??!
4 photos
Fanaway Evo1 Prevail

Fanaway Evo1 Prevail

2.2 from 55 reviews

See the Best Ceiling Fans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
10
2 star
15
1 star
22

Terrible, numerous faults

published

I have 4 fans, they all initially operated wonderfully, but within a short time the fans had started to slow and I had to replace recievers, then ballasts, one has turned yellow. Currently all 4 fans only operate at two speeds, Slow and Very Slow...!, I have persisted for 3-4 years but they are heading to the dump, the prettiest but most unreliable ceiling fan I have ever known or owned. Craig Sparks, Richards Bay, South Africa

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers
3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Craig
Craig
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Waste of money

published

Installed 4 Fanaways in October 2014 had one fans blades fly off into a cupboard and dent it, one where you have to physically spin the fan for it to work and another which when the fan was turned on sparked and blew up. I am absolutely applauded with this product and would never have bought them if we knew when purchasing that if something was to go wrong we would have to replace the whole fan as apparently you can’t replace the fan motor in them. For the money you pay for them you would expect them to last longer than 4 years and have replacement parts. Absolutely waste of money

Purchased in October 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Donna

DonnaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified purchase

Whisper quiet they say?

published

Installed 3 fanaways in Nov 2014 2 evo prevail and 1 endure. 1 prevail was faulty & replaced by Jan 2015. Their whirring noise gets progressively louder over time, speed selection also goes. 4 years & out of warranty only solution/support received is to buy new ones. Why would you?

Date PurchasedNov 2014

Watch out! Hazardous fan

published

Purchased in March 2013.


Wendy CG

Wendy CGParkwood QLD 4214

Risk of Decapitation!!!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Terrible - Don't buy LED Drivers keep failing

published

Terrible we have 5 or 6 of these fans. On the LED models the LED driver keeps failing. Had to buy three of them at once. Beacon lighting in Sydney does not seem to stock these drivers. These fans ar definitely not cheap, so I do expect a better quality.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Feijoa

FeijoaBanora Point

Blade snapped off

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
2 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Feijoa
Feijoa

Thanks Debbie, already done so & have had a response stating that someone from the Warranty team will be in contact.


Expensive and poorly made product

published

Fan cost around $650 with controller not including installation cost. Hard to believe 3-4 times the cost of the most expensive other ceiling fans on the market.
Light cover went yellow after 1-2 years. Unable to sleep with noisy operation.
Fan speeds not fast enough on setting one to open blades.
Faster on setting 2 than 3.

Thinking of upgrading to a $100 Dc silent fan from Aldi.

Date PurchasedJun 2008
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Henry

HenryBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Diffuser turns yellow!

published

Would not recommend this fan as per other reviews, after a few years the diffuser turns urine yellow in colour but besides that the fan is okay - just disappointed in the colour change for such an expensive product too. I think there's a lack of UV stabiliser in the product which causes it to turn yellow over time. Tried contacting them and their response was to buy a new diffuser, sad that the diffuser won't even last a few years without discolouration for such an expensive product - pretty sure it goes against the ACC's Consumer rights & guarantees. Would highly suggest anyone with similar problems lodge an ACC instead of their solution of "buying a new diffuser". Disappointed!

Date PurchasedMay 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Dave

DavePerth

Fanaway not safe

published

I have 3 fanaway EV01 prevails in my house and the one in my youngest son's room started making a little noise. About 2 months later the fan blades went flying off and luckily nobody was in the room because they damaged the wall at one collision point. Very dangerous and only 2 years old. Went to Beacon and told them but just got a sorry. I ended up having to buy the new model as a replacement and didn't even get a discount. I have not been too impressed with Beacon's products or the attitude of the Melville branch manager.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Neville

NevilleGeelong VIC

Faulty Fanaway Evo1 L.E.D light and transformer

published

purchased Evo1 LED light and fan in march 2015 from becon lighting first 12 months had to replace transformer,and now3yrs later have to replace transformer and L.E D light becon want replace as ran out of warranty,for the price we paid for it shouldnt have any problems not a fan

Date PurchasedMar 2015
3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Neville, can you confirm via PM to us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au the SKU number of the fan you have along with your contact details so we can look into this further for you, Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Neville
Neville
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Neville, can you please PM us your contact details to webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au so I can discuss this with as we do not go by the factory model numbers you are providing, Debbie - BL Customer Service


Light diffuser gone yellow on seven light fittings, I have had to replace 3 of the seven electronic

published

Light diffusers go yellow 7 out off 7. 3 off the 7 light fittings ballast have blown and now replacement ballast are blowing. Replacement ballast supplied by Beacon Lighting are faulty.
I would expect that there should have been a recall on these faulty products, a shabby deal for an expensive product.

Date PurchasedJan 2009
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Carson

CarsonAdelaide

Dangerous!

published

Have had a fanaway for approx 3 years and have had a blade fall off during operation nearly striking me on the head. Yes this is out of warranty but surely this can't be the norm. Reading some other reviews sounds like it is. An injury is only a matter of time.

Date PurchasedJul 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Garry

GarryHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great quiet fan

published

Bought 3 to replace old fashioned none retractable, noisy ones we had. Very happy with the result. Had to take 1 globe out of each fan as it was to bright with the 2 in it. The noise level dropped dramatically with no electronic sounds like the original ones. When turned off they retract quietly with no click or clonk when stopped. I would recommend these fans no problems as yet. When reading previous reviews I was a little worried but am very happy with my purchases.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Willy

WillySA, 5085

Grossly disappointing

published

We bought two fanaways. One for the family room one for bedroom. With a wife suffering MS heat is a disaster. The fans provide essential relief. They have each had the ballasts replaced (one twice) chew through the fluro globes and now one only operates one function at a time and to be honest the fan sounds like its ready to burst into flame. Such a good concept spoilt by cheap overseas manufacture. Now looking to replace what are essential items and looking for a reliable product. A very costly blunder Beacon

Date PurchasedNov 2012

Fanaway

published

Well it does work. That is true. But very soon after a year use. (One summer). It started to clunk when blades retracted. Clunking has is still the same three years later. Didn’t register my receipt with Beacon so they can’t do anything. AND... the cover has gone yellow!!! The other light in the same room hasn’t turned yellow, but the fan cover is so yellow it’s embarrassing it looks a hundred years old, and they don’t make this model anymore. It was very expensive as well when we bought them. So what can we do.

Date PurchasedMar 2011

Jim Gall

Jim GallBirkdale

Wish they were as good as they looked

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Jim Gall
Jim Gall

Must be eco1 then

Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

If you would like us to look into this further for you, please email us at webmastermaster@beaconlighting.com.au with the details as mentioned above and we can investigate this further for you, Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service


Kaartyk

KaartykMelbourn

Wouldn't recommend to my enemy

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Poor design fault

published

Purchased 5 remote fans approx 4 years ago and only 2 of them are working
Judging by the reviews the receiver has obviously a design fault or it is of poor quality especially when you pay big bucks for them and it's for this reason the company should recall all of them and repair them free of charge.. otherwise the consumer will lose faith!!!
Not happy!!!!!

Date PurchasedJan 2013
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

David

DavidPerth

Light globes keep blowing

published

We recently purchased a new home with 2 Fanaway lights with remote controls, both units the light was not working. We replaced both the T5 tubes and one worked for a week, then failed, we replaced that tube again and now its blown again after only 2 weeks and the other one has also now failed. I am afraid to replace more globes as it seems something else is wrong? Can anyone please help. We love the concept, but reading other reviews am worried to be wasting money.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
2 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Page 1 of 3

See all Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 reviews

Questions & Answers

CAMILO ANDRES R.

CAMILO ANDRES R.asked

I have a fanaway evo1, recently led lights are turning off after a short period of work, what could be the problem?

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Camilo, the issue could be to do with the driver. Please contact our Warranty team on 1800 602 243 to get this looked at , Debbie Beacon Lighting Customer Service


Carol B

Carol Basked

I have recently purchased the fanaway EVO1 LED and had it installed by licenced electrician. I turned it on last night and after about 3 hours it the fan shut down. This has now happened twice, is there a setting that needs adjusting or is it faulty?

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Carol, thank you fro your message. Here is the link for the Warranty form to be completed https://www.beaconlighting.com.au/warranty-claims.html. Once completed this goes through to the Warranty team and they will be in contact with you directly regarding the fan. Alternatively, please send us an email with your contact details to webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au to discuss this further. Regards, Emina - BL Customer Service


Bruce W

Bruce Wasked

I have a fanaway EV01. The remote controller has failed again which means a new controller. $100 plus electrician $150 plus.Can the wall control unit work if installed when the controller is not working??

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Bruce, it will depend on the version of EVO1 fan you have as to whether you can use a wall controller. If you have one that has a fluoro circular tube as a light, then you can use a wall controller, the remote would have be disabled fully. if you have one that has a LED light with a remote where the light dims from the remote, then a wall controller cannot be used. if you have any further questions, please PM us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au , Debbie - BL Customer Service


Get an answer from our members and Fanaway representatives

Details

CategoryCeiling Fans
Price (RRP) $499.00
FeaturesLights and Remote Control
Colour / Finish White/Silver
Number of Speed Settings 3
Power60 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Construction
Blade MaterialPolymer
Number of Blades4
Body MaterialMetal
Blade Diameter1,220 mm
Release dateOct 2009
Compare all Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.