??!
3 photos
Fanaway Evo1 Prevail

Fanaway Evo1 Prevail

2.2 from 55 reviews

Terrible, numerous faults

I have 4 fans, they all initially operated wonderfully, but within a short time the fans had started to slow and I had to replace recievers, then ballasts, one has turned yellow. Currently all 4 fans only operate at two speeds, Slow and Very Slow...!, I have persisted for 3-4 years but they are heading to the dump, the prettiest but most unreliable ceiling fan I have ever known or owned. Craig Sparks, Richards Bay, South Africa

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
3 comments
Hi Craig, I am sorry to hear about your issues with your Fanaway. We do stand by our product. From what you are saying about the speed, it sounds like the capacitor in the motor has failed and this can be replaced quite easily. This can fail due to the amount of usage of the fan as all fans have a motor with moving parts and these can fail over time. You would need to speak with the retailer you purchased the fans from to get a new capacitor. The receiver in the remote can fail for a number of reasons, one being power surges. Debbie - Fanaway Customer ServiceHi Debbie, thanks for the feedback, I have changed the capacitors and one of the receivers and the fans are now all working properly again. As the manufacturer you should perhaps make customers aware that the fix is often fairly cheap and easy, especially regarding light ballasts and motor capacitors. Not so for the recievers which need to be replaced, so a list of symptoms, ie fan still turns but running slow = capacitor. Thanks.Hi Craig, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you have been able to resolve the issue with your Fanaway. I will forward your feedback to the manufacturing team for their consideration. Kind Regards, Monique - Fanaway Customer Service.

Waste of money

Installed 4 Fanaways in October 2014 had one fans blades fly off into a cupboard and dent it, one where you have to physically spin the fan for it to work and another which when the fan was turned on sparked and blew up. I am absolutely applauded with this product and would never have bought them if we knew when purchasing that if something was to go wrong we would have to replace the whole fan as apparently you can’t replace the fan motor in them. For the money you pay for them you would expect them to last longer than 4 years and have replacement parts. Absolutely waste of money

Purchased in October 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

Whisper quiet they say?

Installed 3 fanaways in Nov 2014 2 evo prevail and 1 endure. 1 prevail was faulty & replaced by Jan 2015. Their whirring noise gets progressively louder over time, speed selection also goes. 4 years & out of warranty only solution/support received is to buy new ones. Why would you?

Date PurchasedNov 2014

Watch out! Hazardous fan

The fan was switched on and operating in my four year old daughter’s room when all of a sudden there was a loud noise. The blade then snapped off the fan and came flying off at a high speed. It collided with a lamp in my daughter’s room and then hit her on the face. She sustained some red marking and bruising, which we have photos of. The fact that she avoided more serious injury was quite remarkable given the speed at which the blade came flying off the fan. We are now unable and unwilling to use the other 3 fans in our house as they are clearly hazardous and unsafe for use. If the same thing happened in our young baby’s room and had connected with her skull she may have been knocked unconscious or sustained other serious injuries. A product with such a major fault and which poses a clear threat to its user’s health and safety should not be allowed and should be recalled. As evident from the other reviews on this site this is not an isolated incident and is happening to many others.

I will be reporting this to the ACCC. Please if anyone else has also encountered this problem I encourage you to do the same through the following link https://www.productsafety.gov.au/contact-us/for-consumers/report-an-unsafe-product

Please do not purchase this fan and if you have it be very wary of it while it is in operation especially around children.

Purchased in March 2013.


Risk of Decapitation!!!

OMG! My partner and I were sitting in the lounge watching TV on 26 Jan 2019 (Australia day) afternoon. All of sudden we heard a loud bang followed by a loud crashing noise from the ceiling fan after a few seconds. The cover of the light also fell off right in front us. We quickly run and switched off the fan. We were completely shocked! Our dog was shaking. We could not believe one of the fan blades had flown out and hit the window. Lucky we had our blinds closed, otherwise the blade could have smashed the window. The problem is I purchased 2 of the same ceiling fans. One in the lounge and the 2nd in the bedroom. I’m afraid to use it now. What if it happens while I’m sleeping...? 2 fans purchased 3 yrs ago from Beacon and Installed by their recommended electrician. Warranty only 24 months. I no longer have the receipt as it’s out of warranty period.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
1 comment
Hi Wendy, I am very sorry to hear about the issue you have had with your fan. If you could PM us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au the details of the issue, along with your contact detail ie. phone number, email and state you are in, I will get this followed up for you and a representative will call discuss this further with you, Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Terrible - Don't buy LED Drivers keep failing

Terrible we have 5 or 6 of these fans. On the LED models the LED driver keeps failing. Had to buy three of them at once. Beacon lighting in Sydney does not seem to stock these drivers. These fans ar definitely not cheap, so I do expect a better quality.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
I am sorry to hear about the issue with your fans. All of our the fans have at least a 2 year in home warranty and this would all be covered under this. if you would like to discuss your issue further, please PM us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au with the details of your purchase, your contact details and the state you are in and we will get a representative to contact you directly, Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Blade snapped off

I turned on the fan yesterday afternoon at low speed & about 10 mins later there was a loud bang & crash. I went inside to discover one of the blades had snapped off. It had hit & chipped the wall before crashing into the kitchen bench & ending up on the floor. The fan was still on & wobbling - something it had never done. I turned it off immediately. No ceiling fan should shed their blades, thankfully no one was inside at the time.

I purchased this fan after recommendations from friends & now the same friends are very wary to have their fans on. It seems I'm not the only one who has had this issue after reading some of the reviews. Not sure if this was a bad batch or a design flaw or perhaps I purchased a lemon? Anyway no ceiling fan should have blades breaking off & be a potential weapon. I'll email Beacon about the issue.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
2 comments
Hi Feijoa, I am sorry to hear about the issue with your fan. This is not a normal occurrence and the Fanaway fans are a great fan. If you could contact us with the details of your purchase along with the state you are in and your name and contact details, we will get this followed up for you. Please send this to webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au. Debbie - BL Customer ServiceThanks Debbie, already done so & have had a response stating that someone from the Warranty team will be in contact.

Expensive and poorly made product

Fan cost around $650 with controller not including installation cost. Hard to believe 3-4 times the cost of the most expensive other ceiling fans on the market.
Light cover went yellow after 1-2 years. Unable to sleep with noisy operation.
Fan speeds not fast enough on setting one to open blades.
Faster on setting 2 than 3.

Thinking of upgrading to a $100 Dc silent fan from Aldi.

Date PurchasedJun 2008
1 comment
HI Matt, I am sorry to hear about your issue with your fans. These fans have a 2 year in home warranty on them so if you have an issue with them you contact our Warranty Team on 1800 602 243 and they will send a serviceman out to look at them for you. In relation to the Fanaway fans, they are very silent in operation so , depending on which state you are in, you may have an issue with frequency ripple noise which can be fixed with the use of frequency ripple filter. This noise mainly only occurs to some fans /homes in NSW and QLD. In relation to the speeds, this would be covered under warranty. if you would like us to follow up with you about these issues, please PM us direct at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au all of your concerns as well as your contact details and the state you are in, Debbie - BL Customer Service

Diffuser turns yellow!

Would not recommend this fan as per other reviews, after a few years the diffuser turns urine yellow in colour but besides that the fan is okay - just disappointed in the colour change for such an expensive product too. I think there's a lack of UV stabiliser in the product which causes it to turn yellow over time. Tried contacting them and their response was to buy a new diffuser, sad that the diffuser won't even last a few years without discolouration for such an expensive product - pretty sure it goes against the ACC's Consumer rights & guarantees. Would highly suggest anyone with similar problems lodge an ACC instead of their solution of "buying a new diffuser". Disappointed!

Date PurchasedMay 2015
1 comment
Hi Henry, thanks for your post and I'm sorry to hear about your diffuser. We always appreciate feedback from our customers. If you could PM us your name, best contact details, model of fan and the state you're in to webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au, we will get a State Sales Representative to discuss this with you further. David - BL Customer Service

Fanaway not safe

I have 3 fanaway EV01 prevails in my house and the one in my youngest son's room started making a little noise. About 2 months later the fan blades went flying off and luckily nobody was in the room because they damaged the wall at one collision point. Very dangerous and only 2 years old. Went to Beacon and told them but just got a sorry. I ended up having to buy the new model as a replacement and didn't even get a discount. I have not been too impressed with Beacon's products or the attitude of the Melville branch manager.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Faulty Fanaway Evo1 L.E.D light and transformer

purchased Evo1 LED light and fan in march 2015 from becon lighting first 12 months had to replace transformer,and now3yrs later have to replace transformer and L.E D light becon want replace as ran out of warranty,for the price we paid for it shouldnt have any problems not a fan

Date PurchasedMar 2015
3 comments
Hi Neville, can you confirm via PM to us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au the SKU number of the fan you have along with your contact details so we can look into this further for you, Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Servicefanaway EVO1 LED purchased beconlighting Nth Geelong 15 March 2015,missed place invoice canot find SKU no but hope these help iv taken from fan (ES-D356-6S6P86S6P-8) 2014-11-2G (72110-14110035-06-07811) transformer model fanaway (ESO363D-E090).Hope these help kind regards nevilleHi Neville, can you please PM us your contact details to webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au so I can discuss this with as we do not go by the factory model numbers you are providing, Debbie - BL Customer Service

Light diffuser gone yellow on seven light fittings, I have had to replace 3 of the seven electronic

Light diffusers go yellow 7 out off 7. 3 off the 7 light fittings ballast have blown and now replacement ballast are blowing. Replacement ballast supplied by Beacon Lighting are faulty.
I would expect that there should have been a recall on these faulty products, a shabby deal for an expensive product.

Date PurchasedJan 2009
1 comment
Hi Phil, I am sorry to hear about your issue with your fans, these issues do not occur to all fans. If you would like to discuss this further, can you PM us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au the SKU no. of the fans you have along with the store purchased from and your contact details, Debbie Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Dangerous!

Have had a fanaway for approx 3 years and have had a blade fall off during operation nearly striking me on the head. Yes this is out of warranty but surely this can't be the norm. Reading some other reviews sounds like it is. An injury is only a matter of time.

Date PurchasedJul 2015
1 comment
Hi Carson, I am sorry to hear about the issue you have experienced with your Fanaway. We sell hundreds of these fans, both nationally and internationally and this is not a common issue to occur. If you could PM us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au your contact details including phone number and state you are in, as well as the SKU no. of the fan you have, we can look at this further for you, Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Great quiet fan

Bought 3 to replace old fashioned none retractable, noisy ones we had. Very happy with the result. Had to take 1 globe out of each fan as it was to bright with the 2 in it. The noise level dropped dramatically with no electronic sounds like the original ones. When turned off they retract quietly with no click or clonk when stopped. I would recommend these fans no problems as yet. When reading previous reviews I was a little worried but am very happy with my purchases.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Grossly disappointing

We bought two fanaways. One for the family room one for bedroom. With a wife suffering MS heat is a disaster. The fans provide essential relief. They have each had the ballasts replaced (one twice) chew through the fluro globes and now one only operates one function at a time and to be honest the fan sounds like its ready to burst into flame. Such a good concept spoilt by cheap overseas manufacture. Now looking to replace what are essential items and looking for a reliable product. A very costly blunder Beacon

Date PurchasedNov 2012

Fanaway

Well it does work. That is true. But very soon after a year use. (One summer). It started to clunk when blades retracted. Clunking has is still the same three years later. Didn’t register my receipt with Beacon so they can’t do anything. AND... the cover has gone yellow!!! The other light in the same room hasn’t turned yellow, but the fan cover is so yellow it’s embarrassing it looks a hundred years old, and they don’t make this model anymore. It was very expensive as well when we bought them. So what can we do.

Date PurchasedMar 2011

Wish they were as good as they looked

We purchased one of these lights and we liked it so we purchased 10 more. I think the second lot were Evo 2 but not sure. We have never had the eleven all working at the same time except on the day they were put in. We have the fluro model. We have replaced the ballast on about eight of them. Some numerous times. We have had to replace five remotes and that is not cheap. At the moment we have one that we cannot turn off the fan on - good in Winter. There are two that flicker all the time. One we can't get to work at all properly. I have just replaced four ballasts again so most of the lights are working. One makes a buzzing sound. Two will only work with four bars on the remote. Two have the light cover so discoloured that we are ashamed to let people see them. When we first bought them we were always recommending them to friends. If anyone asks now we tell them how it is.
They looked so good and were just what we wanted. It looks as though I will have to take them off the ceiling and bundle them up and send them back to Beacon lighting.
They are very expensive lemons because we paid about $5000 for them altogether and probably another $1000 repairing them.
The ones that are working properly are in rooms where they hardly ever get used because we live in a 5 bedroom house and only use one of the bedrooms or the front lounge room.
I think that Beacon should send someone to our house and fix them all or take them back. They did fix a couple under warranty but that does not last long.
Have had them for a while now and can't remember when we purchased. Must be four or five years now but the problem has been ongoing forever.
Jim Gall. Birkdale

Date PurchasedFeb 2013
3 comments
Hi Jim, thankyou for providing us with this feedback. If you could PM us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au the details of your purchase (if possible, your invoice number), the store purchased from and your contact details, we can look into this further for you. For your infomation ,the EVO2 do not have ballasts in them, they take 3 x 20W globes , Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer ServiceMust be eco1 thenIf you would like us to look into this further for you, please email us at webmastermaster@beaconlighting.com.au with the details as mentioned above and we can investigate this further for you, Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Wouldn't recommend to my enemy

Bought 4 of Evo 1. From the day it is installed, there is nothing but problems. Have had to call on warranty for 4 times since bought.
Fan 1 - it kept making humming noise. Was replaced
Fan 2- Remote had to be replaced three times already. Twice the fan didnt operate with remote. And it was in our main bedroom. Spent half of summer without fan even.
Now, comes the worst part
Fan 3- This is in kids room and motor blew off. This is a big safety issue as it bad a big blast noise & had sparks. Since last two weeks, no fan/light in their room. Even after emailing full detail to warranty people. No phone call. Just had standard email, we have ordered new stock and will contact you in 2-3 weeks.

Spent $500 for each fan and another $500 for installation, total $2500 for this terrible product

Frustration, anger & hard earned money wasted on this worthless product. The product and service both are nothing but terrible

Will I recommend to anyone, NO -- not even to my enemy.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Hi Kaartyk, I am sorry to hear about the issues you have had with your fans. These fans are normally very reliable and I cannot say why you would have experienced the issues you have. If you could PM us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au, your contact details as well as the state you are in or the store purchased from, I will get this looked into as soon as possible and will get a representative to contact yo to discuss this further with you as I have never heard of a motor blowing off, kind regards Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Poor design fault

Purchased 5 remote fans approx 4 years ago and only 2 of them are working
Judging by the reviews the receiver has obviously a design fault or it is of poor quality especially when you pay big bucks for them and it's for this reason the company should recall all of them and repair them free of charge.. otherwise the consumer will lose faith!!!
Not happy!!!!!

Date PurchasedJan 2013
1 comment
Hi Jace, without knowing the exact issues with your fans, it cannot be said what is wrong either with your fan or whether it is an issue with a remote receiver (which would have been purchased separately to the fan itself as the Fanaway never came complete with a remote when you had purchased it). We sell thousands of remotes yearly and the issue with a remote failing is small in comparison to what is sold. There can be multiple reasons why a remote receiver will fail, some of which are outside of our control. If you would like to discuss this further, please PM us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au with your contact details and state you are in, kind regards Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Light globes keep blowing

We recently purchased a new home with 2 Fanaway lights with remote controls, both units the light was not working. We replaced both the T5 tubes and one worked for a week, then failed, we replaced that tube again and now its blown again after only 2 weeks and the other one has also now failed. I am afraid to replace more globes as it seems something else is wrong? Can anyone please help. We love the concept, but reading other reviews am worried to be wasting money.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
2 comments
Hi David, Thank you for your enquiry, in relation to your Fanaway fan lights it seems that from what you have explained a new ballast is needed for the lights to work as they should, you would need to contact your closest Beacon Lighting store as they do stock replacement ballasts and would be able to advise on availability and cost. Kind Regards, Tina-Beacon Lighting Customer Service.Hi David, Thank you for your enquiry, in relation to your Fanaway fan lights it seems that from what you have explained a new ballast is needed for the lights to work as they should, you would need to contact your closest Beacon Lighting store as they do stock replacement ballasts and would be able to advise on availability and cost. Kind Regards, Tina-Beacon Lighting Customer Service.

Page 1 of 3

See all Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 reviews

Questions & Answers

I have a fanaway evo1, recently led lights are turning off after a short period of work, what could be the problem?
1 answer
Hi Camilo, the issue could be to do with the driver. Please contact our Warranty team on 1800 602 243 to get this looked at , Debbie Beacon Lighting Customer Service

I have recently purchased the fanaway EVO1 LED and had it installed by licenced electrician. I turned it on last night and after about 3 hours it the fan shut down. This has now happened twice, is there a setting that needs adjusting or is it faulty?
1 answer
Hi Carol, thank you fro your message. Here is the link for the Warranty form to be completed https://www.beaconlighting.com.au/warranty-claims.html. Once completed this goes through to the Warranty team and they will be in contact with you directly regarding the fan. Alternatively, please send us an email with your contact details to webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au to discuss this further. Regards, Emina - BL Customer Service

I have a fanaway EV01. The remote controller has failed again which means a new controller. $100 plus electrician $150 plus.Can the wall control unit work if installed when the controller is not working??
1 answer
Hi Bruce, it will depend on the version of EVO1 fan you have as to whether you can use a wall controller. If you have one that has a fluoro circular tube as a light, then you can use a wall controller, the remote would have be disabled fully. if you have one that has a LED light with a remote where the light dims from the remote, then a wall controller cannot be used. if you have any further questions, please PM us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au , Debbie - BL Customer Service

Details

Evo1 Prevail
Fan Blade Length1220mm
Blade Pitch15Degrees
Motor Wattage60W
Reversible FunctionYes
Retractable BladesYes
Price (RRP)$499
Release dateOct 2009
Compare all Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.