18 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Internal Layout
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Greg L
Greg LSydney
  • 16 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good fridge but faulty when left factory

published

I purchased this fridge 2 1/2 years ago , unpacked and installed by Good Guys and never moved by me since. I recently discovered a sizeable gap in top door when cleaning which FP technician said must have left factory like that. After adjustment to close gap requiring considerable brute force by FP I can notice a much heavier pull required to open the door now. So how much extra electricity was wasted before restoring the door to how it should have been in the first place? Not happy to pay $170 for shoddy assembly.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for $1,545.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Shannon H.
Shannon H.
  • 5 reviews

Works great
have had it for 3 years and not 1 issue
has senses in both the fridge and freezer part for if its left open which helps alot with kids
holds a decent amount

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Richard
RichardMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 20 reviews
  • 21 likes

Excellent refrigerator, but ...

published

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Joey Am
Joey Am
  • 3 reviews

Good Fridge

published

The fridge works well, it can be able to maintain a cosistent and reliable temperature. The door is a bit difficult to open but that shows it’s safe to use and will not lost energy. I like how there’s a drawer for putting veggies so that you won’t forget to eat them!

Purchased in June 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Wutpapp
WutpappMelb
  • 4 reviews

great fridge

published

Bought about 9 months ago, so far does a perfect job. running smoothly with minimum noise. very easy to clean.
Temperature is great in all compartments, it is well maintained and great for value especially if you do not have a big house great fit in house. It also freeze everything well inside.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
birdii8
birdii8Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Sleek, modern and functional

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
NICK
NICK
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great looking fridge, which controls temperature really well. Great space inside with some really sturdy shelves. It can be a litttle noisy at times but nothing too extreme just went you have loaded it up and its trying to get back down to temperature. I would have no issue buying this fridge again or recommending it to others

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Jimmy
JimmyNarara
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love all aspects of this fridge but the only 2 things that lets it down on my opinion
. is the freezer the drawers do not come out fully and therefor hard to use.
. Very noisy
.Great design
. Everything inside the fridge stays super cool
. smart crisp drawers

Date PurchasedNov 2015
Pandy
Pandy
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Happy but sometimes it’s difficult to keep it open. The door hits the left shells of the pantry. It also will be better if you have more compartments for the milk. Happy with the temperature. Like the finish mat of the stainless steel. Perfect size for the pantry. I like to have one door, I was sick with the other fridge/ double door.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Leeching
LeechingSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great looking fridge.

published

Great stainless steel design and very sleek. I am amazed by how strong the plastic trays are - apparently, it can withstand a 70kg of weight! The bottle chill feature is very neat and I do like the spaciousness of this fridge. Perfect for storing a large number of frozen meals.

Giving this a four star as the features are just very basic.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Colinpop21
Colinpop21perth
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

At last, a User Friendly Fridge/Freezer

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Cap0
Cap0melbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

We are delighted with this fridge. We bought it after careful research including reading the reviews here and it does live up to our expectations. It looks very smart in the kitchen and runs quiet as a mouse, which is a huge relief as out our one buzzed like anything. Indie is all modem and white with plastic shelves. Some of them are a bit junky but the micro climate areas are excellent. I also am so happy to have the freezer down below and the food up top. Great purchase.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
kess
kessPerth, WA
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent fruit and veg keeper - best one in any fridge we have had - keeps produce really fresh
Very quiet and thats important as we live in a very open plan house
Stainless steel shows fingermarks but that is more a housekeeping problem
inside layout simple and very light. Door storage excellent
Freezer easy to use but not a lot of storage space. Good place for ice making and quick freeze

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Phil N
Phil NMelbourne
  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Quiet which was very important to us

published

Some fridges can drive you mad with their buzzing but this fridge is pretty good. Some of the internal parts are a little plasticky and have been discarded. I keep the thermostat at the 2nd lowest 0f 11 levels to keep the fridge at 5 degrees or cooler. Paid 1.5k and seems a good buy to date overall.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Gabriel
GabrielWollongong
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

First time we have gone for a bottom freezer fridge and we love it.
Plenty of storage for all we need, good lighting so there is nothing hiding in dark corners.
Would have given this product 5 stars if it included a full size wine rack and egg holder for the door.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) reviews

Questions & Answers

Wayne S.
Wayne S.asked
2 answers
Robby
Robby

HI Wayne. I don't think it did but if so I would have put them out. I prefer to get my eggs fresh that have not been in the fridge and then they can stay on the bench or in my cupboard. of course once they have been refrigerated then you need to place them in the fridge but with so many compartments and shelf adjustments then I would use an egg carton or an egg holder from the market . Hope this helps. Cheers

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Answer is in the manual

GGA
GGAasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

All my appliances are fisher and paykel so buying a new fridge of the same brand was a no brainer, however, the so called active smart fridge is anything but! Items freeze in the centre top shelf, and if you lower the temperature, the items in the door are warm. Very disappointing fridge.

No answers
Kburra
Kburraasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (E522B Standard Series)Have this refrigerator is it possible to purchase two NEW crisper drawers for same,ours have broken.
Thank you
Barry Coaker (Victoria)

No answers
See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) questions

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Details

Features:

  • This range of fridges is suitable for a household of around 4 to 5 people
  • Like many other bottom mount fridges, this Fisher & Paykel has been awarded an impressive 4.5 energy rating
  • The fridge adapts to your usage to conserve energy - so the fridge will only defrost and cool when necessary
  • To keep food fresh and organised, this fridge includes various types of shelves, crispers, and bins
  • The stainless steel body of the fridge in conjunction with solid glass shelving makes this fridge durable and easy to clean

What reviewers liked about this fridge?

  • Adjustable temperature makes this fridge suitable for a range of different foods and external temperatures. For example, in summer this fridge can be made colder to cool food efficiently.
  • Many reviewers have owned this fridge for lengthy periods of time, stating that their fridges were durable enough to stand the test of time. One reviewer mentioned that they had owned their previous Fisher & Paykel fridge for over 12 years.
  • This Fisher & Paykel fridge is spacious and can fit a decent amount of food. Reviewers mentioned that they had plenty of space to pack away groceries for the whole family.
  • The sleek stainless steel finish made a stylish addition to many kitchens - it was easy to work the fridge into the existing decor.
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)
CategoryBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,099.00$2,099.00$1,849.00$2,099.00
Dimensions 1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm, Frost Free, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessedExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins2222
Door Hinge LeftRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelWhiteBlack
Capacity
Total Capacity 519 L519 L519 L519 L
Fridge Capacity 360 L360 L360 L360 L
Freezer Capacity 159 L159 L159 L159 L
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.