3 photos
Fitbit Ionic

Fitbit Ionic

MPN: 3709169
3.0 from 123 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.3 (31)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (29)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (31)
  • Battery Life
    3.5 (31)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Do not even think about buying!!!

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Jacqueline R.
Jacqueline R.South East Queensland, QLD

Great features but battery life lets it down

published

My Fitbit Ionic from brand new has only had a battery life of 2 days. I guess if you don’t use it to record exercise it would have a longer life but that wouldn’t make sense. The watch is just over a year old and won’t wake up! I have read the help pages and it’s not the first time it’s happened. Most annoying feature and means it’s time to buy a Garmin!! Bye bye fit bit.

Purchased in February 2020 for $250.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality

Great watch that has a big defect

published

My second Fitbit Iconic has now failed. The first one lasted 14 months before it stopped charging. Fitbit replaced it for free even though it was out of warranty. 18 months later trying all the same recommended fixes the replacement has suffered the same fate -won’t charge

Purchased for $300.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Fitbit Ionic compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Melissa M.
Melissa M.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

After the 3rd replacement I went to Garmin

published

Purchased in February 2018 at The Good Guys for $399.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Nick
NickGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Great for all active people

published

This watch has worked well for the past year or so. I have had issues with other models that stopped working in this amount of time, however, this one has worked well since purchase. It is a great addition when running (tracks heart rate, steps, pace etc.), but can also be used for numerous other sports. It also tracks sleep fairly accurately, which I have also found useful. The only two downsides I have found are the band (had to be replaced after about 9 months) and the power cord - replaced recently. It connects well to my Samsung phone, however, I have had to reset it on two occasions. Overall, I would recommend this device to anyone considering a good all-rounder mid-level fitness watch.

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $202.99.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Related Articles
Previous

Top 5 Smart Watch Brands for Women

Smart Watches are a convenient and stylish way for women to keep track of their health, socialise with friends and family, and stay organised amid the business of life. Now there are more smart watches designed for women than ever before.

Isabella G.
Isabella G.30 Nov 2020
top-5-smart-watch-brands-for-women
Next
Pete
PeteGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Waste of Money

published

Purchased the Fitbit Ionic from ebay as a new product (found out it was from an on-line pawnbroker!). After only 10 weeks, screen functions became uncontrollable. Go on ebay and see how many replacement displays are on offer. Would not recommend this product.

Purchased in May 2020 at eBay for $239.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality

Love the watch but sadly they have real quality issues!

published

My first Fitbit Ionic vastest under a year and post swimming exercise wouldn't turn on again. Changed over under warranty (not fun but ok) and again less than a year later it doesn't charge again. Looks like the contacts at the back eroded and, despite cleaning, can't get it to charge again. It's not a top end watch in terms of costs but for ~$400 I still expect more. Waste of money.

Purchased in September 2018 for $400.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Scanners
Scanners
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great features but doesn’t synch reliably

published

I run IOS version of the App, and have had to reload app at least 6 times in 7 months and battle to synch at least weekly.

Features stack up well against opposition but useless if it can’t synch reliably.

Purchased in December 2019 at Retailer.

Value for Money
Build Quality
TonyOrton63
TonyOrton63Perth, WA
  • 4 reviews

This product lasted 3and a half months.

published

This product lasted 3and a half months. They replaced today. First fitbit and maybe the last. For a sports watch that cost so much I find apps poor and after market app synchronise poor. Battery life is 3-4 days so not to bad.

Purchased in March 2020 at Fremantle for $359.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Fitbit Ionic compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bad quality, short lifespan

published

Purchased my first Ionic on Dec 2017. After one 18 months it stopped working! Since it was still covered by the warranty they replaced it with a new device which lasted for just 10 months. After that time the battery was not charging anymore and the device was not covered anymore by the warranty. They just offered 25% discount for a purchase of a new product... no thanks!

Purchased in December 2017 for $350.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
dsf
dsfSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Good for my husband

published

Track everything (heart beat, calories, sleep time,) and good battery life he only charge once a week, we love it, he is controlling gaining weight with Fitbit iconic, we don’t regret bout it

Purchased in May 2020 at Amazon for $300.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Ryan
Ryan
  • 2 reviews

Problematic at best

published

Changing WiFi or phone or laptop means you play around for days trying to get it to sync again. It will randomly sync with no rhyme or reason as to why. Would be fine if you don't change time zones/areas/phone at all. Do not buy if travelling. Doing any form of exercise where you bend your wrist means your wrist touches the buttons, often pausing activities. Would not recommend.

Purchased in December 2017 at JB Hifi Home for $400.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Viv
VivSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Decent smart fitness watch

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Amazon for $199.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Jamo
JamoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Expect a limited life

published

Have just purchased an Apple Watch after going through two ionics in 18 mths
Cheap gimmicky device
Zero service capability and zero spare parts for this product
Best I was offered was 25% off the price of a new one
Fitbit does not have a service centre or agents or don’t carry spare parts
They have already been prosecuted by ACCC
Don’t waste your money on such crap products

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hifi Home for $399.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
TravelsofOz
TravelsofOzMelbourne
  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified

Dies quick. Once completely flat it’s gone for good. Well mine is!

published

In terms of tracking steps, and gps history and syncing - works like a charm.
Nothing compared to the Garmin vivoActive 4 (not 4s) which I decided to replace the Fitbit for.
My Fitbit Ionic went flat quite fast. It charges fine when it still has life left in it.
But it died so quick that when I tried to charge it while it was dead flat, it didn’t charge. No life at all. Won’t even turn on.
So, refunded. Got the Garmin.

Purchased in May 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $329.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Fitbit Ionic compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Andrea G.
Andrea G.asked

MY Ionic just got a white line across it, and the numbers disappeared it has not charged did the two button, thing not even getting battery indicator. It was working fine before that and the white line appeared now its dead. Any suggestions.

1 answer
Scanners
Scanners

Try rebooting it, instructions on the FitBit website under FAQ's

If that fails then I'd say its a warranty job.

Mario
Marioasked

This isnt a question, but I would like to offer a solution to those who are having trouble with syncing issues.
I was starting to recently get issues syncing, eg. "looking for device" or "device not found" and could not get sleep data for the last 2 nights.
On the phone, go to: Settings - Apps - Fitbit - Storage - Clear cache
then all of a sudden the sleep data appeared from the last 2 nights when I got back into the Fitbit App.

As a side note, I am disappointed that the phone is not smart enough to turn off the auto-on feature while sleeping. So I turned it off and never use the feature anymore. The benefit is that it now saves a significant amount of battery as it no-longer unnecessarily or accidentally turns on with each wrist movement.

No answers
Dan
Danasked

It seems everyone has the same issues, has anyone successfully had a refund?

1 answer
CyberKingKong
CyberKingKong

Hi Dan. Yes I have successfully had a refund last week. Please read my review. And you will find out

See all Fitbit Ionic questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySmart Watches / Fitness Trackers
Price (RRP) $399.95
Screen Size 1.4"
Connectivity4G, Bluetooth and GPS
Voice AssistantNone
SensorsAccelerometer, Altimeter, Gyro Sensor, Heart Rate Sensor and Light Sensor
InterfaceTouchscreen
LoudspeakerYes
WaterproofingWater Resistant
Internal Storage 2.5 GB
Battery Life5 days
Weight30 g
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Construction MaterialAluminium
Colour / FinishBlack, Gold
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 0816137026048
  • MPN: 3709169
  • GTIN12: 816137026024

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.