??!
3 photos
Fisher & Paykel CleanSmart

Fisher & Paykel CleanSmart

WL1068P1 (10kg), WL8060P1 (8kg), WL1068PW1
2.2 from 102 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(17)
(12)
(4)
(8)
(61)
  • Build Quality
    1.9 (12)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    2.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.2 (11)
  • Noise Level
    2.4 (10)

Do not buy FISHER PAYKEL WL8060P1, they wont cover under warranty....

published

My machine broke after one year usage, however the customer service refuses to repair, she suggest that I should open my machine after running to check if there is an air bubble in the cloth.......

Evan Nichols

Evan NicholsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

No Quality or Quality Control with Fisher and Paykel appliances

published

Bought this machine from Good Guys. Delivered and installed about 11.30am. Did one small wash of 4 large towels which was fine, but by 3pm, there was water all over the laundry floor. It leaked from the machine not the hoses. Never ever buy this machine. For the price of this product I expected at least average quality but was sorely disappointed. Hang your head in shame Fisher and Paykel

Purchased in March 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,584.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Alayne

AlayneSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

This machine is a total nightmare! I HATE this machine!

published

It is now 5 1/2 years old and is a total nightmare. Initially it wasn't too bad but then it started being constantly off-balance. As it has become older it has become worse. I have to readjust each load 8-9 times and it takes me hours just to do one load. I had a repairman out to look at it a few months ago but there was no improvement.

I have previously owned Fisher & Paykel machines and have had no issues with them. Are the other models still okay? Is this the only dud model? I'll have to buy another machine because I just can't handle this one, but do I stick with Fisher & Paykel or look elsewhere? I'd hate to end up with another dud especially when they are so expensive.

Purchased in March 2014 at Harvey Norman for $1,339.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel CleanSmart compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
joy

joy

  • 5 reviews

Useless

published

This machine is the worst I have ever had in over 50 years. You have to wash everything on Bulky to get enough water to wash properly . Then u have to start again to rinse so you get enough water to rinse. So Nearly 2 hours later u have finished. If only they put a water level button in might have helped. Other machine have them. Clothes come out looking like creased rags. They have put a front load machine into a top load without adding a water level button. Absolutely the worst useless machine ever. Do not buy. Tried to exchange but goodguys refused Yet they do for others.

Purchased in October 2019 for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
banya

banyaperth

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Leaves lint all over clothes, leaks and doesnt spin on anything but lowest setting

published

This machine has a lifespan of about 3 years, after that it leaks, and doesnt spin on anything other than lowest setting. Apart from this, from new, there were problems, the machine has no removable filter so no matter what you wash it will have lint on it, Even the highest setting of water doesnt soak the material sufficiently as its still 10cms below the clothes level. You have to put an additional rinse time of 33 mins to actually get your clothes clean, so claims of water and energy efficiency are woefully incorrect.
Bad buy

Purchased in October 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
little star l.

little star l.South East Queensland, QLD

never ever to buy it! who like to have my washing machine, give it to you for free!

published

never washed and cleaned properly, wasting water, wasting my hot water for bowl cleaning!!!

Now I have to manually put out the clothes before draining the water, hand rinse them and put back to spin, terrible!

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Not a happy customer

published

Not the best machine I’ve had unfortunately... find it doesn’t wash properly , had to change from powder to liquid . Winds up pant legs and twist sheets n dish towels to the point they rip
.. would NOT buy it again

Purchased in January 2017 for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Lee35

Lee35Western District, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Having no agitator is great!

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
trinayj

trinayjSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Terrible. A complete lemon.

published

Was dead on arrival, brand new out of the box. Error 50. Motherboard replaced. Less than a year later, same thing.
4 months after that, same thing.
This machine is a complete and utter lemon, I would strongly recommend you don't buy it.

Purchased in February 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel CleanSmart compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
3Oh

3OhSunshine Coast

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

This Rating is for the service only as I did not like it at all for my needs

published

Purchased in April 2018 at super centre sunshine coast for $799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dani

Dani

  • 2 reviews

This machine is ruining and ripping our clothes and bedding!

published

Purchased in July 2017 for $1,388.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Ann

AnnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Worst machine I have ever purchased

published
Mark D

Mark DSydney, NSW

Absolutely pathetic

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $1,350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Tom

TomGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

OVERALL AN EXCELLENT WASHING MACHINE 4 STAR RATING OUT OF 5 IF ONLY IT HAD A LINT FILTER

published

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys Online store for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Michele

MicheleSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Will never buy another of their products

published

My parents bought a new washing machine less than 12 months ago. It broke down the rude technican came out and said cockroach caused the computer to fail. Never heard of such a poor excuse. I have complained to the company as they claim we need to pay for repairs
Stay away from them the service is bad

Date PurchasedJul 2018
6 comments
Michele
Michele

Lodged a complaint with department of fair trading they are claiming that a cockroach caused a computer to be replaced

Michele
Michele

Interesting so many people have the same breakdown issue with same model!!!! Fisher and paykel please read these reviews.

Michele
Michele

Also where we bought the machine bing lee Hurstville were of no assistance
Lodged a complaint with department of fair trading

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel CleanSmart compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ash

Ash

  • 10 reviews

Huge and efficient

published

With 4 boys, I have constant washing, and with the size, I can get so much done in one load it is almost ridiculous, I can even fit 2 winter blankets in at one time! The controls are great, large to see, easy to understand, modes for everything you could think of from blanket washing to delicates and everything between, and easy to access places for each detergent, soak agent and fabric softener. Also has a digital timer to tell you exactly how long is left. Washes very well and haven't had a problem with it.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Bernard

BernardMossy Point

Quality Terrible

published

Broke down 18 months after purchase, but then started working again. Has just broken down again, 1 month out of 2 yr warrantee period. F&P have offered to replace the mother board free (this tells me that they known the machine was defective from factory) but I need to pay the call out fee for the guy fitting it. So, costing me another 10% of the purchase price 2 years after purchase. That's a joke. The machine replaced a Whirlpool one we had for 20+ years with no breakdowns and only replaced because we thought a new one would be "greener" .... but has turned out to be more of a "lemon" colour. I would really avoid Fisher & Paykel. Why reward Fisher & Paykel for not being a good corporate citizen, and selling junk?

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Kitty Kat

Kitty Kat

  • 2 reviews

Worst Washing Machine I’ve ever owned

published

Purchased this washer for its size and energy rating. What a waste of time, the so called eco functions don’t wash your clothes at all. The clothes come out just as dirty as when they went in even with the smallest loads. The only way to get them partially clean is to use the sheet cycle, which defeats the purpose of the energy rating as it uses a heap more water and still doesn’t get the clothes completely clean. They company should be sued for false advertising. Never again will I purchase a Fisher & Payless washer or dryer. They should stick to fridges

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Big disappointment

published

Very disappointed in this machine.
Clothes come out with dry patches, I don’t overload the machine.
Biggest disappointment is the washing of dark clothes.....have tried turning things inside out....tried many different washing products, powder vs liquid, always a mess and need rewashing. Very frustrating.
I have looked through other reviews and notice no reply from the company to anyone’s issues.....I will never buy this brand again.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Carbarandmar

CarbarandmarNSW, 2560

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best on the market

published

This has to be the largest washing machine I have used. It doesn't have an agitator, meaning I can place more in the bowl for a better clean and less tangles. It's large enough to wash the biggest of doonas.. it's wells rating is one of the highest and uses less water than our 8kg washer that we had for 10 years. I recommended a friend to buy one and she's happy that she bought it.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

harry

harryasked

CleanSmart WL1068P1 (10kg)

Hi we have a WL1068P1 washing machine. It keeps showing out of balance as soon as the pump out cycle ends and the spin is about to start. Also when cycle shows time to go it extends cycle time . From 31 minutes to go to 35 minutes to go. Machine is level and not bouncing or vibrating. Only 2.5 years old. Push bowl down and it settles quickly. I have reset machine to factory default as per instructions.
Cannot see if unit has out of balance switch or is this in the PCB ?
Regards Harry

2 answers
Alayne
Alayne

I tossed my machine out. I got so fed up with it and I bought an AEG which I am very happy with

harry
harry

Just spoke with F & P and couldn’t be happier. They are honouring the warranty and sending a technician around to fix the machine
Regards Harry

chris

chrisasked

CleanSmart

After wash finished, open lid to find clothes damp and a drip coming from underside of controls where water comes out to fill bowl, it just keeps dripping. Have made sure no blockage to drain hose. Is there a seal for this location that might need replacing?

1 answer
joy
joy

Hi Chris
You need to contact F and P. Good luck with that

kick in it G.

kick in it G.asked

CleanSmart WL1068P1 (10kg)

Does this model have bowl straps

2 answers
Alayne
Alayne

I've gone through the manual and there is no reference to bowl straps

joy
joy

Wow. I am 69 and never heard of Bowl straps. I never needed any such thing. lol This should tell you that F & P know this machine goes out of balance. The trouble with this machine is that it is bigger in diameter and shallow compared to normal depth to other machines I have had. It has no filters, No water level button which i missed. The no filter and big diameter should have sent alarm bells. I have to wash everything on Bulk wash to get enough water to wash the clothes. They have put a front load machine into a top load which you cannot do unless you have water level button. These stupid water saver machines are useless. Other machines have a water level button to over ride the mind the machine. for 1300.00 biggest waste of money. if lived closer I would give it to you for 500.00. the other problem with this machine and others, the motors are not seperate to the drums like good old days. I find more noise . the inside of this machine is different to other machines with no agitator. Has raised bit in the middle and is so rough on the clothes. Clothes come out looking like rages as well. First time i have purchased a F&P never again. also never buy from Good Guys. they do not back their product.. Hope this helps. do not wasted your money. I would look at LG

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.