??!
1 photo
Epson XP-220

Epson XP-220

MPN: XP-220
1.7 from 51 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (7)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    1.4 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.6 (7)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    1.3 (7)
  • Reliability
    1.3 (7)
  • Printing Speed
    2.6 (7)
Previous
Next
Fortunato L.

Fortunato L.Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Shocking model

published

Bought this printer at JB Hifi, does the job averagely but not efficient as expected to have the wireless printing working (which was erratic even with a strong wifi connection) left out with some genuine cartridges unused. Waste of time.

Purchased in June 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Googler816

Googler816Melbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 14 likes

Planned obsolescence.

published

I also own an XP-100 and both printers have deteriorated in print quality. Horizontal lines that head alignment doesn't fix. Bought extra ink packs for both, which don't fit the newer models. Harvey Norman selling newer Epson printers, but the ink costs $85 (more than the price of the printer!) Land fill will get the obsolete printers, along with the unusable ink cartridges. Environmentalists must be in shock.

Purchased in September 2017 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$88.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Tom N

Tom NHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Worst printer i have ever onwed.

published

Setting up printer is painful with an unbelievable amount of steps/software downloads/updates ect. wireless connection has a mind of its own and you cant use a cable to connect to computer as they do not supply any cable in box. Paper jams alot and ink cartridges are expensive. It will be going in the bin once i have use all ink up.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$56.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Epson XP-220 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jkfooty

jkfootyNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Big mistake

published

Wont say it was cheap as i paid around $80
only lasted a year so many dramas. In the end looks like printed head is damaged. Dont want to buy more cartridges to check, happy to throw him away

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
jmandlj

jmandljMurray Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

A lemon !

published

Bought it 15/10/2017 for $58 ! on special reduced from $88 at Harvey Norman .Cheapo me ! Expensive ink cartridges and always having " connection " and paper feed problems . Now 1 year and 7 months later - no power ! Time for the BIN . I should have bought a HP

Purchased in October 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$58.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Bek

BekSouth East Queensland, QLD

The most useless printer I have ever owned!!

published

Uses all 4 ink colours to print greyscale, no option to print with black only, that means $80 each time to replace all 4 inks. Every second cartridge replaced isn't recognized by the printer even though I use only genuine Epson ink, and I spend half an hour troubleshooting just to get it printing again.

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers

worst printer ever. piece of crap

published

this is the worst printer i have ever had in my life. now i hate epson. i will never recommend this printer to any one. always have connection issue. totally unreliable. even though the light is green but still it does not connect to the pc. please don't waste your money.

Purchased in April 2018 for A$70.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Richard M

Richard MPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This is a piece of junk.

published

This printer has been trouble from day 1. I use it once or twice per week and it's always got issues. It loves to show a paper jam when there isn't one. Last week the paper jam light came on again and it won't go off no matter what. Repair service wanted $85.00 per hour to fix it but advised me to bin it. Epson have brought out the XP-245 which is exactly the same printer except that they've changed the ink cartridge type. How convenient that my very expensive 220 XL cartridges of unused ink must go to waste. Don't buy from this company. They are totally unethical in that their ink works out to thousands of dollars per litre. Absolute unreliable rubbish.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Do not buy!!!!!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Printers

Find out how Epson XP-220 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rod

RodNewlands Arm

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

No stars

published

Expensive to own, grey scale doesn't work, ever! Avoid the trouble and get a different brand, I got a black only laser printer, said to be way better then a multi function job. I couldn't even be bothered returning this thing - why do I have to write fifty words?

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Emily

EmilyAuckland

DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER

published

Expensive cartridges run out very quickly.
You can't print (even in greyscale) if the ink has run out in a colour cartridge!
Even with all ink the printer will print white pages or have difficulty printing black.

Does not print double sided automatically.

The printer has refused to connect to our wifi since about 2 months after purchase.

Expensive, inconvenient, just go to HP.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

Very Deserving of Zero Rating

published

Pathetic printers - got two (one for mum and one for dad) unfortunately. Trouble changing the (very expensive) cartridges. Then neither will not print because doesn't recgonise (genuine) cartridges or because of a"communication error".

These printers are not even useful as door stops. They need the "deep six" treatment - mine are about to experience that strategy.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
yadnarie

yadnarieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Zero Star Rating would be be one too many

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Mary S

Mary SBethungra

  • 2 reviews

Worst printer probably ever

published

I'm not one to write bad reviews without first trying to find a solution or unless I feel it's necessary, but I bought this printer over a year ago and it is absolutely terrible. I would never recommend buying one, unless you love unreliable printers that magically run out of ink after printing 5-10 basic documents. The quality of said documents has also always been quite poor.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Christiaan

Christiaan

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Bad print quality. Ink is very expensive and it’s a drinker. Avoid!

published

Print quality is very bad for photos, color representation is off, whatever the color profile used.
The ink refills are mighty expensive and work with a chip that says it is empty after so many prints while it might still hold ink. Alternative branded refills are not much cheaper and clog up the heads. This printer drinks ink it I sent fenomenal. Don’t waste your money on this printer. It might appear cheap to buy but the costs on ink after are astronomical . Perhaps this goes for all inkjet printers these days, total rip off.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Printers

Find out how Epson XP-220 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark Allport

Mark AllportBrisbane, qld

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for documents not photos

published

I actually received this printer as a gift and had to just get ink. The printer and scanner performs well but just dont expect high resolution photo prints. They do not look that great. The wireless setup takes a bit of setting up but once it is in place it works flawlessly every time and its good to put the printer out of the way away from the computer.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
LJS

LJSLabrador

  • Verified purchase

Do not waste your money with this terrible printer

published

I had previously used an old Epson 220 printer at work and it never gave a fault when changing ink cartridges. I bought the Epson XP-220 for home. It worked OK until I changed the original ink cartridges. I installed genuine Epson cartridges, but the printer would not recognize them as genuine. The red fault light stayed on, even when I took them out and reinstalled them. I threw this heap of junk in the bin. I will never ever buy an EPSON product again. Do not waste your money with this terrible printer.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Lynette M

Lynette MCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

So far, so good.

published

I haven't had this printer very long. I was very happy with the ease of set up (connected to computer not WIFI). The print quality is very good and so far the reliability has been good. I was reluctant to purchase another EPSON but as I already had the software installed, and have always found the help desk very helpful. So as I said, so far, so good.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Dunkyla

DunkylaSyney

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Do not buy

published

Purchased this printer on sale, but made the wrong choice. WIFI connection took ages to connect but eventually got it working most of the time. Print outs started off good, but after a few prints it was fading. Went to replace the inks, did not make much difference and they were more expensive than the printer itself. Bad quality prints, expensive inks and hard to connect via WIFI.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Nanny Trish

Nanny TrishThe Mallee, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Don't View It, Print It

published

Having family living it England, thanks to my EPSON XP-220, shopped around best price, i can print pictures in bright color, no problems, i like the quality of color easy to operate, and would recommend, if someone wanted a printer for this purpose. I haven't experienced any jams, we certainly know we got what we expected.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Din

Dinasked

How do i setup wifi connection in this printer?

1 answer
porky
porky

Cover the printer a decent layer of unleaded petrol, light a match and flick it onto the the printer. Stand at a safe distance until the fire has finished burning then place the printer in the bin and get a different one.

sam b

sam basked

is XP-220 a laser printer or not?

1 answer
Choco
Choco

in the specs
Printer Type Inkjet

Smithy

Smithyasked

Hi all, does everyone else find this printer goes through ink like water?! Even the XL cartridges? They're not cheap & I am churning through them. It's mainly the black, but if I'd known it was this inefficient I wouldn't have bought a different printer.

1 answer
Choco
Choco

same. just started the second batch of cartridges, we dont really print that much either. xl is meant to be 250 pages if i remember right

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPrinters
Price (RRP) A$79.00
Printer TypeInkjet
Multifunction FeaturesCopier and Scanner
Wireless OptionsWi-Fi
Maximum Paper SizeA4
Print from PhoneYes
Print Speed 6 ppm
Printing Resolution5760 x 1440dpi
Scanning Resolution1200 x 2400dpi
Dimensions 145 x 390 x 300 mm
Weight3.9 kg
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9314020616549
  • MPN: XP-220

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.