4 photos
Ford Fiesta WS

Ford Fiesta WS (2009)

4.0 from 35 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ford

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
  • Features
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Aleks T.
Aleks T.Perth, WA

10 years and still indestructible.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2010 at John Hughes Car Sales for $16,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alyssa K
Alyssa KSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes

Not a smooth drive

published
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good on fuel, handles well, cruise control but their cost saving design really annoys me!

published
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
savannahp
savannahpAU
  • 27 reviews
  • 8 likes

A reliable, great looking car.

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WS compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tommy
TommyMelbourne
  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Trouble with transmission

published

Purchased this car brand new. Good enough drive/easy to maneuver, but the transmission they use has a fault that Ford do not seem able to fix.

Quite often when accelerating, the car will shudder a bit. First few times I mentioned to the service dept, they said they updated the software. Eventually had to get replaced and still had issues.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aynur Anna
Aynur AnnaMelbourne

Terrible

published

I have a fiesta zetec. It's the most unsafe car l have ever had. Would never recommend a ford to anyone. They are friendly at first when you purchase the car and then they are rude and not helpful with all the problems the car has had. The car is a LEMON. There needs to be lemon laws to protect the consumer. Will never purchase a ford again.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good small compact car but POOR TRANSMISSION

published

Powershift transmission is terrible. It often shudders and have issues with shifting on lower gears (especially on road humps). Sent it to Ford to fix the issue, but after a few days issue was back. Every time I bring it in for it's annual service, issue is fixed but after a few days it always comes back. I've had the car close to 5 years now and it's getting worse. Although its fuel efficient and easy to park, the transmission is very bad. If I had known that it's a common issue with Ford Fiesta cars, we probably wouldn't have purchased the car.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Mary
MaryNew South Wales
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst car ever

published

Iv had trouble with this car from day one transmission shudders and jerks feels like the gear box is going to fall out. Have taken it back to dealers 11 times and still no better . Dealing with ford and head office is total waste of time they are as hopeless as the car . Dont ever buy a ford

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vince R
Vince RSydney

What a lemon

published

Our 2009 Fiesta CL has gone through 2 sets of brake pads and rotors. Now at 90,000 km our timing belt has failed. It was due to be changed at 150,000. The warranty for Ford is nowhere near any of the other car brands. We will never buy another Ford again - EVER.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WS compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Falling apart

published

I have a 2009 automatic Ford Fiesta and it is falling apart. Also is now underivable as it will not select a gear. Just want to burn it!!

TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mwo
mwomelbourne

This car shouldn't be in the market

published
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kyle Kong
Kyle KongBrisbane
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Little car

published
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
david hambleton
david hambleton
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WS compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ricknet
ricknet
  • 33 reviews
  • 16 likes

Slow for corners.. Why?

published
BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Ford Fiesta reviews

Questions & Answers

Graham M.
Graham M.asked
Fiesta WS (2009)

I have a fiesta Zetec 2009 model only 66k on dial ,it has seized at transmission and can’t be engaged to drive or out of park, it rolls forward ,I have had a mechanic tell me that this is an expensive issue and needs a complete box which would cost an arm and leg is their any easier solution cost if available ,cheers

No answers
selenaj
selenajasked
Fiesta WS (2009)

Hi. I am looking at a 2009 Fiesta Zetec that has come up for sale. What problems should I be looking out for?
Thanks.

2 answers
Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

They are a good car. If it's an auto make sure it is not the dual clutch type. Look at service history, kilometres, city or country travel, how it has been looked after, general appearance, tyres, rust and any evidence of accident damage. They ride well, are quite in town and on the highway, economical, light steering effort and have a reasonable sound system if you are not under 25. There can be unwanted surprises with any secondhand car, buying from a dealer may be a better bet than a private sale. Depends on price and if you have mechanical knowledge or a good honest mechanic. The blinker switch may be on the left and windscreen wipers on the right, the 2011 WT model is.

Fred
Fred

I have the 2009 WS Zetec auto. Make sure the services are up to date, the timing belt change is expensive. Check the front rotors and pads. They're not a big job, but make sure you're supplied the correct rotors as I was sold WT rotors which have a smaller PCD (wheel stud spacing) and had to stuff around and pay more for TRW which are OEM and have no coating and so rust. Depending on driving style and place (country vs city) they could need changing at 140-160k kms. I've found the auto box is a rather abrupt changer, and the power is hardly exciting. Nor is the fuel economy because they have to work so hard. The blinkers are indeed on the left, which was no drama for me as my SUV also has them on the left. If the blinkers stop working, check the mirror wire. I changed the blinker stalk assembly and that wasn't the problem. I find it a bit rattly with cheap-sounding doors and the stereo makes the exterior chrome trims vibrate, which is really annoying. The stereo pumps out pretty reasonable sound, but I've had issues with reading USB sticks. I occasionally get an error "line busy" which if it persists, requires a battery reset. Otherwise it's comfortable and surprising roomy for such a tiddler (I am quite tall). The ride and handling is superb for such a little car. It really does feel like a bigger car once you're under way, and it swallows up bends with aplomb. As long as they're not uphill bends, that is. The Zetec is by far the best choice, more airbags, better stereo, cruise control an upgraded interior and suspension. Be aware that the 16" Zetec wheels are often knocked about with gutter rash, and they are really expensive to replace, even second-hand, as in around $300 depending on condition and whether fitted with a decent tyre.

Fred
Fredasked
Fiesta WS (2009)

I have a 2009 WS Fiesta Zetec with the 1.4l/auto gearbox combination. Purchased second-hand from interstate and the car was well past needing a service. I put it in to the local mechanic to have the timing belt changed, plus new plugs, water pump, oil and filter and I fitted a new air cleaner myself. I drove the car some distance before the service, now after the service the car feels down on power (there's not a lot anyway, I know) and the fuel economy has plummeted, from 6-7 to 8-9. The day after I got it back the car went into limp-home mode (error code P061C) but a long drive yesterday didn't see that happen again. The car struggles at 100km/hr and hunts between 3rd and top gears. A curious and annoying aspect of the timing belt change was the cam seals, which come with the belt kit. The main cam sprocket (or sprockets, since it's DOHC) has to be removed to change the seals- but they are held on by bolts which have to be replaced, as they are "single use only" or torque to yield. They don't come in the kit and this caused a delay of 4-5 days (with a weekend in the middle), so the car was at the workshop for 8 days. I'm concerned that something else happened at the workshop, or the camshaft timing is out. Any ideas?

4 answers
Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

The cam timing could be out. Normally the cams are held in position whilst the belt is being changed. Have you looked up the P061C code? It seems it's related to an engine monitoring system for engine RPM which could point to the cam timing being out. I don't know why the cams seals were replaced unless they were leaking or if your vehicle has high kilometres. If the WS air cleaner is the same as the WT it is a good idea to clean our the rubbish at the bottom. Leaves, paper, plastic etc can gather there. A light sheet of paper or plastic could be sucked up under the element and partially block it, a long shot, I know.

Fred
Fred

Thanks, Stevo. The first thing that came to mind was the cam timing. I drove the car for several hundred kms before the belt change so have some comparison before and after. The error code points to the cam sensor or the crank angle sensor. It's booked back into the workshop. I did a 100km+ drive after the cam belt change and it was woeful: even worse, when I checked under the bonnet, the ancillary belt was beginning to fall apart. It seems that as a stretch belt it didn't like being reused. The cam seals were changed because they came with the kit. I've asked the kit retailer to look into why they put cam seals in even if they might not be needed, but if they are changed, the sprocket has to come off and so new bolts are required. Catch 22.

Fred
Fred

It was the cam timing. The belt kit came with three different bolts to "lock" the crankshaft and they used the wrong one.

See all Ford Fiesta WS (2009) questions

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Ford Fiesta WS (2009)

Details

Compare all 8 Ford Fiesta
CategoryHatchbacks
Starting Price $20,490.00
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 43 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power88kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque152Nm @ 4050rpm
Country of ManufactureGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2009
Discontinuation dateDec 2009
Compare all 8 Ford Fiesta

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.