??!
4 photos
Fisher & Paykel 628L Side by Side RX628DX1 (Stainless Steel)

Fisher & Paykel 628L Side by Side RX628DX1 (Stainless Steel)

MPN: RX628DX1
3.0 from 46 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.0

46 reviews
5
(8)
4
(14)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    2.4 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.9 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (8)
  • Internal Layout
    4.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Stephen

StephenHunter Region, NSW

Good product but abysmal warrantee service

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
SusanneS

SusanneSSouth East Queensland, QLD

Avoid this model at all costs

published

Having previously always has Fisher and Paykel fridges we thought this would be too. Salespeople in HN recommended it highly two and a half years ago. We had repairman here twice in past six months as it was icing up over motor.- exactly after warranty ended. Yesterday it completely died and we bought a different brand. Door shelves were very shallow and constantly cracked. Both fridge and freezer were colder at bottom half and not even. Have been advised this model is a lemon and would never buy it again.

Purchased in October 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$1,700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Pete

PeteSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Poor durability

published

We have had exactly the same freezer fan/controller/cabinet issue with this Haier manufactured, Fisher & Paykel branded 628L thing. Failed twice in just under 4 years. A flimsy fridge door shelf has also cracked badly. "New for old" claim made and granted under HN extended warranty.
More landfill, which really isn't good enough. Just feeding the wasteful "built in obsolescence" industrial machine. Who wants to buy a new fridge every four years? Its an essential household item, not a discretionary purchase.
My simple F&P bar fridge ts 20 years old and fine. Made locally, not in China.
Till receipt not uploaded as it has faded badly. Always ask for a proper receipt!

Purchased in June 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel 628L Side by Side RX628DX1 (Stainless Steel) compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sammy b

Sammy bHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worst fridge ever. Bad service and customer service.

published

I will never buy this brand again. Fridge has died 4 times in 3 years. brought brand new. Still they won't replace it under warranty. No local services so take long time to get fixed when I have issues. Customer service is very little help.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Anna H.

Anna H.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good choice for a new fridge

published

We needed a new fridge ASAP and wanted side by side doors that have independent seals around the door. This is pretty good value for money. Runs quietly and has temp controls on front door. Only snag is one freezer drawer is a bit stiff to close. Only discovered it after delivered and unpacked. Also as it is stainless we've had a few dents from things knocking against it. Otherwise, the actual fridge has lots of room on the doors and shelves and easily height adjustable. Doesn't have a water filter, which we don't need. I like that it doesn't have a wine rack, which take up unnecessary room. 3 good ice block trays in the freezer. I think it offers plenty of space for 2+ people. Wouldn't want any bigger.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
JAD

JADSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Stainless steel is NOT stainless

published

Purchased in July 2015 at Winning Appliances for A$1,650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
Olivia R.

Olivia R.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Disgusted + lack of responce from Fisher & Paykel, AVOID BRAND

published

I have contacted Fisher & Paykel, with no responce. They are avoiding the issue!
The freezer is not frost free. The fan becomes very loud. I have to constantly defrost. The fridge does not stay cool. Avoid this company!!!!!!!!!
Appliances online also refused assistance. Both know there is a problem they are just disregarding their liability

Purchased in July 2016 at Appliances Online for A$1,490.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Mandy Fraser

Mandy FraserWarner

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Went rusty

published

This fridge looks great and does work very well, it has a holiday setting for when your away to save energy, but! I had to spray the front as I couldn’t get the rusty marks of it, it totally destroyed the look of it. Obviously a low grade stainless steel. I would buy thus fridge again if I were guaranteed a better coating of stainless steel, very disappointed in that.

Purchased in October 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Genevieve

GenevieveMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very convenient and functional, however the freezer draws are resistant at times.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel 628L Side by Side RX628DX1 (Stainless Steel) compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alpal62

Alpal62

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good Fridge with low power consumption

published

We’ve been using this fridge for approximately six months now and are happy with our purchase. Plenty of storage and shelves, seems to keeps things at just the right temperature. Our home is solar and battery powered so the low power consumption of this unit is really good also for minimising power consumption.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Josie

JosiePerth

Good Fridge

published

i Bought a French door fridge , the compartment very nice and easy to clean , working week the temperature in every compartment . The motor working quietly, in meat compartment you can segregate meat , and fish and some food need to freeze . In French door fridge I think you can save energy, want a meat just open othe half of the door ... .

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
san

sanperth

  • 8 reviews

buy the best

published

this fisher and pykel is so quiet you do not even hear it.
the temperature is even within all compartments, i rely on this as i grow my own produce and have chickens. some fridges freeze eggs while keeping the rest cool and i find my produce doesnt spoil as quik esp my in season fruit n veg.
this fridge sounds an alarm if disconnectd from main power.

id highly recommend this fridge to a busy happy household--- in ensures happiness

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Look... Here's a great Fridge with good backup..

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Simon

SimonPerth

  • 4 reviews

Reliable F&P fridge

published

I always wanted to get a french door type of fridge and this product definitely fits the bill. The price is reasonable compared to other brand and F&P is a well-know brand I always dreamt of having. In the beginning, the sleek and stainless steel design definitely caught my eye. The width and depth suits my need and fits nicely into my fridge recess plus it has more than 600L of storage. With this sort of quality and offer, i could not find another brand that has a better offer than F&P. If i were to get another fridge or any other electrical appliances, I would definitely go with F&P again.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
Karen t

Karen t

  • 6 reviews

The monster of all fridges

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel 628L Side by Side RX628DX1 (Stainless Steel) compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stacey

Stacey

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good!

published

I just moved into my new home and we were very limited on the depth of our fridge so looking for something around the 68cm depth was quiet challenging. I found this fridge and fell in love! Haven't found a fault so far! Very quiet and easy to keep clean. I would recommend this fridge.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Toby

TobyBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Decent fridge - good freezer space

published

Got this fridge due to the needing a bigger freezer. Its good, does the job well and keeps food cool. Only bad thing would be the star energy rating is pretty low but that seems common on any side by side really. Only the top and bottom mount freezers get a good energy rating. Other than that, keep the buttons on locked, as an accidental push of 'holiday' mode (very easy to do) will switch off the fridge part.... who thought that was a good idea, a one touch push to switch off your fridge without knowing.. lucky we noticed it early enough and switched it off.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Jel

JelDarling Downs, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great so far!

published

A quiet easy-to-clean sleek-looking fridge. No issues with pulling the shelves or drawers out for a clean. Love the extra freezer space. So far so good! Downside is that it is less energy efficient therefore a slight increase in our bill which is expected, unless you're willing to pay more for a more energy-efficient fridge!

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Worse Fridge ever

published

Fisher & Paykel provide worse Fridge ever, they have very very poor customer service and will never consider this brand for anything anymore. I have purchase a brand new unit but it looks like a re-condition unit but Fisher & Paykel refuse to accept problem of the fridge. Customer Service is very poor and just tell us to change the fridge if we think it is not suitable. Can't believe today you can still have such poor service, I guess poor brand, poor management and poor people.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Jitesh J

Jitesh JSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Classy, works great!

published

No problems seven months in from purchase. Purchased at a quite a good discount, provided great value so far. Fridge seems to keeping temperature well. Previous commenters have noted a temperature discrepancy, which is something I think I will have to look into. Needed good gaps for ventilation on setup as it had a whine if congested. Not too noisy, mostly silent in fact. Freezer seems to get a slight whine rarely. So far I remedy this by opening and closing the freezer. Classy design and seems to have put up with the challenges we have thrown at it.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Page 1 of 3
See all Fisher & Paykel 628L Side by Side reviews

Questions & Answers

Julie

Julieasked

628L Side by Side RX628DX1 (Stainless Steel)

I have just purchased this fridge, i am quite concerned now reading all above.
Do you think i should change it for another make and model?

No answers
Zee

Zeeasked

628L Side by Side RX628DX1 (Stainless Steel)

am looking forward to buying this fridge, but i am afraid it still has the freezer problem, should i go for it or should i look for something else? thanks

1 answer
D.L
D.L

If you believe a technician has already gone out and fixed this and the other problems in all of these fridges which have been sitting in boxes in various warehouses....
Or perhaps in the factory the problem has filtered back and Harry Potter has fixed it.
I believe they wait for the client to ring them with the problem. That's why my 3 month old fridge is sitting idle and unplugged. Awaiting my second visit from an under-resourced technician system. Self employed and I don't work from home. $$$ Thanks Fisher Paykel. What a pretty but perfect piece of polished turd this fridge is.

CGS

CGSasked

628L Side by Side RX628DX1 (Stainless Steel)

Has this model been designed so the slide out drawers hit the door even when it is fully open (hopefully not!) or does this main my door is not opening as far as it should?

2 answers
Fisher & Paykel
Rudi K.Fisher & Paykel

It is very difficult to make an accurate diagnosis of the specific cause without the benefit of inspecting your appliance.

If you would like to arrange a technician to attend to your refrigerator, you can call our 24-hour Customer Care Centre on 1300 650 590 and a Customer Representative will assist you with service in your area.

Alternatively, you can search for service in your area by using our online locator at the following link: http://www.fisherpaykel.com/au/support/service-appliances#request-a-service

If there is a Fisher & Paykel technician in your area, a form will be generated which you can complete to submit a service request using our online booking facility. Otherwise, the locator will provide you with the contact details for the Authorised Service Centre(s) near your area.

Chrissy LoRicco
Chrissy LoRicco

We just bought this fridge yesterday. We too cant open the crisper draws fully as it hits the fridge door even when fully opened.

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.