??!
27 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (E522 FD Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (E522 FD Series) (page 2 of 5)

E522BLXFD5 (Stainless Steel, Left Door), E522BRXFD5 (Stainless Steel, Right Door), E522BRXFDU (Stainless Steel, Right Door), etc...
4.1 from 90 reviews

Reviews

(47)
(28)
(3)
(4)
(8)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (3)
  • Internal Layout
    4.5 (2)

Sue

SueSydney

  • 4 reviews

Spacious and very attractive and comfortable

published

I was on the market for a new fridge and wanted to buy something spacious. However, did not want to make kitchen modification for the cavity that we have. I have chosen 519 L Bottom Freezer and looked up the fridge characteristics online on Fisher & Paykel website. There was a pdf that I could download with detailed dimensions. I ordered the fridge from appliances online and they could deliver it 4 days later. They also took away my old fridge at a very small cost. I am happy with the fridge and the service. The fridge is spacious and has glass shelves, I can store so many items and I am happy with the fridge.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Candice

Candice

  • 2 reviews

perfect

published

Love this fridge. Fits our kitchen perfectly and is so spacious! Would definitely recommend. Can be just a little noisey at night but doesn't bother us too much. Beautiful colour and easy to clean.We got a left door as many other brands don't do this and we required this for our kitchen. Very happy.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Sonia

SoniaSydney

  • 4 reviews

Very roomy and good value for money

published

I had this fridge for a couple of months and love it! I replaced my 15-year-old fridge and could not be happier. I can finally store everything that I buy, especially at Christmas time. I can prepare, jelly, cream deserts for my kids and they all fit and look great on glass shelves.
I like that you can change the temperature on the digital panel and the fruit and veg compartments are very roomy and great to fit a variety of fresh produce.
The fridge is amazing and very good value for money.
I would choose Fisher and Paykel again and would gladly recommend them to a friend. The fridge came wtih a two-year warranty and is working very well.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Allanah N

Allanah N

  • 4 reviews

Perfect for a first fridge!

published

This fridge is everything me and my partner wanted! We looked everywhere for an ideal fridge as we wanted space for everything but something that was also easy to maintain and clean. The fisher & paykel activesmart is perfect for us and is my absolute dream when it comes to cleaning, the temperature settings are great and easy to understand

Date PurchasedJan 2018

rubbish

published

this fridge looks 60 years old after 6 years. door is staining because the plastic coating is failing over the metal. seals are crap. handle is loosing its chrome. no good. lots of dings because the metal on door is so soft. our old fridge had no dings in 25 years of use. door was hard to open so tech cut holes in seals, now the little hole he made is about 6cm. long. very disappointed.

Date PurchasedSep 2012

Hamilton

HamiltonCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Poor Fridge, pathetic customer service

published

We bought Fisher and Paykel fridge in December 2017. Within 2 months the smart active system failed. F&P sent a repairer, still not fixed. We now have spent three months dealing with F&P and still do not have a replacement or a refund. Avoid F&P if at all possible. Bad fridge, even worse customer service.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Kurt R

Kurt RNewcastle

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

I love this fridge it has plumbed cold water and the ice sits in the freezer. This means if you need a large amount you lift the draw out and tip it where you need it I.e an esky. Rather than having to hold it up to the dispenser. The drip tray can be an issue

Date PurchasedNov 2015

Stefan

StefanBanora Point

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

An Excellent Choice

published

We spent months searching for just the right fridge until we landed on this. It fits our space perfectly and the brushed aluminum looks great. It has a quiet operation and excellent options for storing different kinds of foods. Also very happy that we chose the door freezer over the chest as it allows for better storage.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Hunters

HuntersJerrabomberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Cool Fridge

published

Looks very clean and the stainless steel holds its glimmer well. Inside, the shelving system is efficient and he doors carry lots of additional storage capacity. The crisper drawers themselves are large and keep everything fresh but there is some kind of lightweight plastic cover above the that is starting to get out of shape. Overall, a good fridge that does the job.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Gage

GageGosford

  • 4 reviews

Good fridge for small family

published

Easy fridge to use, me and my partner cook every meal and make enough for a weeks worth of food, this stores everything and even so we still have enough room to add large cases of beer, or a few bottles of wine no issue! Would recommend to anyone :)

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Lungby

LungbyMelbourne

  • 9 reviews

A bit noisy but robust

published

I looked at quite a few fridges before selecting this one and so far I'm very happy with it. There are some smart features that I don't care much for. It's roomy (for a family of 3 that regularly entertains), I like the number if shelf settings and it feels robust. It's a bit noisy but you get used to it. However, the proof will be in its longevity as that's what really matters.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Adam

AdamGOSFORD

  • 4 reviews

Great looking fridge

published

I love this look of this fridge, the design and the water dispenser - we drink a lot more water nowadays.
I prefer the fridge at the top, as we use this section more often than the freezer and it saves bending down to see fridge contents - which is what we had to do a lot with the previous fridge that had the freezer at the top.
The drawers in the freezer are a little awkward to use and a bit loose - overall very happy so far with the fridge.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Li Ng

Li NgBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Keeps food fresh longer

published

Great fridge with plenty of space for my week’s grocery shopping. Reliable and very quiet I can hardly hear it running. Keeps my food nice and fresh for as long as possible and chills my drinks relatively quickly. Freezer has ice tray compartment which is easily accessible and doesn’t take much room for the storage of my other essentials.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Not too bad

Not too bad

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

PeRfect

published

Fisher and Payley fridge average price is more expensive than other brands. However it does maintain a good temperature in all compartments. It is very quiet, it does not make any sounds at all. It is very easy to clean, as per their instructions. The customer just need water to clean it without using any detergent

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Cara

CaraPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great fridge

published

Great fridge, love the slick modern design. Quiet motor and easy to clean. Good layout of fridge and freezer. Fridge larger inside than it appears, easy to see what's available and good storage or doors. Freezer has draws (which I like) and designated ice draw which is a nice feature. Would recommend

Date PurchasedDec 2017
James

JamesRingwood

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Good fridge freezer

published

purchased for 3 years and still running strong. Recommend to buy this freezer for every family. It has a large capacity and you can easily store all the vegetable, drinks, freezer foods and everything. Just be careful don't degree too much temperature for your fridge otherwise it will spoil your vege.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

JayL

JayLSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Decent fridge

published

Decent fridge with everything you need. Looks are good. I recommend taking a look in person before purchasing. The stainless steel is excrement. The ice holder is very useful and the handles are nice. Would prefer that was slightly greyer but not a big issue. Overall decent to use and own

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Amy

AmyMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

LOVE THIS FRIDGE

published

This fridge is perfect in every way for our family of 4. We upgraded from a 305l in total fridge/freezer to this, so we love all the extra space.
Very strong door and inner shelfs.
Fruit / Veg draw is great side. I use Tupperware Vent smarts and I can easily fit them in flat together.
Very happy customers. Would 100% recommend to everyone

Date PurchasedJan 2018

LGC

LGCEchuca

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect Fridge

published

We bought this fridge on Boxing Day from Betta, Echuca. Till today, the fridge is running smoothly. The drawers freezer is easy access. It is a spacious and the temperature is evenly distributed. Very easy to clean and love the shelving part in the fridge as it can move to suit our needs. Highly recommend this fridge.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Rob S

Rob SMelbourne

  • 16 reviews

Some good features, but not the perfect fridge

published
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Page 2 of 5

See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (E522 FD Series) reviews

Questions & Answers

greg mckenzie-smith

greg mckenzie-smithasked

I took out and cleaned the evaporation tray at back. Disconnected water to replace flter, now after approx 4 hrs the fridge trips the power. If fridge is disconnected and then re-connected straight away-trips power again. If left overnight and switch on again in the morning will work fine for another 4 hrs-repeating same. Any suggestions?

1 answer
GJW
GJW

Sorry Greg, I have no answer as yet. I have the same issue that has occurred to my E522B which keeps tripping the RCD. I have tested the heater element and it appears OK for the reading of this model (150 ohms). Did you end up finding the cause to your fault.
Regards GW


Stewart

Stewartasked

I have a E522BLXFD5. It’s making 2 beeps when door opens and there’s a red spanner on display. Only 6months old, just started doing this. Any ideas what this means?

1 answer
fisher_man
fisher_man

Call Fisher Paykel service - machine is under warranty!


Ede

Edeasked

I bought a Fisher and Paykel fridge August 2009. It is no longer working, the fluid has drained out through a crack that seems to be in the walls of the fridge because the repairman could not find it. He says it’s not worth repairing. Is less than 9 years normal duration for this fridge?

2 answers
LGC
LGC

I can't answer the question as we bought the fridge after boxing day 2017 which is still new to us. Till today, it is operating really well. Well, we do hope our fridge can last longer than 9 years.

fisher_man
fisher_man

Fridges usually last 40 - 50 years, or untli something like this happens


Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.