18 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)
4.1 from 81 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (26)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (28)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (27)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (28)
  • Internal Layout
    4.5 (24)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Tina Watkins
Tina WatkinsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Absolutely Love It

published

This fridge is so roomy and the temp inside just amazing. The freezer on the bottom makes life so much easier for me. My ice is frozen so much faster and the fridge opens and closes so much easier, it doesnt slam shut and the open fridge door alarm is really good not annoying. There is nothing about this fridge I dont like to be honest its simply stunning.

Purchased in July 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,670.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Shannon H.
Shannon H.
  • 5 reviews

Works great
have had it for 3 years and not 1 issue
has senses in both the fridge and freezer part for if its left open which helps alot with kids
holds a decent amount

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Binu M.
Binu M.Darwin, NT
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent design with plenty of space. Always maintains consistent temperature and bottom freezer is very handy to use. Water is dispenser is an excellent feature with very easy filter replacement settings. Ice dispenser is also very reliable with a quality design. Everything works perfectly.

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Can't believe Fisher & Paykel are still selling VERY NOISY 'activesmart' fridges!!!

published

Purchased in January 2014 at Winning Appliances NSW for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Great interior layout - absolutely awful constant high-pitched noise!

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Winning Appliances WA, O'Connor for $1,570.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Jenny Haydon
Jenny HaydonMurray Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Fantastic refrigerator, perfect size, ample space, well designed

published

Refrigerator temperature is stable, consistent,reliable.
Design of the bottom drawers is good, ice tray allows options for freezing and accessibility.
Side handles are unobtrusive and easy to open.
Space is ample, easily accessed.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bing Lee Physical store for $1,369.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Robert
RobertWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

This Fridge can`t handle QLD Weather

published

I have two electric sensors one sensor for mass temp and one for air temp, the mass temp which most refrigeration mechanics go by is reading 9.3 degrees and the air 9.1 degrees. The fridge is now set at 2 lit dots, I reduced it down to two the other day when yogurt tasted warm and other things in fridge weren't very cold, also the thing about reduced fingerprints showing on the stainless steel door is rubbish and my wife hates having to wipe them off all the time.
To anyone thinking of buying one of these fridges don't waste your money and buy something else.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,623.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Richard
RichardMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 20 reviews
  • 21 likes

Excellent refrigerator, but ...

published

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Honest Rater
Honest RaterSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not Suitable For Open Plan Living - Far Too Noisy!

published

Purchased in October 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JudyR
JudyRSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

A really great fridge/freezer

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
mimi
mimiHobart, TAS
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great design keeps even temperatures.
Very happy with the look of it as well.
I have a back problem so the bottom freezer is an excellent design for easy use for me.

Purchased in May 2017 at Fisher & Paykel for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Damien
Damien
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great working fridge but annoying stainless steel coating

published

The working functions of the fridge and freezer are great. What we don't like is the stainless steel coating which is described as easy clean with soapy water and stainless steel cleaner can't be used. However unlike conventional stainless steel appliances every time any one touches the fridge it will leave finger prints which look terrible. To keep the fridge looking nice you will be washing the front of the fridge everyday - especially if you have kids - so annoying!

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Joey Am
Joey Am
  • 3 reviews

Good Fridge

published

The fridge works well, it can be able to maintain a cosistent and reliable temperature. The door is a bit difficult to open but that shows it’s safe to use and will not lost energy. I like how there’s a drawer for putting veggies so that you won’t forget to eat them!

Purchased in June 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Derek
DerekRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst fridge and company

published

Three new fridges in a month
Faulty compressor had to take 5 days off work the delivery driver never turned up
No phone call or even a text Harvey Norman south Tweed blocked me just take your money and pas you on don't care how much they stuff you around
Never deal with again

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $1,250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Karen S
Karen SSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

So easy to clean!

published

With our new kitchen we wanted everything streamlined and minimalist. This fridge is perfect. It has integrated handles, although I was worried that it would get too many fingerprints because there is no obvious handle. We do get a few but it is so easy to clean that it is not an issue at all. It is well designed with a great layout.

Purchased in October 2018 at Winning Appliances for $1,449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 2 of 6

Questions & Answers

Wayne S.
Wayne S.asked
2 answers
Robby
Robby

HI Wayne. I don't think it did but if so I would have put them out. I prefer to get my eggs fresh that have not been in the fridge and then they can stay on the bench or in my cupboard. of course once they have been refrigerated then you need to place them in the fridge but with so many compartments and shelf adjustments then I would use an egg carton or an egg holder from the market . Hope this helps. Cheers

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Answer is in the manual

GGA
GGAasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

All my appliances are fisher and paykel so buying a new fridge of the same brand was a no brainer, however, the so called active smart fridge is anything but! Items freeze in the centre top shelf, and if you lower the temperature, the items in the door are warm. Very disappointing fridge.

No answers
Kburra
Kburraasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (E522B Standard Series)Have this refrigerator is it possible to purchase two NEW crisper drawers for same,ours have broken.
Thank you
Barry Coaker (Victoria)

No answers
See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) questions

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Details

Features:

  • This range of fridges is suitable for a household of around 4 to 5 people
  • Like many other bottom mount fridges, this Fisher & Paykel has been awarded an impressive 4.5 energy rating
  • The fridge adapts to your usage to conserve energy - so the fridge will only defrost and cool when necessary
  • To keep food fresh and organised, this fridge includes various types of shelves, crispers, and bins
  • The stainless steel body of the fridge in conjunction with solid glass shelving makes this fridge durable and easy to clean

What reviewers liked about this fridge?

  • Adjustable temperature makes this fridge suitable for a range of different foods and external temperatures. For example, in summer this fridge can be made colder to cool food efficiently.
  • Many reviewers have owned this fridge for lengthy periods of time, stating that their fridges were durable enough to stand the test of time. One reviewer mentioned that they had owned their previous Fisher & Paykel fridge for over 12 years.
  • This Fisher & Paykel fridge is spacious and can fit a decent amount of food. Reviewers mentioned that they had plenty of space to pack away groceries for the whole family.
  • The sleek stainless steel finish made a stylish addition to many kitchens - it was easy to work the fridge into the existing decor.
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)
CategoryBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,099.00$2,099.00$1,849.00$2,099.00
Dimensions 1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm, Frost Free, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessedExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins2222
Door Hinge LeftRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelWhiteBlack
Capacity
Total Capacity 519 L519 L519 L519 L
Fridge Capacity 360 L360 L360 L360 L
Freezer Capacity 159 L159 L159 L159 L
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.