7 photos
Dyson Supersonic

Dyson Supersonic (page 2 of 10)

MPNs: 306013-01, 306016-01, 316471-01 and 5 more
4.3 from 559 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hair Dryers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Dyson

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (79)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (80)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (79)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (74)
  • Safety
    4.8 (62)
Previous
Next
Nelly
NellyMelbourne, Victoria
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst hairdryer ever

published

Don't waste your money. It leaves your hair feeling and looking like straw. Lots of hair damage. So disappointed with this product. My Halo and Feather Jet are far superior and half the price.

Incentivised Review No
Dyson
DysonDyson
HelenMB
HelenMBPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really notice the difference

published

I bought the Dyson supersonic limited edition hairdryer about three weeks ago. The lady who sold it to me said her customers have come back to say their hair feels smooth and soft. She wasn’t lying. This hairdryer is really worth it. Adds great body, no fly-away strands, smooth and soft hair. I have shoulder length white/platinum hair (my age, not dyed). This dryer is light, compared to my recently deceased Parlux 3500, and easy to manoeuvre, doesnt hurt my shoulder or neck, and dries my hair quickly, I even use the diffuser to dry my hair off before I style. I am totally in love with it.

Purchased in January 2021 at The Good Guys for $549.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5

Other Hair Dryers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Marina
MarinaSydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

I expecting more

published

It's not heavy, but I was expecting it to be lighter, it's not that loud, which is good, it's nice in shape but nothing special if compared to conventional dryers.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5

The product when it works is very good, but has its flaws

published

Purchased at Boots the chemist.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDyson
Hair Dryers

Find out how Dyson Supersonic compares to other Hair Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KateP
KatePPerth, WA

Keeps cutting out

published

Bought my Dyson hairdryer in Nov 2018, all good until a few months ago when it started cutting out on a regular basis (read everyday). Not sure what to do as just out of warranty. Has been well looked after and filter cleaned daily. Not what I would expect from such an expensive dryer and reputable company.

Purchased in November 2018 at Myer for $500.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Dyson
DysonDyson
Jann
JannSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

The best hairdryer on the market

published

Today I received my Dyson Supersonic hairdryer and tested it out straight away. What a fabulous appliance. Very well balanced and easy to use and hold. I have straightish but frizzy hair and just blew my hair without using a brush or comb. My hair dried with 90% less frizz than what my previous could achieve. Thank you Dyson LOVE LOVE LOVE it

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Dora
DoraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Hello Beautiful Hair

published

Purchased in July 2020 for $560.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Jamie
JamieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Crappiest Hairdryer ever

published

Purchased in October 2020 at David Jones Online Store for $549.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDyson

Other Hair Dryers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jenna
JennaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Big Let Down

published

I received this as a gift. I was so pleased with it and used it for about a month until I noticed my my hair was getting a lot of breakage and was quite frizzy. My hair was in great condition before this. I have had to return to my old hair dryer. After researching the product I found it was a common issue. At the price, that was paid, $550, I would expect my hair to be in much better condition. I contacted Dyson who said they would service it, not sure how this will help. I sent them my details so as they could arrange for the return of the product and have not heard a thing back from them.

Purchased in September 2020 at Harvey Norman for $550.00.

Incentivised Review No
Dyson
DysonDyson

We are sorry to hear you haven't heard from us, this is quite unusual and we are happy to help.

Please just forward your details to auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be in touch very shortly.

Hair Dryers

Find out how Dyson Supersonic compares to other Hair Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Huzza1
Huzza1Melbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent Product let down by flimsy 3 pin plug

published

I really like my new Dyson Hair Dryer, best have ever had but for such an expensive Dryer why do you fit such a flimsy 3 pin plug that bends easily with a simple knock.

Incentivised Review No
Dyson
DysonDyson
Melbourne Sleepy
Melbourne SleepyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good while it works, the cable is a weakness

published

Almost 1 year old the cord broke internally and so stopped working. I decided to dismantle (voiding the warranty) to understand how such a simple fault could occur. After you carefully "break off" the switch caps dismantling is easy. The cable design is flawed due to the poor choice of both type and gauge, and will fail unless you are always careful with cable twisting and storage. Due to the moulded cable relief/barrier it is impossible to repair and replacement parts are not available to purchase.

Purchased in June 2019 for $600.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Dyson
DysonDyson

Other Hair Dryers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Shell
Shell
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Its pretty good

published

Its nice and light so you dont get a sore hand or arm while blowdrying, it is a bit expensive though for what it is. The magnetic nozzle is alot easier to handle , i dont have a stand for it though it would be good if they sold the stands separately so I could buy one for my bathroom. I bought mine 3 years ago and its still going well

Purchased in December 2017 at Shaver Shop for $699.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Dyson
DysonDyson
Hair Dryers

Find out how Dyson Supersonic compares to other Hair Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tina
TinaDarling Downs, QLD

What a rip off!

published
Incentivised Review No
Coralee
CoraleeAuckland, New Zealand
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Seems to cause frizz for my hair, yet my other dryer does not

published

Sadly it seems too cause frizz and damage to my hair plus no quicker
Good position of controls, works well with a brush to curl hair
My previous dryer is better @ $80

Purchased in June 2020 for $599.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Dyson
DysonDyson
Coralee
Coralee

Thank you, I have seen the demo's and have worked in hair dressing and can say it is not user error, sadly this dryer is not as good as a cheap hairdryer and certainly not worth the huge price tag

Great while it works

published

$600 hairdryer (way overpriced) and stopped working 2.5 years. Wife back to using old salon dryer that’s been going 7 years. Don’t buy ...not worth it. Dyson should improve quality if they want premium price. At $600 should expect multi years use- will be lodging complaint with ACCC and against Dyson and/or Myer for statutory consumer use rights. Expensive small appliance should last 4-5 years minimum under Aust law

Purchased in December 2017 at Myer for $549.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDyson
David W.
David W.
Dyson
DysonDyson
The Divine Miss L
The Divine Miss LQueensland
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Painfully noisy

published

Makes a terrible loud high pitched noise, cannot be held near the head for any length of time because of it. I called Dyson who told me to get it replaced but being given the run-around by the site I bought it from. For the price the quality control should be much better. Incredibly disappointing.

Purchased in August 2020 at Adore Beauty for $466.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDyson

We are sorry to hear you are experiencing difficulty with the retailer.

Should we be able to assist further, please forward your details to auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be happy to assist further.

ConcernedUser
ConcernedUserMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great hairdryer but!!!

published

Worked great for 2 years and then suddenly started to stop start, i regularly cleaned the filter, stored in a safe place and never wrapped the electrical cord.
The repair place have had it for 2 weeks, advised that it needed a new electrical cord and clean at a cost of $90. Still have not got it back waiting on them to return my call.

Purchased at Myer for $600.00.

Incentivised Review No
Dyson
DysonDyson

If your machine is being repaired by Dyson or an authorized Dyson Service Centre, we will be happy to follow this up for you. Please just forward your details to auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be in touch with you very shortly.

kevin t
kevin tMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

My partner uses it every day like a ritual

published

Its a product that my partner can vouch for. Its expensive but serves the purpose and definitely a must have for ladies with long hair. My partner keeps raving about it even after a year later.

Purchased at David Jones Online Store for $500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Debbie G
Debbie GGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

light weight but not more powerful than my parlux

published

I am a little disappointed after my husband spent $600 on this hairdryer as a surprise gift for me. I have a Parlux hairdryer I've been using for around 8 years and when I compare them they are identical with heat, power without the attachments. One thing that I have noticed with the Dyson is the force/pressure of the air blow reduces with the attachments connected which I haven't experienced with the Parlux, the concentrator makes it stronger whereas the concentrator makes it weaker with the Dyson. The only Pro of the Dyson in my opinion is the light weight which makes it easier for my 9 year old daughter to dry her own hair.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $600.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Michelle K.
Michelle K.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best invest in hairdryer

published

As a professional hair dresser and salon owner, I recommend this as professional use and retail range as well. Light, powerful, softer wind. Very good machine.
After I tried one, I order second one as well. Very impressed.

Purchased in March 2020 at David Jones.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Anna.S
Anna.SSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Expensive and not really worth the money unless you can style your hair

published

After all the hype from my friends, I ordered it during the EOFY sale. I used to have a $25 VS sasson before that and I think the effect for both hair dryer is similar. This one saves you a little bit more time and if you're good at styling your hair then it's more worth it. Overall, it's expensive and not really worth the hype in my opinion.

Incentivised Review No
S Jane
S JaneGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a fan

published

So expensive save your money. It makes my hair go so boof and frizzy have tried using different products and different brushes but cannot make it smooth. I have never had issues with any other dryer and takes about the same time to dry my hair as my GHD air dryer. It is lighter to hold maybe better for my hair but I'm not sure?

Purchased in January 2020 at Sephora Australia for $549.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Dyson
DysonDyson
R E.
R E.
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

LOVE IT!!!!!!

published

The best hairdryer

The best purchase I made

I blow dry my hair in half the time and it does not make my hair frizzy.

So safe to use

BUY IT:-D

Purchased in July 2020 at Sephora Australia.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Vincent
VincentSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Expensive, but saves so much time

published

We bit the bullet on this hairdryer after all the hype. With a few people in our household with long hair, this has proven to be a significant timesaver in drying long hair (or short hair). It is quiet compared to normal hair dryers but so much power! We are so happy that we purchased another for our parents.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Andy B
Andy BGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Christmas gift

published

Very powerful hairdryer.
Lightweight and very fast results.
I have long hair this hairdryer can dry my hair in 2 minutes.
The magnetic attachments are awesome so is the rubber mat.
I’ve got the promo Dyson hair brushes they are great.
Would buy again it is a premium product, but well worth the money as. It saves a lot of time.

Purchased in December 2019 for $500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Page 2 of 10

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.