??!
3 photos
Ford Falcon FG

Ford Falcon FG (2008-2014) (page 2 of 6)

4.3 from 111 reviews

Reviews

(73)
(19)
(6)
(8)
(5)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (4)
  • Handling
    3.8 (4)
  • Braking
    4.3 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (4)
  • Features
    3.5 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (4)


Emilyh

EmilyhCranbourne

  • 2 reviews

Easy going comfy car

published

Handles beautifully around corners
Comfy on long drives and has a 2hr rest reminder
Love the interior and the embroidered Xr6 on the seats
Generally costs $70 to the tank to fill gets about 700km which is pretty good considering it's age and kms (126000)
Service costs me around $100 (oil filter & 10l of oil)

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Love my G6E

published

Purchased 2008 model with 11K on the clock. Written off in accident six weeks ago (Aug 2017) with 230K on clock but was still running well. Only had regular services, new tyres and new part in air con last summer. It was like driving a cloud. I was so happy with it I purchased another G6E. So sorry Ford has stopped making them.

BodySedan
BadgeG6E
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2009
Jonesy

JonesyAdelaide

Love this car

published

Just love this car and never owned a falcon before. Power, ride, looks everything. Traded my ultra boring camry 3.0lt v6 (no comparison) but get the exact same economy. Got the limited so decked out with leather, sat nav etc etc. Shame Aussie's ignorantly turned their backs on these cars!

BodySedan
BadgeXR6 Limited Edition
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Ali

AliCoburg

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Rubbish

published

I used to love ford but now i hate them and will not buy another one again. I have the diff bushes crack the power steering rack leak and that all happened when my car was at 30000km and i couldn't take it back because warranty has expired. I haven't done many kms and thats what i get.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2009

Ford Convert

Ford ConvertMelbourne

2012 FG MK2 Wow, what a car

published
BodySedan
BadgeXT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014

Nat

Nat

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rubbish cars

published

Knock in the diff after 38000km the bushes need replacing, leaking steering hose.
It's a fuel burner can't get more the 335km out of a full tank.
Clicking noise around the injectors.
The only thing I like about the car is the inside space nothing else. I will never give ford another dollar.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014

iamagirl69

iamagirl69South Australia

  • 83 reviews
  • 65 likes

Good car for long drives, but too heavy in the front- lots of braking and suspension problems.

published
BodyWagon
BadgeFutura
Engine Size4.9
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013

327chev

327chevAuckland

Most underrated car on the road.

published
BodySedan
BadgeG6E
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Greg

Greg

  • 4 reviews

2010 fg6 limited edition.

published

To start with I have owned several Falcons in 50+ yrs the worst being an '88 EA series 1 disaster. But this one is one out of the box. Fuel economy is excellent (what you could expect from a little buzz box) Comfort is great and leg & boot space is terrific. I despise Ford for dropping the manufacturing and believe the advertising boffins missed the opportunity to push these features. After many years in the trade servicing many "prestige" brands. I can say they are all snob value. This car is as good as it gets especially at the price. Power, comfort style handling & overall finish is as good as any high priced European car

BodySedan
BadgeG6 Limited Edition
Engine Size5.0
Transmission100
Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Greg
Greg
Lisa

LisaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best car I've owned

published
BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

JOHN & CHERYLENE MARTIN

JOHN & CHERYLENE MARTINMelton South

  • 2 reviews

A Great Car easy to drive, i have owned a Ford Falcon for many years First XM 2 Door in 1964.

published

I Suppose over the years I would have average 30,000 km per year for 55 years ,some Km do the sums. .Very reliable ,never had any trouble with Engine, Diff, Auto. etc. My dilemma will be in the future what do I purchase to replace the Ford Falcon .A Merc or a BMW .

BodySedan
BadgeG6 50th Anniversary
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012

Freezer

FreezerMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Amazing

published
BodySedan
BadgeClassic XT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Suss

Suss

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Aussie Gold. Bargain!

published

Pleasure to drive, well made, durability- for a bit costly on petrol, No diesel ver. CHEAP to keep. Who needs that overpriced imported rubbish..... no thanks. Loved to have heard about the FGX in time alas.....
Oz lost jobs b/c of lack of patriotic support and blind snobbery. FOOLISH Aussies - have lost out forever!

BodySedan
BadgeG6E Turbo
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2010

Steven Seagull

Steven SeagullQLD, 4000

  • 7 reviews

It will take China 50 years if ever, to catch up on this build quality.

published

I have owned 3 Falcons over the years and they just go and go and go.
Fantastically reliable, economical considering the size and everything you need in a car.
It will take China at least 50 years if ever, to catch up on this build quality.
I'm not looking forward to the Chinese Fords at all, in fact, I don't like anything Chinese !
Farewell to Ford Australia.

BodySedan
BadgeG6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
AlphaMaster

AlphaMasterAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Car!

published

The driving experience is fantastic. Performance is good for the price (Mine is the XR6). The reliability of the engine (Barra I think??) is well known in the industry. The interior is decent enough, a little plasticy but not overly cheap. No reliability issues so far. This running costs are decent for a 4L V6, so can't complain there.
Overall great value for money (especially second hand).

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Rusty

RustyGold Coast

Remote

published

Hi all, I have a G6E 50th Anniversary model, the remote control for stereo/ navigation system has had it, where would I get another, I had only obtained car recently off family member and they never used it, after market controller would be fine as well, need help, Thanks Russell

BodySedan
BadgeG6 50th Anniversary
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

DSC warning light

published

2 months after having my car serviced (100,000km's) & 3 months after replacing all my tyres the DSC light has appeared this morning & wont go even after turning off/on the car. This apparently dis-engages the cruise control also. Is this a known issue & what generally causes this? I'm hoping for a simple solution, rather than having to pay a fortune for a ford service department to diagnose & upsell any other issues.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6 Turbo 50th Anniversary
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2010

Pound for pound best car on the road

published

I have a 4 cylinder Falcon. Goes just as hard as a six cylinder with a 4 cylinder fuel economy. Great car! Plenty of room and features. It is a pity the Australian public have stopped buying these type of cars and manufacturing has ceased for the Falcon. The Falcons and Commodoes will be sadly missed.

BodySedan
BadgeG6 EcoBoost
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Malcolm Reed

Malcolm ReedMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great transmission, nice motor and options; still missed some finishing touches

published
BodySedan
BadgeXR6 50th Anniversary
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2010
Engine Size3998 ml

paracin

paracinSydney, NSW

  • 29 reviews

Excellent car

published

I had this car for 4 years and 140,000 km. Big and comfortable for both commuting and family trips. Quick when racing off the lights, real sleeper. Extremely well equipped for a basic model, safe, excellent headlights. Other than regular servicing and to topup windscreen washer, never opened the bonnet in 140,000 km. Adequately economical for a 4 liter 6 cylinder engine, especially when using better quality petrol (not E10). Tows without problems. Simply fantastic car, one of the most satisfying I ever owned.

BodySedan
BadgeXT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2010
Engine Size4.0L

Page 2 of 6

See all Ford Falcon reviews

Questions & Answers

philbeebro1234

philbeebro1234asked

Hey guys I have a FG xr6 Mk2 lux pack
My question is. Has anyone come accross the issue of the lower lights on the ICC not working ? Aswell as the window switches

But have also noticed that the gear shifter lights stay on when the lights are off but will switch off when there on ? But the P is lit up

No answers

Francisco B.

Francisco B.asked

Dash show's park, neutral & car won't start

1 answer
Ozzesty t.
Ozzesty t.

Selector cable often break where it connects to the transmission. If it was in drive when broke that's why it won't start.


Francisco B.

Francisco B.asked

I have a 2009 FG g6e & it won't start the dash show's park & neutral flashing can U help me please,

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.