??!
6 photos
Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3

Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 (page 3 of 5)

Evo1 Prevail, Evo2 Endure, Evo3 Asymmetric
2.1 from 97 reviews

Reviews

2.1

97 reviews
5
(11)
4
(2)
3
(15)
2
(23)
1
(46)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (7)
  • Power
    3.6 (5)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Poor design fault

published

Purchased 5 remote fans approx 4 years ago and only 2 of them are working
Judging by the reviews the receiver has obviously a design fault or it is of poor quality especially when you pay big bucks for them and it's for this reason the company should recall all of them and repair them free of charge.. otherwise the consumer will lose faith!!!
Not happy!!!!!

Date PurchasedJan 2013
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
David

DavidPerth

Light globes keep blowing

published

We recently purchased a new home with 2 Fanaway lights with remote controls, both units the light was not working. We replaced both the T5 tubes and one worked for a week, then failed, we replaced that tube again and now its blown again after only 2 weeks and the other one has also now failed. I am afraid to replace more globes as it seems something else is wrong? Can anyone please help. We love the concept, but reading other reviews am worried to be wasting money.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
2 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Jono

JonoHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC

published

Not sure when we purchased our Fanaway fans but will be contacting Beacon to check. Both fans in our lounge and bedroom are great and have received numerous positive comments. One thing though, our lounge room light will not switch on using the remote. When we press the button on the remote the light flickers momentarily and stays off. The fan still works using the remote. If the fan is running and we attempt to turn on the light, same flickering occurs but the unit makes a continuous noise. Any ideas?

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Thank you for your review. Based on your description, it does sound like your remote is not communicating properly with the receiver in your fan, and may need to be replaced. Regards Beacon Lighting Customer Service.

Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible - nothing but problems.

published

Bought 4 of the original model - mix of wall and remotes. All have had problems from the controllers failing to the motor high speed no longer working. Just replaced one with a current model (Doh !) after its motor burnt out completely - there is no discernible difference between mid and high speeds. Never again. Will be replacing them all as no confidence in their quality or safety. Great asethic, the potential to be a great product, however paid a premium for a poorly executed product.

Date PurchasedJun 2008
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Shawn, we would like to discuss the issues you have had. If you would like to do this, please PM us at webmaster@beaconlighting.com.au , Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Herbie

Herbie

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not good

published
Date PurchasedDec 2014
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Problems, not happy.

published

I bought a house about 6 years ago. I decided to replace the old fans with these over a period of about 3 years. Bought 8 in total. Have had problems with 7 out of the 8 so far. Ballast failures, fluro failures, light covers going yellow and one which won't go any faster than the slow setting.
I like the look of them but have been unreliable to say the least.
I am seriously considering replacing them all even though I spent over $2500 to buy them originally.

Date PurchasedMay 2011
Boris Baraldi

Boris BaraldiShellharbour, New South Wales

  • 3 reviews

Plagued with problems.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2011
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Shaun g

Shaun g

  • 4 reviews

Trouble with these fans from the get go

published

Similarly purchased fans throughout our home during renovation in 2010. Have replaced all remotes and control switches several times at significant expense. Can't switch off light or fan it remove globe from housing. any advice on a course of action for replacement remote or glibe would be really appreciated thanhs

Date PurchasedFeb 2010
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Antoinette7774

Antoinette7774Central Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Dangerous Item

published

We bought 5 fanaway fans for our home. Initially they worked however after the warranty two separate fans dislodged a fan blade. They propelled across the room one nearly hit a visitor and one did hit our TV. It was so lucky that no one was seriously injured.
I have contacted fanaway and beacon where I bought them as yet no response from them. It needs a recall for this product.

Date PurchasedApr 2014
4 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Antoinette7774
Antoinette7774
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SueD

SueDAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Terrible lights! There should be a class action suit for these things.

published

We outfitted our new home five years ago with lights from Beacon and lights from Online sites in China. The online lights are still working. The Evo 1 have died...every light now has died. They replaced my flush mount light, and the kitchen light. Now the two office lights have blown. We replaced a tube to watch it also die immediately and the ballasts are of course the problem. Seriously, if anyone gets a class-action suit about this I will happily jump on board. I am in a new house and part of the joy of being in a new house is there is less a chance of fire. When my office light sizzles over my head, I don't feel safe.

This is such a wonderful invention. It would be good if it were built properly, and not built to die.

Date PurchasedFeb 2012
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
ExpeditionsandEvents

ExpeditionsandEvents

  • 37 reviews
  • 24 likes

Ballasts are SO annoying!!!!!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2012
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Richard L

Richard LMooroolbark

Lucky if lasts 3 years

published
Date PurchasedNov 2013
2 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Richard L
Richard L

Wish I'd read these reviews before buying....

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
SMA

SMA

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Disappointing

published
Date PurchasedJul 2012
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

wish id never bought one

published

Worked well at first but having to replace the ballast every two years when it blows is annoying and expensive. It doesn't just plug back in, the double sided tape doesn't hold it, the screw holes don't line up if you bought the original model and if you are not handy, you have to resort to paying someone else to replace it.

Date PurchasedJan 2011
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony7912

Tony7912South East Queensland, QLD

  • 23 reviews

Fantastic

published

I read all the reviews on here but this thing looks amazing and just had it installed and it is the most quiet fan I have ever had. Looks great and works great. Just bought 2 more. My fan heater makes more noise. I have to look up to make sure it is still working.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Brendan

BrendanBrisbane

Continual issues and now beacon won't honour warranty

published

I have had the same issues with my fan away ie. Loud buzzing , issues with it not working. The latest issue is that the fan won't turn off ! I had to turn off the main power.

This is the Third time in four years and the electrician (for beacon lighting under warranty) had advised he had replaced many other units so this is a well known problem. Yet beacon won't honour the warranty as clearly not fit for purpose??

3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Brendan
Brendan
Brendan
Brendan

Do not buy, many problems for an expensive fan!

published

Purchased in 2012 for $349, with Lucci remote an extra $99.95. Only 18 months later the unit began playing up, the light would flicker and turn itself off. Lodged a call out with beacon lighting which cost me $150 as only a 12 month warranty period, and we were out of warranty. Remote control and receiver in the fan were found to be at fault, paid for a new remote, plus extra time to have it installed. Now just over two years later the exact same thing has started to happen again. Light flickers and switches itself off. Assuming it is the same problem, but cannot afford to fix it again, as it seems we are throwing good money at a bad product. Very disappointing and would not recommend this product to anyone.

1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Sylvia

SylviaMelbourne

Noisy fans and now issues with warranty service!!! Inconveienced and Bad customer service with Beac

published
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Tammy

TammyNewcastle

Terrible Product

published

I have 5 of these fans in my house and have had problems with all of them even after 3 of them were replaced. Yellowing on the diffuser, the lights not working, fan controls not working and fans cutting out without the off button being touched. These are expensive fans and would not recommend that anyone purchase these fans. I'm going to have to buy 5 new fans to replace these ones as beacon said they cannot do anything because they are just out of warranty!!

1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
See all Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 reviews

Questions & Answers

EkP

EkPasked

Evo 1 / 2 / 3

I have a evo1 and had to have the led ballast replaced last year and now the light keeps switching itself off what would be causing this?

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Do you have a remote on this fan, if so, someone nearby may have their remote on the same frequency as your so when they turn theirs own, yours comes on, Debbie - Fanaway Customer Service

Richard

Richardasked

Evo1 Prevail

Hi
Evo 1 the fan operates fine on high but has no low speed. There is no remote fitted, operates from hard wired controls on the wall. Please advise the likely fault with this fan unit. I am a electrician by trade abd would like to know if this fault can be repaired.

Thnks

No answers
Kris O

Kris Oasked

Evo 1 / 2 / 3

Hi twice now I have purchased new remotes as the light section works but the fan does not. This solved the problem for a short time but now again I have bought two more remotes (more than $380 in remotes) to find I have the same issue as many other people here. It’s light on and full fan or off at the wall and no light.so either I am freezing or I am in the dark. New remotes work perfectly in the other rooms, so I know it’s the actual fan that is the issue. We are using a torch now in our bedroom. Our fans are about six years old now. How can I solve this problem. Is there a way to disable the fan?? So I’m not in the dark at night

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Kris
Thank you for your question, this really would be something that only a licensed electrician would be able to answer or carry out the works on , therefore my recommendation would be to contact your electrician and discuss this directly with him or her
Kind Regards, Tina - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Get an answer from our members and Fanaway representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.