1 photo
Engel MR40F

Engel MR40F

4.0 from 28 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Portable Fridges / Freezers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Engel? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Cost-effective, brand-name portable fridge/freezer

  • Energy efficient

  • Compact and uses space well

Cons

  • Polypropylene casing vulnerable to break on heavy impact

  • No digital temperature readings

Reviews

4.0
28 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (6)
Previous
Next
Chalr
ChalrWheatbelt, WA
  • Verified

Good fridge until it filled my car with smoke.

published

I have 2 Engel fridges 1 is 7 years old and the other 2.5 years old, The newer fridge filled my car with smoke while still maintaining temp -18 degrees acting as a freezer on a 7 week trip, I turned it off and sent in for warranty and I was told that it holds temp so there is nothing wrong with the fridge, the service reported was requesting testing to be done of all the electrical components which was not done. This was a good fridge until this happened and Im more disappointed with the service from Engel that I always considered to have the the best fridges on the the market. I have now purchased a new fridge as Im not willing to put a fridge that has smoked back into my car.

Purchased in October 2018 at tent world midland for $809.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Brad
BradHunter Region, NSW

Great basic fridge.

published

Have owned my Engel MR40F for over 10 years. Been carted all over the place in the back of a Ute. Has never missed a beat and will run on 12V or 240V. Great basic unit, no bells and whistles, just a great fridge freezer. Would buy another one tomorrow without hesitation!

Purchased in January 2008 at Camping store for $800.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Crusty181
Crusty181Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Punches well above it weight

published

Purchased in June 2008 at BCF for $650.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bradj
BradjHunter Region, NSW
  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Worth every cent.

published

I bought mine way back in 2008 and it was the demo unit in the store. It has been camping a million times and has been run on both 12 & 240V. Has seen many bumpy roads, bashed around in a trailer or in a Ute, and has never missed a beat. Have got my moneys worth from this fridge, thats for sure. If it packed it in, I would buy the exact same one again. It is a basic unit, no temp gauge or anything, but it does not take long to work out the settings to keep your food and beer icy cold.

Purchased in January 2008 for $800.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Engel MR40F compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kimberley w.
kimberley w.
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

great

published

Purchased in November 2019 at BCF for $799.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Chris
ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Hasn't let me down. Yet.

published

Ours is 4 years old now and has done us proud so far nothing bad to report except a bit of paint coming off the metal inside the fridge. We've used it a fair bit and it works very well. If I have a negative about the fridge, it would be the ease of cleaning.

Purchased in March 2015 at BCF for $699.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Maybe we have a lemon?

published

This is our 2nd Engel. Our first one has a steel casing and is 25 years old, and still going strong. We purchased our 2nd Engel, Eclipse with the plastic casing, 5 years ago. It doesn't get alot of use except on camping trips. We have just replaced the circuit board at a cost of $400 12 months ago. Now the compressor is running continuously and not getting cold. We will not spend another cent on it. Sorry Engel, you have done your dash with us. We will be buying a Bushmans.

Purchased in June 2013.

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Bathuu
BathuuSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

Poor warranty service

published

Purchased MR40F model from BCF and latches came with loose tension. Referred the defect to engel and had a serviceman looked it. Their suggested solution was to remove shim under the latch bolt and bend the metal hook a bit. A cheap really effort from a reputable company. I was expecting at least they could try new latch or seal as the latch did not have tension straight out of box. After purchasing a new latch at my own cost i found out door seal is actually culprit. Maybe their compressor could be good (still have not tested yet, but now i am not sure if i can get something good out of them in case of problem) but can't say same for their warranty service. So just something to watch out. Probably no more engel for me. Terrible service.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Don
DonPerth

Mr40 f evlipse review excellant

published

Brillant fridge ! Runs at least 4 days off 100ah battery!,gave up monitoring after that!
Hot thermometer on e bay $1 and small buttom lights from bunnings all u need ! Got internal tray for salad brill! Better quality than waeco ,they look cheap plasticy
Not got cover too expensive

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Engel MR40F compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick
NickAdelaide
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great fridge but hope it doesn’t break down

published

Truly a solid build. Well made. Rugged like the Dometic. Draw back is the cooling plate inside some models sits away from the casing which is really hard to clean behind and the backup service from Engel is just terrible. Arrogant and belligerent customer service personnel for such a high end product. Shame. I would still buy one and take the risk as they are very good.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

3 years 3 months only!

published

I purchased this fridge to use for work and eventually touring Australia for a year. It was always kept inside a canopy or cab, never in direct sunlight. I found the dial to set temp would easily move if it was accidently bumped, mainly causing eveything to freeze. A simple dial that clicks between settings would fix this. The fridge compressor died at 3years 3 months so warranty was over and to repair would cost as much as a new one. The dial gauge has no temp inication so you have to constantly check if things have not frozen or that dial has not moved.Will look for another brand next time

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Brian
BrianKaroonda
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

great fridge at a good price

published

the engel i got is great no friils just basic but could have a light inside but that is it . i set it between 1 or 2 on the dial and dose a good job .it allso came with 3 year warranty so engel back ther fridge up . I leave this on the back of farm ute them into wagon etc for shopping . It came with a cover which is not as thick as the older covers are it might not last like the old ones ?

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Engel MR40F compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brett
BrettMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Unit Great price.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Not built like they used to be.

published

Bought this fridge 4 years ago. Worked well and lived in the back of the Prado for 4 years then electronic board died. Common problem apparently after doing some research. $380 to fix. Can't buy parts to do it yourself and save a few dollars either. Decided not to spend the money as other parts are probably on the way out. Bought another brand. Made in Thailand these days and I suspect QC isn't as it used to be. Still have 15 year old Engle in the shed going strong! I would recommend saving some more money and buying another brand. Will cost less in the long run.

Date PurchasedNov 2013
idlingdove
idlingdoveTewantin
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very reliable fridge

published
Date PurchasedJune 2013

Questions & Answers

hamishframe
hamishframeasked

Why will my engal MT-V60L only work on 240v not 12volts

1 answer
Crusty181
Crusty181

Don't know, broken maybe

Dazza B
Dazza Basked

I have just used my fridge as a freezer for the last two months, and just yesterday I noticed it is cutting in and out every three seconds. Can you please advise me if there is any way to reset fridge, or is the motor stuffed? Thank you for your great knowledge.

No answers
Jeff S.
Jeff S.asked

22ltr Engel were is the fuse

No answers
See all Engel MR40F questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

The Engel MR40F is a 38L dedicated fridge and freezer combo, that can be powered by a 12V/24V battery or by mains electricity. It's known for its energy efficiency, and is considered a lite-version of other Engel portable fridges.

While value for money and compactness are reasons to buy the Engel MR40F, it lacks the digital features (temperature reading and controls) of other portable fridge/freezers on the market. Also, a cheaper polypropylene case may reduce the longevity of the unit.

Reviewers enjoyed the cost effective and energy efficiency of the Engel MR40F. It was identified as a fridge more suitable to occasional campers for use in less challenging conditions.

CategoryPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $919.00
Type Dedicated Fridge + Freezer Combo
Capacity38L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall Outlet
FeaturesReversible Lid
Weight22 kg
Dimensions 483 x 636 x 366 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateApr 2008
Replaced byEngel Eclipse MD40F-G4 (38L)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.