??!
3 photos
Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Top Loader 2nd Gen

Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Top Loader 2nd Gen

WA7060G2 (7kg)
4.2 from 95 reviews

Reviews

(45)
(37)
(5)
(5)
(3)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (8)


Two months old and already not working...

published

Purchased new machine Nov 2019 and already stopped. All lights flashing. Key lock keeps beeping (even when power off). Cannot set to any programme. All settings flash like a machine possessed! Have to wait a week for service person to visit. (Customer Service took over an hour to answer even after 7pm). Not impressed that machine couldn't even last two months!

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Sal

SalSydney, NSW

Disappointing and frustrating

published

Bought in 2016, very unreliable, stopped working in year 2 and again after moving in year 3. My old fisher & paykel was fine even after moving twice over 10 years.

Purchased in June 2016 for $650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
DaveP

DaveP

  • 5 reviews

Great Washing Machine

published

So easy to use. A great washing machine that will make your clothes clean and fresh. It senses the amount on clothes you have put in and adjusts the water level to suit.

Phil

PhilSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Excellent machine

published

This was our first F&P Washer and won't be our last. It's super quiet, easy to use, simple buttons, and washes effectively. Great value for money also as bought on sale

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for $648.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Darryn D

Darryn DMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

What a impressive looking machine

published

This Fisher and Paykel washer really earns its title washsmart machine ..with one step easy to follow preset options with a push of a button your ready to go. Washes are great bringing your clothes out fresh as a daisy

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Dryer TypeSamsung
See all answers

Jennifer S.

Jennifer S.

  • 2 reviews

Washing results looks as good as new

published

Multi coloured wash, easy function set. Just turn the dial to set your required wash. You can even set it as your favourite. Add your detergent, close lid and off you go. Set cycle about 45 min. You can even set the spin speed. Washes clothes better than any other washer that I have had. My wash is now bright and white. This is my favourite by far.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 4.5kg ED57
See all answers

olya

olyamelbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Did not last long 3 years only

published

Stopped working after 3 years. Washing only with cold water but hot or warm water does not work. Over priced significantly. Would not recommend to buy it . Very hard to operate

Purchased in April 2017 at Forty Winks VIC, Hoppers Crossing for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Ashwani

AshwaniSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Gentle and Quite Washing Machine

published

This machine is very quite and noise free. It can handle washing loads very gently and inform the user for unbalanced loading. Vibration free machine and cloths comes out in almost dry and bright clean.

Purchased in March 2019 at Binglee Carlingford for $889.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 3.5kg AD39
See all answers
Peter P

Peter PGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Better than the old Fisher & Paykel...

published

After 10 years our old F&P bit-the-dust. One thing my wife asked for was not to get another bottom rotor type as these just tangle up and tear the clothes! Bought the 7kg F&P with centre agitator from AppliancesOnLine (AOL) through EBAY as a 10% discount was available. AOL delivered and installed it and took away our old machine... something that HN told me would cost $80 extra! Anyway very happy with our purchase because we have no more tangled clothes and lint in the wash. It is also easier to use then old washer including doing a spin only cycle by pressing "Wash Advance" until the "Spin" LED lights up and then press "START".

Purchased in February 2019 at Appliances Online for $614.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Dave G.

Dave G.Darwin, NT

Disappointing machine

published

Bought a fisher and paykel 7kg top load washer for around $750, from Harvey Norman. Only used it around 50 washs over 2 years. Now will not spin, out of balance. Whatever you do, it won't spin. It's on level ground, levelled. Even with nothing in the machine, still out of balance. Will never buy a fisher and paykel appliance again, which is disappointing as I had my last one for 12 years, that's why I bought one again. DO NOT BUY FISHER AND PAYKEL TOP LOAD WASHERS.


Emma

EmmaFar North Queensland, QLD

Lint galore and is shredding my towels

published

I bought this top loader after having a few front loader issues, and if I could send it back I would. I really dislike this washing machine. It has shredded my towels, no matter what cycle and the lint issue on clothes is ridiculous. Not a fan and am considering getting in touch with Fisher and Paykel, failing that selling it and cutting my losses.

Purchased in April 2018.


Emm

EmmAdelaide

  • 3 reviews

Disappointed - LINT LINT LINT

published

Works fine except for the lint. TERRIBLE!! Why didn't they put a lint filter on it????
Unfortunately my parents bought the same machine and have had the same problem.
I have had to get the machine pulled apart FOUR times now to remove large chunks of lint which had blocked the pipe that drains the water out of the machine.
If I didn't have an obliging relative who was able and willing to do this for free them I would have had to cough up at least $200 if not more for some technician to do the same. So far this would have cost me $800!!
Also, it is not nice to wash your clothes and have lint all over everything.
No other problems with the machine.
Would NEVER recommend this to anyone.

Date PurchasedApr 2013

Merlin51h

Merlin51h

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Happily Impressed

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Taylor

Taylor

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great for my little family

published

Great for washing blankets and child's bedding great for my daughter who gets dressed eight times a day great for any growing family I love that it's so easy to use and I haven't had to rip a sock or two out from going in the pipes great work guys love it

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Mon

MonBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Quick and thorough

published

Some washing machines are rediculously difficult to operate especially digital ones but this one is straight forward and has wash times that don’t go for too long if you choose. I have the 7kg size which is ok for 1 queen doona maximum. Next time I’d prob opt for a bit larger but it spins and washes very well overall.

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Ashleigh L

Ashleigh LAU

  • 5 reviews

Thorough wash

published

We bought one of these second-hand and are so happy with it. The machine washes my husbands clothes extremely well (not easy being a tradie). It’s water consumption is quite high though so don’t expect it to be savings there. It also takes a while even on a quick wash. Overall a great machine to wash clothes thoroughly.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

I'm so disappointed with this machine...

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017

cathestrophic

cathestrophicCanberra

  • 3 reviews

Great washing machine - cleans well- exactly what I was looking for

published

I use this washing machine several times a week and overall, I have been happy with it. I was everything from clothes, to woollens and delicates to heavy duty clothes.
It is big enough to handle my blankets etc.
it washes delicates well - although the spin cycle leaves them a little wet, this is to be expected.

I find the functions easy to understand and operate.
I wish you could program a favourite cycle as it defaults to warm wash and I usually wash cold, but this is my only improvement.

The cycle times are reasonable. My last F&P quick cycle was a little faster, but I can't complain with 40ish mins.

Very happy! I hope it lasts as long as my last F&P

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Puddings

Puddingsmelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Quality is sliding

published

This is our family washer and it gets a pounding with active kids but I grew up with Fisher and Paykel products and I can see that decline in quality. These use to last 20 years - people would literally have the same washer their entire childhoods. These days with all the plastic and flimsy cheap metal I would be surprised if it runs past five years. Anyway ours is about three and still going but we will see for how long

Date PurchasedJun 2015

51mmy1

51mmy1Ashburton

  • 4 reviews

Works well but cheaper than before

published

We have had this for over five years and it still running! It thought it would pack up about a year ago and it was making a screeching noise went it emptied but it somehow got over it. If you know the old days of Fischer and Paykel, you will know that these modern machines are no where near as solidly built but hey, five years and still going strong so thats not too bad (by today's standards)

Date PurchasedOct 2013

Page 1 of 5

See all Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Top Loader reviews

Questions & Answers

Bruce

Bruceasked

Fills to rinse but goes back to start of wash cycle instead of rinsing? Manually start rinse and spin cycle but won’t spin?

1 answer
Dee
Dee

I’m confused to what you mean. Do you have your hot water tap on?


Martin

Martinasked

Why is the water pump so noisy after it pumps out the water compared to my 20 year old one.
NZ made one had French made water pump, new one is Italian Askoll brand made in China!

1 answer
Hamptonroses
Hamptonroses

F&P no longer care about quality - my old F&P was virtually silent, clothes spun to almost dry, but my new replacement one is louder than a lawn mower, the clothes are dripping wet after final spin, and are covered in lint. I regret going with F&P again, quality of machine and care factor from their complaints Dept is zero. They are cutting costs wherever they can by using cheap parts!


Sandy

Sandyasked

How to use spin only cycle

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.