??!
1 photo
Electrolux EDV5552 / EDV6552
4.3 from 81 reviews · View Statistics

Clothes Dryers Buying Guide

A reliable tumble dryer can give you clean, dry clothes - and fast. Whether you decide on a heat pump, condenser or vented dryer, a washer dryer combo, or no dryer at all, this guide can help.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (15)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (17)
Previous
Next
Ruby Jayne

Ruby JaynePerth

  • 2 reviews

Electrolux dryer 6.5Kg not satisfying : (

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Appliances Online for $425.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Electrolux
ELECTROLUX ..Electrolux
Alan

Alanumina beach

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Crap product

published

I have had this product for a few years now. It has taken me 5 hours to dry a load today. It continously stops. The lint filter is clean. It goes for about 5 mins and then I come back and check 30 mins later. So in the last 5 hours its only run for 50 mins. I dont have time to keep checking, but right now I have two more loads that needs drying. This is a 10 hour effort. If youve got nothing better to do than hang around and press the start button every five mnutes, this is for youy, otherwise find something else.

This is the second electrolux product ive been disapointed in. It will be the last. Well 5 minutes to write this, guess id better go down and press the start button again.

Purchased in January 2017 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
@SHiK

@SHiKGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 26 reviews
  • 15 likes

Its ok

published

Its a decent one, pay what you get, takes long time to dry up, also you need to iron after drying, makes bit noise also, its quite spacious, overall ok machine

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Electrolux EDV5552 / EDV6552 compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Colleen Brown

Colleen BrownSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great product

published

I have put bedding and towels in the dryer. It performs well the settings are well designed the clothes are soft and dry. It handles delicates as well. I’m very happy with the dryer.

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Online.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
lwylie7

lwylie7VIC, 3941

  • 26 reviews
  • 5 likes

2 YEARS IN, THERE'S A PROBLEM

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Appliances Online for $635.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Electrolux
ELECTROLUX ..Electrolux
Taleah Simpkins

Taleah SimpkinsNorthern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Amazing

published

I absolutely love this brand. Drys everything like you would want it to :). Im so glad I brought this product and I am really happy with the outcomes it provides

Purchased in August 2019 at Bing Lee for $399.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
BadBlock

BadBlockAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dries fast and thorough

published

Dries fast, clothes being taken out dry and wrinkle-free (if the dryer is not overloaded). The lint filter is easy to clean. Being a vented type, this dryer requires a good ventilation, so I had a simple ceiling fan installed in the laundry for $300, and it does its job. A bit noisy, but I think that's how it is. Have had this dryer for 1.5 years now, all good so far.

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for $523.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Alayne C

Alayne CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great so far

published

We have had our Electrolux dryer for a month now and can’t fault it. We previously had an LG 4.5kg and it did the job but can definitely say this is better and seems to take less time to dry our clothes. My husband works in construction and comes home mid week in a rush to get his clothes done so he can head off again. Definitely taking him less time to dry everything which means more family time for us....

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
R Sh

R ShSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Simple, Effective and easy to clean filter

published

This is the best dryer I have used by far as I did use a few different dryers over the last few years at rental units. The dryer is effective, simple to use and filter is designed really well and easy to clean. I recently bought this dryer for my own house and the 6.5 kg model and it love it. There is an option to switch the vents from front to rear and I got it vent extended to dispense the steam outside.

Purchased in June 2018 at Appliances Online for $477.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Electrolux EDV5552 / EDV6552 compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marcus

MarcusSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

If you are looking for a No Frills Dryer that is Reliable & Does the job, then this is hard to beat.

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Appliances Online for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Excellent!

published

This drier hasn't disappointed us at all it dries our king doonas and sleeping bags no worries. It always does an even, proper job. It's easy to use and has some good features like the boost setting. It also has a child lock which is handy.

Purchased in February 2018 at The Good Guys for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
muf69n

muf69nNewcastle, New South Wales

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic product

published

This dryer works amazing - Its quiet, efficient for a dryer and the sensors work extremely well. Love it and couldn't live without it. Given the position to buy another dryer would definitely purchase this one again

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Bryan

BryanSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

perfect dryer for your apartment

published

been looking for a decent dryer but not too expensive one to replace our 10 yr old broken dryer.
my friend had this one and recommended so bought one when it was on sale.
happy with the product. not loud and it does the job.

Purchased in October 2018 at The Good Guys for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
pete

pete

  • 29 reviews
  • 22 likes

very happy jan!

published

Purchased in November 2018 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Olive

OliveGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great dryer. Perfect for a wet winter

published

I have actually dried all type of clothing in it

The best investment ever made. A quick dry. Very energy efficient. Worth every cent.

Would definitely recommended to every household. A A

Purchased in November 2014 at Harvey Norman for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Electrolux EDV5552 / EDV6552 compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
motherb

motherbSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Excellent Dryer

published

•What type of clothes do you usually put in the dryer?
Everyday casual clothes and uniforms, socks etc. Towels

•How satisfied are you with this product's features/controls and its performance when you apply different settings?
100% satisfied, no complaints

•How gently does your dryer handle your clothing, in particular, delicates?
I don't usually put delicates in it, instead I hang them on a rack in front of the outlet vent to dry while drying heavier items

Lint filter is easy to clean and at the end of the drying cycle, the machine alerts you to clean the filter. Only issue I have here is that the machine doesn't automatically shut off like my old one

Purchased in June 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Zstorm

ZstormNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Crisp and Fresh!

published

I’m in love with this dryer! Drys everything quickly and efficiently and leaves no crinkles! I’m busy and don’t always have time to iron the the iron setting is perfect for when I need to get the creases out!

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for $387.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Shen

ShenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

I love it!!

published

I love this dryer! It’s small, compact and super convenient. So easy to use and so efficient.
I’ve used it on all types of clothes, just followed the correct temperature settings for each, turned it on, come back when it’s done and the clothes are dry and done. It’s also very easy to clean! Highly recommend this for small families. Perfect for rainy wet days when you have a backlog of washing

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Hilarys_Dad

Hilarys_Dad

  • 33 reviews
  • 34 likes

Very good but perhaps a bit short on options

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Lanz

LanzPeel, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing Dryer

published

This Electrolux is the dryer to buy, had no interest in condenser or heat pump , just a good old fashioned simple dryer, you must duct it out though to work better
Put your whole load from washer into dryer and feels like it drys it all in about 1 hour.
love this dryer, the cute sound beeps when finished and keep reminding you which is a great function

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Mary Talbot

Mary Talbotasked

EDV5552 / EDV6552

Can the door be reversed on this model e.g.. opening from left to right ?

No answers
Roger

Rogerasked

EDV5552 (5.5kg)

Is there any way to disable the lint filter sensor? It stops after 10 mins or so saying to clean the filter, but there is hardly anything in it. Drives me nuts.

1 answer
Ruby Jayne
Ruby Jayne

I'm not sure why it says so. All I can say is I shall NEVER ever buy this brand again! The auto sensor is faulty and have always bought FP brand with great satisfaction... My experience with this brand is the worst!

Marie D

Marie Dasked

EDV5552 (5.5kg)

Hi I purchase this dryer coming up to two years it’s not working well when I use it it starts to warm up not hot but warm but then about halfway through its starts to to turn cool and not dryer the clothes I had it in for repairs but it’s still doing the same thing

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Electrolux representatives

Details

Compare both Electrolux EDV5552 / EDV6552
Electrolux EDV5552 (5.5kg)
  • Award Winner 2020

Electrolux EDV5552 (5.5kg)

4.2
(32)
Electrolux EDV6552 (6.5kg)
  • Award Winner 2020

Electrolux EDV6552 (6.5kg)

4.4
(49)
CategoryVented Clothes DryersVented Clothes Dryers
Price (RRP) $639.00$699.00
Capacity5.5 kg6.5 kg
Energy Rating2 star(s)2 star(s)
Energy Consumption247 kWh per year292 kWh per year
FeaturesAuto-Sensing, Child-Safety Lock, Delicates Setting, Lint Filter, Reverse Tumbling and Wall MountableAuto-Sensing, Child-Safety Lock, Delicates Setting, Lint Filter, Reverse Tumbling and Wall Mountable
Door Hinge LeftLeft
Colour / FinishWhiteWhite
Dimensions 795 x 600 x 600 mm795 x 600 x 620 mm
Drying Programs 8
Temperature Settings 3
Venting TypeFront VentingFront Venting
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare both Electrolux EDV5552 / EDV6552

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.