??!
16 photos
Ford Fiesta

Ford Fiesta (page 2 of 8)

WT, WS, WZ, etc...
3.6 from 150 reviews

Reviews

3.6

150 reviews
5
(66)
4
(31)
3
(13)
2
(9)
1
(31)
  • Build Quality
    2.1 (7)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (7)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (7)
  • Handling
    3.8 (6)
  • Braking
    2.9 (7)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.7 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (6)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (6)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (6)
  • Features
    3.3 (6)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (6)
Previous
Next
Jen

JenSydney

FORD Shudders

published

I purchased the car 2 years ago and it has flaws in it's transmission. It has been repaired 3 times in 2 years, Ford have extended the warranty because of the issue. Initially they were reluctant to fix but had far too much pressure. Mechanics at Ford said "it drives like this because 3-4 people are driving the car and have different driving styles".... Really, it's a car. It's sluggish, shudders and adolescents in the house cannot drive it to Uni, as they feel unsafe with it's performance.

BadgeTrend
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Jay

Jay

  • 10 reviews

Good small car, But!

published

The ford fiesta is certainly a wonderful small car!
The pro's involves great handling, good mileage, great speakers and its good looks.
The biggest drawback of the car is the transmission. The car shudders and struggles a lot on low gear(1-2).
Other than that it works great!

Fun to drive!

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Annie

AnnieBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Has been good but not without issues

published

Loved it at first as the engine was efficient, handling was great and I loved the exterior look. Over time however the ecoboost 1L engine became more and more annoying particularly when on hills as the car was just not as responsive as one might hope. Issues also arose at the first scheduled service with a coolant leak covered by warranty, however at year 2 another warranty issue arose and by the end of year 3 the tyres need replacing after only 30000 km of mostly city driving

BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Julz

Julz

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best daily car EVER

published

I used to own a highly modified 2008 Subaru STI pushing 300kw at the wheels. I sold it and purchased the Fiesta ST as a downgrade but boy was I surprised.. It's actually more fun and easier to drive! Besides going slow in a straight line this thing is literally a train on rails when cornering. Boost kicks in very early around 2000rpm so it's always feeling zippy. I get about 600km per tank of fuel. Very decent on petrol especially when I drive partially aggressive.

BadgeST EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Jacob C

Jacob CAU

  • 6 reviews

Love It!

published

Have a 2016 Fiesta ST with the optional Mountune Kit.
I’ve prevously had a Honda S2000 and Infiniti G37. This car is obviously much smaller than those two, but doesn’t mean it doesn’t pack a punch.

Very responsive steering and throttle. Only complaints are that the Sync Voice system is largely unresponsive and slow.

In all areas of actually driving the car, it’s excellent.

BadgeST EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Niamh

Niamh

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

Love driving my fiesta. Have had no issues so far. I bought a 2010 model 2 years ago and she is still going strong. Very reliable and cheap to run. I regularly use the car to transport 3 of my dogs - two rotties and a maltese and they all fit comfortably on the back seat.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015
McDev

McDevPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it!

published

I was a bit wary prior to buying my Ford fiesta ST before due to well known 'ford problems'. But then as I research, it's just the power shift ones! Months later on, I'm still enjoying my car averaging 6.6L/100km in mixed driving. Best of both worlds! The only problem I found in the car is that my cheeks hurt from so much smiling as while I drive it!

BadgeST
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Doug

Doug

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent car!

published

Very good fuel consumption, easy to park and drive around. Has all the features necessary. Big booth as well. Hatch is a good option for carrying bags around. Very comfortable ergonomic seats. This is the best car I have ever owned. Drives very well in the city and on the open road.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Alyssa K

Alyssa KSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 17 reviews

Not a smooth drive

published
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Slik57

Slik57Adelaide

  • 4 reviews

What a ripper

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2014
ALANAKELLY

ALANAKELLYKerang

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this

published

I love the ford econetic and its fuel economy and how quite it is on the road. This car is amazing and i love it. So sporty and drives great. Love the electrical features and how compatible it is with your phone. One of the smartest cars that ive come across.

BadgeECOnetic
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Ash Z

Ash ZHopetoun, WA

  • 7 reviews

Perfectly designed Hatchback

published

Green 5speed.
They should've left the design process and stopped when they reached the WS.
It's sleek, looks awesome in the metallic green with low profile wheels.
Amazingly zippy with excellent pickup off the go and smooth change through the gears.
Parts and components are easy to get and cheap, not that we've had to replace anything on it, but at least if we need to, we know we're covered.
It fits 3 kids in the back comfortably and plenty of room in the front for a 6ft adult.
Brakes can get a lil spongy at times, but nothing a small bleed doesn't fix. Great on fuel economy and they just last.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2010

Good on fuel, handles well, cruise control but their cost saving design really annoys me!

published
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017
savannahp

savannahpAU

  • 27 reviews
  • 8 likes

A reliable, great looking car.

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Tommy

TommyMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Trouble with transmission

published

Purchased this car brand new. Good enough drive/easy to maneuver, but the transmission they use has a fault that Ford do not seem able to fix.

Quite often when accelerating, the car will shudder a bit. First few times I mentioned to the service dept, they said they updated the software. Eventually had to get replaced and still had issues.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rheeann

RheeannSydney

  • 2 reviews

Perfectly Styled Little Car.

published

I absolutely LOVE my fiesta. It is a manual car that I have owned for 5 years and I have no had one major issue with it. I love it so much that when my husband suggested buying a bigger 'family' car, I struggled to find one that I liked. The interior feels quality and is really nicely put together. The voice recognition isn't very good with my voice but it does work most of the time. I love the colour white that ford has. The power is quite good for a small car.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2012
JLJL

JLJLVictoria, Australia

Great car with no problems.

published
BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
DarkAngel

DarkAngelVictoria

  • 5 reviews

Excellent little car

published

Had car for 8yrs..GOOD::No problems..Handles well..Cheap to run..love the boot..gets my shopping in..Amazing..BAD::No guts for overtaking..Few blindspots..Air con not cold enough..my car is one of the last made in Germany before all the faults started..I drove through floods..Water just above door level..Watch Top Gears Test Drive..Done 115,000kms No signs of

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2009
Allan

AllanBroken Hill, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Economy Class Ride

published
BadgeAmbiente
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

You Get What You Pay For. Unfortunately!

published
BadgeAmbiente
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Page 2 of 8
See all Ford Fiesta reviews

Questions & Answers

Roy O.

Roy O.asked

Fiesta

As a fiesta eco boost 1000cc got a cam belt or time omg chain

No answers
Nico

Nicoasked

Fiesta WP (2004-2005)

I am considering purchasing a 2005 Ford Festiva. Are there any common issues associated with this model?

No answers
Rach

Rachasked

Fiesta

Hi, I'm looking at buying a 2010 Ford Fiesta LX that's done 90,000ks. It just had its 90k service.
I've had it RAA checked and they've said it's due for timing belt change (10 years/150,000ks). How much would this cost? And are there any other issues I should consider? Thanks

4 answers
Kristie
Kristie

Pretty sure I never changed my timing belt and I’m at 180k

Fred17
Fred17

I purchased a 2009 WS Fiesta Zetec last October and found it required the timing belt change when I read the manual. Given the previous owner's attitude to servicing, there was no way it would have been done. I did this: I bought the required parts online. I could get them cheaper than my mechanic could. Change the water pump at the same time. Be aware that "timing belt kits" often come with camshaft seals, and if your mechanic goes ahead and does them, you'll then need new bolts for the sprocket(s) they have to remove to get at the seals. They are once only usage "torque to yield" bolts. I'd suggest not to do the seals unless they obviously need replacement- and get the bolts in first. I'd also advise to have a new accessory belt on hand, mine started disintegrating within days of the timing belt work because they're stretch fit and not really designed to be reused. If the car runs like a hairy goat after the work, the cam timing's out. This happened to me, there were 3 bolts supplied to "lock" the camshaft and the workshop used the wrong one. All up cost for me was $1200, but that included a service with oil filter and 5W-20 oil (the recommended grade), a new driveshaft seal plus fitting, a wheel balance and a few other odds and sods. If no other work is required and you don't change the cam seals it might be in the $700 to $800 region. My mechanic has reasonable hourly rates, but charged me $104 for "special tools hire" which annoyed me. Presumably that wouldn't happen at a Ford dealership but they'd undoubtedly find other parts "needing" replacement.

Fred17
Fred17

It's likely to be in the region of $700-800 although my service was ~$1200 including parts. I had the gearbox end drive shaft seal replaced, a wheel balance and other odds and sods. I also supplied many of the parts as I could get them cheaper online than the workshop could get them in. Be aware that many "timing belt kits" come with cam seals, and if the workshop goes ahead and changes them, you'll need new sprocket bolts as they're single use only "torgue to yield". In my case that caused a delay of a week while they were ordered in and fitted. Also, the accessory belt on my car nearly disintegrated within days of getting it back: it's stretch to fit and not really designed for reuse, so get a new one of those as well as a water pump kit. You may also need a new thermostat, or at least it's sensible to have the extra parts fitted as so much has to be dismantled to do the timing belt. If you avoid the cam seals (i.e. they look fine) you might save up to $100 or possibly more in costs.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.