??!
4 photos
Fanaway Evo1 Prevail

Fanaway Evo1 Prevail

2.2 from 59 reviews

Reviews

2.2

59 reviews
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(10)
2
(15)
1
(25)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (3)
  • Power
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Requesting advice.

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Janina

JaninaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I will not buy another

published

I purchased two of these fans in 2017. Last year the light in my daughter's room started playing up - turning itself off and has now not worked at all for the last 2 months. The fan is fine - but it does not get used very much.
My electrician says it's the transformer, but when he tried to get a replacement has been told that replacement parts are no longer supplied for this product. He was offered another new fan at half price. They must be joking! Why would I purchase another of these?

Purchased in March 2017 at Beacon Lighting Physical store for A$499.00.

1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Alice

AliceSydney

  • 9 reviews

Hazardous product. It should be recalled!

published

This is the second such occurrence, in a separate fan of different room, also a fanaway evo1 prevail.

The blade of the fan snapped off the fan and came flying off at a high speed. It dented and left some marks on our walls. It almost hit my husband who was sitting directly below.

Upon researching online, seems like other consumers have had similar near missed events from the same model.

This fan is extremely dangerous. Please do not get it. It should be recalled.

1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo1 Prevail compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Dangerous Fanaway blade braking off.

published

Purchased in June 2010.

Build Quality
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Terrible, numerous faults

published

I have 4 fans, they all initially operated wonderfully, but within a short time the fans had started to slow and I had to replace recievers, then ballasts, one has turned yellow. Currently all 4 fans only operate at two speeds, Slow and Very Slow...!, I have persisted for 3-4 years but they are heading to the dump, the prettiest but most unreliable ceiling fan I have ever known or owned. Craig Sparks, Richards Bay, South Africa

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Craig
Craig
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Waste of money

published

Installed 4 Fanaways in October 2014 had one fans blades fly off into a cupboard and dent it, one where you have to physically spin the fan for it to work and another which when the fan was turned on sparked and blew up. I am absolutely applauded with this product and would never have bought them if we knew when purchasing that if something was to go wrong we would have to replace the whole fan as apparently you can’t replace the fan motor in them. For the money you pay for them you would expect them to last longer than 4 years and have replacement parts. Absolutely waste of money

Purchased in October 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Donna

DonnaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Whisper quiet they say?

published

Installed 3 fanaways in Nov 2014 2 evo prevail and 1 endure. 1 prevail was faulty & replaced by Jan 2015. Their whirring noise gets progressively louder over time, speed selection also goes. 4 years & out of warranty only solution/support received is to buy new ones. Why would you?

Date PurchasedNov 2014

Watch out! Hazardous fan

published

Purchased in March 2013.

Wendy CG

Wendy CGParkwood QLD 4214

Risk of Decapitation!!!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo1 Prevail compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible - Don't buy LED Drivers keep failing

published

Terrible we have 5 or 6 of these fans. On the LED models the LED driver keeps failing. Had to buy three of them at once. Beacon lighting in Sydney does not seem to stock these drivers. These fans ar definitely not cheap, so I do expect a better quality.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Feijoa

FeijoaBanora Point

Blade snapped off

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
2 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Feijoa
Feijoa

Thanks Debbie, already done so & have had a response stating that someone from the Warranty team will be in contact.

Expensive and poorly made product

published

Fan cost around $650 with controller not including installation cost. Hard to believe 3-4 times the cost of the most expensive other ceiling fans on the market.
Light cover went yellow after 1-2 years. Unable to sleep with noisy operation.
Fan speeds not fast enough on setting one to open blades.
Faster on setting 2 than 3.

Thinking of upgrading to a $100 Dc silent fan from Aldi.

Date PurchasedJun 2008
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Henry

HenryBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Diffuser turns yellow!

published

Would not recommend this fan as per other reviews, after a few years the diffuser turns urine yellow in colour but besides that the fan is okay - just disappointed in the colour change for such an expensive product too. I think there's a lack of UV stabiliser in the product which causes it to turn yellow over time. Tried contacting them and their response was to buy a new diffuser, sad that the diffuser won't even last a few years without discolouration for such an expensive product - pretty sure it goes against the ACC's Consumer rights & guarantees. Would highly suggest anyone with similar problems lodge an ACC instead of their solution of "buying a new diffuser". Disappointed!

Date PurchasedMay 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Dave

DavePerth

Fanaway not safe

published

I have 3 fanaway EV01 prevails in my house and the one in my youngest son's room started making a little noise. About 2 months later the fan blades went flying off and luckily nobody was in the room because they damaged the wall at one collision point. Very dangerous and only 2 years old. Went to Beacon and told them but just got a sorry. I ended up having to buy the new model as a replacement and didn't even get a discount. I have not been too impressed with Beacon's products or the attitude of the Melville branch manager.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Neville

NevilleGeelong VIC

Faulty Fanaway Evo1 L.E.D light and transformer

published

purchased Evo1 LED light and fan in march 2015 from becon lighting first 12 months had to replace transformer,and now3yrs later have to replace transformer and L.E D light becon want replace as ran out of warranty,for the price we paid for it shouldnt have any problems not a fan

Date PurchasedMar 2015
3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Neville, can you confirm via PM to us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au the SKU number of the fan you have along with your contact details so we can look into this further for you, Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Neville
Neville
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Neville, can you please PM us your contact details to webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au so I can discuss this with as we do not go by the factory model numbers you are providing, Debbie - BL Customer Service

Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo1 Prevail compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Light diffuser gone yellow on seven light fittings, I have had to replace 3 of the seven electronic

published

Light diffusers go yellow 7 out off 7. 3 off the 7 light fittings ballast have blown and now replacement ballast are blowing. Replacement ballast supplied by Beacon Lighting are faulty.
I would expect that there should have been a recall on these faulty products, a shabby deal for an expensive product.

Date PurchasedJan 2009
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Carson

CarsonAdelaide

Dangerous!

published

Have had a fanaway for approx 3 years and have had a blade fall off during operation nearly striking me on the head. Yes this is out of warranty but surely this can't be the norm. Reading some other reviews sounds like it is. An injury is only a matter of time.

Date PurchasedJul 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Garry

GarryHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great quiet fan

published

Bought 3 to replace old fashioned none retractable, noisy ones we had. Very happy with the result. Had to take 1 globe out of each fan as it was to bright with the 2 in it. The noise level dropped dramatically with no electronic sounds like the original ones. When turned off they retract quietly with no click or clonk when stopped. I would recommend these fans no problems as yet. When reading previous reviews I was a little worried but am very happy with my purchases.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Willy

WillySA, 5085

Grossly disappointing

published

We bought two fanaways. One for the family room one for bedroom. With a wife suffering MS heat is a disaster. The fans provide essential relief. They have each had the ballasts replaced (one twice) chew through the fluro globes and now one only operates one function at a time and to be honest the fan sounds like its ready to burst into flame. Such a good concept spoilt by cheap overseas manufacture. Now looking to replace what are essential items and looking for a reliable product. A very costly blunder Beacon

Date PurchasedNov 2012

Fanaway

published

Well it does work. That is true. But very soon after a year use. (One summer). It started to clunk when blades retracted. Clunking has is still the same three years later. Didn’t register my receipt with Beacon so they can’t do anything. AND... the cover has gone yellow!!! The other light in the same room hasn’t turned yellow, but the fan cover is so yellow it’s embarrassing it looks a hundred years old, and they don’t make this model anymore. It was very expensive as well when we bought them. So what can we do.

Date PurchasedMar 2011
Page 1 of 3
See all Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 reviews

Questions & Answers

Richard

Richardasked

Evo1 Prevail

Hi
Evo 1 the fan operates fine on high but has no low speed. There is no remote fitted, operates from hard wired controls on the wall. Please advise the likely fault with this fan unit. I am a electrician by trade abd would like to know if this fault can be repaired.

Thnks

No answers
Hugh B.

Hugh B.asked

Evo1 Prevail

My eco 1 fan away has developed a wobble on setting 1 , switch to 2 and it seems to steady considerably , wondering how to rectify this

2 answers
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Hugh, I would suggest you look at the screws holding the fan to the ceiling to ensure they are tight and that the mounting bracket is tight, not loose in the ceiling. The blades may need readjusting, if you PM us at support@baeaconlighitng.com.au, we can provide instructions on blade replacement/placement, Debbie - Fanaway Customer Service

Hugh B.
Hugh B.

Thanks will investigate further.

Martin B.

Martin B.asked

Evo1 Prevail

I recently purchase an EV01 LED fan. It was installed by a Beacon Lighting recommended Electrician. The problem is that the fan turns itself off after running for a while. This is very evident at night when the fan is left running all night. Is there a timer in the fan that will turn the fan off after a certain time?
Thank you
Martin

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Martin, the included remote has a set of dip switches and somebody near by may have the same number set on their fan & remote and this is turning your fan off. Please change your 4 numbers to match in the remote and the receiver unit found in the canopy. If you would like the operating instructions on how to do this, please email us: support@beaconlighting.com.au
Regards,
Gaile - Beacon Customer Service

Get an answer from our members and Fanaway representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.