??!
6 photos
Electrolux SilentPerformer
3.5 from 42 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.5

42 reviews
5
(14)
4
(14)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (14)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (14)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (14)
  • Pet OwnerYes (10) · No (5)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (2) · No (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Nickname

NicknameVictoria

  • 15 reviews

Lives up to its name

published

This is a very good vacuum cleaner that picks up long haired cat fur because of its very good suction. It is much quieter than other vacuum cleaners I've used and the best feature is that it does not frighten the cat! I recommend this vacuum cleaner to pet owners.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
t18

t18Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 26 reviews

So quiet

published

After years of basically disposable kmart vacs i decided to buy a decent one. Best choice i could have made. Sticks to the floor and runs so quietly. I love the power switch so i can turn down suction to make it easier to move the head. Would buy again.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Timbo

Timbomelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Pretty Good Not Amazing

published

This is a small vacuum and it does a generally good job around the house and an excellent job on tiles and floorboards. I would rate its a average on carpet though. The suction power is not super powerful but it does the job. As for "silent" well not really but it is quieter than average so that's good. Emptying the dust is easy and the cord length is generous enough to easily reach around the rooms at my place.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Electrolux SilentPerformer compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Susan

Susan

  • 3 reviews

Perfection

published

The performance is fantastic. It’s sucks all dirt from carpet and tiles even through grout is does the job. It comes with excesorries that allows you to reach small hidden places that need vacumming. The most important and favourite feature has to be the longgg cord that comes with it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
anne4141

anne4141PERTH

  • 7 reviews

Amazing

published

Amazing vacuum. Very powerful, especially on floors and tiles.
The first time I used this I filled up two containers on 3 rugs I thought were clean!

The only issues I can find - the turbo head only works well when completely clean. I have two double coat dogs and the turbo brush quickly fills with dog hair. The filters also need to be washed a fair bit. I also wish the power cord was longer.

Apart from that it is amazing.

I've owned a dyson before,and prefer the electrolux.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Tony

TonyAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

A really good vacuum for the price.

published

Pros:
Very quiet, powerful turbo head that picks up pet hair, lightweight, variable speed so you can ramp up the suction or keep it at a low setting for some surfaces, easy to empty, good price, 2 year replacement warranty.

Cons:
Poor onboard brush/crevice tool that isn't quite up to standard and awkward to use.

Such an improvement on our heavy, noisy Dyson that died. Turbo head for carpets, multi-purpose head for other surfaces, and everything looks great. It's a lower-priced bagless so remember to clean those filters regularly to prolong its life. But if it does die within 2 years you get a new one. The Good Guys have a 3 year replacement deal for only a few dollars more and no waiting.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Bree H

Bree HMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Not the worst. But still not great

published

Whilst I don’t have animals - and thank god I don’t this vac struggles at the best of times.
If constantly cleaning the filters isn’t your thing this is not right for you. I find if I don’t go through and empty the filters every time, it just won’t suck.
All fittings seem to easily break too.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Airsie

AirsieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Extremely Hard to use this Cleaner on cut pile 100% Nylon Carpet

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Griff

GriffAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good

published

I had very specific parameters when looking for a vacuum cleaner. It had to be cyclonic with good suction, bagless, reasonable quality and longevity and <$200. I don't think you can find one better for your money. Was looking at getting a second hand Dyson but so far so good. Doesn't feel cheap and nasty and think it will last as long as I look after it. The battery operated ones aren't quite there yet and only have approx 40min max of battery life. Can't do the whole home with that. Has extension and different settings for carpet/tiles etc. Suction is good but not outstanding. It isn't a Dyson but I think it was much better than getting someones second hand vac.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Electrolux SilentPerformer compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Max

MaxGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very Nice and quite vacumm

published

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Michelle

MichelleHuonville

Waste of money

published

This model must have been designed by someone who has never vacuumed. Great to use if you've already done a thorough sweep and mop of your floors. Continually gets blocked by anything larger than a lentil. I find the cord too short, not very easy to manoeuvre and it's cumbersome to pack away. Vacuuming is already a chore and using this cleaner makes it thoroughly unbearable. One star for being made from recycled plastic.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
heather

heatherSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews

quiet achiever

published

This machine was bought to replace a Dyson.
We are more than happy with its suction, noise levels, and ease of use.
The cord is a good length, meaning we dont have to keep changing sockets. It comes with sufficient accsories for our needs.
It is easy to empty, and about half the weight of the Dyson.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Sam

SamBunbury

  • 4 reviews

Good product

published

I have been using this product from a long time and it has never given us any issues. It is very light to handle and it is silent than other vacuum cleaners I have used so far. It has a good suction and it sucks small stuff easily. I have been using this vacuum on flooring and carpets in my house.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Annette

AnnetteSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I'd heard about the on switch problems

published

I was expecting great stuff after ordering this model. My mother who was a fanatical dutch cleaner who over the years always swore by the electrolux brand. Unfortunately my brand new model won't even switch on. Sooo disappointed .... even more so after talking with the customer help line. They directed me to look for a turn on button on the hose handle. I felt like a fool when i could not find a turn on button on the hose handle but was relieved that another witness also could not see this suggested button as there is not one!

Date PurchasedJul 2017
2 comments
Electrolux
ELECTROLUX ..Electrolux
Annette
Annette

Thanks for your prompt reply. I did contact customer care ref #N170802429. This morning I also sent customer care another e-mail. I would like my money back, I've lost interest in having an electrolux vacuum.

Regards A.Gordon

Gary M

Gary MRaglan

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great valued bagless vac.

published

This is a great Vac quite does its job as expected, does require cleaning of the filters as expected being bagless.
What an huge cost saving being bagless. We have a large home and it's perfect for the job. This has to be the best valued Vac on the Market today.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Electrolux SilentPerformer compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

2nd use shutdown

published

We bought this due to its size not so clunky as our old one and we trusted the Electrolux brand name. But for 2nd time after 30mins or so of 'normal' house vacuuming when I switch off to move rooms...it won't switch on again! hopeless. Thought due to overheating? But I have 2 floors to clean. I don't have time to let the thing cool down and for $300+ ---I shouldn't have to.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
2 comments
Electrolux
ELECTROLUX ..Electrolux
RebeccaandMark
RebeccaandMark

Thank you very much Leslie we'll contact you-kind regards, Rebecca and Mark

Sue

SueMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great suction. I'm not sneezing anymore!

published

After my Nilfisk motor burnt out we purchased an Electrolux vacuum cleaner. (Barrel) I vacuumed the whole house and was amazed at all the ungrounded d dust that came out. The suction is terrif. Easy to empty. Light weight & fairly quiet. I wouldn't say silent though, as the name suggests. All attachments are easy to changeover too. Cord retraction is great. Doesn't knot up or stop.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Made my life easier

published

Small barrel vacuum bagless so easy to pull around goes from vinyl floor to carpet no bother. Dirt container has good capacity and is easy to clip off to empty.

Jillylynd

JillylyndGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Vacuum

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Didn't last long !

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Electrolux
ELECTROLUX ..Electrolux
Page 2 of 3
See all Electrolux SilentPerformer reviews

Questions & Answers

E W R

E W Rasked

SilentPerformer

Took out the front filter to clean it. A VERY lose fitting 'O' ring flopped out. Washed filter and now cannot get it back in with the O ring flopping around in there. Surely it should be a close fit under the rim of the filter? What is the solution?

No answers
tigre

tigreasked

SilentPerformer Animal (ZSP4303PET)

Afte 18 months' or so of use, the vacuum suddenly started collecting pet fur around the cylindrical mesh top filter instead of in the main cannister. This means that I have to stop several times to prise out the fur from around the filter and that it also doesn't pick up as much as it used to. Has anyone else had this problem and does anyone else know how to fix it? It doesn't look like Electrolux monitors this page and their manual is extremely basic. When we asked for a technical manual, we were told this was not an option.

No answers
iain

iainasked

SilentPerformer Animal All Floors (ZSP4304PP)

what is the suction power and noise level of this vacuum cleaner ?

Thanks

3 answers
UniqueVirgo
UniqueVirgo

The suction is quite good until the filters need cleaning. Once cleaned, the suction is good again. Not overly noisy. Be careful dropping the poles etc as the plastic clips can break easily.

Kevin
Kevin

Sucks ok but about as noisy as our $50 Kmart one. I'd advise against buying one. Customer service is terrible.

iain
iain

Thank you. Useful information

Get an answer from our members and Electrolux representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.