?
? !
1 photo
Target Essentials 5.5L

Target Essentials 5.5L (page 2 of 4)

MPNs: TARSC20 and TESSC13220
4.3 from 70 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Highly affordable

  • Prepares scrumptious meals

  • Simple to operate

Reviews

4.3

70 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Sam K

Sam KSydney

  • 4 reviews

Excellent size for a family

published

This slow cooker is a really good size for a large family. I use it to make up big batches of stews then divide them up and freeze them for quick Winter comfort meals. It is so easy to just throw all the ingredients inside and walk away to let it do it's thing.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Creeky

Creeky

  • 4 reviews

Does it's job.

published

I am so very satisfied with this product as it is so good to use for like the whole family and for like friends and guests who happen to turn up. It is very easy to use. We use at least three to four times a week sometimes more. Good.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lisa1978

Lisa1978Adelaide, South Australia

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

It Blew up !

published

I purchased this slow cooker as it was rather big for my large family we had it one month it worked as I expected but then I put a stew one and later that afternoon I heard a cracking sound , I walked towards the kitchen when the lid exploded , glass every where , I ran over and turned it off noticed it was burning hot ...... so sadly i just feel it was a faulty one but did not know , I was so glad my kids were not in the kitchen at the time or I was when the lid exploded.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Slow Cookers

Find out how Target Essentials 5.5L compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kath

KathCentral West, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect

published

Cooks great heats perfect
Perfect for family of four
Great price
Easy to clean
Not sure if dishwasher safe though
But no trouble to hand wash
Would totally recommend over the more expensive brands Have tried both
Cannot heat on hot plate as will crack
Perfect for winter meals
Plenty of menus online

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hails

HailsWestern Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful surprise

published

This slow cooker is wonderful although its not a high end brand it works just like a high end slow cooker with an affordable price tag . I cooked marinated chicken and it came out so tender and mouth watering I'm looking forward to cooking a roast beef in it to make beef and gravy to put in fresh bread rolls. It was easy to clean with a presoak right after it cooled and the easy turn dile allows to set to what you want in order to cook.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JA

JASouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Amazing Slow Cooker

published

I bought this cooker over the more expensive ones due to the reviews. I put lamb shanks in it and after 6 hours I picked up a bone and the meat just fell off. Sooo tender. I noticed that it seemed to be boiling a fair bit on the lowest setting. I am not sure if it suppose to do that but the outcome was delicious. It may cook a bit quicker than what recipe says.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sharol

SharolClaremont Meadows

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Cooking essential!

published

It works very well, brings out the flavor in food. It is a bit heavy and hard to clean but very good for cooking easy meals. Just put all the ingredients and do other things, in few hours you can smell the yummy meal ready to eat. Very convenient to use.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Taznmat

TaznmatWarragul

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Just as good as the expensive brands!

published

I brought this slow cooker after comparing different models on the Choice website. I have found it to be excellent. Bowl is nice and bit for my large family and has cooked my roasts to perfection. Would recommend to anyone looking for great value for money and easy cooking preparation!

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wizard_aus

Wizard_ausMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great product so far

published

Wasn't sure if he kids would like a slow cooked meal but thought we would try it out anyway.
We did a chicken Casserole and the kids loved it.
Cooked the food to perfection and was very tasty.
The only thing I found that it burnt some stuff to the crock pot but that came off very easy after soaking for a while.
very happy with the product so far

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Slow Cookers

Find out how Target Essentials 5.5L compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jennifer

jenniferSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Easy to use

published

Easy to use does the job nicely very handy nothing spectacular but value for the price this is used alot in my house especially in winter l go to work l come home to a yummy cooked meal so saves so much time and energy very easy to clean l love mine

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jade

JadeSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great.

published

Pretty basic set up easy to use clean & also store.
Love the meals I can whip up in it, and for just being a non expensively branded one does the jod great love it . Definitely a go to weekly in my house hold. Very happy with it .

Date PurchasedMar 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JennyJ

JennyJPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

cheap and basic but does the job that it is meant to do

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ExSol

ExSolBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

This makes tasty meals so much easier!

published

So many great recipes out there for slow cookers. Meals have tasted great and cleaning up is so easy. Have found that we are getting cooked through food earlier than expected so it could be running hotter than it should but don't know for sure. We're still experimenting and learning to use. We also had the plastic smell at first but it has since gone away. Really glad to have got this awesome value slow cooker.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gillian Mathewson

Gillian MathewsonBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Size Great Price

published

I purchased this for those cold nights and hot meals, this is a great purchase, I have 2-3 slow cookers and this one is great value for money. You wouldn't be disappointed in this easy to use appliance.
Simple settings and the guide that came with it provided some basic cooking instructions.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Burga

BurgaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Not bad

published

This slow cooker is not bad but the ceramic insert means I can't sauté on the stove first. I wish I had bought one with a stainless steel insert as I think the ceramic insert imparts a particular odour to the food which smells quite peculiar. I'm not happy with it and not sure it will see another season through. I can feel a donation coming on!

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Slow Cookers

Find out how Target Essentials 5.5L compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pam

PamFairhope

  • 4 reviews

Didn't last

published

This started out great for awhile, but soon seemed to take forever to heat up, even on the high cycle. The heating element was all over the place, went from boiling, once it got there, to simmering, to boiling, to nothing. I shouldn't returned it, as target is pretty good about standing by their products, but I just threw it out.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aliya

AliyaMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Great appliance

published

This has been a life saver! Cooking has become less of a task but i must say that the meals are way more delicious. I just pile on all the ingredients and the job is done. Though it takes a lot of time but i don't mind. There's less risk of the food getting burnt since it is a slow cooker. Love this appliance.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
chris b

chris bSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

On The fence about this one

published
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
robee

robeeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Very well priced slow cooker

published

I have only used this slow cooker three times so far but find it very convenient. It has a great 5.5 litre capacity so is great for soups. My only criticism is that there seems to be no difference between high and low settings, that is if it is boiling on high and I turn it down to low it is still boiling.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Teresa

TeresaAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome product

published

This product has changed my life. Its easy to clean and easy to use. I love co.i g ho.e and dinner is ready andcsmellsvgrest. Dinner has never been easier even my husband can get dinner ready. I have also used it to make quiche and simple desserts. For the price you cant go wrong.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 2 of 4
See all Target Essentials 5.5L reviews

Questions & Answers

Janelle

Janelleasked

Do you know where I can get a new lid for my slow cooker from please as I knocked it off the bench and smashed it.

No answers
Samantha P.

Samantha P.asked

Cooking instructions to include times

No answers
William F.

William F.asked

how can i get a recipe book for this model

No answers
See all Target Essentials 5.5L questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features

The Target Essentials 5.5L Slow Cooker shares some of its features with slow cookers made by more expensive brands. These features include a removable ceramic pot, and a brushed stainless steel housing. The appliance is also equipped with 3 settings: low, high and keep warm.

Points of praise

  • Many reviewers enthusiastically commented that this Target slow cooker worked just as well as brand-name slow cookers. Its $25 price tag certainly makes it a steal.
  • This slow cooker’s 3 heat settings are easy to use, via a rotary dial.
  • Meals made in this Target slow cooker turned out tasty and tender, thanks to an even heat distribution. Ultimately, reviewers had no complaints about the results from a culinary perspective.

Points to consider

The lack of a timer means that the appliance won’t automatically turn off after food has finished cooking. This is something to consider if you’re cooking overnight or cooking while you’re out working.

On the flipside, plenty of reviewers still used the slow cooker while they were out working, so this didn’t seem to be a problem.

CategorySlow Cookers
Price (RRP) $25.00
Capacity5.5L
DisplayAnalog
Outer Body Construction MaterialMetal
Cooking Bowl MaterialCeramic
Removable CordNo
Searing FunctionNo

Visit official website
  • MPN: TARSC20 and TESSC13220

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.