??!
16 photos
Ford Fiesta

Ford Fiesta

WT, WS, WZ, etc...
3.6 from 153 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Cam A

Cam ASouth East Queensland, QLD

my mum likes the car but it has its faults

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Cam A
Cam A

Update to this review. The other day out of nowhere my pulled into the street of a friend and the gearbox exploded. So it's safe to say that this car is going straight to the wreckers.

Migs

Migs

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Really Good Value for Money! Practical & Fun car!

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Jay

Jay

  • 10 reviews

Good small car, But!

published

The ford fiesta is certainly a wonderful small car!
The pro's involves great handling, good mileage, great speakers and its good looks.
The biggest drawback of the car is the transmission. The car shudders and struggles a lot on low gear(1-2).
Other than that it works great!

Fun to drive!

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Annie

AnnieBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Has been good but not without issues

published

Loved it at first as the engine was efficient, handling was great and I loved the exterior look. Over time however the ecoboost 1L engine became more and more annoying particularly when on hills as the car was just not as responsive as one might hope. Issues also arose at the first scheduled service with a coolant leak covered by warranty, however at year 2 another warranty issue arose and by the end of year 3 the tyres need replacing after only 30000 km of mostly city driving

BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Good on fuel, handles well, cruise control but their cost saving design really annoys me!

published
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2017
SRT

SRTPendle Hill

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great handling but transmission is not consistent

published
BadgeCL
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
M Hatty

M HattyNarre Warren

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not the best, but still great.

published
BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
BlackPeter

BlackPeterAU

  • 2 reviews

Nice little big car with small flaws ...

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Alegend86

Alegend86Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Little Hatch. Poor Transmission

published
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Markwa

MarkwaPerth, WA

  • 24 reviews
  • 13 likes

Decent if flawed in some areas

published
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Liz

LizGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Clutch Problems - Ford Fiesta

published

Brought new Fiesta in 2011 and have had ongoing problems with the clutch. When reversing, the clutch does not always engage and I end up burning metal accompanied by a loud sound. Very annoying and embrassing. Have been an owner of many cars and this has never happened to me before. Have gone back to dealer several times and directly contacted Ford Australia, who investigated and told me that it was a normal function and characteristic of the car. Seriously? Had I known this was an inherent design or flaw of the car, would never have purchased.
Good fuel consumption and body style

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
2 comments
david hambleton
david hambleton
Diana
Diana

Good veh, but looks better on paper than real life

published
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
F2012

F2012Perth

Average car with issues.

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
1 comment
Farida
Farida
See all Ford Fiesta reviews

Questions & Answers

Roy O.

Roy O.asked

Fiesta

As a fiesta eco boost 1000cc got a cam belt or time omg chain?

No answers
Nico

Nicoasked

Fiesta WP (2004-2005)

I am considering purchasing a 2005 Ford Festiva. Are there any common issues associated with this model?

No answers
Rach

Rachasked

Fiesta

Hi, I'm looking at buying a 2010 Ford Fiesta LX that's done 90,000ks. It just had its 90k service.
I've had it RAA checked and they've said it's due for timing belt change (10 years/150,000ks). How much would this cost? And are there any other issues I should consider? Thanks

4 answers
Kristie
Kristie

Pretty sure I never changed my timing belt and I’m at 180k

Fred17
Fred17

I purchased a 2009 WS Fiesta Zetec last October and found it required the timing belt change when I read the manual. Given the previous owner's attitude to servicing, there was no way it would have been done. I did this: I bought the required parts online. I could get them cheaper than my mechanic could. Change the water pump at the same time. Be aware that "timing belt kits" often come with camshaft seals, and if your mechanic goes ahead and does them, you'll then need new bolts for the sprocket(s) they have to remove to get at the seals. They are once only usage "torque to yield" bolts. I'd suggest not to do the seals unless they obviously need replacement- and get the bolts in first. I'd also advise to have a new accessory belt on hand, mine started disintegrating within days of the timing belt work because they're stretch fit and not really designed to be reused. If the car runs like a hairy goat after the work, the cam timing's out. This happened to me, there were 3 bolts supplied to "lock" the camshaft and the workshop used the wrong one. All up cost for me was $1200, but that included a service with oil filter and 5W-20 oil (the recommended grade), a new driveshaft seal plus fitting, a wheel balance and a few other odds and sods. If no other work is required and you don't change the cam seals it might be in the $700 to $800 region. My mechanic has reasonable hourly rates, but charged me $104 for "special tools hire" which annoyed me. Presumably that wouldn't happen at a Ford dealership but they'd undoubtedly find other parts "needing" replacement.

Fred17
Fred17

It's likely to be in the region of $700-800 although my service was ~$1200 including parts. I had the gearbox end drive shaft seal replaced, a wheel balance and other odds and sods. I also supplied many of the parts as I could get them cheaper online than the workshop could get them in. Be aware that many "timing belt kits" come with cam seals, and if the workshop goes ahead and changes them, you'll need new sprocket bolts as they're single use only "torgue to yield". In my case that caused a delay of a week while they were ordered in and fitted. Also, the accessory belt on my car nearly disintegrated within days of getting it back: it's stretch to fit and not really designed for reuse, so get a new one of those as well as a water pump kit. You may also need a new thermostat, or at least it's sensible to have the extra parts fitted as so much has to be dismantled to do the timing belt. If you avoid the cam seals (i.e. they look fine) you might save up to $100 or possibly more in costs.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 8 Ford Fiesta
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $15,825$22,525$27,490$17,825
TransmissionManualAutomaticManualDual-Clutch (DCT) and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Steel16" Alloy17" Alloy15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.8 L/100km5.3 L/100km6.2 L/100km5.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L42 L48 L42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.5
Max Power82kW @ 6300rpm92kW @ 6000rpm134kW @ 5700rpm82kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque140Nm @ 4400rpm170Nm @ 4500rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm140Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandGermanyThailand
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013
Compare all 8 Ford Fiesta

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.