??!
1 photo
Flymo H40

Flymo H40

3.5 from 31 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(12)
(6)
(4)
(5)
(4)


    Murray

    MurrayMelbourne

    Same problem, cheap plastic components

    published

    I also had the plastic height adjust or knob just break while mowing the lawn. Rediculously priced replacement parts, a third of the cost of the mower for one plastic adjuster knob! It would be a great project for one of the kids doing product design engineering to redesign with more durable parts!

    Date PurchasedMar 2015

    Generally good, but some cheap plastic components limit its durability

    published

    Initially very impressed - cuts well and lightweight but solidly-built frame at a good price. However, one of the plastic spring adjuster knobs broke off after a couple of months, rendering it useless without a $50+ replacement part. It's a shame they didn't just make this a metal part as the mower would otherwise be top-grade. The knob will continue to be a design flaw; I've bought additional replacement knobs for when I inevitably have to switch them again.

    Date PurchasedDec 2017

    ykat

    ykatBrisbane

    • 7 reviews

    Easy to use, environmentally friendly

    published

    I switched from a petrol mower to Flymo about a month ago and very happy about it.
    It is so easy to use. It is not heavy at all. It cuts the lawn reasonably well -- good enough for my small level yard. It is better to rake the area to remove small tree branches or any other hard objects that can get stuck between the blades, prior to starting mowing. Lawn mowing feels more peaceful when you don't need to hear the engine noise.

    Date PurchasedSep 2017
    Harry.L

    Harry.LMelbourne

    • 6 reviews
    • 2 likes

    It's ok as a backup

    published

    It's ok as a backup lawn mower if your petrol lawn mower broke down. But it doesn't seem to be sturdy enough and grass get caught around the pivot rotating bit and the whole mower gets jammed unless you clear the tangled grass.
    would have thought that this machine would be easier to maintain but it actually requires more frequent maintenance then any other mower.

    Date PurchasedNov 2016

    Qurratu R.

    Qurratu R.TAS, 7248

    • 3 reviews

    very satisfied and quiet!

    published

    very quiet for early morning used. good for exercise and environmental friendly as it did not need electricity or petrol. simply use your own sweat to run over the grass. easy to adjust depends on how high you want to cut your lawn. bought it in Bunnings after we moved into the new house with wide backyard.

    Date PurchasedFeb 2017

    aitcho

    aitchoNorth Queensland, QLD

    • 8 reviews
    • 2 likes

    It's outlasted two of my petrol mowers, still cuts nicely.

    published
    Date PurchasedJun 2006

    frecs

    frecsDunedin

    • 4 reviews
    • 1 like

    Falls apart

    published

    Flymo H40 cuts well and it is easy to adjust preferred grass length. However... all this is negated by handles coming loose and wheels/blades falling off when being lifted or carried. This happens 7 times out of 10 no matter how carefully lifted. Handles are properly installed and feel secure... spend 20 minutes mowing... lift mower to place in shed and 'bang' wheels/blades hit the deck and I'm left holding only handles!

    Date PurchasedOct 2016

    Knob breakage

    published

    It's a very smooth and quiet mower but after just one mow, one of the two plastic knobs broke. Bunnings replaced it. Hope it's a one off faulty knob. Best feature is its relative light weight and the speed of the blades is pretty good. Price is relatively inexpensive too.


    michshelly

    michshellyBrisbane

    • 2 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Parts break

    published

    I had one of these. The first one a part broke 2 weeks after using it. Bunnings replaced it and the same thing happened. It's a shame !
    I also bought the grass catcher with it and the clip broke too.
    What a shame they can't take a bit more care with the design and use stronger materials than plastic !

    Ramani

    RamaniColombo

    Gives a much smoother finish than its hovering cousin

    published

    MsFixIt

    MsFixItWhyalla Stuart

    Like a hot knife through butter!

    published

    I have a medium lawn space, and was looking for an environmentally friendly alternative. This is my first manual mower and it is wonderful! My lawn was over grown (lower to mid shin height) when I used this mower for the first time. It worked wonderfully on the smaller height areas (ankle and below height), but I was even more surprised that with a little patience and slowly easing the mower to and fro it actually faired well in the longer thicker areas! I wouldn't recommend making it a habit of letting the lawn get that long, as the longer grass did get stuck in between the blades and wheels from time to time. But at that ankle height range it works like a gem with hardly any effort!


    Greg Psinas

    Greg PsinasCabuyao, Laguna, Philippines

    • 2 reviews

    What a wonderful grass cutter.

    published

    Just found these grass cutters yesterday in Paseo,Laguna , Philippines at an outlet store called HMR. They had 2 units. The one I wanted to buy the salesman said was "broke" and tried to get me to take the other. I stubbornly bought the first unit as it was quiet versus the other. Then when I got home the next day I found out how to manually adjust the blade/cutter. Works wonderful !~~!


    Sarzie Mac

    Sarzie MacSydney

    • 128 reviews
    • 87 likes

    Good for smaller lawns

    published

    I bought my Flymo second hand, so it was well used before I got it. I found that it was easy to use, although it did require a bit of energy to do a larger area. Parts of my lawn were a bit too long, making it harder to use. I think it works better on thicker grass, like Buffalo, and my lawn is a bit too patchy for it with some of the finer blades of grass not being cut easily. Also it doesn't handle bumps in the lawn very well, so you will need a smooth surface for best results.


    annakeee

    annakeeeBrisbane

    • 14 reviews

    Great Alternative to Electric and Petrol Mowers

    published

    redcane

    redcane

    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    Cannot kill it, works well

    published

    mean machine

    published

    This thing can cut wonderfully its like a motor powered cylinder mower,but there is a problem with twigs.The catcher is sold separately, it doesn't like tall lush grass,the back roller doesn't stripe the grass its just basically a rear wheel,but it is one of the best hand mowers around. simply professional.
    very reliable
    no catcher


    Russ

    RussGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

    • 8 reviews

    Flymo H40

    published

    I had one off these and abused it mercilessly. Mitre 10 were great with replacement parts. It was easy to repair but It eventually I let it die.. I have a much better lawn these days which is easier on mowers. I have an Ozito which is OK but does not cut as wide a path.
    Wide Cut. Easy to push.
    Unsuitable for heavy work

    5 comments
    Russ
    Russ

    Just got another Flymo H40. Secondhand but in excellent condition. It was a pleasure to cut the grass after putting up with the Ozito. I will be more gentle on this one so it will last for years.

    Russ
    Russ
    The Rose
    The Rose

    Scott7392

    Scott7392AU

    • 2 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Great for small lawn areas

    published

    Purchased 7 years ago after seeing my neighbours machine. No fuel required and quality of finish to the lawn is superb. Must recommend getting the optional catcher. Works well on couch and buffalo turf. I don't recommend letting your lawn get too tall between mows as this will cause difficulties. If this happens you have to start back at the highest setting first. Can also be used early morning or late at night without bothering the neighbours. Also pick up any twigs or stones before you mow. Perfect for small to medium lawns.
    Quiet, green, no running costs, an eye turner when mowing the nature strip.
    You must mow regularly and clear stones and twigs first.


    SHANT-L

    SHANT-LWaikato, NZ

    • 2 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Awesome hand mower.

    published

    Failed after 2.5 Years

    published

    OK until the roller failed. Warranty 2 years.
    Extreme disappointment Husqvarna would not replace it ex gratia.
    $149 mower plus replacement roller is now about a $200 mower.
    Anyone owning one should check the ends of the roller before the two (2) year warranty expires.
    Agent said they had never seen such a failure before! makes it all the worse a free replacement was not offered.
    Husqvarna/Flymo brand reputation fails in this instance.
    Light and cut well.
    Roller failed after 2.5 years

    1 comment
    carer1
    carer1

    I just got one , what a waste of money, it couldn't cut butter. blades don't go low enough.


    Page 1 of 2

    Questions & Answers

    Tezza

    Tezzaasked

    I must be doing something wrong, I bought a H40 second hand but it's almost new, hardly been used !!! It's simply not cutting, it just glides over the grass, it's on the lowest setting, Iv'e never used one before so I don't know what's going on, but it's simply not cutting !!

    No answers

    Heather

    Heatherasked

    Hi borrowed my friends flymo h40 whist she is away blades won’t turn have sprayed cylinder that holds blades with W40 but to no avail, any help?

    1 answer
    Murray
    Murray

    May need height adjusted, cutter blades could be jammed against base plate!


    Tristan

    Tristanasked

    How do you backlap the blades on the H40? The reel shaft is slightly larger the 1/2" so you can't use a power drill. Most other brand push mowers are 1/2" so it's possible.

    No answers

    Get an answer from our members and Flymo representatives


    Download manual

    Other Manual Lawn Mowers

    Previous
    Next

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.