?
? !
1 photo
Ford Falcon AU

Ford Falcon AU (1998-2002)

4.3 from 30 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.3

30 reviews
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Handling
    5.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (2)
  • Features
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Need my car

published

My ex is locked up with my car key and it's registered in his name but I bought it how do I get a new key or get it back to my home address

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Josh A.

Josh A.Central, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unkillable

published

Got a spare $500 then you got an AU. She will never let you down. I have owned 4 in total. Had one that o converted to manual and it was the best car i have owned to date. Nicer to drive than a manual fgx xr6 and oh did I give it 4 years of hell, not that an au cares how bad you treat it.

Purchased in August 2011 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Neil

NeilNew South Wales

Reliable and economical

published

Have had two AU Falcon wagons. The First One dual fuel I put 500000km on clock until gas computer died. Very reliable cars with beautiful interior unlike the later Falcons which seem more plastic inside. So good that I purchased a second wagon a year ago which was well looked after by a pensioner. Very economic on petrol if driven light footed I constantly get 8.7 L/100 combined running. Extremely reliable and comfortable cars that are tremendous value for money.

Purchased in January 2018 for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wagons

Find out how Ford Falcon AU compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Skyla

SkylaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

AU XR6 Tickford Spec

published

Hand built Engine, made in Australia for Australian conditions. This car has done over 200,000 kms and still has around 300,000 more to go, its held up extremely well, and requires almost no maintenance, the electronics in the car still work great. Has the original dash and everything. The build quality on these model and year are fantastic, if you can find one thats in reasonably well kept condition even at higher KM's you should pick it up. The only thing people dont like about the series 1 AU is the bug eye lights, which personally I love.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6 Limited Edition
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joe

JoeMelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Perfection at it's finest

published

I love my car use it on daily and a track car, never missed a beat , strongest car I've owned )ticking strong at 600,00km, , (owned daweoos to porches) and so far this is the greatest machine , A true drivers car ,
Goods : strong
: Cheap
: Parts are free/cheap and everywhere
: Very fun to drive
: Safe car
: if dual fuel good on fuel cost
: Parts are compatible with other models
: Easy to fix
: Rarity of tickford models

BodySedan
BadgeXR6 VCT Sprint
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2002
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bee

BeeSYDNEY

i love my car!

published

Hi I am just wondering why my car horn is going off all the time for no reason, it went off today while I was driving and people thought I was honking at them!!! and im getting honked at and sworn at, its like you've just got your hand on the horn

BodySedan
BadgeClassic Futura
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best car i have ever owned..

published

My 1999 AU Fairmont is the best car i have ever owned.I have owned 27 cars in 19 years, various makes and models, but the most reliable, cheap maintenance cost, comfortable, smooth, car i will never sell is my Fairmont. It truly is an amazing car, and 100% reliable, with very minor mechanical issues, and in 10 years of ownership i consider it a honour to have such a amazing car, now 220,000 on the clock and i know it will last another 500,000 km.

BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 1999
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dogs are the best.

Dogs are the best.Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

The best Tickford enhanced XR8

published

I have always owned Ford's, mostly Falcons. The AUII XR8 sedan I currently drive is one of the sweetest cars I have owned. Iv'e always loved the design & the 220kw Windsor in the last series 2 & in all series 3. The steering & handling is excellent, many say better than B & F series Falcons. The brakes are adequate but for those wanting more, later model big brake packages bolt straight on. Whilst the adaptive shift auto does the job, purests will prefer the 5 speed manual which really gets the little Windsor singing nicely. I strongly suggest upgrading the exhaust system if the car your looking at has the original factory system. For those looking for something a bit special, check out the T series from the same era.

BodySedan
BadgeXR8
Engine Size5.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2001
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave of WA

Dave of WAPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good alrounder, Classy Fairmont, best bang for buck out there.

published

These are a very solid A to B vehicle. Plenty of power and surprisingly economical we have 2 for our 20, 22 yr olds who are at uni. They love them. We looked at smaller cars but $6k small car is a joke compared to a $2k AU Falcon
One of our cars is a Fairmont - wow- classy interior like like no other. The paint has peeled off on one of them but as these are about value for money, reliability and safety it matters not. Very easy to service. If you are looking for fundamental transport- get one of these.

BodySedan
BadgeFutura
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2004
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wagons

Find out how Ford Falcon AU compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adam

AdamSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great value

published
BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Eric

EricPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

An outstanding Ford.

published
BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chaz

ChazMannum

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Seriously This is my baby and I can't live without it

published

I love my car she's a beauty looks really good and drives superbly, and no I couldn't live without her. For the size of the car the turning circle is so good you feel like you're driving a mini, she's quite economical depending how you drive, I had her put onto gas 10 yrs ago for more economy, it's the best car I've ever bought and I hope she goes for many more yrs too.

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2006
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vin

VinAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Reliable, quick & spacious car

published
BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2003
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Phil

PhilSoutheast, SA

  • 32 reviews
  • 20 likes

Never thought I would like a Ford

published
BodySedan
BadgeClassic Futura
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size4.0
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Just keeps going,800,000km!n

published

Series two AU Falcon 16 years old now and put 800,000km on original six cylinder motor and auto transmission. Still drives and rides quietly, comfortably and economically. Only problem is the silver paint on roof and bonnet is starting to peel from a crash repairer who didn't do a good job to last for many more driving years. Afraid to replace or update it soon, I just love it though others hate the shape of an AU.

BodySedan
BadgeForte
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size4litre
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wagons

Find out how Ford Falcon AU compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emma Parker

Emma ParkerAdelaide

I loose my breath, each and everytime.

published
BodySedan
Badge0
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

AU SERIES 3 XR8 220 kw 4 speed automatic in blueprint

published
Engine Size5.0
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeXR8
BodySedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Ford Falcon reviews

Questions & Answers

Attaulla H.

Attaulla H.asked

Falcon AU (1998-2002)

What other gas converter can I use for my au

No answers
Mark

Markasked

Falcon AU (1998-2002)

I’m here in the uk and bought a au111 falcon ute and all of a sudden the immobiliser will just cut in and it won’t start.. at around 100 dollars a go a bloke will come out and clear fault codes and then it will go again ..!!! Can I just get rid of immobiliser ? Anyone had this problem ? Can someone help a homesick Aussie bloke out ?? Thanks Mark

No answers
allan

allanasked

Falcon AU (1998-2002)

where is blinker fuse

No answers
See all Ford Falcon AU (1998-2002) questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Falcon AU (1998-2002)

Details

Compare all 6 Ford Falcon
CategoryCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price $30,690
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels15" Steel
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 68 L
Engine6 Cylinder 4L
Max Power157kW @ 4900rpm
Max Torque357Nm @ 4900rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 1998
Discontinuation dateDec 2002
Compare all 6 Ford Falcon

Other Wagons

Previous
Next

See all Wagons

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.