??!
4 photos
Ford Fiesta WT

Ford Fiesta WT (2010-2013)

3.5 from 60 reviews

Reviews

3.5

60 reviews
5
(26)
4
(9)
3
(8)
2
(4)
1
(13)
  • Build Quality
    1.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.0 (2)
  • Handling
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    2.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    1.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    4.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Natalie

NatalieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

DO NOT BUY

published

Ford Fiesta Automatic Powershift transmission has been known to have issues, they have been fined by ACCC but nothing is happening for customers, I have gone back 4 times since I have bought this car in 2013 and they use excuses like it's my driving or I need to speed more on the highway. I asked how many times do I need to come back before I get a refund and they said until it is fixed, this was after the second replacement. I will never buy from Ford again and now I cannot onsell as I wouldn't put someone else through this. Absolutely disgusting, I have put in a customer complaint and received no contact.

Purchased in February 2013 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Gear Shifting
See all answers
Stevo GJ

Stevo GJNSW, 2340

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don'y buy the Automatic

published

Purchased in August 2015 at Ford Dealers for A$13,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rachael

Rachael

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This car has been a Lemon since day 1

published

This car has spent so much time at ford almost everything has been replaced. Ford have been really good with replacing parts under warranty. I will never buy another ford after this. It has had all the fuel system, pump, line replaced twice. Gearbox completely replaced (as part of class action) clutch replaced. Front dash and all disks replaced. And still has CONSTANT problems everyday.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
1 comment
Rachael
Rachael
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WT compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Natalie

NataliePerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good little run around

published

The performance has been really good so far, after six years (and a few charges) I have only now had to change the battery which I think is rather good.
The car handles very well and is responsive to movements, it is good in traffic and comfortable to drive. I wish the Bluetooth didn't just connect to your phone for calls made and received but also connected to Bluetooth devices for music.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Lindsay

LindsaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good Small car

published

Bought after Trading Ford KA2 Collection with over 200000 ks on the clock, Fiesta very Low Ks 38000 so far good car bought Manual, instead of powershift which was problematic, So Far fiesta is a great drive and, Like the Rd holding good power for City commute and nice handling, I have the CL model which is not much different to the LX or Zetec.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Janine

JaninePerth

  • 4 reviews

Great Car

published

Great to drive, park, fast, good visibility, good size boot.
I love this car it's quite sedate before you hit 80klms, but it goes from 80 to 120 in no time a no effort. Have to be mindful of the speed as very easy on the open road to be breaking the speed limit in a quick time.
Handles well on corners. In 8 years the car has had one battery replaced, nothing else and no other issues.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010
Jay

Jay

  • 10 reviews

Good small car, But!

published

The ford fiesta is certainly a wonderful small car!
The pro's involves great handling, good mileage, great speakers and its good looks.
The biggest drawback of the car is the transmission. The car shudders and struggles a lot on low gear(1-2).
Other than that it works great!

Fun to drive!

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Niamh

Niamh

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

Love driving my fiesta. Have had no issues so far. I bought a 2010 model 2 years ago and she is still going strong. Very reliable and cheap to run. I regularly use the car to transport 3 of my dogs - two rotties and a maltese and they all fit comfortably on the back seat.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015
ALANAKELLY

ALANAKELLYKerang

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this

published

I love the ford econetic and its fuel economy and how quite it is on the road. This car is amazing and i love it. So sporty and drives great. Love the electrical features and how compatible it is with your phone. One of the smartest cars that ive come across.

BadgeECOnetic
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WT compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rheeann

RheeannSydney

  • 2 reviews

Perfectly Styled Little Car.

published

I absolutely LOVE my fiesta. It is a manual car that I have owned for 5 years and I have no had one major issue with it. I love it so much that when my husband suggested buying a bigger 'family' car, I struggled to find one that I liked. The interior feels quality and is really nicely put together. The voice recognition isn't very good with my voice but it does work most of the time. I love the colour white that ford has. The power is quite good for a small car.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2012
Andy

AndyGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Good deal from Valley Motors

published

My Ford Fiesta 2013 performs well and the manual transmission is easy to use and the car does not cost a lot to run and the mechanics at my last service said the car was in good condition. I got a good trade in on my 2005 Getz from Valley Ford Traralgon and although the car had done a few kilometers I purchased the car for $8800 but AAMII indeed it for $11200

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
SRT

SRTPendle Hill

  • 8 reviews

Great handling but transmission is not consistent

published
BadgeCL
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
epsoft

epsoftRidgewood QLD

  • 2 reviews

Manual diesel is the way to go

published

Had a manual turbo diesel Fiesta from new and loved it. Economy was outstanding, plenty of torque on the hills and handled well on the bendy bits. Not much room in the back seats as you would expect but plenty of room up front (I'm 2m tall!). Doesn't come with a spare tire when new, well worth buying a spare. Being a diesel you need to get the particulate filter up to temperature on a regular basis otherwise they can be costly but otherwise brilliant little car. Only sold it as I moved to acreage a needed a 4WD.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2011
M Hatty

M HattyNarre Warren

Not the best, but still great.

published
BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Reliable and great service

published

I was lucky enough to get a Ford at Volcan Ford Wollongong, they gave me a great price and they were honest about the pros and cons for a first car. They installed cruise control for no extra charge. There have been a few little issues, the wing mirror and the under-car spoiler is expensive to replace, but overall I'm happy with my little car!

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WT compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RABIN

RABINBRISBANE QLD

this car has big issue with gear box or whole engine.please never buy.only body looks nice.

published

I bought ford fiesta 2013 brand new from ford dealer. Since my first day, I found it has something wrong but keep on driving because it was my first new car in my life. I thought I will be fine after driving few kilometres. but never improved. now its just 3 years old. I took to ford service centre last week and they said nothing wrong with this car. they did not do anything at all. I have no idea where to go now. This car has transmission shudders, jerks feels like gear box is breaking down instantly and loss of power in the low gears speed.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013
Evergreen

EvergreenAustralia

Manual Diesel Fantastic

published

Great car.Manual gearbox is smooth and precise.Turbo Diesel motor is fantastic, instant power, great for hills, no lag, 5k/l no matter how hard you drive. Easy to self service. Nice zetec seats. Similar handling as a Mazda 5. Excellent solid build quality, high grade components that do not break. Highly recommend over a DSG gearbox that seem to cause the majority of Ford issues. Test drove a petrol model and found it lacking bottom end power as well as sluggish throttle return. I am extremely happy with this vehicle and highly recommend it.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Grant

GrantMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Watch for Crook Clutches / Faulty / Noisy Gearbox

published

Had for 2 years and then traded after clutches replaced due to shuddering (known Ford DSG / clutch issue) , and the surfacing of gearbox noises. Dealer advised that gearbox would be repaired / replaced under warrantee if it fails. Had to wait for month for clutch replacement as there was a large queue ahead of us. Very comfortable car just let down by clutch / gearbox issues. Traded in on VW Polo after wife refused to drive Fiesta again. The Polo has a similar DSG gearbox to Fiesta but VW does not appear to suffer from DSB / clutch problems in past few years.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Ray

RaySydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car and quality built!

published

Sensational driving/handling, tyre noise on rough roads is sometimes louder than expected due to the hatch. Great transmission and love the direct gear changes making it feel like its a manual. Never had an issue and reliability is 10/10, only ever change oil/filter and wiper blades every 12mths. Not sure why people complain about the gearbox! Its design to jerk and shutter under acceleration and deceleration, same as a manual vehicle with twin clutch plates if you are not at a consistent throttle percentage. When you constantly go from 25 to 50 to 75% throttle the clutches are working to provide acceleration with minimal fuel usage.
Can't praise the design enough from ford to do away with slush boxes of the past!

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Ray
Ray

Two years later, two more Ford services and there is no stopping this little car. 90k on the clock and not one major problem to date, other than battery replacement.
Well done Ford.
Plan to buy another at the end of the year, as replacement!

Alegend86

Alegend86Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Little Hatch. Poor Transmission

published
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Page 1 of 3
See all Ford Fiesta reviews

Questions & Answers

Craig

Craigasked

Fiesta WT (2010-2013)

The Range Transmission Sensor Replacement

No answers
selenaj

selenajasked

Fiesta WT (2010-2013)

Hi, I am looking at a 2010 auto LX that has done 160k as a first car for my son. Looks in great condition, but I am seeing from the above reviews that the auto models seem to have problems. Do I now discount this from the list? Thanks.

6 answers
danielrya87
danielrya87

160k is getting up there, I'd be search for something around 100k and not ford if it doesnt have a conventional automatic transmission.

selenaj
selenaj

Thank you. I have been looking for weeks now looking at holden barina, astra, ford focus, fiesta.... Agghhhhhh

danielrya87
danielrya87

I'd be including japanese cars in that list like yaris, swift, jazz, mazda 2 and so on.

Anna

Annaasked

Fiesta WT (2010-2013)

I am buying an econetic on saturday. It is 2011 model, with 200+ km on the clock. ls there anything i need to be aware of, other than maybe the diesel particulate filter problems?

2 answers
Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

If the kilometres were done on the highway the 200+ is probably OK. Manual gearbox would be better than 6 speed dual clutch auto. Diesels like long runs, not a city commuter environment. Be wary if it's a private sale re future problems although I think Dealer warranty does not apply to 100+ 2nd hand vehicles.

Anna
Anna

Thanks Stevo. It is a manual transmission, and the km were mostly done on highway. I have searched and searched, but can't seem to find any info about things going wrong with these cars, other than the DPF and the dry transmission they had in the auto's. Hopefully it's as reliable as all the reviews seem to think...

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.