?
? !
7 photos
Electrolux UltraSilencer

Electrolux UltraSilencer

Origin (ZUS4065OR), ZUS3940P, Pet Lover (ZUS4065PET), etc...
3.6 from 59 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (5)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (4)
  • Pet OwnerYes (3) · No (4)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (1) · No (5)
Previous
Next

Honest review

published

Purchased in September 2015 at The Good Guys for $365.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I have had this vacuum for over 10 years

published

I’ve had this vacuum for over 10 years and it’s suction is still amazing even when the bag is full. Very quiet and cleans thoroughly. Nice long power cord, which means it doesn’t need to be plugged in in every room. Because I have had it for so long, some parts are needing to be replaced ie the telescopic pipe and the part on the hose that it clips into as these have worn. The only thing I don’t like is the auto cord retract button.

Purchased at Noel Leeming Physical store for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JB

JB

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Low quality

published

Bought this vacuum cleaner in late 2015 and have had multiple issues, despite only light use (once per week) on floorboards. Had to get the head repairs after the rollers came off, the hose crimps, and then finally it stopped powering on.

Purchased in December 2015 at Billy Guyatts for $334.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Electrolux UltraSilencer compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
aussiepiper

aussiepiperSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

The ultimate in planned obsolescence

published

Nice and quiet indeed and aside from the fact that the parts start to disintegrate soon after purchase, this vacuums, quietly. However the handle broke shortly after purchase and little wonder. The tiny screw holding the two parts together was bound to fail. Now the head no longer locks into the hose. Another part broken. Surely the ultimate in planned obselescence. The retailer didn't want to know of course. "Trade it in. Buy another one..." for $300+

Purchased in August 2008.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The silencer that now Screams

published

The vacuum is not even 6 months old and it has begun to emit a screaming sound when you increase the suction past 3. It is obviously a dud. Electrolux is not a product worth buying

Purchased in January 2019 for $399.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SMJ

SMJ

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome for the price

published

Good for both carpets and tiles. Has many attachments which comes handy cleaning different surfaces, curtains, sofa etc.Overall, very happy with the product. No complaints yet. It also looks great.

Purchased in November 2018 for $348.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stew

StewPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Piece of junk

published

I have bought 3 Electrolux vacuum cleaners and the quality has dropped and dropped, with the latest one the handle has snapped, the aluminium extension won't stay extended and breaks , also they used to have additional tools on board,. As you can guess i will never purchase one again . Do yourself a favour and buy a german vacuum cleaner, i wont say the brand but better all round

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sue

SueTauranga

Very very unhappy

published

From new this vacuum had a high pitched scream when hose extended+only ran for 5 mins before switching off. Emailed electrolux numerous time but no replies. Rang+they sent a new handle. Didn't help. Sent to Electrolux and 3 weeks later got it back saying it was fixed. Have used it once but still has squeaky sound when hose is extended. The plastic buttons holding the handle and pipes on are very hard to work and it takes me ages to change attachments. Very very upset with this machine. Would never ever buy another electrolux again!!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best vacuum ever

published

Super Quiet, super suction. After 2 years the cord rewind still works perfectly and it takes the tough punishment with ease. Looks great too. Even when the bag is 95% full it still sucks like a champion. So much better than my old bagless machine which created a dust storm every time I emptied it into the bin. I LOVE this cleaner.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Electrolux UltraSilencer compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
William

WilliamPerth, WA

  • 31 reviews
  • 14 likes

Wow this blows my mind about quiet vacuum, Miele we are looking at you

published

When I owned a Miele, I was pretty impressed with how sound dampening has been carefully well thought out compared to my entry level Kmart vac.

When I gets my hand on an ultrasilencer, it just blows my mind, it brings vacuum quietness to a whole new level, at least for me.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amy

Amy

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect vacuum cleaner

published

Great suction, easy to maneuver, kind of loud. I use it in my studio apartment at uni on carpet and lino and it works wonders. It is a very powerful vacuum. The only downside is having to buy new bags but they last me a long time which is fine.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hannah

HannahSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Vacuum!

published

I think this is a great vacuum. It is very quiet for the power, so I am happy with it. It picks up everything from our carpet which is quite thick and our old vacuum struggled. It has a setting for tiles/carpet which is great, it is easy to switch from kitchen to living room cleaning!

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Papamike

PapamikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

I's been a good vacuum cleaner

published

It works quite well, it's used daily and we have had it for 10 years. We need to get a motorhead for a better performance on the carpet. We have had a new motor and a few new heads and a hose. We also had to have the plug renewed. I don't like having to replace bags as I think that is wasteful and expensive.
The noise is not a problem for us, but it would spoil a movie on TV for those watching while vacuuming in that area.
We have a mixture of titles carpet and floorboards.
When it finally gives up the ghost we will probably replace it with a rechargeable type.

Date PurchasedOct 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Abby

AbbyMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great vacuum!

published

Very happy with the performance and suction. Vacuum is easy to use and comes with a multitude of accessories, very useful. Design is pleasing, haven't had an issue with the suction. Definitely not "silent" but not as loud as many other vacuums. Vacuum is light and easy to maneuver. I mostly vacuum curtains, carpet and wood floors with this vacuum. Replacement bags are easy to work and inexpensive to purchase.

Date PurchasedJan 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jamie

JamieBrisbane

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not a bad vacuum

published

Not a bad vacuum, sucks well when it has a new bag in it. Really sticks to the floor. The bonus turbo head we got with it is useless. The only down side it the foot wheel didn't last very long and I'm not paying $80 for another. Will more then likely buy another but would ask for 2 foot tools.

Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Electrolux UltraSilencer compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Magda

MagdaSydney

  • 3 reviews

Good vacuum cleaner

published

This Electrolux vacuum cleaner is good enough. It’s not so heavy, so easy to manoeuvre around the home. The vacuum cleaner is great for all types of flooring. But it’s a bit loud, so I can’t vacuum in the mornings or the evenings because my neighbours will not be happy.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

5 stars.

published

This vacuum cleaner really sucks.

For such a quiet unit you wouldn't think that it'd suck so hard, but suck hard it does. It does a lot of sucking, even pet hair that accumulates on the carpets. It's also nice and quiet so while it sucks hard it doesn't disrupt my two cats. One of them even plays with it while it does all the hard sucking.

Verdict: this little sucker knows how to suck and it doesn't make a lot of loud noise that sucks for everyone in the house.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dotti

DottiMullumbimby

  • 2 reviews

Very annoying to use, makes me angry every time i use it! Wonder who designed this one??

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Electrolux
ELECTROLUX ..Electrolux
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
susie q

susie q

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Vacuum cleaner

published

Lovely cleaner. So quiet and has lots of suction. This is perfect for when my housemates are asleep so I can do my vacuuming. My dog is not scared of it either. The handle is a great bonus. The size is perfect particularly for an apartment. Would recommend it to anyone.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Belle

Bellecobram

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This is perfect, I can't live without it.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sophie L.

Sophie L.asked

UltraSilencer

Does the ulra silencer filter and bags fit the ultra one?

No answers
Don

Donasked

UltraSilencer

The lid latch is stuck in open. How do we close the lid.

No answers
Joy Bryant

Joy Bryantasked

UltraSilencer

We have a lot of trouble with this machine when doing carpets rolling up cat hairs and refusing to suck them up. We use the hard floor/soft floors head on the soft floor setting. We actually bought This machine because it said it was the Animal model (dammit). Can you help please?

No answers
See all Electrolux UltraSilencer questions

Get an answer from our members and Electrolux representatives

Electrolux UltraSilencer

Details

Compare all 9 Electrolux UltraSilencer
CategoryBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $349.00$399.00$399.00$399.00
Bin Capacity3.5 L
HEPA FilterYesYesYesYes
Weight5.98 kg5.8 kg6 kg
TypeBaggedBaggedBaggedBagged
Cord Length12 m9 m9 m9 m
Power1,800 W1,800 W1,800 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateMay 2010May 2010
Compare all 9 Electrolux UltraSilencer

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.