??!
14 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series) (page 2 of 7)

RF522ADX5 (Stainless Steel), RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water), RF522ADX4 (Stainless Steel), etc...
3.7 from 134 reviews

Reviews

3.7

134 reviews
5
(52)
4
(37)
3
(14)
2
(9)
1
(22)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (19)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (18)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (18)
  • Internal Layout
    4.4 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Katie

KatiePerth, WA

Fantastic fridge

published

Such a great fridge. Huge amount of space in both fridge and freezer. Ice cold water on tap and auto ice! Brilliant. Quiet, energy efficient and very sleek to look at.

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$1,799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
Grandad

GrandadSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fridge Freezer Size and Handle Location.

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Kay

Kay

  • 2 reviews

Problems 2 12yrs old

published

You get a 2yr warranty and then the trouble starts. We had water under the fridge which ruined the wooden floor so had been leaking for awhile. We pulled out cleaned up cleared the tube at the back. Now buzzer goes off 20 times with the spanner showing. Phoned Fisher & Paykel would be a $148 call out fee plus parts. Have phoned Fair Trading recommend going back to the supplier. If no go there put forms into Fair Trading. Would not advise buying a Fisher $ Paykel appliance. Must say has been okay until last few months. We have had other brand fridges last 15yrs.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
1 comment
Kay
Kay
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series) compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Toby

TobyMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Brilliant functional design

published

Very easy to clean & organise. Maintains temperature effortlessly. Freezer compartment comprised of 2 easy glide drawers which works so well when rationalising freezer foods. Such a luxury having iced water on tap. A very smart addition to my kitchen with easy to clean stainless steel finish. I really like the slide out shelf with the fresh produce bins.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Jack McLean

Jack McLeanSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

What a great fridge, spacious , quiet and functional and easy to keep clean

published

1. Temperatures reliable always
2. Love all the aspects of this fridge
3. Ease of opening and closing excellent.
4. After 3 years, problems NONE - last fridge Samsung 2 door, leaked water all the time, not fixable, two years and off to the tip.
5. No noise, very Happy.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
Daniella

DaniellaSydney

  • 4 reviews

Great Fridge, Roomy and Quiet

published

I love my new fridge, it is roomy and quiet. When it first got connected it made a lot of noise, but then it settled and after 48 hours I could hardly hear anything, I forget it is there, what an amazing fridge, everything fits and looks so stylish, I love the french doors, it keeps all my food organized and very neat.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Hannah B

Hannah BSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice & Silent Fridge

published

Works real nice, modern square edges and best of all unlike our old fridge this one is silent, no noisy buzzing or clunks. lots of great storage compartments and loads of clever spaces. Easy to access all the back corners and easy to change shelf levels quick when required for taller items.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Emilio R

Emilio RSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

good fridge but noise

published

nice good looking fridge
first two years perfect then become noises.
as soon the warranty was overt problems started.
water is not very cold and the ice tent to be one frozen piece
water filter light turn on every 6 months even i don t use the water and needs to be reset

Date PurchasedJun 2015
Angela

AngelaBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent fridge

published

Excellent fridge. Easy to hook up the ice and water. Great features with the bottle chiller and door alarm and runs very quietly. Large freezer space with 2 large draws.... Perfect size for a family of 4 with room to spare.....Recomended purchase for a smaller fridge space but with the french door feature.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series) compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Loretta

LorettaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Excellent fridge for kitchen with limited space

published

We previously had a Fisher and Paykel 519L fridge/freezer and it was excellent, so we were happy to purchase this brand again. We chose the French door model as we live in a Sydney terrace with limited space in the kitchen - the doors don’t need as much space to swing open as our previous fridge. Unlike a side-by-side fridge, the French doors open to a single compartment, which means you still have a nice wide shelf for platters and the like. My only criticisms are that unlike our previous fridge this doesn’t have a dedicated ice shelf in the freezer and there is no egg storage in the fridge - so we’ve had to leave our eggs in cartons.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Julie

Julie

  • 2 reviews

Better than expected

published

Love my new Fisher and Paykel fridge. Everything I need for a small family and looks great. I have only had the fridge for a few months but have noticed the vegetables remain fresher for much longer than my last fridge. Very happy so far. My only observation is the water spout for filling up a glass of chilled water could be a little wider to allow faster refills.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Julian

JulianSydney

Broke after two months. Still waiting on a response.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Liana

LianaRozele

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect fridge for me

published

I only used this fridge for a couple of months and had no problems so far. I was also looking for a fridge to fit the space int he kitchen cabinetry and was pleasantly surprised to find this one. I love how it is quiet and has so much room for everything that I need to store for the family of 4.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Susi

SusiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

4 1/2 years old and already an oil and gas leak plus ongoing problems with the french doors

published

Firstly the technician tried to convince me that there is nothing wrong with it even though the smell is absolutely choking. He kept insisting he couldn't find anything wrong and I had to insist otherwise. Then he finally did find the gas and oil leak. The mannerism is totally lacking and professionalism can't even be mentioned! I was promised a loan fridge: that was 4 days ago. I rang Customer Service and after 45 min on hold did speak to a representative who was of no help whatsoever. Also the tiny plastic part which holds the spring for the doors keeps breaking.
All in all: totally lacking on all levels for a fridge I paid A$ 2549.00 for!! Plus I will be billed for the transport of the faulty fridge to the warehouse and back!!

Date PurchasedDec 2013
Tanita

TanitaSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Smart design and functional fridge

published

I have a high regard for Fisher & Paykel appliances. When I was planning to purchase a new fridge, I immediately thought of Fisher & Paykel. I love my new fridge, it is roomy, has a stylish and smart design and is very quiet. I like the glass shelves, it is easy to store items and gives the impression of more space around the items stored.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series) compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ranga Tang

Ranga TangHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Keeps beer cold...

published

Purchased after moving house and old fridge didnt fit in the gap. Only chose as was the biggest fridge for the size of the gap in the kitchen. However very happy. Not noisy. Looks good, realy like the handles on the side. Freezer compartment is user friendly as wife initially wasnt happy with the idea but has since warmed to the idea.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Michael

MichaelPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

value for money

published

We've had this fridge for 2 years & can not fault it. It's very quiet & streamlined so fits nicely & has plenty of shelf space. Looks good too! The freezer section has 2 nice deep drawers. We have not had a problem at all. We read plenty of reviews before buying it & would definitely recommend.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
Sandra M

Sandra M

  • 6 reviews

Great for fresh produce

published

We purchased this fridge as we love to eat fresh, healthy produce and it had won awards for its ability to maintain the quality of fruit and veggies. the shelves and baskets are easy to reposition to suit you. However, the fridge is extremely hard to keep clean. The finish is very unforgiving, and what’s worse it that there is direct warning to avoid using ANY sort of cleaning product other than water which is not ideal With children around. Fisher and Paykel would do well to develope a cleaning product suitable for their range.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
nmcc08

nmcc08Perth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Overall.

published

Very nice and modern looking, so far every thing has been pretty awesome with this fridge/freezer. It has an alarm to let you know when the door's have been opened for too long and also has a high 3.5 star energy rating. You can control the top compartment temperature and middle with a touch of a button and runs so quite that I had to check today to make sure it was still working. I found that you have to turn the settings right down near to the lowest to maintain the temperature that my old Westinghouse had, which I found kind of strange. Overall a very high quality product and I give it 9/10 stars.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Mari

MariSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

I love this fridge. I have had it for two years. I was worried based on reviews I had read that it would be noisy but I can't hear it at all in my open planned living area. No issues with temperature. I haven't bothered to get the fridge plumbed in as planned but I love my fridge that much I actually forgot about it. I have less rotting food than the old fashioned style fridge, because it's all at eye level. Highly recommend,it's worth making the change.
You can easily store platters and overall my fridge feels more organised.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Page 2 of 7
See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series) reviews

Questions & Answers

THorton

THortonasked

ActiveSmart RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water)

Fridge professionally installed. Ice being made, but zero out of the water dispenser. Have depressed dispenser for 2 mins+ to remove air, and checked hose is not kinked, and the tap turned on (note, ice being made so no problem there). Why is the water not working at all?

No answers
Allen R.

Allen R.asked

ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series)

The door handle is loose - how do I tighten it?

No answers
Sheila

Sheilaasked

ActiveSmart RF522ADJX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice)

The fridge has just been plumbed in. How long will it take for ice to be made? I have put the booster on

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.