??!
6 photos
Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3

Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 (page 2 of 5)

Evo1 Prevail, Evo2 Endure, Evo3 Asymmetric
2.1 from 97 reviews

Reviews

2.1

97 reviews
5
(11)
4
(2)
3
(15)
2
(23)
1
(46)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (7)
  • Power
    3.6 (5)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Dave

DavePerth

Fanaway not safe

published

I have 3 fanaway EV01 prevails in my house and the one in my youngest son's room started making a little noise. About 2 months later the fan blades went flying off and luckily nobody was in the room because they damaged the wall at one collision point. Very dangerous and only 2 years old. Went to Beacon and told them but just got a sorry. I ended up having to buy the new model as a replacement and didn't even get a discount. I have not been too impressed with Beacon's products or the attitude of the Melville branch manager.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Zed

ZedSydney

Poorly designed control switches.

published

Recently purchased 3 x Evora and 2 x Evo2 Endure fan/light units. The control switches are not standardised across the fanaway range, one style has a fixed plate and the other unit has a removable cover plate to aid with painting. Both units have combined light and fan control switches, however with separate light switches already existing in the home, a 'spare' blank cover plate that has a fan control only option should have been a normal part of the installation kit for both unit styles, particularly given the cost of the fan/light units.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Zed
Zed
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Zed, unfortunately this is not something we supply or will be supplying in the future as we have supplied the plate and switch for the fan, Debbie - Beacon lighting Customer Service

Neville

NevilleGeelong VIC

Faulty Fanaway Evo1 L.E.D light and transformer

published

purchased Evo1 LED light and fan in march 2015 from becon lighting first 12 months had to replace transformer,and now3yrs later have to replace transformer and L.E D light becon want replace as ran out of warranty,for the price we paid for it shouldnt have any problems not a fan

Date PurchasedMar 2015
3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Neville, can you confirm via PM to us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au the SKU number of the fan you have along with your contact details so we can look into this further for you, Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Neville
Neville
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Neville, can you please PM us your contact details to webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au so I can discuss this with as we do not go by the factory model numbers you are providing, Debbie - BL Customer Service

Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Faulty Product - Should be Recalled

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

I'm sorry to hear about your experience. We value your feedback and would appreciate it if you could PM us your name and contact number to our email: webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au. David -BL Customer Service

Humming Sound

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
2 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi John, I am sorry to hear about your issue. If you could PM us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au your contact details as well as the state you are in and I will get this looked into further for you, Debbie - Fanaway Customer Service

John
John

Light diffuser gone yellow on seven light fittings, I have had to replace 3 of the seven electronic

published

Light diffusers go yellow 7 out off 7. 3 off the 7 light fittings ballast have blown and now replacement ballast are blowing. Replacement ballast supplied by Beacon Lighting are faulty.
I would expect that there should have been a recall on these faulty products, a shabby deal for an expensive product.

Date PurchasedJan 2009
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Carson

CarsonAdelaide

Dangerous!

published

Have had a fanaway for approx 3 years and have had a blade fall off during operation nearly striking me on the head. Yes this is out of warranty but surely this can't be the norm. Reading some other reviews sounds like it is. An injury is only a matter of time.

Date PurchasedJul 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Garry

GarryHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great quiet fan

published

Bought 3 to replace old fashioned none retractable, noisy ones we had. Very happy with the result. Had to take 1 globe out of each fan as it was to bright with the 2 in it. The noise level dropped dramatically with no electronic sounds like the original ones. When turned off they retract quietly with no click or clonk when stopped. I would recommend these fans no problems as yet. When reading previous reviews I was a little worried but am very happy with my purchases.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Mag

MagQueensland

Faulty Product

published

We purchased 2 of these fans for our living, they worked well in the store. One fan stopped working completely within the warranty period and was replaced. The other fan had also slowed considerably but the electrician who installed the replacement fan stated that "she,ll be right mate" Well she is not right, and now that the warranty has expired we are left with another faulty product not working now out of warranty. Very angry that my trusted Beacon store recommends this faulty product and would like to see it recalled.

Date PurchasedNov 2014
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cindy

CindyForrestdale

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

very happy with them

published

Bought the flouro model in our old house. We couldn’t have a normal fan in the kitchen because it was too big. Bought another one for the family room & they were both used constantly for 2 1/2 yrs before we moved out. Bought 3 for the new house (LED this time), only one is on remote but again very happy. One on remote has a slight hum but nothing that bad. We love them & much more stylish than normal clunky fans.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

The no breeze fan

published

We installed five of these expensive fans in our home and have regretted it ever since. We have found that they give off very little breeze even at full speed. The light covers have all turned yellow over the past four years. The retractable blades are very hard to clean also. Would not recommend these at all.

Date PurchasedMar 2013

Rubbish

published

Worst fan every after 12 months only worked on the medium setting
24 months only the light works
Spoken to beacon lighting to be told they are not aware of any issues with that product
So obvious their is due to the amount of complaints I see on here
Puts myself and family and friends off beacon lighting and any fan away
Having MS I need to stay cool

Date PurchasedNov 2016

This product should be withdrawn from the market it is sooooooo bad.

published

We have had the fan in two bedrooms replaced twice and after 6 months the fans close with an almighty clunk. The light in one of the replacement fans would randomly turn off. Basically what you see in the shop is not what you end up with. The fan also buzzes constantly when turned on and even more annoyingly a louder intermittent buzz occurs at night when the electricity company send a ripple signal down the line. The expensive ripple control filter is useless.

Date PurchasedOct 2012
Willy

WillySA, 5085

Grossly disappointing

published

We bought two fanaways. One for the family room one for bedroom. With a wife suffering MS heat is a disaster. The fans provide essential relief. They have each had the ballasts replaced (one twice) chew through the fluro globes and now one only operates one function at a time and to be honest the fan sounds like its ready to burst into flame. Such a good concept spoilt by cheap overseas manufacture. Now looking to replace what are essential items and looking for a reliable product. A very costly blunder Beacon

Date PurchasedNov 2012

Fanaway

published

Well it does work. That is true. But very soon after a year use. (One summer). It started to clunk when blades retracted. Clunking has is still the same three years later. Didn’t register my receipt with Beacon so they can’t do anything. AND... the cover has gone yellow!!! The other light in the same room hasn’t turned yellow, but the fan cover is so yellow it’s embarrassing it looks a hundred years old, and they don’t make this model anymore. It was very expensive as well when we bought them. So what can we do.

Date PurchasedMar 2011
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

We've had nothing but trouble..

published

We installed 6 of these fan/lights. After a year or 2 all but 2 have broken or stopped working. One had a blade break off and damage a wall in my son's room while he was asleep. We heard a loud noise and came in to find the fan making an awful noise and then later found the blade. He sleeps on a bunk so was very lucky not to get hit. The other 3, the fans just don't work anymore. You can hear it whirring but nothing happens. Obviously out of warranty now. Very disappointed.

Date PurchasedOct 2015

Terrible Product

published

Have read many of the comments after trying to find a solution to an ever increasing noise coming from our EVO Fanaway fan. Also has yellowing on the underside. Main issue is the noise. Light and fan look great, but we simply can not use the fan anymore as it is so noisy, even on low speed. After reading the many comments similar to the problems we are experiencing, there is obviously a design fault.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Jim Gall

Jim GallBirkdale

Wish they were as good as they looked

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Jim Gall
Jim Gall

Must be eco1 then

Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

If you would like us to look into this further for you, please email us at webmastermaster@beaconlighting.com.au with the details as mentioned above and we can investigate this further for you, Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Richard

RichardMaudsland

  • 2 reviews

Quality & support doesn't match the price :(

published

We've bought 3 of these fans over the years.
The blades are very quiet on low, but the remote speed controller makes the motor buzz intermittently when not on full speed - it is very annoying in the bedroom.
When they stop, the blades make a loud clanging as they retract and wake you up - especially when they are fitted with the auto remote control.
The most recent ones we have are the LED lights - which are good until the driver fails and they go on and off at random.
Ordered a new driver from Beacon several weeks ago and still no sign of it - they 'just don't know what happened to it'.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Kaartyk

KaartykMelbourn

Wouldn't recommend to my enemy

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
See all Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 reviews

Questions & Answers

EkP

EkPasked

Evo 1 / 2 / 3

I have a evo1 and had to have the led ballast replaced last year and now the light keeps switching itself off what would be causing this?

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Do you have a remote on this fan, if so, someone nearby may have their remote on the same frequency as your so when they turn theirs own, yours comes on, Debbie - Fanaway Customer Service

Richard

Richardasked

Evo1 Prevail

Hi
Evo 1 the fan operates fine on high but has no low speed. There is no remote fitted, operates from hard wired controls on the wall. Please advise the likely fault with this fan unit. I am a electrician by trade abd would like to know if this fault can be repaired.

Thnks

No answers
Kris O

Kris Oasked

Evo 1 / 2 / 3

Hi twice now I have purchased new remotes as the light section works but the fan does not. This solved the problem for a short time but now again I have bought two more remotes (more than $380 in remotes) to find I have the same issue as many other people here. It’s light on and full fan or off at the wall and no light.so either I am freezing or I am in the dark. New remotes work perfectly in the other rooms, so I know it’s the actual fan that is the issue. We are using a torch now in our bedroom. Our fans are about six years old now. How can I solve this problem. Is there a way to disable the fan?? So I’m not in the dark at night

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Kris
Thank you for your question, this really would be something that only a licensed electrician would be able to answer or carry out the works on , therefore my recommendation would be to contact your electrician and discuss this directly with him or her
Kind Regards, Tina - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Get an answer from our members and Fanaway representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.