??!
1 photo
Ford Falcon BA

Ford Falcon BA

4.0 from 66 reviews

See the Best Wagons in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
24
4 star
25
3 star
10
2 star
6
1 star
1

Critically True

Critically TrueMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car with a few small little issues

published

The BA Ford is a very reliable vehicle, very poor fuel economy I am currently getting 14.7L/100km
The shifter has had to be replaced as well as several ignition coils, these are the only issues I have had in 2-3 years of owning this vehicle. It has a nice 182kw of power along with a high quality traction system and a nice modern interior. It is a shame there is no AUX or USB option for audio.

Purchased in September 2016 for $3,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Stillwaiting

Stillwaiting

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great cat

published

Having just lost my vy commodore in a accident so got written off , was sad to see it go , anyway shopped a round for another came across a 2004 ba which i wasnt planning on buying but now so glad i did . Only 220 ks on it , feel like im nearlly driving around in a new car , interior is way better than the vy , absolutely love it ,, only problem is the roof lining but happy to spend $300 getting ghat done , anyway absolutely over the moon with it .

BodySedan
BadgeXT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Bob Smith

Bob Smithcentral coast nsw

  • 3 reviews

aussie transport at its finest

published

Falcons are a good car, this model had some good upgrades on the safety. Other than a bit more refined interior its pretty much your standard sedan. Nothing too fancy, reliable transport, they also have a bit of power too if you are into speeding or getting the kids to school early.

Had problems with the windows and the airconditioning too was not the best.

BodySedan
BadgeFutura
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2005
Chris

Chris

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

Great Reliable Sedan with a few small issues

published

The Ford Falcon BA is a great overall family sedan, a highly reliable 4.0L inline 6 fuel injected petrol engine. the car performs well at speed and with a stock exhaust it is very quiet. it has a well designed dashboard with many button functions. The issues I have had since owning the vehicle, have been the typical ford power windows, very slow and seemingly on their way out. Also I think the petrol consumption is nothing short of ridiculous and the standard brakes don't seem very high quality as with the wheel bearings. overall a great sedan with a some small and bearable issues.

BodySedan
BadgeXT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Best car I have ever owned

published

Extremely reliable with little maintenance required. My BA Fairmont is a excellent veh with zero rust. I will be keeping it for a long time to come.
It has little road noise and is not too bad on the juice. Mechanically very little has gone wrong. It has plenty of leg room and the interior finish is good.

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2003

dani1983

dani1983AU

  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

Reliable car and cheap to maintain

published

Good car for someone who is on a tight budget and needs to get around in a reliable and relatively safe vehicle. Comfy car to drive due to its big motor. Interior is a bit cheap with a lot of plastic with some things breaking off such as the bonnet lever. Cheap to fix if something goes wrong with it. This car will do the job that you want it to do without any fuss. It loves its petrol but that’s to be expected of a vehicle this size. I recommend this car to anyone who needs a cheap and reliable vehicle to get from a to b without hassles.

BodySedan
BadgeClassic XT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

cuffe01

cuffe01AU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing A+++

published

Ok so my car is not typical, I bought it with a lot of work done to it. This review is based on my 04' XR6 turbo with the stage 3 cobra build, full xforce exhaust and a grw3884r turbo with 500rwkw. Drives like a champ and faster than any NA V8 around.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6 Turbo
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014

Scotty. S

Scotty. SPerth WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car, with a few little issues.

published
BodySedan
BadgeClassic XT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Emil

Emil

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute Junk

published
BodySedan
BadgeClassic Futura
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015

Reliable, spacious, comfortable, powerful, economical & built for Australian conditions !!

published
BodyWagon
BadgeFutura
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2005

alphacinator

alphacinatorGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 44 reviews
  • 17 likes

Budget car for now

published
BodySedan
BadgeClassic XT
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014

joh31

joh31Sydney, NSW

  • 34 reviews
  • 18 likes

Surprisingly reliable serviceable and smooth for a high mileage clunker.

published
BodyWagon
BadgeClassic XT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

2004 Xr6 turbo mark2

published

Best car we have ever owned! Brought with 70000km on clock. Flash tuned at 75000km 300kw. Has 195000 on it now. Just one issue, cd stacker failed. Other then that just regular maintenance, no problems at all! Think backend needs rebuilding now, clunky at times. Very fast, comfortable, cheap to run, tows boat and caravan well, both about 1.5 ton. Fuel economy 12.7 commuting urban mainly.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6 Turbo
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2011

Shauno

ShaunoIngleburn

Have oil leak at top front of engine running down the side of block

published

Hi all i just bought ba xr6 ute 2005 model it has a oil leak looks like its coming from the head but not sure. The oils running down towards alternator any ideas what it is or could it be the head?? If so roughly how much to replace as im in sydney n.s.w also the main belt looks a bit warn like its rubbing on the pulley is that the drive belt or timing belt as all the adds i have read say they have a timing chain? The ute has roughly 160,000 ks also the engine light came on also lol think i may have got a lemon...any help would be greatly appreaciated cheers

BodyUte
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Someone Special...

Someone Special...New South Wales

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car!

published
BodySedan
BadgeFutura
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
John A

John ADarwin, Northern Territory

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Mixed Bag

published

2003 build.Bought it at the auctions in Nov 2004 with 14000ks. It had an intermittent fuel/ electrical system issue that no one could resolve from when I picked it up. I owned it until June 2013. From about 2007 it started to let go and parts had to be replaced regularly. It had great aircon and the auto transmission never was a problem. It was heavy on fuel around town. Quite a comfortable car especially on long trips. Like most things built these days you shouldn't expect it to be trouble free especially after the warranty period is over.

BodySedan
BadgeFutura
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size4L

Great

published

my xr6 is fast, fuel efficient but a pain in the bum the icc is giving me grief at the moment which I'm not happy about and I've had to replace all the suspension on it has it was all just about stuffed and had to replace a few other things

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
TransmissionAutomatic

milo

milowodonga

don't ever buy this car lemon.

published

This is the worst car I have ever owned. Constant problems from day 1. I will never own a ford again after this car. Only owned the car for 1year and spent over $3000 on just maintaining it. Front door lock actuator went so car couldn't lock, radiator needed replacing, diff mount cracked, new ball joints and boots, some thing with the engine that two different mechanics had to do. All new ford bolts and gaskets for engine. If u want a lemon buy a ford. Even Henry Ford was quoted saying he didn't get rich off selling cars he got rich off selling parts for the cars. So what does that say. Made to break.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6 Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic

Joshua

JoshuaSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Towed our caravan almost 10,000kms!

published

Our car never let us down on our caravan trip. Still own the car and can't bring ourselves to sell it, if we did the next would be an XR6. Fuel consumption was huge though but still saved a lot of money versus purchasing a 4wd. Our van was just under 2,000kg. Should have gotten the wagon which has the leaf springs so the rear end didn't sag so much.

BodySedan
BadgeFutura
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size4.0L V6

Dave S

Dave SWollongojng

Great car for carrying stuff

published

I bought a 2004 BA wagon and had it for 9 months then stupidly sold it too soon. It had plenty of power from the twin cam barra motor if a bit thirsty around town. On long trips the cruise control is fantastic! It was a bit hard to see when reversing and the front seat had a sag to the right. The electric window master switch needed replacing and 2 door locks failed. If you keep the fluids topped up and use good oil and 98 petrol it won't let you down. Paint faded on the front bumper also the clearance was a problem for putting the front up on ramps (had to make extensions).
Don't take it off road as you will get bogged! Otherwise I would get another one if I had lots of stuff to haul around.

BodyWagon
BadgeSR XT
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 4

See all Ford Falcon reviews

Questions & Answers

anthony

anthonyasked

Ba ford random engine cuts then no crank for few minutes. IV replaced cam crank sensors neutral safety ,throttle body and steering column ignition but still doing it. It seems to just throw a different code each time I check it with nothing to do with its problem could it be ecu ? I haven't any money for mechanics I do my own work

No answers

Kerri E.

Kerri E.asked

What will be the problem in the morning it will drive good for abit when I get to a stop sign or lights it will putt like it's running out of petrol if I don't keep the revs up it will cut out. Then when I try to start it again Il put it in drive or reverse it will just cut out ??

1 answer
john west
john west

change the coils


Raymond M.

Raymond M.asked

Is 2002 au compatible with 2003 xr6 auto . Car will not go in reverse and revs high in forward

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Details

CategoryCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price $50,130
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels17" Alloy
Doors4
Seats5
Fuel Consumption9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 68 L
Engine8 Cylinder 5.4L
Max Power260kW @ 5250rpm
Max Torque500Nm @ 4250rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2002
Discontinuation dateDec 2005
Compare all Ford Falcon

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.