?
? !
11 photos
Dyson V8
4.3 from 1,356 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • Lightweight build

  • Easy to use

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (31)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (32)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (31)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (31)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (31)
  • Pet OwnerYes (16) · No (17)
  • Battery Life
    1.4 (33)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Lexus Lizzie

Lexus LizzieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor battery life

published

Excellent when it works. Have had this only a few years and it's not used often but the battery has died already. I don't have enough confidence in this product to put out another $109 for a battery that does not last long. II bought the Dyson believing it was a top quality product but I would not buy a Dyson ever again.

Purchased in January 2017 for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Sarah C.

Sarah C.Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Not worth your money.

published

After upgrading from the V6 Dyson to the V8 I found it was pretty much the same.

Max suction still doesn’t pick up anything bigger than dust or fur. You have to go over and over the same spot for anything bigger.

Attachments options are helpful with most jobs in the house but would just pay the extra for a new model of Dyson given the battery time.

Battery time on this machine is poor and I find I still have more cleaning to do after one session of charging.

This vacuum catch’s on mats and pulls up threads.

Tile cleaning is fine but carpet cleaning to collect dust means u need it on MAX suction and it is hard to push along giving u tired arms.

Purchased in December 2019 for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Beema41

Beema41South-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 17 likes

Cracked body. Weak construction.

published

The body of this vacuum is weak and will crack over time. No help from Dyson. $120 for a new part. It is a shame as the machine works well, just unsafe with this crack.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Works well until the battery started to die after a year

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Bing Lee Online store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Manaaki H.

Manaaki H.South East Queensland, QLD

Very efficient without cord but battery is a major let down over time

published

Purchased in January 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next

Poor battery and low suction power

published

I have had my v8 for 3 years. For the last 12 months the max suction has not lasted longer than 30 seconds before the battery goes flat, in spite of following all cleaning and care instructions. The normal mode of suction is poor and does not vacuum my rug satisfactorily to pick up crumbs, and I don’t have a pet!
Poor value for money and I would not purchase a Dyson again.

Purchased in November 2017 for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Alan

AlanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Battery Disappointment - had <3 years and needs a 3rd battery

published

When the vacuum works it is pretty good but the batteries are diabolically bad in just over 2 years, I have had two and both just died leaving me with a machine that just flashes red lights, useful as a Christmas ornament maybe but useless for its purpose as a vacuum. After speaking to Dyson I was told I would need a 3rd battery @ $109. If the battery needs to be replace this frequently it is just not an economical machine to own. I think I will save my money and look for an alternative as the "consumable" battery makes this machine a very expensive Christmas light.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Charlie

Charlie

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Died only 6 months in and Dyson have been horrible to deal with

published

We used this stick vac as a secondary vacuum for our house. Died only 6 months in- doesn't seem to hold a charge. Dyson make it incredibly difficult to deal with any warranty claim and the retailer are reluctant to take the product back as Dyson insist consumers go through them for warranty. Horrible experience and wouldn't do a Dyson again. All marketing spin.

Purchased in May 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,099.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson

We are sorry to hear this is the experience you have had, it certainly isn't our aim and we are keen to find out what went wrong and get this sorted.

If you could please forward your review and details to auaskdyson@dyson.com we are keen to help.

Geof

GeofVictoria

  • 7 reviews
  • 13 likes

Batteries don't last

published

This Dyson is our second stick Dyson. With the first one the battery died and it was replaced under warranty. The second one didn't last long either. The vacuum was very good so we bought an absolute V8 but the battery lasted about a year again. A new one was supplied under warranty and it has lasted about 18 months - it is now dying (lucky to get 6 minutes ). The vacuum cleaner is very good but the battery problem seems unique to Dyson. Time to try another make!

Purchased in May 2017 for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Deb

DebGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Don't waste your money

published

Bought new V8 animal for our small apartment with laminate flooring and 1 rug. Didn't work so they sent me a new battery. 12 months later the housing cracked which was replaced. 2 years later I can only vacuum 5mins before the battery needs charging again. Would never buy another one.

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Started off good, went downhill quickly!

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Dyson for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Tingroove

TingrooveCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good except for the Battery

published

The family bought three units, Mothers day in 2018. First unit battery failed, replaced under 6 months. My unit gets used once a week and is charged on a timer, therefore not charged when hot. The battery failed at 14 months. This battery failed at 12 months. Filters have been cleaned. Not impressed.

Purchased in May 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Law

LawSydney, NSW

Very disappointing

published

Started off well but after a time its effectiveness wains - the max setting lasts 5 minutes, use is halted as the product stutters and requires it to be taken apart and filters cleaned to resolve the problem. It has not handled an increase in dust due to a small renovation at all. An expensive item with limited longevity.

Purchased in February 2018 at David Jones Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rob

RobSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

Not a long life vacuum cleaner and a rip off for what you pay.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Dyson
DysonDyson
Rob
Rob

Thanks for the reply but no thanks, two years ownership of a 900 dollar stick vacuum that is marketed as awesome but is really no different to other brand name but cheaper models has been a large lesson in life and brand name purchasing.

steve565

steve565South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Poor battery life

published

Used on tiles and hard floors. Battery life is poor. No ergonomic handle resulting in skin damage on thumb. Dyson has fallen behind and are overtaken by other brands. Tool with brushes failed after 12 months as red clip stop holding tool on the pole. Battery replaced under warranty. After sales service is good.

Purchased in March 2017 at The Good Guys for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
4 comments
Dyson
DysonDyson
steve565
steve565

Worst hand grip ever! Not ergonomic at all! Causing blisters on the inner right thumb due to poor handle design.

Dyson
DysonDyson

This is certainly not what we expect or design this machine to do. If you could please forward your details to us we will be happy to assist further.

Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 5
See all Dyson V8 reviews

Questions & Answers

Eliseb

Elisebasked

V8 Absolute

My Dyson V8 gets really hot at the back while I’m using it, too hot to continue using

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

While the Dyson V8 can get warm during use, we certainly wouldn't expect it to get hot.

Please get in touch with our Dyson Experts via phone, live chat or Facebook Messenger and we will be happy to help. You can find our contact details here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

We hope to hear from you and look forward to assisting.

Raymond

Raymondasked

V8 Absolute

my name is Raymond
why Dyson charger cable have filter. what the function.

2 answers
Michael
Michael

It doesn't have filter.

Dyson
DysonDyson

The charger of your Dyson cord-free machine has a transformer on the plug. This is to ensure the correct power is provided to your machine.

If we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are happy to help. Ways to get in touch can be found here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

Pam

Pam asked

V8 Absolute

I have a Dyson v8 Motörhead in my winter home. I’m leaving for 6 months. Should I leave it plugged in or not?

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

To maximise battery health, We would encourage fully charging the machine and unplugging it while not in use. Upon your return, charge your machine fully prior to first use.

If we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are happy to help. Please don't hesitate to get in touch. Our contact details can be found here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

See all Dyson V8 questions

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Dyson V8

Details

As of December 2020, the Dyson V8 is the highest-rated cordless and stick vacuum cleaner on ProductReview. As well as being the highest rated, the V8 is also more afordable than other Dyson cordless and stick vacuum cleaners - such as the V11, which is around $300 more expensive.

Features:

  • The V8 series includes 4 different vacuum cleaners, with a $100 difference in price
  • Two power options: Max Mode for extra power, which is good for tough clumps of dirt or pet hair; and Powerful Mode, which allows for longer usage, but may provide a slighlty weaker suction
  • A 5-hour charge provides up to 40 minutes of use

Points of praise:

  • Some reviewers purchased the Dyson V8 after owning the V6 and reported noticing an improvement. Although they didn’t claim to be unhappy with the V6, many said that the V8 was more powerful and picked up a larger quantity of dirt and dust.
  • The highest power setting (Max Mode) latest longer than expected. One reviewer was pleased that they could vacuum their whole apartment while still having plenty of battery life left.
  • The vacuum was lightweight and easy to manoeuvre, meaning that people could clean hard-to-reach crevices and corners of the house.
  • Three large, shedding dogs proved to be no match for this vacuum cleaner. A happy reviewer mentioned that they could finally remove the mess their dogs had left behind.
Compare all 4 Dyson V8
Dyson V8 Absolute Plus
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Dyson V8 Absolute Plus

4.3
(238)
Dyson V8 Absolute
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Dyson V8 Absolute

4.4
(731)
Dyson V8 Animal
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Dyson V8 Animal

4.2
(366)
CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $799.00$699.00$799.00$749.00
Bin Capacity0.54 L0.54 L0.54 L0.54 L
HEPA FilterYesYesYesYes
Weight2.6 kg2.6 kg2.6 kg2.6 kg
Attachments Direct drive cleaner head, Combination tool
TypeCordlessCordlessCordlessCordless
Charging Time5 hours5 hours5 hours5 hours
Running Time 40 min40 min40 min40 min
Suction (Air Watts)115 AW115 AW115 AW115 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateAug 2016Aug 2016Aug 2016Aug 2016
Compare all 4 Dyson V8
  • MPN: 271642-01

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.