18 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)
4.1 from 81 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (26)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (28)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (27)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (28)
  • Internal Layout
    4.5 (24)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
soneta
sonetaSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love this fridge,better than expected

published

This is my first fridge with bottom freezer and it is a great idea. I can see that the fridge is very roomy and everything fits. Easter with the family was a breeze and could fit everything that I planned to cook. This fridge is very roomy for entertainment. It is also quiet in operation and the cold air is distributed evenly just like it is described.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Sunnyben
SunnybenSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Plenty of room for a growing family of 4

published

We are very happy with this fridge. It has plenty of room for everything that we need, the upper compartment is very roomy and the shelves are also deep. We already lots of few items at the back of the shelf a couple of time. The door compartment is very roomy as well and can keep three 3 liter bottles of milk, a bottle of juice and still has space for wine and sauces. The fridge is also relatively quiet and looks also stylish as well.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Cap0
Cap0melbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

We are delighted with this fridge. We bought it after careful research including reading the reviews here and it does live up to our expectations. It looks very smart in the kitchen and runs quiet as a mouse, which is a huge relief as out our one buzzed like anything. Indie is all modem and white with plastic shelves. Some of them are a bit junky but the micro climate areas are excellent. I also am so happy to have the freezer down below and the food up top. Great purchase.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kess
kessPerth, WA
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent fruit and veg keeper - best one in any fridge we have had - keeps produce really fresh
Very quiet and thats important as we live in a very open plan house
Stainless steel shows fingermarks but that is more a housekeeping problem
inside layout simple and very light. Door storage excellent
Freezer easy to use but not a lot of storage space. Good place for ice making and quick freeze

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Phil N
Phil NMelbourne
  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Quiet which was very important to us

published

Some fridges can drive you mad with their buzzing but this fridge is pretty good. Some of the internal parts are a little plasticky and have been discarded. I keep the thermostat at the 2nd lowest 0f 11 levels to keep the fridge at 5 degrees or cooler. Paid 1.5k and seems a good buy to date overall.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Hendra
HendraSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

It keeps the temperature low enough but not too cold for the fridge room. Good sized drawer for fruits and veggies at the bottom. The freezer is always well chilled. It's been a year and never had a problem.
Considering the size, it is a quiet sounding fridge so pleased about that.
Due to the minimalist design inside the fridge, there's plenty of room and it's very easy to clean.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Gabriel
GabrielWollongong
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

First time we have gone for a bottom freezer fridge and we love it.
Plenty of storage for all we need, good lighting so there is nothing hiding in dark corners.
Would have given this product 5 stars if it included a full size wine rack and egg holder for the door.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

We used it for one year. And had to return it because the gas issue. It was really loud. And people from the company also came to check, they reckon we should have change the compresser. I think maybe we were jusy unlucky. I loved the look and top cooling. Big storage space. That was quite sad to return it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Anu
AnuSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Flexible storage options and a stylish stainless steel finish

published

The humidity control slides in each storage bin create a microclimate that helps keep food fresher for longer. The storage bins gives full access inside when they’re pulled open and can be easily removed to be cleaned. The fridge adapts to daily use by cooling and defrosting only when needed. Therefore, the fridge uses the energy it needs without compromising on food care.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gary
GarySydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Quiet, modern Fridge

published

This fridge is quiet, spacious and modern. The size has just fitted into corner area perfectly. The stainless steel color is very modern. The internal layout is also very friendly and wide, very good to put cheese, sauces, and all other small containers or pack of things. The temperature is quit optimal and not varies much. No frozen is observed so far.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
helenc
helencBaden
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic Fridge and Freezer. Very Roomy

published

Just love how Shelves just wipe clean. Extremely roomy easily accessible shelves. Fridge at eye level is a fantastic thing don't get lost in the back of the Fridge Love the Freezer Drawers, particularly small middle one which is fantastic for ice cube trays and freezing items flat.. This is my ideal Fridge / Freezer

Date PurchasedMar 2017

This is our first new fridge and I was looking for a long time for a fridge to meet our cabinet specs and this popped up and we are very glad we waited.
Fridge has a tonne of room, is very quiet and gets very cold even on the half way coldness setting. Very happy with the recessed handles so the kids don't use it as monkey bars.
Egg holders would be nice but not a deal breaker. The LED lighting is fantastic and very bright. Maybe next time I'll get the model with water and ice but overall very happy with this so far.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Doryanthus
DoryanthusSydney
  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

A step up from its predecessor

published

We had the previous model of this fridge and it was not great. However we had to replace that with the new model as that was the only fridge that made best use of the kitchen cabinet space. The good news is that this new model is significantly better in terms of usable space, freezer design and de-icing. I'm hoping that fisher Paykel have solved a lot of their quality issues with the previous model, but so far so good.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Grantos
GrantosGold Coast
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

This is my first brand new fridge I have ever owned and it is fantastic.
Great features with fast freeze, bottle alarm, easy to use control panel.
The shelves are super easy to clean. The sliding draws of the freezer is really convenient and makes use of the space.
My only regret is that I didnt get a model with ice maker and water dispenser

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Rummat
RummatMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Using this for the last 7 odd years ...still doing its job !!!!

published

We bought this fridge back in Sydney 8 years ago....now e are in Melbourne....still kicking butt!!! I will be upgrading this with the Ice maker with bigger storage....but still loving it....not to mention, this was also kept in a self storage for more than a year....but when we turned it on...after moving to our new home in Melbourne...started to rock our world straight away !!! and no issues at all.....very quiet & reliable...!!! Love it !!!

Date PurchasedDec 2010
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 4 of 6

Questions & Answers

Wayne S.
Wayne S.asked
2 answers
Robby
Robby

HI Wayne. I don't think it did but if so I would have put them out. I prefer to get my eggs fresh that have not been in the fridge and then they can stay on the bench or in my cupboard. of course once they have been refrigerated then you need to place them in the fridge but with so many compartments and shelf adjustments then I would use an egg carton or an egg holder from the market . Hope this helps. Cheers

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Answer is in the manual

GGA
GGAasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

All my appliances are fisher and paykel so buying a new fridge of the same brand was a no brainer, however, the so called active smart fridge is anything but! Items freeze in the centre top shelf, and if you lower the temperature, the items in the door are warm. Very disappointing fridge.

No answers
Kburra
Kburraasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (E522B Standard Series)Have this refrigerator is it possible to purchase two NEW crisper drawers for same,ours have broken.
Thank you
Barry Coaker (Victoria)

No answers
See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) questions

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Details

Features:

  • This range of fridges is suitable for a household of around 4 to 5 people
  • Like many other bottom mount fridges, this Fisher & Paykel has been awarded an impressive 4.5 energy rating
  • The fridge adapts to your usage to conserve energy - so the fridge will only defrost and cool when necessary
  • To keep food fresh and organised, this fridge includes various types of shelves, crispers, and bins
  • The stainless steel body of the fridge in conjunction with solid glass shelving makes this fridge durable and easy to clean

What reviewers liked about this fridge?

  • Adjustable temperature makes this fridge suitable for a range of different foods and external temperatures. For example, in summer this fridge can be made colder to cool food efficiently.
  • Many reviewers have owned this fridge for lengthy periods of time, stating that their fridges were durable enough to stand the test of time. One reviewer mentioned that they had owned their previous Fisher & Paykel fridge for over 12 years.
  • This Fisher & Paykel fridge is spacious and can fit a decent amount of food. Reviewers mentioned that they had plenty of space to pack away groceries for the whole family.
  • The sleek stainless steel finish made a stylish addition to many kitchens - it was easy to work the fridge into the existing decor.
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)
CategoryBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,099.00$2,099.00$1,849.00$2,099.00
Dimensions 1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm, Frost Free, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessedExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins2222
Door Hinge LeftRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelWhiteBlack
Capacity
Total Capacity 519 L519 L519 L519 L
Fridge Capacity 360 L360 L360 L360 L
Freezer Capacity 159 L159 L159 L159 L
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.