??!
1 photo
Engel MR40F

Engel MR40F

4.0 from 24 reviews

Pros

  • Cost-effective, brand-name portable fridge/freezer

  • Energy efficient

  • Compact and uses space well

Cons

  • Polypropylene casing vulnerable to break on heavy impact

  • No digital temperature readings

Reviews

4.0

24 reviews
5
(15)
4
(1)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
kimberley w.

kimberley w.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

great

published

Purchased in November 2019 at BCF for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Hasn't let me down. Yet.

published

Ours is 4 years old now and has done us proud so far nothing bad to report except a bit of paint coming off the metal inside the fridge. We've used it a fair bit and it works very well. If I have a negative about the fridge, it would be the ease of cleaning.

Purchased in March 2015 at BCF for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Maybe we have a lemon?

published

This is our 2nd Engel. Our first one has a steel casing and is 25 years old, and still going strong. We purchased our 2nd Engel, Eclipse with the plastic casing, 5 years ago. It doesn't get alot of use except on camping trips. We have just replaced the circuit board at a cost of $400 12 months ago. Now the compressor is running continuously and not getting cold. We will not spend another cent on it. Sorry Engel, you have done your dash with us. We will be buying a Bushmans.

Purchased in June 2013.

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Engel MR40F compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bathuu

BathuuSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Poor warranty service

published

Purchased MR40F model from BCF and latches came with loose tension. Referred the defect to engel and had a serviceman looked it. Their suggested solution was to remove shim under the latch bolt and bend the metal hook a bit. A cheap really effort from a reputable company. I was expecting at least they could try new latch or seal as the latch did not have tension straight out of box. After purchasing a new latch at my own cost i found out door seal is actually culprit. Maybe their compressor could be good (still have not tested yet, but now i am not sure if i can get something good out of them in case of problem) but can't say same for their warranty service. So just something to watch out. Probably no more engel for me. Terrible service.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Don

DonPerth

Mr40 f evlipse review excellant

published

Brillant fridge ! Runs at least 4 days off 100ah battery!,gave up monitoring after that!
Hot thermometer on e bay $1 and small buttom lights from bunnings all u need ! Got internal tray for salad brill! Better quality than waeco ,they look cheap plasticy
Not got cover too expensive

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Nick

NickAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Great fridge but hope it doesn’t break down

published

Truly a solid build. Well made. Rugged like the Dometic. Draw back is the cooling plate inside some models sits away from the casing which is really hard to clean behind and the backup service from Engel is just terrible. Arrogant and belligerent customer service personnel for such a high end product. Shame. I would still buy one and take the risk as they are very good.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

3 years 3 months only!

published

I purchased this fridge to use for work and eventually touring Australia for a year. It was always kept inside a canopy or cab, never in direct sunlight. I found the dial to set temp would easily move if it was accidently bumped, mainly causing eveything to freeze. A simple dial that clicks between settings would fix this. The fridge compressor died at 3years 3 months so warranty was over and to repair would cost as much as a new one. The dial gauge has no temp inication so you have to constantly check if things have not frozen or that dial has not moved.Will look for another brand next time

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Brian

BrianKaroonda

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

great fridge at a good price

published

the engel i got is great no friils just basic but could have a light inside but that is it . i set it between 1 or 2 on the dial and dose a good job .it allso came with 3 year warranty so engel back ther fridge up . I leave this on the back of farm ute them into wagon etc for shopping . It came with a cover which is not as thick as the older covers are it might not last like the old ones ?

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Brett

BrettMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Unit Great price.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Engel MR40F compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not built like they used to be.

published

Bought this fridge 4 years ago. Worked well and lived in the back of the Prado for 4 years then electronic board died. Common problem apparently after doing some research. $380 to fix. Can't buy parts to do it yourself and save a few dollars either. Decided not to spend the money as other parts are probably on the way out. Bought another brand. Made in Thailand these days and I suspect QC isn't as it used to be. Still have 15 year old Engle in the shed going strong! I would recommend saving some more money and buying another brand. Will cost less in the long run.

Date PurchasedNov 2013
idlingdove

idlingdoveTewantin

  • 2 reviews

Very reliable fridge

published
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Martin Thompson

Martin ThompsonToowoomba

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

So far, execellant

published

My MR40F has lived in the back of my work Ute since Brand new, and has never been turned off, it is a " no frills" unit with old fashioned reliable controls. If there are any draw backs it is somewhat noiser than my Waeco, but it is not a big one for me.I am not going to rave that it is any better than other brands, I have a Waeco that has not been turned off for 3 years, it also powers on.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Jen

JenClare

  • 4 reviews

Excerllent fridge

published

Great fridge. We use it in the hilux. Great price. Engel fridge's outlast most other brands. Keeps everthing cool and fits nicely on back seat. My husband has flattened the battery a few time by leaving the ignition on to keep his beer cold. Handy for a shopping trip when you have a long drive home.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Paul

PaulMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Excellent fridge that's converted many Waeco mates to Engel!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2015

excellent fridge

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Engel MR40F compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
cornel trifu

cornel trifuAdelaide

  • 12 reviews

Engel MR40F

published
psi125

psi125

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Last Engel I will buy

published

After owning 2 previous Engels, and still using the 2nd purchased in 2001, I bought an MR40F to have as fridge and use the MRT45 as freezer. The MR40F is TOO NOISY to have in the van. The unit was replaced U/W and is now even worse. Engel has gone for cheaper iron magnets in the motors, where they use to use "rare earth" magnets. Waeco next time for the Danfoss compressor.

Awesome

published

I have had my MR40F plastic model now for about 2 years and it lives in my ute and gets used every day and my drinks are super cold on setting 2, the Engel cover though has not liked the sun and has completely fallen apart, great fridge they just need to make a better quality cover..

rickodiddlio

rickodiddlioAU

  • 7 reviews

Great unit. Go with Engel reliability.

published

Avoiding the temptation to get a cheaper (read: Waeco) unit, I went with this one, also because I couldn't afford the metal-cased Engels, which are VERY expensive.

This has been all over the place with us: off-road, on beach, camping. Beer and food as cold as you like, with excellent battery efficiency. It goes in the back of our Land Cruiser and gets a fair workout.

A really excellent unit.

I think the key to these things lasting is to continue using it when it's not 'away' on duty, we use it in the garage as a beer fridge, so that it is always in use. They're so efficient that I've unplugged the normal beer fridge and keep this one ticking over instead. WIth a 3 year warranty, it's a great buy!

Mal

MalTrangie

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works great,right price

published

I already have the 40L steel cased model.Needed another one so i bought the plastic cased one at almost half the price of a metal one.
Plastic one works great.I bought a fridge/freeze thermometer from jaycar for $20 and the fridge has less than 1`C variation in temp when running.Better than the older steel cased one.
Wishing now i`d bought a plastic one in the first place instead of the metal one. 2 plastic ones are only about $200 more than 1 metal one.
Mal.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Cynthia

Cynthiaasked

my Engel fridge freezer cuts out hen starts strait back up when it is on freezer. But when it is on fridge cuts out stays off approximately 2minutes is this normal.

No answers
Cynthia

Cynthiaasked

my Engel fridge freezer cuts out hen starts strait back up when it is on freezer. But when it is on fridge cuts out stays off approximately 2minutes is this normal.

1 answer
kimberley w.
kimberley w.

Hi If you have it turned all the way around to freeze that is not needed, to freeze all you need to freeze is have it a bit more than half way between number 2 and 3 if you have it tuned right up to freeze it will keep on starting up only because it is to high you do not need it that high give that a try, if you ever want to use it as a fridge do not have it turned up higher than 1 that is ample to keep things cold. just use trial and error as I did

Rowls

Rowlsasked

I have a 21 yr old 39lt Engel that works fine. Problem is that it drains power from the battery even when the fridge is turned off. If I unplug the lead from the fridge there is no drain, but when it’s connected there is. Any ideas.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.