??!
4 photos
Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Top Loader

Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Top Loader

MW513 (5.5kg), MW512 (5.5kg), MW60 (6kg), MW511 (5.5kg)
3.9 from 165 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(78)
(45)
(14)
(6)
(22)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (15)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (15)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (15)
janie

janieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Worst purchase ever

published

Bought this machine around 6 months ago after previous f&p washer that was amazing omg sounds like an plane taking off o n spin and not happy with more than 1 towel etc surely this is not right !

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Adqm

AdqmCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 16 reviews

Like it a lot, but very big!

published

My house is small and it takes up a lot of space, but that means it does fit a lot, it cleans perfectly and all the settings work great. The time it takes for one load is average but it is still great.

Purchased in January 2019 at Kmart for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Fisher & Paykel are the worst washing machines EVER!

published

Purchased in January 2016 for $620.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Top Loader compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pidgie

Pidgie

  • 28 reviews
  • 1 like

Going....going... after only 21 months

published

This is my second F&P Quicksmart and after 21 months of once-a-day use there is a strong smell of stale water coming from it which indicates that it is not fully emptying after the wash cycle. The previous one only lasted three years before going with a big bang. I am careful as to what goes into the machine and always use those washing bags for small items. Apart from the short life span, the machine is a good reliable work-horse which has not had any other issues. I will be looking at other brands when this one goes.

Purchased in January 2018 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

15 years of service!

published

We bought this top loader about 15 years ago when they first came out. Outstanding piece of whiteware, pity its replacement is so expensive. It worked continuously till it just didn't last night.

Purchased for $800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Waz

WazSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews

Initial reaction

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Babs

BabsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

My 3rd one!

published

Yes - this is my 3rd F & P washing machine and I have to say I just can't go past it. My previous one lasted 11 years but I will add that it only does washing for one which no doubt added to it's longevity. It's very quiet apart from when it's draining water and you hear a not so quiet pulsating noise but does it's thing quickly and efficiently. I rarely run it on anything but a normal cycle and find it very kind to my clothes. I luv, luv, luv the 1000 rpm spin cycle which helps aid the drying time on the clothes line tremendously. Not the cheapest on the market given it's only a small machine but in so far as a good quality, efficient & durable machine, it's a winner.

Purchased in June 2019 at Domayne QLD, Bundall for $548.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Tony

TonySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

best washing machine

published

this is my 2nd fisher and paykel washing machine ive owned, there great super quite very had any problems i wash everything from quilts, pillows, jumpers, delicates totally satisfied, have used other brands in the past.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
speedy gonzales

speedy gonzalesWanganui

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable, low maintenance washer.

published

Faultlessly had 3 yrs of trouble free general household washing.
Easy to use features, washing heavy soiled to delicates perfectly.
Washing times are as expected to obtain perfect wash & spin cycles.

Overall: Very satisfactory & recommended..

Purchased in April 2016 at nz. 100% electrical.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Top Loader compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Monica B

Monica BGungahlin 2912, ACT

Simple, Ease-of-Use, Neat Lines

published

This machine is excellent value for money. Your clothes come out smelling fresh and spun dry and undamaged. I used this machine for several years with no problems. It is a reliable unit and at the lower price level, perfect for those on a budget. I liked the neat Scandinavian lines of the machine as well.

Purchased in July 2000 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
kp

kpSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

This is a seriously good machine

published

Maybe its the thrill of having a new washing machine, or maybe this machine is just awesome.

It really is so simple to use and does an amazing job.

Do you want allergy settings - got it! Delicates - better tick that too. Lid lock -absolutely. 4 different spin speeds - done. It also comes with timing/delayed start.

And most importantly, it washes clothes really, really well. My highest recommendation!

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for $665.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Gill B.

Gill B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Moving with the times

published

Still apply the old-fashioned way of sorting clothes into darks and whites.
This machine in particular is good in that the favourite option is automatic. This means that the water fills in such a way that you are not over using water by the amount of water you require. The machine fills just enough to thoroughly wash and rinse the clothes. This then also reduces the cycle times of your wash..
Having mentioned this, you also have the option to use the different cycles. For example choosing the delicate option, it really is a more gentle wash.
I like the size of this machine because it is big enough to wash your bigger items like bedspreads, blankets etc.

.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman Online for $650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Scotty

ScottyBlenheim

  • 2 reviews

Had for 6 years and it was 2nd hand! Amazing!

published

Very basic yet has wool and delicate modes which is handy. Not too noisy, and does a great job of cleaning all types of laundry. Reliability wise it’s totally fantastic, we got it over 6 years ago, 2nd hand from a local repair shop. Has never needed any service, averages 5-6 loads per week. Will probably get a larger machine soon but same make and similar model for sure!

Purchased in May 2013 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Macca83

Macca83South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great little machine

published

When our old one of 7years old died, we replaced with the same one straight away. It was actually delivered the next day for free & they took away the old one too. No time having to shop around etc They are a great price & put up with quite a bit.

Purchased in February 2012.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

ver good machine

published

very satisfied have had the machine for 12 months now and does the job perfectly.washes all types of clothes and they come out nice and clean smelling real good.Very happy best machine i have had.

Purchased in October 2017 for $550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer Typenone
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Top Loader compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
chickens

chickensMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome

published

Awesome machine!
Quick cycles, simple controls, easy to use.
Faster and quieter than my old machine, and spins faster so clothes come out drier.
Would have preferred to have more than the basic 3 water levels (low, medium and high), but not worth upgrading to a more expensive model for the rare time that "med-high" is preferred.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Simone

SimonePerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Quiet and reliable

published

I have been using my washing machine for over a year now, and I absolutely love it.

My previous washing machine was a noisy beast; this one is so quiet that I often forget it's on. It just gives a few beeps when it is done and that is pretty much it.

The 6kg size is perfect for our family of 3; it handles everything from delicates to soiled clothes. It's super straight forward to use and finishes the cycles quickly. I'd researched my options before purchasing and had seen a lot of good reviews for this machine. I feel it has definitely lived up to that feedback - it's been used at least once a day for a good 15 months without any issues whatsoever.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Sar

SarSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Loverly quiet machine

published

Excellent for smaller loads for a single person.
Beautifully quiet and efficient. Due to being smaller I cannot wash blankets or bigger loads.
Functions in tvs machine give many options such as spin speed which is highly useful for delicate shirts etc
Overall a great machine.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Sydneen

Sydneen

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best Washing Machine I have owned in 60 years

published

Given our first Fisher & Paykel Top Loader, a second hand one, some 20 years ago which worked extremely well until July when it finally gave up the ghost. We replaced with the same model. Best ever - washing comes out clean, almost dry after spin dry cycle, quiet and economical. Well done, Fisher & Paykel.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Sandy67

Sandy67melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Works very hard at our place

published

We give this washer a very hard time with daily use and it takes all we can throw at it. We have had it for over five years and it's still going strong. The touchpad had aged a little bit but that could be because the sun comes into the laundry. Its already given very good value. Definite trooper

Date PurchasedAug 2013
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

norm

normasked

my machine leaves black foam like rubber bit in the washing and in the machine after a wash

No answers
Luke R.

Luke R.asked

QuickSmart MW512 (5.5kg)

My f&P 512 is stuck on spin cycle but is not spinning I think I have overloaded it.it is beeping and the lights on the spin cycle are flashing.but nothing else is happening.please help.

No answers
vaniajonathan626

vaniajonathan626asked

QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg)

where is the lint disposable waste in this machine?and if it is internal I will like to know how it works ,because eventually could block the machine...I just bought this machine...I have always clean the waste in my other ones...

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.