??!
1 photo
Electrolux EDC2075GDW

Electrolux EDC2075GDW

MPNs: 36528292 and EDC2075GDW
2.4 from 14 reviews

"Does what it says on the box" and good service but not entirely convinced about the quality.

In 2017 we bought the Electrolux dryer to replace a Bosch dryer we had had for years and years and eventually "died of old age". Although we had never had anything else than Bosch dryers we wanted to try something else and slightly cheaper. The Electrolux dryer was a few hundred dollars cheaper than a similar Bosch dryer and as we read some fairly positive reviews we gave it a go.

Directly after delivery we noticed the door, buttons and filter etc. didn't feel as sturdy as those on our previous dryers. About 3 weeks after we bought the dryer a plastic pin also broke off on the door (the pin prevents the dryer to operate while the door is open.... but once broken off prevented the dryer to operate at all). Once that pin was fixed the dryer was working again without many issues.

The dryer does dry effectively I find and has a larger capacity than previous dryers we have had which is very convenient and it's definitely sufficient for us (family of 4 with 2 young kids). There are plenty of programs available although I have to say I probably only ever use 2 different ones. I find the dryer fairly quiet..... until the program is completed that is as it has an alarm that seems to want to let our neighbours know our laundry is dry. The alarm is not only loud but also very persistent, good thing it can be switched off. Another thing I like about this condenser dryer is that with the drain kit provided the water can be deposited straight into the drain, no more emptying the collection tank after every load of laundry that's dried (but the collection tank is still included in case you do not have a drain nearby).

Just a few weeks ago the dryer started showing an error message and didn't do anything anymore. This was about 4 weeks after the (2 year) warranty had expired. Just in case it would be a simple fix I thought I'd contact Electrolux anyway to discuss and see if they have an easy solution. I sent an e-mail on a Thursday and on a Friday they contacted me. When I spoke with an Electrolux representative they advised that - although the dryer is out of the warranty period - they were happy to send a mechanic (who was available the next Monday) and - should the issue be related to a manufacturers error - they would cover the costs of the visit. To cut a long story short, the (very friendly) Electrolux mechanic worked out in minutes the "mother board" was faulty and ended up replacing it, all at no cost to us.

So overall we're not entirely convinced about the quality of the dryer but will give Electrolux "the benefit of the doubt" considering their good service and reasonable price. We might consider buying Electrolux products again..... as long as they come with a significant warranty period.

Purchased in June 2017 at Appliances Online for $679.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

Its our second and couldn't be happier!

We purchased a 7KG Electrolux Condenser dryer in 2009. We have a family of four and this poor dryer went a minimum of twice a day with at least 10kg of washing at a time. It NEVER gave us issues until a belt failed in January 2019, we happily replaced the belt and it went perfectly until April 2019 when the heating element failed. We considered replacing the element but thought that it had definitely paid its dues, so we replaced it with the exact same model. This particular model has a plumbing kit, so we plumbed it in and it has been going once again, twice a day since purchasing. I 110% recommend this product despite its energy rating (we have PV so a moot point in my opinion) and if you read any reviews about it not actually drying clothes, the reviewers clearly haven't read the ENTIRE section on changing the drying temperatures outlined clearly in the manual.

Purchased in April 2019 at RetraVision for $695.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

No heat - already been replaced once

Purchased this dryer 7 months ago, the first dryer we had delivered didn't produce any heat. The barrel was working but it was only generating cold air. Contacted the company we purchased from and they immediately replaced. The 2nd dryer we have was working fine and now after 7 months it is having the exact same issue. Not producing any hot air.
Electrolux are sending out a technician and said they will fix or replace but I have no confidence that the machine will continue to work in 12 months time after experiencing the same issue with 2 different machines. This is obviously an ongoing issue with this dryer as other people have reported the same problem, not happy with it's performance or the options available to me.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money

Read the manual before complaining

As Mark said, I was also a bit worried with this dryer as I read a lot of negative views before ordering it, and then I read this one and decided to take a risk because I know many people don't read the manual. I have absolutely nothing to complain about it. There's a saying out there: RTFM! (Google what it means).

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Great dryer if you change the default settings

I was a bit worried with this dryer as I read a lot of negative views after i had already ordered it. After doing a couple of mid size loads on the strong dry setting some of the clothes were slightly damp. I then did a load on the hottest setting and most things were dry except heavy clothing like denim jeans. I then read the manual! If you refer to section 8 of the manual you will find out how to change the default settings to maximum dry (out of the box the dryer is configured to leave some moisture in the clothes hence the dampness). Once i did this clothes come out perfectly dry using the strong or extra dry setting. A mid to full size load takes 1.45 mins.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

I believe this dryer is defective

I completely agree with all of the other 1 star reviews for this dryer. I'd give it no stars but you have to click to rate.
This dryer does not perform to an acceptable standard.

I’m incredibly displeased with the dryer’s performance as it stops the drying process while the clothes/sheets/towels are still wet and after manually restarting the dryer a number of times, the drying process takes hours and hours to dry the clothes/sheets/towels. After this experience, I would never recommend this condenser dryer to anyone. I’m also tempted to get my older ‘normal’ dryer out of storage and set it up on the balcony so I can at least get my washing and drying done in a reasonable time frame, particularly during winter. An example of it's unacceptable performance is that it took 5-6 hours to dry 3 towels on 5 Jun 18.

This dryer is causing me to waste time that I simply do not have spare and I feel incredibly frustrated by it’s inability to perform the simple task that is expected of a dryer.

My emails to email address customercare@electrolux.com.au of 3 Jun 18 and 6 Jun 18 remain unanswered. I continue to wait for a reply from the customer care team at electrolux.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

A dryer that doesn't dry?

I've had this dryer for a few months and it simply doesn't dry.
The settings are useless, no matter which option I choose the dryer stops after a few minutes.
If I use the "Timed dry" it'll stay on for the selected timeframe but nothing ever comes out dry.

As I type this I have had ONE item in the dryer for over an hour and it's still not dry.

I bought this dryer to help over winter with a new baby but it's only added to my electricity bill and caused frustration.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Does not Dry

This is the worst dryer ever. I bought this crap and my clothes don't dry. I have been hanging my clothes out ever since I got this crap. I noticed everyone has the same problem. It cost alot to dry clothes in a dryer and I'm paying to dry clothes to later hang them out. I bought it to save time cause I'm always busy instead im loosing time.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Hi Saher, Catherine from Electrolux here. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the concerns you have raised about the Dryer. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Catherine. Thanks, Catherine

GOOD DRYER-SUITS BASIC NEEDS-GREAT FOR UNIT

This condenser dryer is great for units as there is no humid air expressed from the machine, however some heat does radiate. I can only feel that on a hot day. The water collection cartridge is easy to empty. Please note that the manual suggests that the water collected from the dryer can be used as distilled water. You will need to fine filter the water for this purpose as well as ensuring there is no fabric softener used in your wash. The softener seems to make the condensed water slimy. FURTHER you will need to use a fine coffee filter to remove lint that travels from your wash to the condenser.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

No heat

Five months old and no heat,i see another comment regarding this so it seems a problem,still under warranty so expect full repair or new machine.WIll be ringing on Monday for it to be looked at cant have it not working,family of four.Also agree with comments about too many choices i only use two settings.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Disappointing

Instructions are complex and confusing. After trying a variety of settings we now use it only on its maximum. The other choices are ineffective if you want your clothes dry without damp patches. A good feature though is the condensate collection
Separation of cottons and synthetics is a useless feature as there are so many fabric blends theses days.
Follow up from Electrolux on a promotional offer is also less than satisfactory. We are wondering really if it will ever come to fruition.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
2 comments
Hi Noel P, Zaida from Electrolux here. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the concerns you have raised about your dryer and the promotional offer. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Zaida. Thanks, Zaida.I must add that since I posted this review Electrolux have been active in follow up on the promotional offer and I am now confident that they will honour the deal. It's just taking a bit of time.

No heat after just 5 uses!

So we bought this condenser dryer 5 weeks ago, and we use it once a week. Today, we are very disappointed that its no longer generating heat! The drum is still working, but its basically producing cold air so the appliance is useless. I hope someone from Electrolux can help us with this! We are still under warranty!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Hi Karen R., Lynette from Electrolux here. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the concerns you have raised about the Electrolux EDC2075GDW . If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Lynette Thanks, Lynette

Really it just doesn't work

I bought this 6 weeks ago to "finish off" line dried clothes.
It does not work and takes literally hours for a single sheet.
Does not seem to get hot and really just feels like it burns through electricity.
None of the programmes makes a difference.
Tried to contact electrolux but no response. Very poor.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Hi Nickysydney , Leslie from Electrolux here. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the concerns you have raised about the Electrolux EDC2075GDW. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Leslie. Thanks, Leslie

Great dryer for the price. Dries well. Very happy so far

Just to be perfectly up front, I bought this dryer at a pretty good price offered by Electrolux due to the act that my old Electrolux ED197170W condenser dryer died after 4.5 years. In that time we had to replace the main circuit board once and the same part died again a year later.

I had considered ditching Electrolux and trying another brand but Electrolux customer support were pretty good at trying to rectify the situation so I went with this new model of the 7kg condenser dryer we had previously.

As a young family we use the dryer quite a lot as it's not always convenient to hang clothes on the line. This dryer dries very well as long as you know what the output from a condenser dryer looks like. It's not the same as what you get out of a conventional vented dryer. This is a good thing but takes getting used to. Clothed don't come out bone dry and hot. If this is what you want out of a dryer, don't buy a condenser dryer. You will be disappointed. We normally use the "cupboard dry" cycle and clothes are just dry. By the time you get around to taking the out of the dryer and folding them, they are fine. If you have a mix of different material types in there, you may find one or two items are still damp. This mainly seems to affect jeans. So we just usually hang the odd item out for a couple of hours to finish off.
Some people have written some very negative reviews of condenser dryers stating that they "don't dry". You will probably see that similar reviews are written for pretty much every dryer model and make. This is not true for the two Electrolux models we have owned. As per my previous comment, you need get used to a different level of drying that you get from a condenser and be prepared to hang out the odd item or two (or re-run the cycle with just those items in it). This is not a big deal and not worth getting all worked up about.
The EDC2075GDW is a good dryer. It's fairly simple to use and setup. The display looks a bit basic compared with the ED197170W which had a LCD display whereas this is one has an orange LED type display which is fine but not as stylish it guess.
It has a see through door window which is nice to have though is plastic rather than glass, which you get in some of the more expensive dryers.
Given the reliability issues we had with the old dryer we too out the extended warranty and I would highly recommend that.
Overall we are very happy with the dryer and hope to get many years of use out of it.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Questions & Answers

I have an Electrolux 700 ultimate care washing machine and I am looking for a compatible dryer to sit on top of it. Preferably a dryer that doesn't need to be vented outside. Any suggestions?
1 answer
This is a condenser dryer, so no need to bent outside. I cannot speak highly enough of this dryer. You will not be disappointed, just ensure to read the instruction manual as most negative reviews are on people saying that it leaves the clothes damp, but they forget to read the part about turning the temp up on the dryer.

Details

Electrolux EDC2075GDW
CategoryCondenser Clothes Dryers
Price (RRP) $1,099
Capacity7 kg
Energy Rating2 star(s)
Energy Consumption314 kWh per year
FeaturesChild-Safety Lock, Delicates Setting, Lint Filter and Reverse Tumbling
Door Hinge Left
Colour / Finish White
Dimensions 850 x 600 x 540 mm
Drying Programs 9
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: 36528292 and EDC2075GDW
  • GTIN13: 7332543521708

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.