??!
8 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart E522BRXFDU (Stainless Steel, Right Door)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart E522BRXFDU (Stainless Steel, Right Door)

MPN: E522BRXFDU
3.9 from 14 reviews

Reviews

(6)
(5)
(0)
(1)
(2)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Internal Layout
    5.0 (1)

nicknamenick

nicknamenick

  • 3 reviews

Just purchased, enjoying the features of the fridge bar one aspect

published

just purchased this fridge, for its capacity and features its size is super efficient. so far everything works great, i've been logging internal temps and it is very well regulated. I noticed they no longer use panasonic compressors like in their old fridge but a brand im not familiar with.

we purchased particularly for the chilled water and ice feature, ice works great but one thing to note with the water, i find the first 250ml or so comes out room temp as its sitting in the pipe line between the dispenser and the reservoir , i would have thought they would run the pipe within the refrigerated section to prevent this but no.

so pretty much have to fill a cup and pour it down the drain then fill another for cold water. a bit silly.

Purchased in January 2020 at 2nds World for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers

Alicia

AliciaBalwyn

  • 7 reviews

Classy

published

Great fridge, I love the look and ease of organisation. The humidifier is great and keeps fruit and veggies fresh. The only tricky thing is keeping the stainless steel clean from children’s finger prints. I generally enjoy fisher products, great fridges washing machines and dryers which I have one of each

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Alaa s.

Alaa s.Perth

  • 5 reviews

Absolutley love it

published

I purchased this fridge and was a bit hesitant about the bottom mount freezer but after trying it I absolutely loved it. It adapts itself when new stuff were put into the shelves/ drawers by decreasing the temp. and then go back to normal after a few minutes. I love the filtered water option plus the boost ice option.

Date PurchasedDec 2014

rubbish

published

this fridge looks 60 years old after 6 years. door is staining because the plastic coating is failing over the metal. seals are crap. handle is loosing its chrome. no good. lots of dings because the metal on door is so soft. our old fridge had no dings in 25 years of use. door was hard to open so tech cut holes in seals, now the little hole he made is about 6cm. long. very disappointed.

Date PurchasedSep 2012

Adam

AdamGOSFORD

  • 4 reviews

Great looking fridge

published

I love this look of this fridge, the design and the water dispenser - we drink a lot more water nowadays.
I prefer the fridge at the top, as we use this section more often than the freezer and it saves bending down to see fridge contents - which is what we had to do a lot with the previous fridge that had the freezer at the top.
The drawers in the freezer are a little awkward to use and a bit loose - overall very happy so far with the fridge.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Burkstrum

BurkstrumCaloundra

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

So happy to have ice!

published

Nice and quiet. Cools really well. Love the water dispenser and it doesn't even drip. I love having the ice maker in this. I'll never run out again! The glass shelves make it easy to clean. The stainless steel finish is beautiful and again is so very easy to clean. Very happy with this fridge.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Wonderwomanj

WonderwomanjBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Effective use of space

published

Purchased this after our fridge (top freezer) of 13 years died. The bottom freezer is a good size and the ice machine makes a good amount of ice. We removed the small ice bucket and have the whole compartment full of ice constantly. The plumbed in water tastes great although it could be colder. The drip tray isn't as good as it could be with drips running down the front and onto the freezer door. The filter light also comes on every 6 months (which seems excessive and appears to be pricey at $80 a pop).

Otherwise the internal size is good for our family and seems to maintain temperature.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Ali J

Ali J

  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

I love how you can move the shelves and the water dispenser is so clean and easy to use. There is so much room in both the fridge and the freezer. I looked for over 12 months before I found the perfect one. And I had limited room, it has been designed so well to make it very roomy

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Astute Consumer

Astute ConsumerSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great fridge- suprised me

published

Always had really big side by side fridges made by very expensive brands so was a bit wary when I could only fit this fridge in the new kitchen. What a surprise. It is more capacious than one thinks as it is well designed.
IT cools very efficiently and love the ice maker as it makes a large amount of ice.
My last fridge was a Gaggenau and just one of the repairs to it (it had 3!!) cost the same as buying this Fisher and Paykel fridge.
Recommend it any day - now running 2 year2 without a hitch

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Sue M

Sue MSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 16 likes

love it

published

Bought it 2 years ago and its been great. Nice big drawers for veg and keeps veggies fresh. We love the ice maker and water dispenser, its been so good in the summer. It isn't loud, easy enough to clean. All the comparetments work well. I'm pleased with this fridge.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Brad

Brad

  • 2 reviews

Love this fridge

published

This fridge is excellent. The drawer style freezer is great for easy access - you don't have to open it the whole way to slide trays out like you do for the door style freezers. Ice/water makers are indispensable once you have it.
Also, it just looks great. Gets lots of comments.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Took A While To Make A Decision, Much To Family Amusement But Worth The Search!

published
4 comments
Sandy
Sandy
Sandy
Sandy
Sandy
Sandy

uPDATE: Still love this fridge! Hope it's another 32 fridge lover affair like our last fridge..probably not...but our ice is just perfect, chilled water is awesome...food keeps so long and well, I said I love it.


Terrible

published

Fridge was not packaged very will so the plastic made a lot of damage in transit. Got a replacement and it had the same damage this time though the freezer draw would not open properly and the water was leaking. Whilst i'm still waiting now for new doors the calcium in the water has badly marked the freezer door so they both have to be replaced.
It was the only water and ice fridge for the little space that I had
besides all the problems i don't like that the light on the water doesn't stay on like most other fridges


deec

deecSAN DIEGO

FP Refrigerator E522BRXFDU

published

Worst refrigerator ever!! Only 3 years old and sooo many problems and ridiculously expensive to fix! Not only that but not many appliance repair places will fix them or have access to their parts. Horrible experience. It stopped working, no cold air, wasted tons of food. The compressor was broken, there was a freon leak, I can go on and on. Its practically new and it the motor is super loud too! Save yourself the trouble and get a Kenmore or GE or any other brand but this piece of junk.
Looks Nice enough i guess
No cooling, expensive, no warranty

1 comment
bare
bare

Again, these have a 5 yr warantee, but Not yours?


See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (E522 FD Series) reviews

Questions & Answers

greg mckenzie-smith

greg mckenzie-smithasked

I took out and cleaned the evaporation tray at back. Disconnected water to replace flter, now after approx 4 hrs the fridge trips the power. If fridge is disconnected and then re-connected straight away-trips power again. If left overnight and switch on again in the morning will work fine for another 4 hrs-repeating same. Any suggestions?

1 answer
GJW
GJW

Sorry Greg, I have no answer as yet. I have the same issue that has occurred to my E522B which keeps tripping the RCD. I have tested the heater element and it appears OK for the reading of this model (150 ohms). Did you end up finding the cause to your fault.
Regards GW


Shockvalue

Shockvalueasked

We bought this Fridge recently and it didn't come with egg holders. We noticed from pictures of this model it has solid white plastic shelves on door but ours have a clear front section where the egg holders should be. Do F & P vary the configuration?.

1 answer
fisher_man
fisher_man

Yes they do. Contact F&P spares and explain the anomoly.
They may be able to supply egg trays from a previous version.
Be polite and friendly, be surprised how it helps.


Hurricane Sandy

Hurricane Sandyasked

does fisher and paykel model no:E552BRXFDU5 have a filter warning light?

My water despencer is running very slowly and makes a noise now. Cannot see a filter warning light anywhere.

2 answers
Scooba Steve
Scooba Steve

Hi, we havent had our fridge long enough to know if there is an annual filter change light, it should be done every 12 months though.

Hurricane Sandy
Hurricane Sandy

Thanks. It says to change it every 6 months; however we have only had it for four. Not sure if it's developed a fault or if the filter needs changing. Would be helpful if Fisher and Paykel responded to this question!


Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.