??!
3 photos
Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen

Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen

WH8560P1 (8.5kg), WH7560P1 (7.5kg), WH8060P1 (8.0kg)
4.0 from 183 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (3)
Previous
Next

VERY noisy in spin cycle

published

In the last months, the spin cycle has become very loud and has a gritty sound. it's on a solid flat surface and this occurs even with just a few items or full load. I'm no professional but it sounds like bearings have gone. the barrel is sort of loosish too. we got the matching mid-2016 so its just over 4 years old for a family of 4 so I'm a bit surprised at this - can anyone suggest anything, has anyone experienced these symptoms before?

Purchased in July 2016 at The Good Guys for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Tanya J.

Tanya J.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Rusty + Looong 8 min

published

Started off well, however started to develop rust on the outside and underneath after 1 year, never soaked clothes in it and wiped up any slight spills so no reason for it to rust so badly, still seems to work ok, however over time it seems 8 mins has turned into 20.. Wash wise has been a good machine, just disappointed in the amount of rust, leg has now snapped due to rust and unable to balance properly. Have since bought a new electrolux front loader. Fischer and Pykle are usually really good, however this model sadly seemed to fail in build quality. Would have expected to last more than 5 years. The softener drawer seemed to clog up regularly too which was annoying.

Purchased in April 2015 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Mandie

Mandie

  • 2 reviews

Not so great-would never by this brand again

published

Purchased in August 2015 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$925.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lee DWYER

Lee DWYERPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Out of balance and the bearings are m asking a noise after 2 years

published

This machine has been playing up for the last 6 months and is not long out of warranty. The drum looks like it is out of balance and it keeps stopping halfway through the cycle, unbalance, error code 37, door lock, takes 40 mins to complete the spin cycle after 2 rebalances. The bearings are now making a knocking noise and it's just getting worse. Was nice and quiet but this has just got bad. Not much of a washing machine if it won't last over 2 years. Our last washing machine lasted 9 years.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
Mythoughts

Mythoughts

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rust Rust Rust

published

Noticed paint bubbling & rust spots appearing near soap drawer & along the bottom kick plate. Hubby pulled off the base plate & all behind it is rust. The paint has fallen off & the floor under the machine had rust dust. Whilst the machine works ok, the preparation of the body work is disgraceful. I've bought lots of F&P products over the years, but after this, nah.

Date PurchasedDec 2014

Disappointed, to say the least.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Liz

LizGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not happy!

published

I end up having to manually remove fluff off the black clothes. Really disappointed. Had a fischer & paykel top loader before for a long time and was very satisfied. Quality has definitely changed. Also had problem from the start and tried to send me a technician which I refused. Was then given a new machine.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
AnneT

AnneT

  • 2 reviews

Don't buy one in WA. Takes 2 months and still not fixed.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Stefana Kay

Stefana KayMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Was told it's a great machine but it's not

published
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Disappointed87

Disappointed87Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Broke after 14months of use.

published

Happy with the machine until now, very quiet and well optioned machine.
Unfortunately after only 14 months the "spider" assembly holding the drum has broken (weakness with all front loaders, as they corrode over time and all the weight is suspended off it).
The machine is now useless, the drum vibrates massively and smacks against the side of the unit. Tiny metal shards all through the drum and washing.
Hopefully F&P will repair or replace the unit with minimal fuss and time (as a washing machine is essential for a family).

2 comments
Disappointed87
Disappointed87
Disappointed87
Disappointed87

8 months later, machine hasn't missed a beat.

Tiele

TieleGold Coast

Unlucky

published

The quietest washing machine I have ever owned!!

published
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Not good

published

Washing machine was delivered on Thursday. 10 mins. into the cycle it stopped working - E7.01 fault on same day! Very disappointed.

12 weeks and already need to call in the repair man

published

12 weeks and the agitator and spin have stopped working….E7:01 fault what ever that means…..sent query to F&P but not reply , went back to G.Guys and they have a repair man coming out the same day. Not impressed that I am needing one after less than 3 months of operation.

1 comment
Finn
Finn

Disappointed after 3 months

published

Purchased 2 of this washing machine 3 months ago, as sales rep recommended that its a good product and this model is new to the market. We are very disappointed after having this product for 3 months. The rubber ring attached to inside of the door melted after a load and the washer was moving along the floor because it was spinning so fast before it stopped working. Not very happy with this product after this incident. The functions are good and lots of options.
Lots of functions
Expensive and product not reliable.

2 comments
Goodorbad
Goodorbad
Weezie
Weezie
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen reviews

Questions & Answers

Kat B

Kat B asked

WashSmart WH8560P1 (8.5kg)

Our machine has always stopped with 4 mins to go, and says NO TAP. We usually just hit the start button and it continues on. However today we can’t hear any water coming in, and the machine stays on 59 mins, and every 10 minutes will beep with the NO TAP warning. Taps are connected? Does it make a difference that our machine is connected to our water tank (which has plenty of water?)

No answers
Renisa

Renisaasked

WashSmart WH8560P1 (8.5kg)

Got a clear filter message, cleaned it then ran a wash and did it again. Cleaned filter again and once again got an error. What do I.do? Filter is.clean and can not see any obvious signs of a blockage.

No answers
Katrina

Katrina asked

WashSmart WH7560P1 (7.5kg)

So my fisher and paykel quicksmart keeps showing up clear filter icon every two or three washes???!!!!
Very frustrating and annoying! I hv a family of 6 and this is annoying me to no end ! Happening towards end of cycle
Hv followed booklet numerous times emptying out and making sure it’s clear ??
We are baffled
Can anyone give any suggestions on what we could try to rectify the problem? Before calling someone out
The machine isn’t very old at all , about 18months old
Please help

1 answer
Ross A
Ross A

Am experiencing same problem, except there is only 1 person living in my place. I checked - as per the F&P youtube video - there was absolutely nothing in the filter. It seems like F&P products are designed to just be faulty so you pay fees for them to visit or contact them.

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen
CategoryFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing Machines
Capacity7.5 kg
Replaced byFisher & Paykel WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg)Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WH8060P2 (8.0kg)Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg)
Compare all 3 Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.