??!
3 photos
Electrolux EDV5051

Electrolux EDV5051

MPNs: 35904319 and EDV5051
3.3 from 76 reviews

Clothes Dryers Buying Guide

When you've just done the laundry, a warm sunny day is perfect. But what if it's raining for days? Your lovely clean clothes might stay wet for just as long. A reliable tumble dryer can give you clean, dry clothes - and fast. Whether you're interested in a heat pump, condenser or vented dryer, a washer dryer combo, or maybe no dryer at all, this guide has all the handy dryer tips and info.

Read now

Reviews

3.3

76 reviews
5
(17)
4
(26)
3
(7)
2
(11)
1
(15)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (3)
Previous
Next
j9

j9Wanniassa

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Dryer squeaks and doesn't always dry

published

We bought the dryer in November 2015. For the last 6 months, the dryer will run at times, but not actually dry the clothes. Recently, it has started making an awful squeaking sound, hinting that it is about to pack up all together. Too many problems for such a small dryer. Should have read the reviews before buying an Electrolux! Never again.

Purchased in November 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
ATN

ATNCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great buy

published

This is the first dryer that I've bought. It's been 3.5 years old and is still going strong (touch wood!). The control panel is simple and easy to use. It also has some features that I find valuable such as:
- time delay: helps save money as I set it up for the dryer to start in off-peak hour;
- crease free: not 100% wrinkle free, but clothes are handled much more gently and out of the machine softer - though this function takes longer to finish;

I've seen some negative comments about this dryer can't dry clothes. My tip is:
- don't over load it
- when transferring clothes from washing machine to dryer, separate them and make sure sleeves, socks etc are not rolled or lumped together.

Purchased in February 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Adam L.

Adam L.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Four years old and no longer powers on.(Edited)

published

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Electrolux
ELECTROLUX ..Electrolux
Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Electrolux EDV5051 compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adrikos

AdrikosSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Constant inherent circuit board problems with the EDV5051 & EDV6061

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
Electrolux
ELECTROLUX ..Electrolux
Sparkx

Sparkxmelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Used Heavily Over Winter

published

We got this several years back but it was instorage and we finally got to use it properly over wintre - what a lifesaver! No more endless waiting for clothes to dr over days on the rack.
Its fairly quiet running and extremely easy to use and also set up. The only thing to remember is to empty the lint filter from time to time but apart from the t its set and forget. A real please to have warm dry clothes again!

Date PurchasedMar 2015

Unit dead, and no response from customer care

published

We bought the product 4 years ago.
It was barely used (may be 5 to 6 times in any given year).
Then just stopped working, with no reason.
Customer care (customercare@electrolux.com.au) have not bothered to respond to emails.
So, am at a loss. Other reviews indicate its a control panel. But its easier to buy a new one ( that is not an electrolux) than it is to replace it.
When it worked, the unit was fine.

Date PurchasedSep 2014
2 comments
Electrolux
ELECTROLUX ..Electrolux
James B
James B
Sonia

SoniaSydney

  • 5 reviews

Not very noise and works well

published

Make sure that you keep the filter clean and this dryer could be very efficient. I am happy with the purchase and I like the way it works and it is not very noisy in comparison with my old drier. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good dryer and I expect it it to operate for years to come.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Locko

LockoMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Family Constantly Uses It

published

We ahve had this for years now and every time I go past it it seems to be on! The family use it a lot and especially now that it is winter (Victoria) so there is no other way to get clothes dry. What can I say? It just works. It's simple enough that the kids can use it and solid enough to keep running for years without any maintenance. Its a good basic design and it always gets the job done. Would buy the same one again if needed.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
tired

tired

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Mixed Rating

published

5 star for warranty service, 1 star for terrible droning noise.
Purchased July 15, developed loud droning noise just before warranty ran out last year.
Terrific honouring warranty - prompt, ended up completely replacing the motor.
Unfortunately the droning started again a week later and has never stopped!
The dryer has dried well throughout but I'm getting nervous something electrical may go wrong so I'm off today to buy a new [different brand].

Date PurchasedJul 2015
Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Electrolux EDV5051 compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Warhol69

Warhol69melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Works Brilliantly Very Happy

published

I just got this because there is no way I am going through another winter without one. I remember wearing damp clothes last year! It is such a treat to put warm clothes on straight out of it - makes me realize what I have been missing out on!
Its very easy to use - a child could do it and it works perfectly. I have found it is a better idea to separate sheets and do them separately but on the coldest days i just put the washing straight out of the washer and it handles it no problem. This is a really great machine and I am totally stoked we bought it.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Gordy

GordyIllawarra, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good at first but not now

published

Worked well for the first year but now has become noisy in operation with a slight vibration. Called Electrolux before warranty ran out, a service company contacted me and came out to diagnose the problem. He was not sure and suggested renewing the drum glides, that was 2 months ago and still waiting. As I am a Electrical Fitter / Mechanic with 45 years experience I will have a go at fixing it myself if no one contacts me soon. I can't be bothered chasing people up and unfortunately this reflects on Electrolux , it will also give me a insight to how well it is constructed and designed from a electrical / mechanical point of view.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Simon

SimonPerth

  • 4 reviews

Reliable dryer whenever needed

published

From the very beginning, the name Electrolux caught my eye. I am not a person that uses dryer very often even during winter due to its high electricity consumption. This product has very good energy efficient rating that's why I chose it and also I got it at a very good price.
So far, i have no complain with its efficiency and would always recommend this brand or product to anyone who is looking to purchase a dryer.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
Jason

JasonSydney

  • 4 reviews

Wasn’t expecting it but awesome!!

published

When I bought this dryer I thought it would be all right but it is actually excellent. It works very quickly and has lots of great different options to pick from. My old dryer was always slow and would shrink my clothes but this on the other hand is now great. I would definitely recommend buying it.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Andrew H

Andrew HAU

  • 6 reviews

Great product

published

I was after something simple and does the job. I didnt want to spend too much money. It was small enough to just sit on top of my washiing machine. Comes with everything you need if you have basic requirements for a dryer. I only use it during winter when i cant hang it outside due to weather.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Sausages

SausagesSydney

  • 4 reviews

This is a decent dryer

published

This is a decent dryer which gets the job done without being fussy. It does not have too many different settings, and does not have a fancy digital interface - just a collection of buttons which allow for different levels of dryness, delay start and delicate and crease free options. The senser was the main attraction for me. While it does get the job done, I feel as though the sender is not that sensitive - on a full load something's the clothes in the centre may still be slightly damp, while on a light load, I have found it continuing to dry notwithstanding that the clothes were extremely dry. It does also seem to take quite a while to dry a load. Overall a good solid function machine but nothing fancy

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Electrolux EDV5051 compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Win

WinSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Handy when I need it

published

My last old dryer which came with the apartment broke so I needed a cheap replacement for rainy days. Works much better than my old one and does the job well for the price as I got it on sale at Harvey Norman. Probably not recommended for daily use as the energy rating isn’t the best.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Not very impressed

published

We had very limited choices when it came to purchasing a new wall mounted dryer when our 23 year old F&P one needed replacing, and this is a poor substitute. It lacks basic things like automatic switch off when it’s cycle has finished. And it cannot be set to run for less than 30 minutes which is my main bug bear as I find the sensor drying function to be unreliable.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Mark

MarkMelbourne

The sensor function doesn't do what it is supposed to do,

published

We have previously had clothes dryers that you can "Set and Forget" using a sensor programme that stops when th clothes are dry. When we bought this Electrolux Dryer expecting this function would work the same - but it doesn't !
The clothes need to be put in to dry again and again.
The service technician has been out to check it twice he suggested we make sure the dryer was full for this function to work. But it still doesn't. He is coming out again this week.
I hope he can get it to do what it is supposed to.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Electrolux
ELECTROLUX ..Electrolux
Andrew

AndrewSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good dryer

published

Bought this during last year's winter as we decided that drying clothes near heater took too long and too cumbersome.

This unit was well worth the investment. The dry time is reasonable and the clothes come out completely dry.

The cons are that you need to clean the filter frequently (easy to do though) and your laundry needs to be well ventilated as there is a lot of steam that come out during dry program.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Doug

DougMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Breakdowns happen - but service is where the difference is

published
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Page 1 of 4
See all Electrolux EDV5051 / EDV6051 / EDV7051 reviews

Questions & Answers

Cathie H.

Cathie H.asked

EDV5051

Hi, my EDV5051 won’t turn on. Nothing. Would I check out the fuse first or would it be the main board? How do I work it out. I can’t find a video anywhere on how to change the fuse in these models.

1 answer
Andrew M.
Andrew M.

It could be one of these:
1. Power switch
2. Thermal fuse on heater elements
3. Motherboard
all are replaceable parts available from electrolux

Kelly C.

Kelly C.asked

EDV5051

My dryer is making a noise when the drum is turning even makes the noise when not on and you turn it by hand.

No answers
Tim Mc

Tim Mcasked

EDV5051

Hi there, my machine is making a rattling sound. It is hung upside down on the wall. It doesn’t sound quite right. We have had it for over 3 years

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Electrolux representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.