??!
16 photos
Ford Fiesta

Ford Fiesta (page 3 of 8)

WT, WS, WZ, etc...
3.6 from 150 reviews

Reviews

3.6

150 reviews
5
(66)
4
(31)
3
(13)
2
(9)
1
(31)
  • Build Quality
    2.1 (7)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (7)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (7)
  • Handling
    3.8 (6)
  • Braking
    2.9 (7)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.7 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (6)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (6)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (6)
  • Features
    3.3 (6)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (6)
Previous
Next
Andy

AndyGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Good deal from Valley Motors

published

My Ford Fiesta 2013 performs well and the manual transmission is easy to use and the car does not cost a lot to run and the mechanics at my last service said the car was in good condition. I got a good trade in on my 2005 Getz from Valley Ford Traralgon and although the car had done a few kilometers I purchased the car for $8800 but AAMII indeed it for $11200

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Aynur Anna

Aynur AnnaMelbourne

Terrible

published

I have a fiesta zetec. It's the most unsafe car l have ever had. Would never recommend a ford to anyone. They are friendly at first when you purchase the car and then they are rude and not helpful with all the problems the car has had. The car is a LEMON. There needs to be lemon laws to protect the consumer. Will never purchase a ford again.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Annoyed

AnnoyedTownsville

  • 2 reviews

Ford sucks! Never again.

published
BadgeAmbiente
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SRT

SRTPendle Hill

  • 8 reviews

Great handling but transmission is not consistent

published
BadgeCL
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
epsoft

epsoftRidgewood QLD

  • 2 reviews

Manual diesel is the way to go

published

Had a manual turbo diesel Fiesta from new and loved it. Economy was outstanding, plenty of torque on the hills and handled well on the bendy bits. Not much room in the back seats as you would expect but plenty of room up front (I'm 2m tall!). Doesn't come with a spare tire when new, well worth buying a spare. Being a diesel you need to get the particulate filter up to temperature on a regular basis otherwise they can be costly but otherwise brilliant little car. Only sold it as I moved to acreage a needed a 4WD.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2011
M Hatty

M HattyNarre Warren

Not the best, but still great.

published
BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Reliable and great service

published

I was lucky enough to get a Ford at Volcan Ford Wollongong, they gave me a great price and they were honest about the pros and cons for a first car. They installed cruise control for no extra charge. There have been a few little issues, the wing mirror and the under-car spoiler is expensive to replace, but overall I'm happy with my little car!

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
RABIN

RABINBRISBANE QLD

this car has big issue with gear box or whole engine.please never buy.only body looks nice.

published

I bought ford fiesta 2013 brand new from ford dealer. Since my first day, I found it has something wrong but keep on driving because it was my first new car in my life. I thought I will be fine after driving few kilometres. but never improved. now its just 3 years old. I took to ford service centre last week and they said nothing wrong with this car. they did not do anything at all. I have no idea where to go now. This car has transmission shudders, jerks feels like gear box is breaking down instantly and loss of power in the low gears speed.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013
Evergreen

EvergreenAustralia

Manual Diesel Fantastic

published

Great car.Manual gearbox is smooth and precise.Turbo Diesel motor is fantastic, instant power, great for hills, no lag, 5k/l no matter how hard you drive. Easy to self service. Nice zetec seats. Similar handling as a Mazda 5. Excellent solid build quality, high grade components that do not break. Highly recommend over a DSG gearbox that seem to cause the majority of Ford issues. Test drove a petrol model and found it lacking bottom end power as well as sluggish throttle return. I am extremely happy with this vehicle and highly recommend it.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Grant

GrantMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Watch for Crook Clutches / Faulty / Noisy Gearbox

published

Had for 2 years and then traded after clutches replaced due to shuddering (known Ford DSG / clutch issue) , and the surfacing of gearbox noises. Dealer advised that gearbox would be repaired / replaced under warrantee if it fails. Had to wait for month for clutch replacement as there was a large queue ahead of us. Very comfortable car just let down by clutch / gearbox issues. Traded in on VW Polo after wife refused to drive Fiesta again. The Polo has a similar DSG gearbox to Fiesta but VW does not appear to suffer from DSB / clutch problems in past few years.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic

Good small compact car but POOR TRANSMISSION

published

Powershift transmission is terrible. It often shudders and have issues with shifting on lower gears (especially on road humps). Sent it to Ford to fix the issue, but after a few days issue was back. Every time I bring it in for it's annual service, issue is fixed but after a few days it always comes back. I've had the car close to 5 years now and it's getting worse. Although its fuel efficient and easy to park, the transmission is very bad. If I had known that it's a common issue with Ford Fiesta cars, we probably wouldn't have purchased the car.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
BlackPeter

BlackPeterAU

  • 2 reviews

Nice little big car with small flaws ...

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Ray

RaySydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car and quality built!

published

Sensational driving/handling, tyre noise on rough roads is sometimes louder than expected due to the hatch. Great transmission and love the direct gear changes making it feel like its a manual. Never had an issue and reliability is 10/10, only ever change oil/filter and wiper blades every 12mths. Not sure why people complain about the gearbox! Its design to jerk and shutter under acceleration and deceleration, same as a manual vehicle with twin clutch plates if you are not at a consistent throttle percentage. When you constantly go from 25 to 50 to 75% throttle the clutches are working to provide acceleration with minimal fuel usage.
Can't praise the design enough from ford to do away with slush boxes of the past!

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Ray
Ray

Two years later, two more Ford services and there is no stopping this little car. 90k on the clock and not one major problem to date, other than battery replacement.
Well done Ford.
Plan to buy another at the end of the year, as replacement!

Alegend86

Alegend86Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Little Hatch. Poor Transmission

published
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
GrumpyUnclePete

GrumpyUnclePete

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fun little beastie!

published
BadgeXR4
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hollie1408

Hollie1408Sunshine Coast

Would not recommend!

published
BadgeTrend
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
dannytocchet

dannytocchetDrummoyne, New South Wales

Stay away

published

Had transmission fix 12 months ago, transmission shutter has returned, Brand new car what a lemon. I would suggest to people to highly consider to stay away from this car.

david hambleton

david hambletonAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Seat Height Adjustment.

published
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual

Fierce Fiesta

published

2015 Ford Fiesta ST has proven to be a really awesome car. Small, compact but fast! Manual driving at its best. Fitted with a Mountune kit its has sports car like performance and a burbling race car sound.. Cheap to run and also fitted with glove fitting Recaro racing seats. Heaps of leg room in the front (I am tall) and ok in the back seat. Great around the town car and awesome during long distances. Would highly recommend.

BadgeST EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual

Worst car ever

published

Iv had trouble with this car from day one transmission shudders and jerks feels like the gear box is going to fall out. Have taken it back to dealers 11 times and still no better . Dealing with ford and head office is total waste of time they are as hopeless as the car . Dont ever buy a ford

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Page 3 of 8
See all Ford Fiesta reviews

Questions & Answers

Roy O.

Roy O.asked

Fiesta

As a fiesta eco boost 1000cc got a cam belt or time omg chain?

No answers
Nico

Nicoasked

Fiesta WP (2004-2005)

I am considering purchasing a 2005 Ford Festiva. Are there any common issues associated with this model?

No answers
Rach

Rachasked

Fiesta

Hi, I'm looking at buying a 2010 Ford Fiesta LX that's done 90,000ks. It just had its 90k service.
I've had it RAA checked and they've said it's due for timing belt change (10 years/150,000ks). How much would this cost? And are there any other issues I should consider? Thanks

4 answers
Kristie
Kristie

Pretty sure I never changed my timing belt and I’m at 180k

Fred17
Fred17

I purchased a 2009 WS Fiesta Zetec last October and found it required the timing belt change when I read the manual. Given the previous owner's attitude to servicing, there was no way it would have been done. I did this: I bought the required parts online. I could get them cheaper than my mechanic could. Change the water pump at the same time. Be aware that "timing belt kits" often come with camshaft seals, and if your mechanic goes ahead and does them, you'll then need new bolts for the sprocket(s) they have to remove to get at the seals. They are once only usage "torque to yield" bolts. I'd suggest not to do the seals unless they obviously need replacement- and get the bolts in first. I'd also advise to have a new accessory belt on hand, mine started disintegrating within days of the timing belt work because they're stretch fit and not really designed to be reused. If the car runs like a hairy goat after the work, the cam timing's out. This happened to me, there were 3 bolts supplied to "lock" the camshaft and the workshop used the wrong one. All up cost for me was $1200, but that included a service with oil filter and 5W-20 oil (the recommended grade), a new driveshaft seal plus fitting, a wheel balance and a few other odds and sods. If no other work is required and you don't change the cam seals it might be in the $700 to $800 region. My mechanic has reasonable hourly rates, but charged me $104 for "special tools hire" which annoyed me. Presumably that wouldn't happen at a Ford dealership but they'd undoubtedly find other parts "needing" replacement.

Fred17
Fred17

It's likely to be in the region of $700-800 although my service was ~$1200 including parts. I had the gearbox end drive shaft seal replaced, a wheel balance and other odds and sods. I also supplied many of the parts as I could get them cheaper online than the workshop could get them in. Be aware that many "timing belt kits" come with cam seals, and if the workshop goes ahead and changes them, you'll need new sprocket bolts as they're single use only "torgue to yield". In my case that caused a delay of a week while they were ordered in and fitted. Also, the accessory belt on my car nearly disintegrated within days of getting it back: it's stretch to fit and not really designed for reuse, so get a new one of those as well as a water pump kit. You may also need a new thermostat, or at least it's sensible to have the extra parts fitted as so much has to be dismantled to do the timing belt. If you avoid the cam seals (i.e. they look fine) you might save up to $100 or possibly more in costs.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.