I thought it might last a bit longer, given I paid almost $900 for it! Well I guess I actually paid more for it as I had to pay for a new barrel and a new foot! Never again!

Date PurchasedNov 2011
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Simone Landsman

Simone LandsmanMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Don’t waste your time !!!!

published

The only good thing I have to say about this vacume is that the ball part gives great moveability and that’s about it !!!! This is my 2nd Dyson and I have to say I don’t think I’d buy Dyson again !!! Plastics on this one in particular were no where near as good a quality as my last and parts have broken surprisingly , to which I had to pay to replace when obviously if it were made with better quality plastic I’d not have had the issue !!!

Date PurchasedJun 2015
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Simone Landsman
Simone Landsman

PLEASE don't waste your money

published

Dyson have got us to a stage where we will never purchase another product. Such a shame but is very common view among people we know. Stopped working, took it to be repaired under warranty. Cost us $150 anyway. Apparently they did us a favour!! No one got back to us we had to keep ringing, apparently dust was blocking the filters. Who would think a vacuum would be used for collecting DUST??? OHH maybe you can only use it on floors that are clean?? Good bye Dyson....

Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Paradise

ParadiseMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Can't beat the suction of the Dyson DC65

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Steve-gee

Steve-geeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 41 reviews
  • 1 like

Bought a Dyson Animal - because we thought it would be the best - it surely isn't!

published

It's pretty maneuverable in use, but the whole thing falls back over when you try to stand it upright unless you make sure to REALLY firmly click the handle in place. The extension hose tube (used for the attachments) is also really fiddly and will not always lock back into position either.

We now both agree that we dislike it - with a passion!

Date PurchasedApr 2017
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Steve-gee
Steve-gee
Staffs

StaffsWestern District, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

HATE IT

published

Worst vauccum I ever brought, hard to manoeuvre, falls over when you try to stand it upright , takes so long to put the extension tube back in its place and fiddly , not and easy vacuum to use.

Don’t waste your money there are better vacuums out there , the cheap plastic attachments, the brushes all look worn out and I have only had it a few month.

I HATE IT I brought it because of my dogs and that I had a 10 disc spinal fusion thinking it would be easy to use, sadly it’s not , I should have got the Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal As I have used this at a friends place , it’s easy to use and manoeuvre.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
3 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Staffs
Staffs

Yes I do as you say but it still falls over . But the wand is the most ridiculous system you have , getting it to slot back in its spot , is hard and time consuming. Hate it .

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
CMV

CMVbrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good

published

We have floor boards and I wouldn’t say it is the best of these as it leaves small scratches. Great for carpet. Have used the extension down the stairs and it works ok but I have large stairs so pulling the extension to far out creates drama with the weight of the vacuum

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

BJW

BJWGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor form Dyson

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
4 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
BJW
BJW

Thank you. I have just emailed through details and supporting pictures regarding the above issue. Would appreciate a response.

BJW
BJW

What a waste of time, yet again receive poor customer service from Dyson. Have given up and traded the machine on a new Miele Blizzard which is hands down a much better product.


Valerie60

Valerie60Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not as good as i expected

published

It does a good job of vacuuming and is better than most other normal vacuums I have had, it is not as good as a Rainbow vacuum, I find cleaning it hard as there is a lot of dust that does not come out which i have to try and extract by tapping container over sink, would not buy Dyson again.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Well where do I start

published

First of all it doesn't have the best suction sold to me because I wanted something to pick up the dog care well it's pretty ordinary to say the least my $200 came out one did a better job now I turned over the vacuum cleaner because yes I regularly clean out blockages to find that the bristles on the head of the vacuum cleaner have melted away so now it picks up even less now I have to fork out the price for a new head for the vacuum cleaner or throw the thing out when it's not even a 2 yrs old not happy at all

Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Argus

ArgusSouthwest, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Twice the vacuum, possibly. Picks up dog hair, in their dreams!

published

Having 'twice the vacuum of any other machine' one would think that this vacuum would pick up dog hair, but sadly it doesn't even look at it. Have had to pull it apart three times due to a blockage, and each time the blockage seemed to be in an area I couldn't reach without damaging the machine. The 'power head' is constantly getting 'knotted' with loose threads and fine objects, and heavier objects can be heard somewhere in the line but not in the collection bucket. There has got to be something better, but for just over $700, you would think this would do as advertised.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Page 3 of 7

See all Dyson Ball Animal DC65 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sharon D

Sharon Dasked

why does the DC 65 leave brush marks on carpet

2 answers
Jayden
Jayden

Inevitably due to the rotating brush doing its job. Also remember there is the drive section on the brush bar so therefore a gap/section on the carpet will be missed on each pass.
Remember to clean the hair/fur from the brush bar periodically!

Sharon D
Sharon D

There isn't a drive setting on my brush head, I noticed that slide switch on u tube. My machine is brand new


PM

PMasked

Dyson Ball Animal DC65 MPN: 20627301 . or the Dyson Light Ball Multi Floor+
MPN: 281282-01?
Hi, i'm not sure which one to purchase and advice. We have wood and short pile carpets and two domestic short hair cats. We already have a cylinder Dyson and a Dyson cordless stick but would like to purchase an upright as less stress on the back. Both retailing at $599 at the moment. Thanks in advance.

4 answers
IBE
IBE

DC65 Animal Upright ideal. I have same except a dog. Works perfect

PM
PM

Thank you :)

Shane
Shane

Just keep in mind that if you need to use the hose, it will definitely be a task. As the hose will be stiff and the upright will fall over as you use it and pull the hose around. So if your OK with that then by all means. It does pick up animal hair well because of the brush bar.


sugunakar k.

sugunakar k.asked

Just bought dyson dc65, while doing on carpet, handle is coming off while pulling back. Is there any lock on it to prevent it.

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Once firmly pushed into position, the handle shouldn't come off during use.

We would kindly encourage emailing auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be happy to help.


Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.