??!
1 photo
Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW511 (5.5kg)

Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW511 (5.5kg)

4.7 from 9 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.7

9 reviews
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Monica B

Monica BGungahlin 2912, ACT

Simple, Ease-of-Use, Neat Lines

published

This machine is excellent value for money. Your clothes come out smelling fresh and spun dry and undamaged. I used this machine for several years with no problems. It is a reliable unit and at the lower price level, perfect for those on a budget. I liked the neat Scandinavian lines of the machine as well.

Purchased in July 2000 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Scotty

ScottyBlenheim

  • 2 reviews

Had for 6 years and it was 2nd hand! Amazing!

published

Very basic yet has wool and delicate modes which is handy. Not too noisy, and does a great job of cleaning all types of laundry. Reliability wise it’s totally fantastic, we got it over 6 years ago, 2nd hand from a local repair shop. Has never needed any service, averages 5-6 loads per week. Will probably get a larger machine soon but same make and similar model for sure!

Purchased in May 2013 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

ver good machine

published

very satisfied have had the machine for 12 months now and does the job perfectly.washes all types of clothes and they come out nice and clean smelling real good.Very happy best machine i have had.

Purchased in October 2017 for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer Typenone
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW511 (5.5kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Debbie

Debbie

  • 5 reviews

Best machine I have ever owned

published

This machine does exactly what it says on your panel.
It has no agitator so loads of room for heavier items
Lots of programs to choose from it even tells you when it’s time to clean the machine itself .
Our favourite cycle is the teddy bear wash .
Easy to use hot or cold

Date PurchasedMar 2010
Sam

Sam

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic Machine

published

I have been using it for more than 10 years and never fails me. The spin is fast and helps to dry my cloth before putting it to my dryers. I am moving house and got a new washing machine on my new house. I will need to sell mine. But before I say good bye to this machine, I'll make sure I write the review on it. It is amazing machine!

Date PurchasedJan 2002
Luke Kneebone

Luke Kneebone

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cares for clothes

published

Mum had this machine for four years when I was born and starting leaking and playing up. My nana used to have one as well which is still going.

It washes and rinses and spins than any other machine so don't sell this machine if you have one. Get it fixed.

Quickpig

QuickpigSoldiers Point

  • 30 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rock solid

published

Used frequently for the last 11 years. This machine has had a new drain pump and that's it. Washes well, a little noisier than most modern machines. Update 05/01/2017, still going strong on all original parts except the pump. Still used most days, a real shame this model is now discontinued. Update 02/05/2018 Electrical burning smell and the machine has shut down, after 14 years. RIP MW511 here's hoping the replacement MW513 will last as long.

Date PurchasedMay 2004

A great little workhorse

published

I've had the Fisher and Paykel MW511 for over 9 years and it is still going a great as ever!

It washes great, even in cold water and my clothes come up clean and nice every time even after all this time.

Easily recommended for someone who needs a 5.5kg washer.
Total workhorse, still going great after 9 years.
Only 5.5kg load but perfect for my washing load sizes.

Karen5555

Karen5555Vic, 3136

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Average

published

We bought this in May 2004 with extended warranty so it cost $605 altogether.

It has been working without any problems until recently. It stopped on the rinse cycle once but continued after some manual intervention (stopping and starting, moving the clothings). So it looks like it is nearing its end of life.

It has washed ok but doesn't clean extremely well at times. The spin speed is great and the clothes are quite dry at the end. At that time, there was no water ratings but I think it consumes quite a bit of water.

It can get a bit noisy but it is a very stable machine. No other problems with it so far so it is quite reliable but just average lifespan at almost 8 years.
Reliable, easy to use
Not very clean

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW511 (5.5kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Top Loader reviews

Questions & Answers

Bashar.

Bashar.asked

QuickSmart MW511 (5.5kg)

Hi My Washing Machine is Fisher and Paykel MW511 Serial No.BPA808865, It doesn't draining water. I tried to take the outlet hose out, but couldn't and I didn't find any filter. what should I do ?

2 answers
Waz
Waz

Answer is from Dale M - not me Bashar ....Quote -'The MW511 doesn't have a pump filter. You can remove the pump itself very easily and check for blockages. If the inlet to the pump is blocked then you need to take the bowl out to clear the inlet. Also make sure there is no blockage in the outlet hose'.... Hope this helps.

Anthony
Anthony

Replace the water pump

Bill D.

Bill D.asked

QuickSmart MW511 (5.5kg)

Where is reset on this model

No answers
Bill D.

Bill D.asked

QuickSmart MW511 (5.5kg)

How to clean pump filter

1 answer
gerard Gardiner
gerard Gardiner

never had to do it Bill sorry

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.