??!
2 photos
Feast Watson Wet Look Deck

Feast Watson Wet Look Deck

3.6 from 13 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.5 (4)
  • Coverage
    3.8 (5)
  • Finish Quality
    3.8 (5)
  • Longevity
    3.0 (5)
  • Ease of Application
    4.4 (5)
Previous
Next
D of Q

D of QQueanbeyan

  • 21 reviews
  • 13 likes

Very good product. Read the instructions and follow them. It works

published

My only issue is the drying time. 4 hours between coats makes a 3 coat job a difficut process. We have dogs and we had to cordon off the back of the house for 2 days in order to allow the deck to dry. That was a pain. BUT the product is good and it looks terrific.

Purchased in November 2020 at Inspirations Paint Physical store for $215.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
oscar lopez

oscar lopezSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Love this product

published

Have used this on Merbau and Pine posts and I feel like it does what it says. The posts do have a shine to them and whilst mine aren't in direct sunlight all day long, the product holds up well. I think for decking anything you use in sunlight and foot traffic is going to deterioate within 12 months.

Purchased in April 2018.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
Keith

KeithWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great, but needs lots of coats

published

I am painting my fence after 4 years. I love the product, “But”. Find that for best results that last a long time, I will coat at least 4 or 5 times 1 after the other, no waiting to dry just keep slapping it on. Start at 1 end and just keep going over it. I have 6 coats on the in the sun fence and 4 coats on the shaded side. I like that there is no sanding just clean and repaint..Easy

Purchased in January 2020 for $250.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Feast Watson Wet Look Deck compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bad endurance

published

Looks great for a week, then fades at rapid rates, unless in full shade, im going to look for alternative options. Wet look for a week also, unless in shade.
Don't believe what's written on can, and Garth don't bother with your speech.

Purchased in October 2019 for $210.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers

Not as good as it sounds

published

We had a brand new spotted gum covered deck east north facing so it does get the sun and some rain. Initially i used Cabots but it did not last so i sanded and used the Wet Look. Very disappointing, it didnt bring out the natural colours of the timber just a tannin type finish albeit a glossy one. I was having to coat every 6 months. Have just sanded again and am now using the Matt finish hopefully with a better result.

Purchased in March 2015.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
srjh82

srjh82

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

Looks great... Initially. Durability is horrible.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2015
brentj

brentjMelbourne

Looks great with no direct sunlight, not so good with direct sunlight

published

Not sure whether I've done anything wrong with the application, however with direct sunlight I can see the yellowness of the wet look on top of the boards. Without direct sunlight though (i.e. in the shade, it looks great).

I have a merbau deck that was previously stained with Feast Watson Black Japan.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
crow

crowMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic result

published

This is a great product . The finish was amazing . Have used many different brands with very poor results . It was very easy to apply which was done with a normal paint brush . Gave it 2 coats which was plenty . Then clean up was very easy as well . Highly recommend it .

Date PurchasedJune 2017
1 comment
Feast Watson
Garth M.Feast Watson
Swimmer

SwimmerHunter Region, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Love My Deck

published
Date PurchasedSept 2017
3 comments
Feast Watson
Garth M.Feast Watson
Swimmer
Swimmer
Feast Watson
Garth M.Feast Watson
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Feast Watson Wet Look Deck compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon

Simon

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not so happy with Feast watson wet look

published

Upon having a whole new balcony and ramp made to my house, I coated all new timbers before laying both sides with 3 coats of Wet look and then a top coat again once boards were fasten down and decking finished.Its just over 14 months and I have to replace the top coat as its worn to the raw wood again thats exposed to traffic and sun. I am disappointed with this product after reading such good reports about it and the cost. It looked great on application but I am not interested in a coating that cant last a year after spending so much time and effort preparing it. Spotted gum is the timber used.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
1 comment
Feast Watson
Will K.Feast Watson

F&W WET LOOK: Tallowwood :DOES WHAT IT SAYS ON CAN

published
1 comment
Feast Watson
Will K.Feast Watson
Ed

Ed

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great product, couldn't believe how good the deck now looks

published
1 comment
Feast Watson
Will K.Feast Watson
Louis96

Louis96Illawarra

  • 5 reviews
  • 16 likes

Easy Application and Great Look on new Merbau Deck

published

Questions & Answers

Darren

Darren asked

We have a cypress deck, and now want the merbau look. Can you tint the wet look oil. The sample card at the hardware store seems to indicate you can but sales person was not sure.

1 answer
D of Q
D of Q

There are videos on Youtube. What they recommend though is that you sand the original deck and yes you can get it in different tints. Here is the link showing colours. https://www.feastwatson.com.au/products/outdoor-products/decking-oil/wet-look-decking-oil/

Linh N.

Linh N.asked

Hi
Can I use this on new vic ash decking. Will it turn slightly yellow or will it be clear ?

No answers
Linh N.

Linh N.asked

Im laying vic ash decking. I was wondering, if I use wet look, will it stain it slightly yellow. Or will it be really clear

1 answer
Keith
Keith

Not sure about that. You need to check at Bunnings or buy a small amount and test it on the deck in a out of the way spot

Get an answer from our members and Feast Watson representatives

Details

CategoryPaints & Varnishes
TypeWood Finish

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.