??!
1 photo
Dyson V8 Absolute Plus

Dyson V8 Absolute Plus

MPN: 227265-01
4.4 from 221 reviews

See the Best Stick Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
140
4 star
54
3 star
12
2 star
5
1 star
10

P. Evans

P. EvansMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Used everyday

published

Good lil stock vacuum for all flooring types- we use on floating floor, tiles & carpet with good results. The “normal” suction is a bit weak but ok for hard floors, “high” suction drains the battery pretty quickly. Good attachments and overall happy with product.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Belinda

BelindaPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Love the double heads

published

With a border collie who constantly sheds hair this vacuum cleaner is a god send, the suction is great. Love the fact that it has the 2 heads which both work well, the carpet one picks up all of her hair with a breeze. The only things that do bother me are the dog hair easily gets caught around the roller as well as the smaller roller. I did take this up with Dyson and they sent me 2 replacement heads as one has worn the rubber away from the actual head. Also i dont like the battery life, it does fade very quickly.

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Tingroove

TingrooveCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Battery Quality is Ordinary for the Price

published

We bought three on the same day (Mothers day and good price compared to other shops). Two of the units batteries have failed under two years. Battery is poor quality for the price of the unit. Other than that it does a good job.

Purchased in May 2017 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
john l

john lSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

GREAT ON ALL SURFACES

published

Works well on carpet and tiles. The beauty is the unit is cordless and i do not have to have power points ready available to plug in.
Pet hair is gone in a flash as is the dirt bought in by visitors.
It is very easy to clean the unit which is a plus.
Would not fault the unit and can give Dyson a big plus

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

John Scott

John ScottTIMBOON

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

A must have for the busy families

published

I just love this and have had it for just over two years now. We use it for all our vacuuming, carpets and tiled floors. The vacuum works a treat on all surfaces and I would never buy anything else. I recently, rang about a problem, and thought I was in warranty. It was six weeks out. The customer service represensative worked out it was the battery. But Dyson gave me the battery free of charge as I had not made a claim in the two years. I also use the big Dyson, but it comes out only for the heavy cleaning, like spring cleaning.

Purchased in April 2017 at Appliances Online for $849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Marcus D.

Marcus D.Illawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Time to retire the 240 V Dyson

published

Purchased in October 2018 at TVSN (TV Shopping Network) for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Katrina Stemberger

Katrina StembergerPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for a family with pets

published

We have tiles throughout the house with two fury pets. Our lab sheds a lot and his fur is everywhere. The Dyson is a lifesaver for those quick whip around vacuum to sweep up all the fur. Since we have gotten this, I have hardly used our inbuilt vacuum system

Purchased in April 2018 at eBay for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers

Amanda Fernandez

Amanda FernandezSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Does not do the job

published

I am quite disappointed with this product as it does not seem to be powerful enough to suck up everything. The full power mode only lasts for 10 minutes and then it dies. It’s quite over priced for something that doesn’t work as well as it should.

Purchased in February 2018 at The Good Guys for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Julia

JuliaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Best thing ever !!!

published

The best vacuum I have ever owned.
Strong reliable with good battery life. Must say as good as a cord vacuum, but no mess with plugging and unplugging and carrying it up and down. Having in a double storey home is a must.
Loved it the moment I bought it

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Damo

DamoCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Perfect

published

Love it good product I use it every day to clean all the rooms recommend for doing the car just wish it holds chard for twice as long runs out just before I'm finnished

Purchased in January 2018 at Second hand for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
See all answers

Bbee

BbeeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love this machine!

published

Cordless and powerful! This machine saves me so much time and with all the different attachments I can clean so many areas with the one machine.
I vacuum the wooden flooring on general suction and the carpets on high suction that way I get through the whole house before it runs out of battery. Even on general through it does a great job. I especially love the carpet attachment it really cleans the carpets well.

Purchased in April 2018 at Myer.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

edc

edcGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great product

published

Have this as our only vacuum cleaner. Not a full house but does have 4 bedders and one charge allows me to clean the whole house. So they have made the battery last. Have all the other parts so can clean my sofa and also my car.

Purchased in December 2017 at Bing Lee Online store for $5,449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Piccolowing

Piccolowingmelbourne

  • 5 reviews

so convenient to use . Wish the battery could last longer!

published

It is great for carpet and wooden floor all around the house. It performs and cleans well on both surface. I tend to vacuum clean for a while, and sometimes the battery does not last me the whole house.

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
See all answers

Melbournion

MelbournionAU

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

No more stress in vacuuming

published

Easy, fast and not at all tiring with really good quality cleaning. Perfect for small or big homes. Will always recommend this product without any doubts. All the attachments are well designed and really good quality product.

Purchased in December 2017 at Myer Online Store for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Liz

LizGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

I enjoy cleaning now that I have this amazing vacuum cleaner. It’s just so easy to use and the battery last for up to 40 minutes. I use it on the carpet, hard floors, furniture and on the walls Thank you Dyson

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
A Lazari

A LazariSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best purchase! Never using a wire vacuum again.

published

I use Dyson for my house of 5 bedrooms, living room, dining, kitchen, setting area, and outside sitting area with 1 full charge. I put it on low and perfect.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Franni

FranniRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Cleaning is a breeze!

published

Love this vacuum - recharges really quickly and does the job effortlessly. Had an issue with it going on and off - rang Dyson and fixed the problem over the phone it was just something caught in the flap area and it fixed the problem. Dyson are also great to deal with. 5/5 - would definitely buy another v8.

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys for $749.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Gail

Gail

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Disappointed!

published

Very handy vacuum because it’s cordless. Doesn’t lift the carpet pile and instead flattens the carpet. I had to buy another filter because it keeps clogging and can’t be used until completely dry again. I also find it difficult at times to release the parts. Did not live up to my expectations unfortunately but still a reasonable vacuum, just not great.

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Teresa Fox

Teresa FoxMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

BATTERY LIFE POOR

published

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

pinkdawn

pinkdawnMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 28 reviews
  • 2 likes

Stop thinking and buy it now

published

Upgraded to the V8 when our other Dyson died after 8 years . The v8 is so powerful and does hard floors with ease
I find the battery length sufficient to do my entire house 4 bedroom two lounge

Purchased in September 2018 at Myer Online Store for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers

Page 1 of 12

See all Dyson V8 reviews

Questions & Answers

Boodhun Ramcharrun

Boodhun Ramcharrunasked

Hi i have bought a dyson v8 absolute+ about 1 year ago. The rottory heads stop working at all. I have 3 different heads and all doesn't s not spin at all. Power checked going out from the bare unit about 20.6v but when head connected does not spin. Additionally the vaccuum also sometimes does not operates when the spinning heads are connected, but work when other non spinning heads are connected. All heads and vacuum cleaned and nice inside. Monthly cleaning done. No dusts or head. Any ideas?

3 answers
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi Boodhun,

Thank you for your question, we are happy to help.

So we can best assist and get this rectified, we would kindly encourage emailing your details and the serial number of your machine to auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be in touch and happy to help.

We look forward to hearing from you and getting this sorted.

Boodhun Ramcharrun
Boodhun Ramcharrun

Hi thanks!
I still need to hear what is to be done to remedy the situation.
Ser No. VE2-XF-JHA0353A
Brand 216-Dyson
Model. 229625-01
Warranty No. 0000485475

[Details and Email Removed]

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi there,

Thank you for your reply.

For best assistance, we would encourage you to contact our South African team. You can get in touch via our helpline on 087 807 9353 or via email on DysonService@tudortech.co.za


KLad

KLadasked

Our Dyson V8 Absolute plus cuts out after a couple of minutes. I put it on and then straight off the charger and it works again, abeilt less working time. I have to keep doing this and the cleaner works for less and less time until the battery eventually runs out. There are no blockages and the filters are clean. The cleaner does not pulsate or surge while operating, it just cuts out. Has been doing this for a few weeks now. My Dyson is 2 years old.

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi there,

Thank you for your query, I am sorry to hear your Dyson machine isn't working as it should.

Could you please email your details (including serial number of your machine, address and contact number) to auaskdyson@dyson.com? One of our Dyson Experts will be in touch and happy to help get this sorted.


Norma M.

Norma M.asked

My V8 is pulsing despite thorough cleaning of the filters and no blockages. I have had it about 2 years. Is it likely the battery needs replacing?

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi Norma,

Thank you for your question.

We are sorry to hear about this and will be happy to assist.

If you are finding your machine is cutting in and out with a surging or pulsing noise this would indicate a restriction in airflow or blockage. We understand you have checked the machine, however we would encourage double checking against this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpxRl17N03E.

Should the issue persist or if we can be of any further assistance please contact our helpline on 1800 239 766 with your machine handy. Our helpline is open Monday - Friday 8am - 7pm and Saturday - Sunday 8:30am - 4pm EST.

Best wishes,

Shan


Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Details

CategoryStick Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $799.00
Bin Capacity0.54 L
HEPA FilterYes
Weight2.6 kg
Power SourceBattery
Charging Time5 hours
Running Time 40 min
Suction (Air Watts) 115 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateAug 2016
Compare all Dyson V8

Visit official website
  • MPN: 227265-01
  • GTIN13: 5025155030585

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.