18 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)
4.1 from 81 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (26)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (28)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (27)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (28)
  • Internal Layout
    4.5 (24)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Wutpapp
WutpappMelb
  • 4 reviews

great fridge

published

Bought about 9 months ago, so far does a perfect job. running smoothly with minimum noise. very easy to clean.
Temperature is great in all compartments, it is well maintained and great for value especially if you do not have a big house great fit in house. It also freeze everything well inside.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Martyn
MartynSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very happy so far

published

We have only had this fridge a month but am extremely happy so far. I love having the freezer below and having drawers in there works well despite the fact you loose a bit of space. Both the freezer drawers and the fruit/salad drawer open easily which was not the case with our old fridge. Cooling performance is very good despite my children occasionally forgetting to close the door - the audible reminder comes in useful here. Overall I am very happy - I'll update if we have an reliability issues

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Boo
Boo
  • 18 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great reliable fridge

published

This fridge has lasted several years and never been a problem. The shelving is easy to move to suit youor needs and also easy to clean. Nice even temp throughout. I would also definitely recommend the upside type of fridge which makes more sense than having the freezer on top.

Date PurchasedJan 2010
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lauren
LaurenCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic family fridge!

published

I have only just purchased this fridge after having my previous Fisher & Paykel fridge for over 12 years. This brand is reliable and lasts the test of time. This fridge is durable, practical and has plenty of space! All compartments are easy to open and the temperature remains cool, always keeping your food at the ideal temperature. Perfect for any family. Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
birdii8
birdii8Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Sleek, modern and functional

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
NICK
NICK
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great looking fridge, which controls temperature really well. Great space inside with some really sturdy shelves. It can be a litttle noisy at times but nothing too extreme just went you have loaded it up and its trying to get back down to temperature. I would have no issue buying this fridge again or recommending it to others

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Jimmy
JimmyNarara
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love all aspects of this fridge but the only 2 things that lets it down on my opinion
. is the freezer the drawers do not come out fully and therefor hard to use.
. Very noisy
.Great design
. Everything inside the fridge stays super cool
. smart crisp drawers

Date PurchasedNov 2015
Pandy
Pandy
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Happy but sometimes it’s difficult to keep it open. The door hits the left shells of the pantry. It also will be better if you have more compartments for the milk. Happy with the temperature. Like the finish mat of the stainless steel. Perfect size for the pantry. I like to have one door, I was sick with the other fridge/ double door.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Leeching
LeechingSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great looking fridge.

published

Great stainless steel design and very sleek. I am amazed by how strong the plastic trays are - apparently, it can withstand a 70kg of weight! The bottle chill feature is very neat and I do like the spaciousness of this fridge. Perfect for storing a large number of frozen meals.

Giving this a four star as the features are just very basic.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Colinpop21
Colinpop21perth
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

At last, a User Friendly Fridge/Freezer

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
anika_s
anika_sPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews

This fridge is a great size for a family. The freezer has such easy access and has removable tubs to make cleaning and re organising easy. The shelves stay clean and are easy to wipe down. The outside stays very clean and can be easily wiped down with a wet cloth

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Jason
JasonSydney
  • 4 reviews

Perfect for a growing family

published

We had to buy a new fridge because my older son just started to eat with his teenage appetite and I suddenly need so much more food and I needed extra room for everything. This fridge is perfect, it is much more spacious than it looks and the fridge compartment is much bigger than the freezer and this is just what I need, I can store 5 bottles of juice and 3 bottles of 3 little milk on the side door, plenty of room to have 4 loaves of bread on one shelf and still room for everything and anything. I think it takes more than 500 dollars to keep it well stocked.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Ian M
Ian MSydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great fridge, really happy with it. Large and looks great in the kitchen.

published

Very happy with this Fisher Paykel fridge. Fridge is at the top and freezer at the bottom. Opted for stainless steel version which looks good. Large fridge and freezer and has very consistent cooling in all sections. Easy to access the temperature and alarm controls. This is our second Fisher and Paykel fridge and are happy with both.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Lana
LanaSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Roomy, stylish and quiet

published

This is the first fridge with bottom freezer that I have and I am converted. It is very easy to use and love how my freezer is very roomy and organized. The fridge has ample space and delivers amazing performance. It looks very stylish int he kitchen and not bulky at all. The fridge is quiet in operation and I need to check sometimes if it actually is working.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Lara
LaraSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Much better than expected, love the fridge

published

I was initially looking for a side by side fridge, however, after measuring the kitchen fridge cavity decided that RF522 Series Fisher & Paykel would give it a go this fridge did not disappoint. It was initially a bit noisy when first turned on but after a few hours it settled and I can hardly hear the noise anymore. I am happy with the bottom freezer as well it is a very convenient feature when my children get their ice-blocks or ice-cream. The fridge is very roomy and I love it!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 3 of 6

Questions & Answers

Wayne S.
Wayne S.asked
2 answers
Robby
Robby

HI Wayne. I don't think it did but if so I would have put them out. I prefer to get my eggs fresh that have not been in the fridge and then they can stay on the bench or in my cupboard. of course once they have been refrigerated then you need to place them in the fridge but with so many compartments and shelf adjustments then I would use an egg carton or an egg holder from the market . Hope this helps. Cheers

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Answer is in the manual

GGA
GGAasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

All my appliances are fisher and paykel so buying a new fridge of the same brand was a no brainer, however, the so called active smart fridge is anything but! Items freeze in the centre top shelf, and if you lower the temperature, the items in the door are warm. Very disappointing fridge.

No answers
Kburra
Kburraasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (E522B Standard Series)Have this refrigerator is it possible to purchase two NEW crisper drawers for same,ours have broken.
Thank you
Barry Coaker (Victoria)

No answers
See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) questions

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Details

Features:

  • This range of fridges is suitable for a household of around 4 to 5 people
  • Like many other bottom mount fridges, this Fisher & Paykel has been awarded an impressive 4.5 energy rating
  • The fridge adapts to your usage to conserve energy - so the fridge will only defrost and cool when necessary
  • To keep food fresh and organised, this fridge includes various types of shelves, crispers, and bins
  • The stainless steel body of the fridge in conjunction with solid glass shelving makes this fridge durable and easy to clean

What reviewers liked about this fridge?

  • Adjustable temperature makes this fridge suitable for a range of different foods and external temperatures. For example, in summer this fridge can be made colder to cool food efficiently.
  • Many reviewers have owned this fridge for lengthy periods of time, stating that their fridges were durable enough to stand the test of time. One reviewer mentioned that they had owned their previous Fisher & Paykel fridge for over 12 years.
  • This Fisher & Paykel fridge is spacious and can fit a decent amount of food. Reviewers mentioned that they had plenty of space to pack away groceries for the whole family.
  • The sleek stainless steel finish made a stylish addition to many kitchens - it was easy to work the fridge into the existing decor.
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)
CategoryBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,099.00$2,099.00$1,849.00$2,099.00
Dimensions 1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm, Frost Free, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessedExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins2222
Door Hinge LeftRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelWhiteBlack
Capacity
Total Capacity 519 L519 L519 L519 L
Fridge Capacity 360 L360 L360 L360 L
Freezer Capacity 159 L159 L159 L159 L
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.