18 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.1 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (7)
  • Noise Level
    1.9 (7)
  • Internal Layout
    4.2 (6)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Nick
NickCooma
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

The freezer is full of frost and ice builds up

published

Our old F&P fridge lasted a fair number of years, after some small warranty repair, and we got used to the layout so the new one had to be F&P again. Similar experience to the last purchase, a brand new fridge has issues. This time it's an ice builds up inside the freezer, which gets open once a day, with room temperature around 20-25 degrees and low Canberra humidity. Obviously, the door seal is faulty on the two weeks old fridge. I think that's the last product we bought of this brand, Fisher & Paykel.

Purchased in February 2021 at Appliances Online for $1,970.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jamie
Jamie
  • 2 reviews

Terrible Long-Term Fridge

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Leo
LeoSydney, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great looks and layout, Poor build quality

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
G. S
G. S
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Noisy rattler from Haier. Not the F&P quality of old. Lots of Quality issues

published

Great interior layout - absolutely awful constant high-pitched noise!

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Winning Appliances WA, O'Connor for $1,570.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Robert
RobertWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

This Fridge can`t handle QLD Weather

published

I have two electric sensors one sensor for mass temp and one for air temp, the mass temp which most refrigeration mechanics go by is reading 9.3 degrees and the air 9.1 degrees. The fridge is now set at 2 lit dots, I reduced it down to two the other day when yogurt tasted warm and other things in fridge weren't very cold, also the thing about reduced fingerprints showing on the stainless steel door is rubbish and my wife hates having to wipe them off all the time.
To anyone thinking of buying one of these fridges don't waste your money and buy something else.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,623.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Honest Rater
Honest RaterSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not Suitable For Open Plan Living - Far Too Noisy!

published

Purchased in October 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Derek
DerekRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst fridge and company

published

Three new fridges in a month
Faulty compressor had to take 5 days off work the delivery driver never turned up
No phone call or even a text Harvey Norman south Tweed blocked me just take your money and pas you on don't care how much they stuff you around
Never deal with again

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $1,250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

We used it for one year. And had to return it because the gas issue. It was really loud. And people from the company also came to check, they reckon we should have change the compresser. I think maybe we were jusy unlucky. I loved the look and top cooling. Big storage space. That was quite sad to return it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) reviews

Questions & Answers

Wayne S.
Wayne S.asked
2 answers
Robby
Robby

HI Wayne. I don't think it did but if so I would have put them out. I prefer to get my eggs fresh that have not been in the fridge and then they can stay on the bench or in my cupboard. of course once they have been refrigerated then you need to place them in the fridge but with so many compartments and shelf adjustments then I would use an egg carton or an egg holder from the market . Hope this helps. Cheers

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Answer is in the manual

GGA
GGAasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

All my appliances are fisher and paykel so buying a new fridge of the same brand was a no brainer, however, the so called active smart fridge is anything but! Items freeze in the centre top shelf, and if you lower the temperature, the items in the door are warm. Very disappointing fridge.

No answers
Kburra
Kburraasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (E522B Standard Series)Have this refrigerator is it possible to purchase two NEW crisper drawers for same,ours have broken.
Thank you
Barry Coaker (Victoria)

No answers
See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) questions

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Details

Features:

  • This range of fridges is suitable for a household of around 4 to 5 people
  • Like many other bottom mount fridges, this Fisher & Paykel has been awarded an impressive 4.5 energy rating
  • The fridge adapts to your usage to conserve energy - so the fridge will only defrost and cool when necessary
  • To keep food fresh and organised, this fridge includes various types of shelves, crispers, and bins
  • The stainless steel body of the fridge in conjunction with solid glass shelving makes this fridge durable and easy to clean

What reviewers liked about this fridge?

  • Adjustable temperature makes this fridge suitable for a range of different foods and external temperatures. For example, in summer this fridge can be made colder to cool food efficiently.
  • Many reviewers have owned this fridge for lengthy periods of time, stating that their fridges were durable enough to stand the test of time. One reviewer mentioned that they had owned their previous Fisher & Paykel fridge for over 12 years.
  • This Fisher & Paykel fridge is spacious and can fit a decent amount of food. Reviewers mentioned that they had plenty of space to pack away groceries for the whole family.
  • The sleek stainless steel finish made a stylish addition to many kitchens - it was easy to work the fridge into the existing decor.
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)
CategoryBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,099.00$2,099.00$1,849.00$2,099.00
Dimensions 1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm, Frost Free, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessedExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins2222
Door Hinge LeftRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelWhiteBlack
Capacity
Total Capacity 519 L519 L519 L519 L
Fridge Capacity 360 L360 L360 L360 L
Freezer Capacity 159 L159 L159 L159 L
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.