??!
1 photo
Dyson Pure Cool Link Desk

Dyson Pure Cool Link Desk

MPNs: 305224-01 and 36447185
3.5 from 15 reviews

See the Best Standalone Fans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
1
4 star
7
3 star
6
2 star
0
1 star
1

Pin

PinRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Style over substance.

published

Fan noise versus output do not match. Very noisy on highest speed but cooling is inadequate.
The most annoying feature is the remote. It does not have raised edges for the control buttons. Totally useless for those of us who need glasses to read. At night if I want to change the settings I have to turn on the light and put on glasses.
The remote looks sleek and modern but not practical.
I do however like the air purifier feature.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Power
Air Quality Improvement
Odour Improvement
Room Type Large Bedroom
Pet OwnerNo
Smokers No
See all answers

Sarah

Sarah

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Smart purifier but pricey

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Air Quality Improvement
Pet OwnerYes
Smokers No
See all answers
OMWH12

OMWH12Melbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great purifier

published

We bought this partly as a fan but mostly in an attempt to allow my spouse, who has dreadful allergies, to breathe better. We were really pleased.

It's very quiet, and has a "night mode" so that you can get some sleep. The timer function is perfect for the nights you need to be cool enough to fall asleep but don't want a fan on all night. We also like the remote control

The best bit is the purification function. We saw a noticeable difference in the allergy levels in our house, so that was great.

The unit is a little expensive, and filters are pricey at $100 each, but overall it was worth it.

Purchased in December 2018 at Dyson.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Air Quality Improvement
Room Type Large Bedroom
Pet OwnerNo
Smokers No
See all answers
Lyn M

Lyn MDarwin, NT

Whistles

published

I purchased a large floorstanding and a desk purifier in Oct 2018. It was difficult connecting them to the WiFi and left several messages with Dyson who never called back. I eventually connected them after a few days of trying. The desk fan I had in my bedroom. After a couple of months it started whistling in the middle of the night waking me up. So id have to turn it off. It now sits in another room as the process for investigatiing and repairing items from the Northern Territory takes an exhibortant amount of time.

Purchased in October 2018 at Harvey Norman for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Air Quality Improvement
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Pet OwnerNo
Smokers No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Prosumer

ProsumerSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

High pitches squeal after 3 months

published

Bought late last year, has developed high pitched squeal after 4 months finally tried to return it endless phone queues and no service used my own time to post then when I rang again after a week to see what is going on with it their system hung up on me after 30 minutes. AVOID DYSON they don’t stand behind their products.

Purchased in November 2018 at Myer Retail Stores for $649.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Power
Air Quality Improvement
Odour Improvement
Room Type Small Bedroom
Pet OwnerYes
Smokers No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Alecia

AleciaSydney

Good for allergies not so much for Hot Days

published

I bought this Dyson because of my partner who saw it and said it looked good and had good reviews. Unfortunately it does not cool enough especially on hot days so we were having the fan on as well just to try and stay cool which is even more electricity. Last night I tried to just have the dyson on but both my partner and I woke up sweating. On the flip side my partner has bad allergies and love it and says she wakes up feeling so much lighter on her chest and able to breathe. So overall it is good but if you are expecting it to be really cold it’s not or that it’s good for hot days then not so much but it will help you be able to breathe better and purify the air.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Fan and purifier as one

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018

Lachlan b

Lachlan bSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice looking fan. Power of air isn't as strong as one would like. However is pretty quiet

published

Nice looking fan. Power of air isn't as strong as one would like.
Dyson make reliable products and the fan is a sleek looking one at that. Could have a stronger power output but I guess is child friendly and made for innovation to not look as ugly and be as loud.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Rachel Sala

Rachel SalaAnnandale, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for children

published

It is a great "fan" for children's room as there is actually no blade and no risk of hurting little fingers. Missing a bit of power and not enough choice of speed in my thoughts. Give you a nice a cool breeze but nothing really strong. Different but nice. thanks

Date PurchasedAug 2013
BOZ

BOZ

  • 5 reviews

Not enough power

published

Needs more power - not strong enough
Looks great & bladeless - kids cant get hurt
Remote is excellent - make life easy for everyone
The app is world class - probably the most advance fan in the world
Has had reliability issues with repairs required - excellent service by Dyson

Date PurchasedJun 2017

LynnC

LynnCGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great fan

published

This fan is really good. It allows you to change the speed accordingly either manually or via a remote control. It also doesn’t have any blades which is great for children. Another great feature is the fact that while is circulates the air it is also purifying it. It’s a great fan.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Anthony Y

Anthony YBundoora

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

A fan that cools, is quiet, has a remote but ultimately is overpriced

published

This fancy fan certainly can cool, is relatively quiet (compared to other fans) and has a handy remote control. Perhaps it is the design but it feels as though it just doesn't have as much 'ooompf' compared to cheaper $20 fans one can pickup from Bunnings. I think the design prevents it from being able to circulate as much air as other cheaper units. There are no visibly moving blades/parts so it is arguably safer around small children then other fans. It does have an air filter which is meant to provide cleaner air - so this may be an important consideration for you. For the rest of us a regular fan should do.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Aaron

AaronPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Nice features but with a few issues

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

robfol

robfolMelbourne, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Just bought one in Myer sale at $299 which makes it good value

published

Very stylish, pretty quiet and well made, but air output not as good as fans only. Physically way larger than expected, could be a problem for some, do your due diligence. Appears to do air cleaning very well, I have it in my home office where it helps cool me and I leave it running overnight in the background. Not set up the app yet but apparently that will show you the actual air quality in your space. Get one in the sale and you will be happy.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
robfol
robfol

Bought another one at $400. Would up my review to 5 Stars now. Excellent product.

gtclim

gtclimMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Expensive and well featured

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Questions & Answers

Luke A

Luke Aasked

Dyson's selling point over competitor's air purifiers seems to be that they circulate greatly more air through the room, claiming this translates to greater air purification. This is only beneficial if it's blowing filtered air but I suspect the "air multiplier technology" is vacuuming in a large volume of unfiltered prior to fanning it.

What is the percentage of filtered air versus unfiltered air that is output by the unit? Please respond here.

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi Luke,

Thank you for your query.

While we can't provide a percentage, this is correct. Not all the air moved by our purifiers has been purified by the machine. Please allow me to explain further.

Many purifiers purify the air around them, creating a clean "bubble" of air around the machine, leaving air in other corners of the room untouched.

Dyson machines use our Air Multiplier technology to project purified air into the room (moving ambient air along with it). As this air is projected, it allows the air in the room to be more efficiently mixed, and the quality of the air in the room as a whole to be increased as it passes through the filter in the machine.

Our patented technology allows our machines to circulate purified air throughout the whole room, not just around the machine.

I hope this helps, however if you have any further queries, please email our Dyson Experts via auaskdyson@dyson.com and we will be happy to help.

Best wishes,

Shan


Christopher J

Christopher Jasked

My Dyson pure cool - desktop turns on for 3 seconds then turns off by itself.. no idea why it was working fine 20 minutes ago. Any ideas?

2 answers
Valerie60
Valerie60

Hi, Christopher, have you paired your Dyson with your phone so you can see how many hours you have left on your filter? I run mine for about 8 hours every day and it never turns itself off, do you have it on as a heater? because if you do it may turn off once it has reached a certain temperature, mine has done this when I tried it out as a heater.
Good luck

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi Christopher,

Thank you for your query.

Sorry to hear this is happening. So we can best assist, we would kindly ask you to email our Dyson Experts via auaskdyson@dyson.com and we will be happy to help.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting.

Best wishes,

Shan


Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Details

CategoryAir Purifiers and Standalone Fans
Price (RRP) $399.00
FeaturesBladeless, Oscillating, Remote Control and Timer
Colour / Finish Silver/White
TypeDesk
Cord Length 1.8 m
Dimensions 419 x 285 x 282 mm
Weight4.98 kg
HEPA FilterYes
FeaturesAutomatic Air Quality Monitor, Remote Control and Timer
Construction Material Metal
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Construction
Body MaterialMetal
Replaced byDyson Pure Cool Desk

Visit official website
  • MPN: 305224-01 and 36447185
  • GTIN13: 5025155025659 and 5025155030547

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.